Movies Last movie watched, share and discuss

dundermifflin
post Jul 5 2010, 09:32 AM

237 posts

reviving this thread..

just rewatched Star Wars IV last night, and Star Wars III few days ago.. 1997 Special Edition.

this film was made on my birthyear. what an imagination they had and im amazed.. thumbup.gif

but i still cant distinguish the scenes they added in Special Edition released.. i watched the originals back in my teen days, forgot already..

will follow up with sequels later..
dundermifflin
post Jul 5 2010, 10:07 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(notoriousfiq @ Jul 5 2010, 09:47 AM)
first time watching Good Will Hunting last night..very late indeed, but hey, can't u blame me? i was darjah 3 when it came out..

i understand this movie is popular and all, even got high rate in imdb.. but i didn't find anything special about it..matter of fact, i struggle to keep watching after like 20 minutes.. haaiiish..
i love that movie mate.. watched it several times, 6-8 times maybe.. its quiet slow, but beautifully painted movie..

i always imagining im that Damon bloke.. talented in study but failure in life. (though im not that genius, but not really failed in my life tongue.gif )
dundermifflin
post Jul 5 2010, 05:34 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(Flicx @ Jul 5 2010, 02:20 PM)

One of the best comedy i've seen this year. It's been a pretty dull year for comedy for me but this is just a must watch. The black guy (Craig Robinson )from The Office is hilarious while the nerd is well, nerdy.
at the poster, quoted 'Funnier than The Hangover' by New York Post..

i like The Hangover, might give a shot for this film..
dundermifflin
post Jul 9 2010, 11:43 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(devil'z070 @ Jul 7 2010, 06:16 PM)
Last weekend i watch The Bourne Trilogy (all 3 movies).. One of the best spy movies... all 3 movies are awesome and Paul Greengrass (2nd and 3rd)  direction is damn good...as well as Matt Damon acting....  the car chasing scene in the 2nd movie and also in the 3rd movie also well directed !!
Bourne's Trilogy are my fav spy franchise.. im not classified it as great movies though..

u should try (if u not yet) Taken (Liam Neeson) if u like Bourne.. camera works and storyline are very Bourne-esque. a movies about ex US gov agent, tracing his abducted daughter (Maggie Grace wub.gif )

ive watched few movies last few days (less World Cup games give me a lot of free time)

>Smoking Aces 2
meh, i dont like it.. far lesser than the 1st movie, waste of time..
3/10.

>No Country For Old Men
re-watched it. i feel better than the first time i watched it. i dont mind to watch it again in the future.
9/10.

>The Rocker
quiet hillarious. i love old school rock, but this arent better than School of Rock (different storyline, but still about fallen rockstar try find a way to rise again). Rainn Wilson (aka Dwight Schrute in The Office) is an awesome comedian.
5.5/10.

>The Promotion
Jenna Fischer is in there, so i would love to check on this movie. just so-so, but im quiet like it coz the theme related to my real world. 2 retail executives rival each other, vying for a manager post for a new hypermarket. its a plain movie but had it moments here and there.
6/10.

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Jul 9 2010, 11:48 AM
dundermifflin
post Jul 11 2010, 08:30 PM

237 posts

From Paris With Love

brain -less action flick.. decent for entertainment, but just that.. below average overall.

low level CIA operative meet a happy trigger and seasoned agent (John Travolta). together, they kick Chinese badass and Pakistani terrorist in Paris.

4/10
dundermifflin
post Jul 22 2010, 09:27 PM

237 posts

Unfaithful 2002

this movie tortured my emotion. the sex scenes, ohh.. made me sick and anger..

recycled idea of course, perfectly happy marriage in surface, but the wife having an affair with younger man. i love the fate of that younger man at the end..

and overall its very good movie rclxms.gif
dundermifflin
post Jul 24 2010, 10:53 AM

237 posts

^The Prestige

yeah i like that one.. awesome performance from the duo.. solid 8/10.. dont mind to rewatch it again now even i already knew all the twists..

Lucky Number Slevin

TBH its quiet plain. but not until they explain everything at the end. nice touch in the end (though actually im not quiet remember exactly the storyline coz i watched it in a long time ago..)

overall, caught between good and decent. 7/10.

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Jul 24 2010, 10:58 AM
dundermifflin
post Jul 28 2010, 07:32 AM

237 posts

Brothers 2009

warming story about 2 siblings, one marine captain (Sam) and an old convict (Tommy). Tommy took responsibility to take care of Sam's family after Sam's helicopter crashed in Afghanistan.

rating 7/10.

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Jul 28 2010, 08:41 AM
dundermifflin
post Aug 6 2010, 07:38 AM

237 posts

John Rabe [2009]

a director of Siemens China who'd saved 200 000 Chinese during Japanese invasion in World War 2. he led the administration of International Safety Zone in Nanking. its quite like Schindler's List story, but not as good as it. but its quite refreshing, no Hollywood touch, its a cooperative film between China, France and Germany.

in reality, the Japanese Government never admitted they involved in that Nanking Massacre.

Rating 8/10

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Aug 6 2010, 09:17 AM
dundermifflin
post Aug 9 2010, 11:38 PM

237 posts

Thank You For Smoking [2005]

rewatched it yesterday, watched it 1st time 5 years ago. i love this kind of comedy-drama film, they're not telling a stupid jokes. the script are awesome and many useful quotes can be learn, especially from the main protagonist.

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Aug 9 2010, 11:39 PM
dundermifflin
post Aug 11 2010, 09:56 AM

237 posts

Nanking Nanking [2009] aka The City Of Life and Death

The film deals with the Battle of Nanking and its aftermath (commonly referred to as "The Rape of Nanking" or the "Nanking Massacre") during the Second Sino-Japanese War.

A forgotten historical massacre during WW2. The way of most Japanese Historian denied this massacre are very lowly vmad.gif

Rating 8.5/10

Looking forward to watch related documentary about this, Nanking [2007]
dundermifflin
post Aug 17 2010, 12:59 PM

237 posts

watched Nights In Rodanthe [2008] last night..

meh, lame.. love story between two middle aged divorcee, reunion between Diane Lane and Richard Gere.. the storm part and the ending are good though..
dundermifflin
post Aug 19 2010, 11:50 AM

237 posts

watched Lebanon [2009], an Israeli anti war film.

unfortunately ive downloaded Spanish dubbed version with poor English translation (i believe). so, im losing a bit with the dialogues.

but still, i think its good anti war film. it focus on Lebanon War in 1982 from perspective of group of Israeli tank operator. well of course, the Israeli soldier not pictured as a bad guys here.. WTH.

(the facts is, they are invaded Lebanon to kill what so call terrorist)

i give rating 7/10.
dundermifflin
post Aug 24 2010, 07:34 AM

237 posts

Chloe [2009]

erotic thriller movie. a wife (Julliane Moore) suspect her husband (Liam Neeson) cheat on her. then, she hired a call girl (Amanda Seyfried) to seduce her husband in order to test his loyalty. things going uncontrolled afterward..

rating 5/10..
dundermifflin
post Aug 25 2010, 01:27 PM

237 posts

While She Was Out [2008]

thriller, low budget and documentary style film starred by Kim Basinger. depressed and angry housewife (Basinger) left a cynical note on a car that is parked using 2 parking space. then, she's encountered with the car owners, 4 thug kids. things going terribly wrong afterward.

simple storyline and decent build up. weird ending though.. 6/10.
dundermifflin
post Sep 2 2010, 02:25 PM

237 posts

The Count Of Monte Cristo [2002]

i love it when i watched for the 1st time in 2002. recently rewatched it again, not as good as 1st time, but im still enjoyed it..

its nice to watch this kind of movie when u terribly depress, give up of your life, and hoping a chance for revenge.. wonder what ull do, if u given a mountains of fortune. are u going for revenge? or enjoy the fortune in peaceful life?

but lately i watching a lot European Films. so its a bit awkward to watch supposedly French /Spanish character, talking in English..

nevertheless, its good.. 8/10.
dundermifflin
post Sep 2 2010, 03:19 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Sep 2 2010, 03:09 PM)
Hi Have you watched

The Man in the Iron mask (1998)
The Three Musketeers (1993)
Les misérables (1998)

I strongly recommend Les misérables (1998).

My two Sen
watched the 1st two, not sure the last one.. thats very long time ago.. still in VCD /VHS era, and i believe my english are very poor that days.. didnt entirely understand it without subtitle. so i didnt appreciate that movies much..

but i think im still remember The Man in the Iron Mask ending.. when the twins swap places. good revenge movie.
dundermifflin
post Sep 12 2010, 10:02 AM

237 posts

Les Miserables [1998]

someone recommended it to me here.. its good, and thanks to it rclxms.gif

on personal view, i think i didnt like the ending.. left me a bit puzzling, why the main antagonist unexpectedly change his heart.. its a good twist, but i cant see why on earth he ****** himself..

7.5/10

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Sep 12 2010, 10:04 AM
dundermifflin
post Sep 13 2010, 10:40 AM

237 posts

Solitary Man [2009]

Ben Kalman is aging: he has heart problems, his marriage is over, he's lost a fortune after being caught cutting corners in his East Coast car business, and he's sleeping with as many women as possible - the younger the better. He's chosen his current girlfriend, Jordan, because her father can help him get a new auto dealership; she's asked him to escort her daughter, Allyson, 18, on a visit to a Boston college campus. He behaves badly, and there are consequences to his love life, his finances, and his relationship with his daughter and grandson. Is there anywhere he can turn?

just between average and decent, 5.5/10. i never like Michael Douglas, but i think he performed very well in here.
dundermifflin
post Sep 21 2010, 09:48 AM

237 posts

Meet Bill [2007]

why i watched this film? certainly cause Jessica Alba and Elizabeth Banks in it.

a middle aged man, Bill (Aaron Eckhart) dissatisfied with his life, working for his father in law, and his marriage under threat when his wife (Elizabeth Banks) having an affair with TV celebrity. his mentee, a high schooler, arrange a gorgeous lingerie shopkeeper (Jessica Alba) to date with Bill.

the basic story are decent, but poor execution. Alba just a beautiful vase, not played any significant part. Banks and Eckhart are decent.

rating 5/10

0.0513sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:33 PM