SAMSUNG GREEN LINE FREE SCREEN REPLACEMENT

andrekua2
post Nov 16 2024, 04:58 PM

13,472 posts

It is amazing how many of you are having this problem... I have only seen this once and I knew how my cousin abuse his phone.

People are buying too much into the promise that the phone is waterproof.
andrekua2
post Nov 16 2024, 07:06 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(hightechgadgets8 @ Nov 16 2024, 06:08 PM)
Go search green line on Carousell and you see so many. On fb have a term for it called light saber
Nothing to do with waterproof, the lcd are of subpar quality hence the green line when the traces breaks. China have ppl who can repair back the traces using laser machines
I would say it has nothing to do with subpar quality.

Personally I think it has more to do with a couple of factors. First is the thinner bezel that Samsung has been championing over the last few years. Secondly is how the back of the screen is literally attached to the battery which will be bloated as it degrades over the years. And lastly I think users should handle their phone with some care, as waterproofing also degrades over time plus dropping the phone also exacerbate the whole issue.
andrekua2
post Nov 17 2024, 11:08 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Nov 17 2024, 10:14 AM)
because u are frog under the shell , go to facebook and join those samsung galaxy group , u will be more amazing how many of them getting the green line included my own s22+ , never drop , never putting into water , pampered from the first day of used , after just 2year+ then green line appear , i can say almost everyday there is user reporting getting green line , that the reason WHY SAMSUNG INDIA OFFERING FREE REPLACEMENT to the green line problem on their flagship S series.....if it's not the manufacturing problem ....why give FREE replacement? Don't make a joke bro....
most of the user claimed to appear the green line mostly after 2year of usage , it's totally samsung screen design problem , and alot of user dont understand  what happen to their push update that causes green line after update

even the thailand user starting to sue samsung because the failure rate is too high ....
It's definitely not a manufacturing problem.
andrekua2
post Nov 17 2024, 11:12 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Nov 17 2024, 11:11 AM)
So u mean its user problem? Lol , there are ton of user that get green line after updated the firmware , u know how the feeling? Using the phone without problem for 2 year , suddenly a Firmware Push to update , DONE update , restarting the phone , and green line appear
Yeah !!! Its not manufacturing problem , its the user who so stupid go update the firmware and get green line

U are champion bro !!!
It only prove you don't read... see above
andrekua2
post Nov 17 2024, 11:34 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Nov 17 2024, 11:19 AM)
Iphone user also using the samsung panel ,  but the failure rate is way way way more lower compare to samsung galaxy line....so how could u explain it? Dont make joke here bro  , u really know nothing , u just like a 3 year old kid comment here , not everyone using their phone rough and drop into water , that definitely manufacture design problem , dont forgot how the samsung edge battery explode case , it just same as this case

no people will make noise if something not serious , u thought people really so free and going to reporting on social media ?
I could only speculate since my last Samsung is a S9+ and I only bought S23U for wife last year and also S23FE. I would assume S23FE would have less of a chance to encounter this issue due to the thicker bezel. I'll updatebif my wife phone encounter green line in the future. My mom also using S22u and so far no problem.

If it's a manufacturing issue then all oled panel manufactured by Samsung would have this issue but when you see the different rate of failures, you can almost pinpoint this on the design issue and users as well. As they pushed to the limit of manufacturing, there will be compromises taken to achieve the result they wanted and in this case, I would say its the bezel. That's the only thing that has been changed since. If Samsung had no problem manufacturing the smaller S9+ oled panel with 2k resolution (heck, even my much smaller S6e came with 2k resolution), I dont see why they would have problem manufacturing the bigger S22U screen or the 1080p screen for S22 and S22+.
andrekua2
post Nov 17 2024, 11:45 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Nov 17 2024, 11:41 AM)
Frog  biggrin.gif
Hardware failure are norm, I don't know why people are so upset about it. It happens...
andrekua2
post Nov 17 2024, 05:01 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Nov 17 2024, 11:52 AM)
this will be my last reply on you frog , no body , Not even one company will offer "FREE REPLACEMENT" on their product if it's not their fault  , it clearly show that is their product problem that only they could offer "FREE REPLACEMENT" to their loyal customer in , just like how samsung accept the return of EDGE's series where the battery will be explode , really KUDO to Samsung India for taking good care of their customer , but Samsung malaysia is doing shit on this  bangwall.gif
And good luck to all your samsung device , hope it will be last long for you before it appear green line. Bye Frog.
It only showed how much knowledge you have on the mobile market.

Samsung is losing dominance in the world biggest market China. They are also losing in America and now India. They wont do thing without a reason. Doing this is not because they acknowledge the defect in their manufacturing, it is just them saving their investment of hundreds of millions in marketing.

If this problem is as bad as you portrayed, Samsung would have to be recalling all their smartphones just like the case with Note 7.
andrekua2
post Jan 2 2025, 03:46 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jan 2 2025, 03:03 PM)
that why china develop their own OLED now , alot of their flagship phone already change to china brand screen , they scare already with samsung screen  doh.gif
because they need to kowtow to Samsung... now got chance sure run la... you never heard of the row between Samsung and Xiaomi?

China vs Samsung... its getting closer now but Samsung is still slightly ahead. Once China reached the yields of Samsung, then maybe we will start seeing lower oled price. I have a Realme GT3 Neo with Tianma OLED vs S23FE. No contest... but in another 2-3 years, who knows...

Interesting video... China OLED output S grade 20%, A grade 80%... meanwhile Samsung S grade 80%, A grade 20%...

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Jan 2 2025, 03:49 PM
andrekua2
post Jan 2 2025, 03:55 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jan 2 2025, 03:49 PM)
i just know that i using iqoo neo5s with samsung OLED getting serious light leak , when in dark room with low brightness will see tepi screen green light zzzz , now using iqoo neo 9 with china own brand LED , super nice la weh.....really praise to china screen nowaday , really can't look down their technology anymore....they are getting better every year
Goto 14:00 in the video and you will see the problem with China OLED... this is exactly what I had in my Realme GT3 Neo vs Samsung. I always feel it is harder to read the text on the realme screen at low light compare to samsung. My age is also not helping.
andrekua2
post Jan 2 2025, 04:05 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(swanchew @ Jan 2 2025, 03:58 PM)
Don't really care much about OLED screen or not. The main issue is green line. We buying phone for long term usage. At least 5 yrs without causing issue especially screen issue.  Under the hot sun I won't even last for 5mins using the phone.  bangwall.gif
5 years? Hehehe... good luck with that. I dont mean troll you but I have seen screen failure. My wife S8+ screen become B&W after 15months and have to claim warranty. The replacement was good until now and my S9+ also survived until now. However the thing is that OLED is very prone to damage lor if you think about it. Just google how often those OLED tv/monitor get dead pixel etc.

Hence I dont think that OLED will get better shelf life compared to LCD. It will get dimmer, color become worse, and also prone to pixel burnout.
andrekua2
post Jan 2 2025, 04:10 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jan 2 2025, 04:07 PM)
ur GT3 Neo is 2022 , on 2024 china release alot of new good screen already , its really better now
If you are buying midrange phone, you wont get the latest tech la... therefore unless I buy a top range phone, else all I get is older tech screen. Sub RM2.5k I would say hard to get top range china oled... just see the sub 1000nits already knew
andrekua2
post Jun 13 2025, 10:53 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(stormstrider @ Jun 13 2025, 10:10 PM)
I don't think green lines can be repaired.
Just goto TikTok and be ready to get surprise.
andrekua2
post Jun 15 2025, 03:23 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Jun 14 2025, 08:18 PM)
Maybe just rebond the oled contacts that were disconnected by heat

Idk

My s22u was super hot last update

I put a fan on it while updating

Maybe they need to throttle the update from over heating
Didnt samsung already change the update screen to black now?
andrekua2
post Jun 15 2025, 03:37 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(stormstrider @ Jun 14 2025, 09:21 PM)
Mehh.. a lot a just hit and miss while most are pure BS.
Press the screen, factory reset , put fire on the edge of the lines and many more. Nearly all not working like they shown
Not sure what video you watched but those arent repair videos. When we said repair video, it is repair video with microscope and everything that show you what they are doing.

https://www.tiktok.com/@onetreetech/video/7...t=1749929229991

Even though it was mentioned as repair, but it was not explained in details what these actually do. Are they merely reconnecting those severed signal lines or totally melt the affected subpixels with laser to bypass the broken pixels.

andrekua2
post Jun 15 2025, 09:58 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Jun 15 2025, 07:31 AM)
Yeah but I think the damage can still be done even if the screen is off that's the thing
You're going too far man. You can't even be certain that updating cause these light saber to show up and now you wanna claim screen off also will cause it?

BTW do you guys (with light saber screen) use AOD?
andrekua2
post Jun 15 2025, 10:08 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 15 2025, 09:53 AM)
i dont know you realize or not , after using china phone , i really feel the screen is better than the samsung screen , at least no Green Tint or light leak issues , look at your s22ultra , the green tint so obvious , i remember last time when i using iqoo neo5s which was samsung screen , aduh the green tint and light leak so obvious when playing in dark room , i really feel that china OLED is chasing up and getting better and better.
Chinese oled is not yet on par with samsung but it's getting better. China oled yields are not yet up to there with samsung hence their panels tends to suffer at the highest and lowest brightness. I don't think they have cracked the code yet (even though they have hired ex samsung engineers). What they are doing is limit the brightness (both low and high) of their oled to what they are getting from the yields so that each panel looks and feels the same. You can find a video of this in TikTok as well.

I have a Realme gt neo3 and I thought my vision are getting worse but once I switch back to S9+, I can read the text much easier. That's why I mostly use Chinese phone to game.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Jun 15 2025, 10:08 AM
andrekua2
post Jun 15 2025, 10:16 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 15 2025, 10:12 AM)
Why take low end android phone to VS with the best OLED company in this world? Please Compare apple to apple , flagship to flagship , actually China OLED real sweet year was 2023 started , before 2023 it actually stil a shit screen ,  2024 getting better and this year 2025 they starting making some 2k great screen , yes they stil behind samsung but not that FAR away , some how i feel they control the backlight Green Tint and light leak issues way way way better than samsung alot , let see 2026/2027 will overpass the samsung or not  smile.gif
Don't live in your fantasy. I don't hate Chinese phone, I love them but I don't deny facts. I think samsung phones are overpriced but there are few advantages that they had over Chinese phone and one of them is display.

Enjoy the video.

andrekua2
post Jun 15 2025, 10:37 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Jun 15 2025, 10:19 AM)
Bro , i'm on bilibili for more than 5 year , those technology i know very well , READ BACK my POST , i didn't say CHINA OLED is WIN the SAMSUNG OLED by now , i saying they are not really FAR BEHIND and can see improvement yearly , given them 1-2 year more , i think they will give even better performance and on pair with samsung screen or might overpass samsung/lg , PLEASE UNDERSTAND my words.
And now , samsung give the best SHARPNESS and the BRIGHTNESS of SCREEN , but it causes Light Saber , Green TINT , Light Leaking , backlight bleeding on LOW LIGHT ROOM CONDITION , Now u can say the China OLED Sharpness and Brightness not on pair with samsung , but at least it wont give me such DIRTY FEELING of my screen on Low Light Room like the samsung screen do , so which i find the China OLED is more to a BALANCE situation.

If you ask me, they won't ever catch up. Why? China is a mass manufacturing, focus on price/performance thus they will always be there about. Maybe there will be a small portion of them going for the extreme like 1+ and possibly Huawei but that's all. Samsung and LG are not sitting still as well.
andrekua2
post Jun 15 2025, 10:52 AM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(sakuraboo @ Jun 15 2025, 10:38 AM)
Hmm?

I'm just saying it's really hot when it updates

Just trying to reason why the light saber happens around updates

And potentially prevent it

What are you on about?
Bro,

Look at the video I posted. There are problem with the screen which cause the light saber. Also you can look at the second video.

I don't believe that updating cause Light saber but don't deny it might have contribute to its demise if one's phone is taking too long to get the update completed due to the white screen it used to display.

I think it could be caused by the power tweaking Samsung is doing with their screen to eliminate darker spot on their oled. It could have contributed to hot spot on the display or the continuous higher power delivery to the affected pixels (which could be a yield issue) causing them to burn out first.
andrekua2
post Aug 19 2025, 05:26 PM

13,472 posts

QUOTE(chongkiatz @ Aug 14 2025, 05:43 PM)
This is how china repair the light saber

https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSSwLyQCy/
There is one shop in Kepong that could do that and it being run by a Chinaman.

The thing is that nobody knows if Samsung is replacing their screen or repairing them like what was shown on those videos.

0.0184sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:21 PM