908 posts

i agree, just get a scooter. 20 km only
Nightstalker1993
post Apr 4 2024, 10:31 PM

M� �R�|�
8,930 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Mar 25 2024, 10:51 AM)
this is now one of those things that makes me curse in life.
That's why I install a top box laugh.gif

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Apr 2 2024, 01:30 PM)
Pannier hardly make an aero drag, Top Box yes.

See those GS with Putu Mayam alloy boxes stacked? further more its a box, less aerodynamic.
Imo it's the other way round. Panniers sticks out directly to the airflow while top box is blocked by my huge body so too box should be more aerodynamic.

Anyway, my commute to work is 10km one way and I ride a 999cc bike. My vote is to commute with big bike. The power makes overtaking lorries easily and can get you out of sticky situation if needed. Also big bikes usually have much better suspension, tires and brakes plus dual channel ABS so safety is much better than kapcais as well.

But then again, with great power comes great responsibility. The power can also get you into sticky situations easily as well if you aren't careful.

This post has been edited by Nightstalker1993: Apr 4 2024, 10:33 PM
ajaibman
post Apr 5 2024, 11:47 AM

232 posts

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Apr 4 2024, 10:31 PM)
That's why I install a top box laugh.gif
Imo it's the other way round. Panniers sticks out directly to the airflow while top box is blocked by my huge body so too box should be more aerodynamic.

Anyway, my commute to work is 10km one way and I ride a 999cc bike. My vote is to commute with big bike. The power makes overtaking lorries easily and can get you out of sticky situation if needed. Also big bikes usually have much better suspension, tires and brakes plus dual channel ABS so safety is much better than kapcais as well.

But then again, with great power comes great responsibility. The power can also get you into sticky situations easily as well if you aren't careful.
Perhaps the bike design then come into the pictures.. not all bike has top box had turbulance, then not all the bike had side pannier create drag.

When I still commute with my old bike, top box make high speed cruising worrying.

lsm1991
post Apr 5 2024, 09:58 PM

309 posts

im slightly a twig-ish fella at about 55kg commute is about 10km 1 way as well through usually heavy traffic and have no issues commuting on a big-ish bike. suka suka can lenjan (at the appropriate moments ofc).

also believe bigger bikes handle the rain better? more weight more traction i suppose?
tho if ur route is filled with traffic lights thats where the big bike is abit of a pain... slow stop go traffic = roasted calfs/ankles

darksider95
post Apr 7 2024, 07:11 AM

I daily a Z650, travel from home to heart of KL back n forth is about 55km a day. I find big CC very helpful when going to SUKE highway. Z650 size same as Z250, have no problems cilok in town and jam, but it will be slightly more tiring than something like an NMax or ADV 150. Easy to control, good power, fuel efficient, cheap service, nothing to complain. Happy to share more if you have any questions about dailying a 650cc in KL traffic.

This post has been edited by darksider95: Apr 7 2024, 07:11 AM
matsheikh
post Apr 11 2024, 08:24 PM

149 posts

Good bikes for daily in KL - AKLEH, jalan sultan ismail, jalan kuching, jalan tun razak - bmw r nine t, hypermotard 950, streetfighter v2.
Lord Suave
post Apr 11 2024, 08:49 PM

168 posts

i used to ride f800 gs shah alam to kl daily, started with NKVE cos konon big bike lagi powderful, then after two three incidents of idiots looking at phone in morning and coming into my lane, tot of taking safer route of using fed hiway bike lane...

then satu kali my fuel sensor got problem so while bike was being fixed i pinjam kawan kapcai to go work, balik i place order for maxi scooter and never been happier... then came mco and sold the GS...
jaycee1
post Apr 12 2024, 11:19 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

I daily my 800NK. Previously my dominar with 3 boxes.

It takes getting used to and you won't be as nimble as a smaller kapchai or scooter and you might not be able to squeeze into smaller gaps in traffic. I still prefer the security and stability of a big bike over a smaller bike.

A 650 isn't any heavier or bigger than a normal 250 maxi scoot, and many daily on them.

Give the z650 or the 700CLX a try. They are quite nimble and does quite well in traffic
TSilovemotosikals2
post Apr 13 2024, 02:53 AM

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 12 2024, 11:19 AM)
I daily my 800NK. Previously my dominar with 3 boxes.

It takes getting used to and you won't be as nimble as a smaller kapchai or scooter and you might not be able to squeeze into smaller gaps in traffic. I still prefer the security and stability of a big bike over a smaller bike.

A 650 isn't any heavier or bigger than a normal 250 maxi scoot, and many daily on them.

Give the z650 or the 700CLX a try. They are quite nimble and does quite well in traffic
Z650 didn't have test ride but tried the Ninja 650, too much power for daily commute but was surprised at how small and easy it was to lug around. After researching, have decided to go with Dominar D400 as it checks all the boxes for the purpose of commuting.
selenium
post Apr 18 2024, 10:04 PM

RipVanWinkle
1,032 posts

Wanted to get a cb500x for daily commute/go adventure
Gotten an Xmax 250 instead due to convenience and the unavailability of Forza 250
jaycee1
post Apr 19 2024, 11:12 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(ilovemotosikals2 @ Apr 13 2024, 02:53 AM)
Z650 didn't have test ride but tried the Ninja 650, too much power for daily commute but was surprised at how small and easy it was to lug around. After researching, have decided to go with Dominar D400 as it checks all the boxes for the purpose of commuting.
Good for you then.

For the purpose of commuting, the D400 is decent, especially given the price. Fuel economy if you keep it around 80 to 100 is actually quite good. You could almost get 300km on a tank running 80. Its just not built for higher speeds.
alexei
post Apr 19 2024, 01:13 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

top box can mess with the stability of a bike, more so than side boxes, it's usually mounted higher, and farther to the back, behind the rear wheel center axis, compared to pannier boxes which are closer to the cog, so a top box can reduce load on the front wheel which is not good - brake dive, corner slides, losing the front traction etc

Netto Hikari
post Apr 19 2024, 03:54 PM

Solution Architect?
2,410 posts

i go with versys650. i travel about 50km from home to office and there are many tolls in between. for me i can speed and more stable on a big bike.
be sure to be gear up.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0163sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 06:32 AM