Is 10 Yrs Old Too Young For Biz?

SUSmontyashley80
post Apr 8 2024, 12:42 PM, updated 2y ago

359 posts

Hello all..

Was having a discussion with my besties the other day..about kids and their understanding on money and entrepreneur skills..

Bestie A is sending her girl to all these entrepreneur classes where they learn about $$..she started since last year and now she is 9 years old..

Bestie B said it's too early for the kids and the kids should enjoy their childhood as long as they can..parents these days are too kiasu

For me both also have their points..what do you think?
lakini80
post Apr 8 2024, 12:48 PM

334 posts

Bestie A maybe after working knows how to calculate and repay to parents... everything is dollars and cents
fist_Aileron
post Apr 8 2024, 12:51 PM

307 posts

My mom started business jual barang tepi rumah since she was 5years old. Now a somewhat successful enterprenueur. Never too young to start. Why not have both childhood and business skills.

SUSmontyashley80
post Apr 8 2024, 01:22 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(lakini80 @ Apr 8 2024, 12:48 PM)
Bestie A maybe after working knows how to calculate and repay to parents... everything is dollars and cents
Hahahaha..yup..maybe this is my bestie's plan also haha
Hopefully her kids can grow up independently and able to take care of themself and the parent

QUOTE(fist_Aileron @ Apr 8 2024, 12:51 PM)
My mom started business jual barang tepi rumah since she was 5years old. Now a somewhat successful enterprenueur. Never too young to start.  Why not have both childhood and business skills.
Agreed..my parent generation seems to be more biz minded since young..maybe during their time..life is tough..
For me only start part time job during school holidays..tu pun like curi curi coz under age haha
For me no kids yet but would like to grow my nephew too..he seems to be interested when adult are talking about FB ads etc..also during his std 6 carnival activities..he actually managed to sell off all his food and toys and make 100% profit!!! am so proud of him..would like to know how to give him the push to actually take this a level higher..he have a lot of ideas and likes to sell things but he don't like going for extra classes ..
WaCKy-Angel
post Apr 8 2024, 01:31 PM

PeACe~~
21,961 posts

This post has been edited by WaCKy-Angel: Apr 8 2024, 01:31 PM
fist_Aileron
post Apr 8 2024, 01:54 PM

307 posts

QUOTE(montyashley80 @ Apr 8 2024, 01:22 PM)
Hahahaha..yup..maybe this is my bestie's plan also haha
Hopefully her kids can grow up independently and able to take care of themself and the parent
Agreed..my parent generation seems to be more biz minded since young..maybe during their time..life is tough..
For me only start part time job during school holidays..tu pun like curi curi coz under age haha
For me no kids yet but would like to grow my nephew too..he seems to be interested when adult are talking about FB ads etc..also during his std 6 carnival activities..he actually managed to sell off all his food and toys and make 100% profit!!! am so proud of him..would like to know how to give him the push to actually take this a level higher..he have a lot of ideas and likes to sell things but he don't like going for extra classes ..
Thats great! Its difficult to have passionate kids doing business...my son in particular. He loves sharing and teaching but he said no need too much monies what for lol.
I think its okay to start exposing young kids to business as long as not stressful and does not interfere with his studies.
AdventureAddict88
post Apr 24 2024, 12:35 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(montyashley80 @ Apr 8 2024, 12:42 PM)
Hello all..

Was having a discussion with my besties the other day..about kids and their understanding on money and entrepreneur skills..

Bestie A is sending her girl to all these entrepreneur classes where they learn about $$..she started since last year and now she is 9 years old..

Bestie B said it's too early for the kids and the kids should enjoy their childhood as long as they can..parents these days are too kiasu

For me both also have their points..what do you think?
Bestie A actually have a good point, gotta start small, plus, if she start selling, she could join the Goodday Kidstart program. Basically a program that allows kids to share their business idea + you stand a chance to win a good amount of money, not rugi at all if you want register, know this from a friend jugak

0.0130sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:52 PM