To buy or not to buy NOW, Needs more opinion

SUSlimsk1972
post Apr 3 2024, 08:38 PM

Go for the Corolla Cross if you're sold after the test drive and the price seems fair. EVs are worth considering too if they align with your preferences, but if you're keen on the Corolla, why wait?
Roman Catholic
post Apr 3 2024, 09:49 PM

3,401 posts

I went to view the Cross too but without Lane Tracing Assist, it's a big turn off for me
kmrdeva
post Apr 3 2024, 11:04 PM

4,702 posts

QUOTE(autodriver @ Apr 3 2024, 10:37 AM)
Actually I don't know why many people said will lining up to charger during holiday season. When we drive long distance EV is not the first option vehicle and even we have to use the EV for long distance we should plan ahead. Make sure the car is full charged and travelling distance should control under 300km during holiday season to avoid using public charger in R&R. When we reach to distination the left over balance should enough for us to travel about 50km before checking in hotel or homestay. Nowadays more and more hotels are providing EV charging facility and even in future some landed homestay will equipped with AC charger.

Some may argue that EV is not ideal for those needed to travel from JB to Penang without layover a day in the middle. I believe 99% people (except business purpose) won't drive such a long distance without a rest. EV is not that scary but one thing is seriously disadvantage is the resell value is very bad.
Too much hassle. In my case, I'd only consider owning an EV if:

1. I also have an ICE car for longer distance drives. Will use the EV for < 150km journeys.
2. I can install a personal charger in my condo parking lot and not have to depend on public charging infra.
lj0000
post Apr 3 2024, 11:05 PM

1,963 posts

wait for april perodua
MegaCanonF
post Apr 4 2024, 09:02 AM

713 posts

QUOTE(hongchai888 @ Apr 3 2024, 06:34 AM)
Hola guys , I am planning to buy a new Corolla Cross , done with test drive and everything and got an offer at around 130k for V spec.

Needs your input as below :

1) Is it a good time to go in now ? Heard that Yarris Cross is coming soon and it will lower the price of Corolla Cross ....

2) Many relative and friends recommend me to buy EV car with similar price

3) Some even advise me to wait for new Perodua SUV that going to launch in April

All and all , I like the car after test drive . But I also wanna make sure to ge more opinions to avoid instant regret after purchase.

Cheers
wait for corolla cross facelift. will get EPB instead of footbrake.

yaris cross/perodua nexis is 1 segment lower, its a B segment like X50. (corolla cross comparable to X70) - i would say wait for this to launch too.

do not listen to your relative and friends to buy EV. EV is still not matured as of today. kenot use EV as main car . Its rich car toy.

Do not rush in your decision unless u really die2 need a car now. 130k not cheap leh.

GamersFamilia
post Apr 4 2024, 11:28 AM

Avid Videogames Console Gamer
13,725 posts

QUOTE(kmrdeva @ Apr 3 2024, 07:21 PM)
The facelifted model? No idea but if you’re not in a rush, do consider waiting for it to launch here.
will be getting corolla cross gr edition on 2nd week of raya
GamersFamilia
post Apr 4 2024, 11:30 AM

13,725 posts

QUOTE(em_on @ Apr 3 2024, 08:33 PM)
Congrats in advance  cool2.gif
Wait for your rebiu then
okey laugh.gif
netflix2019
post Aug 27 2024, 06:43 PM

271 posts

TS bought the car? Or waiting face-lift ?
GamersFamilia
post Aug 28 2024, 08:00 AM

13,725 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Apr 4 2024, 11:28 AM)
will be getting corolla cross gr edition on 2nd week of raya
delay on purchasing toyota corolla cross gr edition due to use the money for my operation on 4th june 2024 , will be getting it around september 2024 or latest by early october 2024

This post has been edited by GamersFamilia: Aug 28 2024, 08:02 AM
GamersFamilia
post Aug 28 2024, 08:02 AM

13,725 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Aug 27 2024, 06:43 PM)
TS bought the car? Or waiting face-lift ?
waiting for an update from TS
hksgmy
post Aug 28 2024, 08:08 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(squareballs @ Apr 3 2024, 07:39 AM)
Yaris cross and perodua SUV I think they’re different segment compare to tcc.

Well u can wait until May/June only decide.
For myself, I won’t go for EV for now. Imagine holiday season, lining up to charge, charging station hoggers etc 🫣

Relatives/ friends recommending u to buy EV because that’s the trend now.. but only you yourself knows what u want.
Your money, your call
Same line of thinking for me, as far as EV cars are concerned.

Hybrid is ok, but there’s always the concern that there are potentially 2 systems to repair if things go wrong.

Good luck with your choice!
dwRK
post Aug 28 2024, 10:40 AM

the consummate chartist
5,816 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 28 2024, 08:08 AM)
Same line of thinking for me, as far as EV cars are concerned.

Hybrid is ok, but there’s always the concern that there are potentially 2 systems to repair if things go wrong.

Good luck with your choice!
one can approach a problem, say ev in this example, and say it wont work blah blah blah... or find a way to make it work... biggrin.gif

em_on
post Aug 28 2024, 10:41 AM

On My Way
544 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Aug 28 2024, 08:00 AM)
delay on purchasing toyota corolla cross gr edition due to use the money for my operation on 4th june 2024 , will be getting it around september 2024 or latest by early october 2024
errr mind to share what kinda operation
anyway gws bro
GamersFamilia
post Aug 28 2024, 06:33 PM

13,725 posts

QUOTE(em_on @ Aug 28 2024, 10:41 AM)
errr mind to share what kinda operation
anyway gws bro
Gastric bypass @ bariatric surgery, thank you
hksgmy
post Aug 28 2024, 07:02 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Aug 28 2024, 06:33 PM)
All the best bro
hksgmy
post Aug 28 2024, 07:04 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Aug 28 2024, 10:40 AM)
one can approach a problem, say ev in this example, and say it wont work blah blah blah... or find a way to make it work... biggrin.gif
Yes, I agree. I rather not have to spend my money and then have to find additional solutions before the full infrastructure is in place. It’s fine for a rich, densely populated and small country like Singapore, but when I’m back in Australia and I have country roads ahead of me…. That’s a different kettle of fish altogether
dwRK
post Aug 30 2024, 12:44 PM

the consummate chartist
5,816 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 28 2024, 07:04 PM)
Yes, I agree. I rather not have to spend my money and then have to find additional solutions before the full infrastructure is in place. It’s fine for a rich, densely populated and small country like Singapore, but when I’m back in Australia and I have country roads ahead of me…. That’s a different kettle of fish altogether
if anyone who can make it work it would be you wink.gif

cayenne - long road trips, outings with oversea guests
macan ev - daily drive grocery runs
911 - evening and weekend fun

i gonna go out on a limb and say you have no idea about ev charging network in Australia biggrin.gif but ok lah i understand...

myself wanna experience ev before gg... life can be short... wink.gif
hksgmy
post Aug 30 2024, 02:09 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Aug 30 2024, 12:44 PM)
if anyone who can make it work it would be you wink.gif

cayenne - long road trips, outings with oversea guests
macan ev - daily drive grocery runs
911 - evening and weekend fun

i gonna go out on a limb and say you have no idea about ev charging network in Australia biggrin.gif but ok lah i understand...

myself wanna experience ev before gg... life can be short... wink.gif
Haha.. all good bro. I'm not against EVs, in fact, I have a real inkling that my next 2 Porsches will definitely be EVs, as Porsche is slowly but surely moving in that direction.

I'm planning a Taycan and perhaps a Macan, if that day comes and I'm still a Porsche fan.

By then, there better not be hour-long waits for chargers over Easter long weekend holidays!!!!
ayamxxx
post Aug 31 2024, 08:33 AM

3,695 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Aug 28 2024, 06:33 PM)
Good luck, my in law just done that. Losing 90kg after operation + diet + starting to exercise. B4 operation at 200kg. Now he starts to notice he had neck.
ayamxxx
post Aug 31 2024, 08:37 AM

3,695 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 30 2024, 02:09 PM)
Haha.. all good bro. I'm not against EVs, in fact, I have a real inkling that my next 2 Porsches will definitely be EVs, as Porsche is slowly but surely moving in that direction.

I'm planning a Taycan and perhaps a Macan, if that day comes and I'm still a Porsche fan.

By then, there better not be hour-long waits for chargers over Easter long weekend holidays!!!!
Here i noticed, buy hybrid save time to refuel and fuel price cz average 25+ km/l, some at 28km/l for some cars. Buy EV no need fuel, cheaper in general by charge slowly at home (compensate the fuel cost to become TNB cost). But both losing RV too much. Unless everyone are on EV maybe this will change.

BYD last time give massive rebates for their EV car make RV poorer but good for potential owner. In my Taman, got one bought Kia EV6 at that price, for performance, EV and stuff, after 2 years, u can get it at almost 1/3 of the price with China car brand. This EV technology run fast

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Aug 31 2024, 08:38 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0157sec    1.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th February 2025 - 11:26 AM