Am I making a big mistake quitting my job now?, More context in the post below.

hoonanoo
post Jun 20 2024, 09:19 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(lock_82 @ Jun 16 2024, 03:16 PM)
Agree.. this is super common in corporate life..especially in Msia.
I think everywhere in the world is the same.
JoeK
post Jun 20 2024, 09:31 AM

1,099 posts

i would stay and keep looking for another job at the same time.

once received another offer, i would go.
i understand you, i would never go back to the previous toxic environment
DarkAeon
post Jun 20 2024, 09:36 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Jun 20 2024, 09:19 AM)
I think everywhere in the world is the same.
u can't avoid every bully u find.

instead of hoping for calmer sea, be a better sailor instead

learn how to manage and deal with them. this is a skill one need to master if u want to rise above

This post has been edited by DarkAeon: Jun 20 2024, 09:37 AM
hoonanoo
post Jun 20 2024, 10:13 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jun 20 2024, 09:36 AM)

learn how to manage and deal with them. this is a skill one need to master if u want to rise above
I agree.

So as long the bully is not breaking the law or hurting you like sexual harassment, physical hurt or financial hurt.

then is something we can handle like a sailor.

if break law must report to polis.
hksgmy
post Jun 20 2024, 06:39 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Jun 20 2024, 09:36 AM)

Well said bro.

As painful as the truth may be to hear, the fact of the matter is those who cope best will rise the highest.

Those who don’t, well….
callmecool
post Jun 21 2024, 09:09 AM

255 posts

i will never quit. fight full on with the bully. especially that you still get paid. nothing is more important than to have $ at the end of every month to pay your bills and to put food on your table.
timothy817
post Jun 27 2024, 07:03 PM

23 posts

Why resigning on your own when comes to work bully? U cant make EIS claim & very hard to sue your company at industrial court when u voluntarily resign, unless you secretly documenting all abusing evidence which is quite troublesome & sometimes debatable

stay calm, everywhere you go regardless of which company there will always be dickhead like this, dont put yourself at disadvantage when u urself already understand it is tough out there
timothy817
post Jun 27 2024, 07:12 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(pastafreak26 @ Apr 5 2024, 12:05 PM)
Few reasons. The decision to switch roles stemmed from a difficult time in locating any opportunities remotely suitable to what I do. The market pay for the role I'm looking at is significantly lower than what I received previously. After months of trying and still nothing promising, I made the tough call to explore roles outside my expertise. Then came this role which was recommended by a recruiter.

Perhaps in a combination of how everyone kept telling me that times are bad and wanting to be employed within my  timeline, I accepted the job offer that I currently have in order to make full use of my time. In terms of a sizable paycut, I later learned from an employer that the recruiter and the management were in cahoots on this (something along the lines of bumping the salary package during job advertisement, but be honest that the amount they offered was lower.) I was also "prepped" by my recruiter to not ask about salary packages as it was a dealbreaker for the management. All in all, I was gullible and fell for it, and when it came time to speak up, did not clarify.

I'm not too worried about being asked the question, I've been approached by several recruiters and approached several myself and I have been upfront that I am dealing with a bully in my current organization and am actively seeking out due to the psychological trauma it causes me.

To provide more context on the bullying, I only learned that the bully was working in my current organization after signing the offer, as I received a message from them days after.
Remember one thing in interview, never be overly upfront especially with something like work bully, reason is simple, work bully is everywhere, whenever there is any hierarchy involved in an organization, there will be dickhead to oppress people.

Another thing when comes to job interview salary negotiations, whenever being asked expected salary, never ever answer a precise figure, you could instead answer "my last drawn was about XXX k per annum/year, according to my research on this role, I believe the salary range is about from *** to *** "

What is the purpose of accepting a lower salary which will burn you up in short time & u ended up leaving very soon which damage your career portfolio?

However, every encounter is a life lesson to learn, wishing you very best of luck.
hoonanoo
post Jun 28 2024, 11:51 PM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(pastafreak26 @ Apr 4 2024, 08:49 PM)
Early 30s. Recently started a role in Project Management. Two weeks in, tendered resignation letter. To cut the story short, found out a bully from a former workplace works there and we'll be working laterally. When I tendered my resignation letter, HR did probe and I told them as is.

Can't do much as the bullying didn't fall under the current company's purview, and the most they can do is ensure the bullying will not happen in my new company. It's not so much of the intimidation I'm afraid of, I simply do not want to be in any proximity to them, let alone the same organization.

Have since been involved in several back-and-forth conversations with HR and eventually confirmed my intention to proceed with resignation. HR has informally suggested a reconsideration.

Truthfully, part of me wants to stay, as I can see the management and my manager are doing their best to ensure no harm comes to me. However, a part of me wants to go, simply because the bully's presence has stripped all excitement I have of the job.

Job-wise, I think the learning curve is great and the potential is there. It's an interesting role but as with all Project Management-based roles, client-facing is something I dislike. But I will say I had to take a far bigger paycut than I was expecting too.

My biggest concern is, will I be looking at long-term unemployment if I leave now? I have no commitments, but I don't want to be involved in a long-term unemployment with how everyone's been telling me the economy is absolutely bad now. Can I quit, and still find employment within 1-2 months time?

If any recruiters or HR practitioners are familiar with the job market, would appreciate your advice. Project Management is fine but given how short-lived my experience is, I suppose I'll have to return to a creative role.
so as long as the bully is not your boss, I think u can survive.

sometimes at the work place, u just got to look away from these things.

As since your boss is making effort to keep you, I think u should stay because it shows honesty from ur employers to do all they can to mitigate the situation.

Its all part and parcel of life, there are always bullies this is the chance u can overcome this bully, albeit now your currect employer has realization of this.
Guessteng
post Jun 30 2024, 02:22 PM

78 posts

What I'm thinking even you quit job due to bullying and find another will it helps actually I think job hopping is not going to help anyone who's are 30s and early 40s instead of finding a new job why try to find another source of income by working part time with a flexible time and working place and I'm looking for people to work together in business in part time basis and earn 5 figure income.interested parties can contact at 0176852993
coolrox86
post Jun 30 2024, 07:34 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Jun 28 2024, 11:51 PM)
so as long as the bully is not your boss, I think u can survive.

sometimes at the work place, u just got to look away from these things.

As since your boss is making effort to keep you, I think u should stay because it shows honesty from ur employers to do all they can to mitigate the situation.

Its all part and parcel of life, there are always bullies this is the chance u can overcome this bully, albeit now your currect employer has realization of this.
Employer has the responsibility to correct the situation, but they are not at fault on staff being a bully. Sometimes they can't control this situation and his behaviour, because the bully doesn't break the law.

Your situation is considered less worse than those who encounter boss himself as a bully. If you still have something to learn in this company, can stay there working for this time being, earning salary, while looking for new opportunity elsewhere in future.
hoonanoo
post Jul 1 2024, 08:57 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(coolrox86 @ Jun 30 2024, 07:34 PM)
Employer has the responsibility to correct the situation, but they are not at fault on staff being a bully. Sometimes they can't control this situation and his behaviour, because the bully doesn't break the law.

Your situation is considered less worse than those who encounter boss himself as a bully. If you still have something to learn in this company, can stay there working for this time being, earning salary, while looking for new opportunity elsewhere in future.
I am not TS lah.

I am not sure how it will work in western countries, but in Msia there are imperfect HR. At times they may side or villify the victim.

hksgmy
post Jul 2 2024, 09:25 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(coolrox86 @ Jun 30 2024, 07:34 PM)

True. A colleague and not a superior, and mercifully not the boss. Lesser of many evils.
GagalLand
post Jul 2 2024, 09:39 PM

237 posts

Ts

If you bump into them again

That mean God wants you to face them
hksgmy
post Jul 8 2024, 08:16 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(GagalLand @ Jul 2 2024, 09:39 PM)