[HELP] Coughing more than 1 month with Phlegm?, No sore throat, coughing with phelgm

TSiSean
post Feb 23 2024, 01:07 PM, updated 2 months ago

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

Hi folks, anyone got symptoms of coughing for more than a month since New Year?
I've been minor coughing for like 1.5 months+ now.
Normally is just coughing out yellow colour phlegm in the afternoon, then the rest of the day will become normal.
Breathing so far ok, with some days are bad.
No sore throat throughout the period.

Been jabbed for Flu Vaccine for 2023 around July last year.

Previous Doctor claims might be caused by Lung Inflamation from the dusts in the environment I stayed... that I attempt to clean up.
Or aircond usage coughing lungs to become too dry? Dust mites.

I've been drinking various brands of Cough Medicines + Phlegm Remover as well.
From clinic's prescription's black cough syrup, to "Uphadyl + Expectorant" to Dextrophan, FluiFort Syrup (Carbocysteine Lysine Salt 9%), Holistica Coflix, Mucoway/Muconac N-acetylcysteine 600mg

Thinking whether I need to go see a Lung specialist in the KL region for further follow up for my mysterious case. rclxub.gif

=====================
UPDATE = 28-Feb
I went back to my usual Private Clinic today and instead of Klinik Kesihatan/gov route, Private Clinic GP told me to go to BP for Chest X-Ray (RM 50 for X-Ray). I came back to him with CXR, he said Lungs is ok, no signs of white patches/dots in lungs or pneunomia accumulation at bottom of lungs.

He told me if complete medication, still not helping need to do see specialist sweat.gif

Claiming is just Lung Inflammation sweat.gif Might be due to drinking cold drinks or sleep under direct air cond rclxub.gif
He also saying might possible of Long COVID, if I kena COVID recently, which might lead to long term coughing...

Doctor just prescribed :

- 100 ml ZECUF HERBAL COUGH REMEDY
- 10 tablets of Sunward Mucoclear (Ambroxol HCl 30 mg) - Phelgm removal
- 10 tablets of Sunward Deltasolone (Prednisolone 5mg) - antihistamine / reduce swelling ?

============================
UPDATE = 3-March

After completing the medication.
Feeling much better now.

I still get the usual dry coughs once or twice in the morning/afternoon, but good news not much phlegm!

Order Tiger Milk Mushroom Supplements on Lazada/Shopee. Let's see whether this can improve my immunity.

This post has been edited by iSean: Mar 8 2024, 08:17 PM
miromiro
post Feb 23 2024, 01:11 PM

560 posts

Got look for doctor dulu?

If Aircon dry make sure bring water into Aircon maybe a humidifier may help abit

This post has been edited by miromiro: Feb 23 2024, 01:12 PM
jetblast
post Feb 23 2024, 01:12 PM

1,039 posts

Probably TB
laksamana
post Feb 23 2024, 01:12 PM

1,356 posts

You definitely need proper antibiotics to treat once and for all

Otherwise, the cough can persist for months, which can lead to other complications
TSiSean
post Feb 23 2024, 01:14 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(miromiro @ Feb 23 2024, 01:11 PM)
Got look for doctor dulu?

If Aircon dry make sure bring water into Aircon maybe a humidifier may help abit
Will go back to my previous Clinic's doctor and see whether got solution or referral for nearby speacialist sweat.gif
ZeneticX
post Feb 23 2024, 01:15 PM

stars for what
12,411 posts

Long covid? Maybe you kena without realising it
nelson969
post Feb 23 2024, 01:16 PM

318 posts

hidden underlying condition ? i had this but after 1 month i am totally fine,

could be your immune system working very slow. consider live healthy, sleep at 9/10pm , eat congee , bland food , fruit, be anti social for a while, play game, relax, dont go out from the room for a while, get some sun once in a while
miromiro
post Feb 23 2024, 01:18 PM

560 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 23 2024, 01:14 PM)
Will go back to my previous Clinic's doctor and see whether got solution or referral for nearby speacialist  sweat.gif
If you cough too long and feel bad please find another doctor,if you worry just go for specialist saja

Can make honey lemon drinks
3nf0rc3r
post Feb 23 2024, 01:21 PM

205 posts

Do chest xray.
TSiSean
post Feb 23 2024, 01:22 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Feb 23 2024, 01:12 PM)
Probably TB
I hope not rclxub.gif
Screening for TB now that fast need to cultivate for weeks one rclxub.gif
xeNOS
post Feb 23 2024, 01:24 PM

.:floccinaucinihilipilification:.
1,194 posts

Do you have any history of Sinus problem? A course of mild steroid nasal spray for 1 month+ might be able to resolve the issue.
BOTAK_WAI
post Feb 23 2024, 01:24 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,140 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 23 2024, 01:07 PM)
Normally is just coughing out yellow colour phlegm in the afternoon, then the rest of the day will become normal.
No sore throat throughout the season.

Previous Doctor claims might be caused by Lung Inflamation from the dusts in the environment I stayed... that I attempt to clean up.

From clinic's prescription's black cough syrup, to "Uphadyl + Expectorant" to Dextrophan, FluiFort Syrup (Carbocysteine Lysine Salt 9%), Holistica Coflix, Mucoway/Muconac N-acetylcysteine 600mg

Thinking whether I need to go see a Lung specialist in the KL region for further follow up for my mysterious case.  rclxub.gif
of course the best way is to seek consultation from various doctors or specialist.

have u tried this?

consume 1 tablet whenever u cough badly, see if it stop your cough temporary or not.
Thebestscammer
post Feb 23 2024, 01:27 PM

309 posts

sounds like TB dude. RIP, no cure for that and i hope you dont go around passing it to people too if its really TB
go get it checked, wear mask pls
Chanwsan
post Feb 23 2024, 01:29 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Cough so long with phlegm also know abnormal la... Maybe not TB but potentially pneumonia too. Go get second opinion or find specialist better
yongkt
post Feb 23 2024, 01:40 PM

108 posts

Got difficulty in breathing? Sleeping time feel like drowning in water and out of breathe? I have the exact symptoms coughing for few months then first few doctors just gave me cough medicine.

Once I cannot tahan and went to hospital, took an x-ray and saw liquids in my lungs. Pneumonia. Admitted to hospital 5 days jab antibiotics.
synical
post Feb 23 2024, 01:46 PM

653 posts

Could be post nasal drip, but don't quote me on that.

Go gahmen hosp ENT?
Avangelice
post Feb 23 2024, 01:54 PM

5,270 posts

Thinking whether I need to go see a Lung specialist in the KL region for further follow up for my mysterious case.  rclxub.gif
What you are missing is anti histamines. Continue taking them until you get better. This helped my son overcome his 2 months long cough
s-works
post Feb 23 2024, 02:10 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(yongkt @ Feb 23 2024, 01:40 PM)
Got difficulty in breathing? Sleeping time feel like drowning in water and out of breathe? I have the exact symptoms coughing for few months then first few doctors just gave me cough medicine.

Once I cannot tahan and went to hospital, took an x-ray and saw liquids in my lungs. Pneumonia. Admitted to hospital 5 days jab antibiotics.
i have same symptom
dest9116
post Feb 23 2024, 02:20 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 23 2024, 01:22 PM)
I hope not  rclxub.gif
Screening for TB now that fast need to cultivate for weeks one  rclxub.gif
Screening for tb need 3 days only. They will inject then 72 hours later measure the size of the bumb.

Better go check for tb, my relative also kena keep cough and phlegm very smelly phlegm. Went many doctors they din diagnose tb until he kena the tubulus lumps and start spread to whole body not just the throat and lungs only found out after go gov hospital and do biopsy. Now after 1 year still not recover fully yet.
kevinc
post Feb 23 2024, 04:25 PM

435 posts

try this combi. mucosolvan syrup+augmentin(amoxicillin). both twice a day. antibiotic to finish full 5 days course. my 3 weeks of coughing(with phlegm) stopped after 3 days of this combi
TSiSean
post Feb 23 2024, 04:30 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Feb 23 2024, 04:25 PM)
try this combi. mucosolvan syrup+augmentin(amoxicillin). both twice a day. antibiotic to finish full 5 days course. my 3 weeks of coughing(with phlegm) stopped after 3 days of this combi
To shouldn't be able to get antibiotics (augmentin(amoxicillin)) from pharmacy sweat.gif
Need to check out the doctor first.
kevinc
post Feb 23 2024, 04:34 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 23 2024, 04:30 PM)
To shouldn't be able to get antibiotics (augmentin(amoxicillin)) from pharmacy  sweat.gif
Need to check out the doctor first.
ask ur clinic doc to prescribe of course
aranel
post Feb 23 2024, 04:37 PM

254 posts

you can go to Eu Yang Seng and get the EYS TigerMune.

it work for me. Even since my 2nd time kena Covid have been coughing non stop. Until my colleague introduce to me.

At first they recommend to drink it twice daily, after a month if it ok then you can stop.

For me I have stop drinking but keep a box as spare.
kirlcheah
post Feb 23 2024, 04:50 PM

63 posts

i had the same problem. I got covid. Was sick and admitted into hospital. Then came out. Still not much phlegm. Then more and more of phlegm and yellowish and greenish. Starting to get shortness of breath and then squat standup have a bit of headache and heart racing. Heart start having PVC. After 2 weeks, went for MRI after getting worse. Found out my heart palpitations was due to myocardial edema. The heart had swollen with water and most important thing is the barrier of the heart could be infected as well causing the phlegm. See heart specialist to take heart failure medications and now only start to get better.
Chinese TCM explains that the lungs become weak after covid causing not enough O2 to heart and thus have those phlegm. You have to see chinese TCM to get some medications for it. No western medication can help. It's been 2 months for me. After 3 weeks of TCM now only no more phlegm and starting to get better.

kevinc
post Feb 23 2024, 05:20 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(kirlcheah @ Feb 23 2024, 04:50 PM)
See heart specialist to take heart failure medications and now only start to get better.
what heart failure medications r u on ?
Denise_D
post Feb 23 2024, 05:25 PM

121 posts

my wife kena covid and after recovered, now...coughing coming into 3 months with clear/transparent phlegm. all kind of syrup tried and also taken twice antibiotic......even doc request for xray...and found no issue.
anyone out there with same symptom ?? and get cured?

all klinik in my taman visited..but still the same.

really appreciate advice...
mpyw
post Feb 23 2024, 05:30 PM

3,603 posts

Get this Lignosus rhinocerus (虎乳芝)

my wife and daughter's cough cannot heal all settle by taking the powder of the above, can get from chinese medicine shop, not cheap though
qwerty79
post Feb 23 2024, 05:42 PM

1,907 posts

I caught Covid two times.

1st, I experienced a light cough due to a sore throat that lasted for about a month. I also found it easier to get a sore throat. Every 2-3 months, I would have a sore throat that lasted 1-2 weeks. So keep coughing every time got sore throat. No phlegm.

2nd times which is last year, I had a cough that persisted for around two weeks, despite only testing positive for two days. Sometimes, I felt like something was stuck in my throat and I had difficulty breathing. This went on for a month. Doctor suggested using some spray which directly spray into the throat. Completed heal after 3 days. But my throat feels uncomfortable unlike before convid. May be to long coughing, some minor tear happen.
cempedaklife
post Feb 23 2024, 05:45 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

my whole family got the same, including kids 5 years and 8 years old.
one by one we go see a doc, he asked us to use those spray spray medicine used to treat asthma.

whole family been okay after coughing for couple of months.
ycs
post Feb 23 2024, 05:51 PM

4,220 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Feb 23 2024, 05:30 PM)
Get this Lignosus rhinocerus (虎乳芝)

my wife and daughter's cough cannot heal all settle by taking the powder of the above, can get from chinese medicine shop, not cheap though
like this one
https://shopee.com.my/%E3%80%90%E5%A4%9A%E5...59-9b2b4cb9a64b
mataharih
post Feb 23 2024, 06:04 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(Denise_D @ Feb 23 2024, 05:25 PM)
my wife kena covid and after recovered, now...coughing coming into 3 months with clear/transparent phlegm. all kind of syrup tried and also taken twice antibiotic......even doc request for xray...and found no issue.
anyone out there with same symptom ?? and get cured?

all klinik in my taman visited..but still the same.

really appreciate advice...
Could be bronchitis or allergy/asthma. Go back to the clinic and get a referral to see a specialist in Respiratory Medicine.

This post has been edited by mataharih: Feb 23 2024, 06:05 PM
tinkerfy
post Feb 23 2024, 06:08 PM

Look left, look right, shoot shoot shoot
1,316 posts

Sounds like you got lung infection or other respiratory disease.
Better go see a GP and get a recommendation letter for admission to hospital for proper check up and treatment.

Any craving for brains/raw meat?
JayashClick
post Feb 23 2024, 06:12 PM

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 23 2024, 02:07 PM)

Take raw mexican peppermint

rin66o
post Feb 23 2024, 07:03 PM

41 posts

Sinus can cause coughing also.
pisces88
post Feb 23 2024, 08:11 PM

3,966 posts

probably after effect of covid. wife had long cough like urs. try betadine spray, use daily few times. then take chinese med, like those tigermune. it will take time..
cybpsych
post Feb 23 2024, 08:29 PM

---------------------
65,262 posts

many cases of CAP, community-acquirdd pneumonia

causes infection to lungs, trachea... which is causing prolonged coughing

lung may contain liquid due to infection

gotta get proper hospital checkup and antibiotics dosses (nebulizer) to cure.

estimated 1 week to hospitalized by following antibiotics cycles continuously..

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Feb 24 2024, 06:26 AM
superbike
post Feb 23 2024, 09:49 PM

224 posts

Why take so many meds just for trial and error in hoping it could cure the cough? Possible bad interaction between medications can be really deadly if you don't know what you're doing.
Bartholomew S
post Feb 23 2024, 10:07 PM

61 posts

I suggest drink a spoon of honey every night before sleep. Don't buy cheap honey.
toughguy
post Feb 23 2024, 10:50 PM

105 posts

I had experienced frequent cough. Every time I start coughing, it'll last for over a month'.
Last last I found out that the dust on top of my cupboard causing it. The cupboard is right in front of my Aircon. When turn on Aircon, the dust blow off.
How I frequently clean the cupboard, no more coughing. When I feel like starting to cough, I clean the cupboard, then all is fine.
kerolzarmyfanboy
post Feb 23 2024, 11:27 PM

575 posts

oh hey fellow sufferer tongue.gif
i've been coughing since early Dec, initially had fever. Nearby clinic doc that I went to said it's acute bronchitis for me, but I know that term just the general diagnosis for persistent cough that lasted more than a month.
was given few rounds of cough syrup, antibiotic (only the first week), antihistamine, etc for the past 3 months..
It's getting much better now, but not fully recover. still some mild coughing sometimes.. my coughs kinda on and off weirdly enuff... some days I might cough a bit more, some days it just went away.. non-smoker btw.
my suspicion is that it's asthma for me, it's in the family, never really had asthma attack before, but probably due to age, i'm probably now more prone to it.

anyway it's not a bad idea for u to do lung x-ray & consult with specialist, i know I should too, but goddamn am I lazy. biggrin.gif
Blofeld
post Feb 23 2024, 11:34 PM

4,697 posts

first step: Go klinik kesihatan and tell doc u r coughing for more than one month and want to test for TB

doc will take your x-ray and ask u to do the sputum test (3 times). Doc will also write you a recommendation letter to go to see lung specialist in GH.

meanwhile wait for the sputum test and see what's the results. Regardless, sputum test may not be entirely accurate.

second step: go take the letter and make an appointment at GH. GH will give you the tuberculin skin test and blood test. The specialist may request for a sputum test again.

third step: the specialist may arrange for a bronchoscopy for a more accurate result.

Alternatively, if u want to be fast since tomorrow is saturday, u can choose to do it at a private hospital. But basically every step is the same regardless private or public.

U can also arrange by yourself to do a sputum test at any local labs (BP lab, etc).

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

dont play play, TB cases are very high in Malaysia

TB cases rise by over 5% last year

PETALING JAYA: Malaysia recorded 26,781 cases of tuberculosis (TB) cases in 2023, a 5.47% increase from the 25,391 TB cases reported in 2022, says the Health Ministry.

In 2021, there were 21,727 cases reported in the country.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2024...ver-5-last-year

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

other than TB, of course, the cough could be due to other non-infectious causes such as asthma, GERD, etc

but since u mentioned your phlegm is yellow, it's usually indicative of an infection, it's important to rule out TB first

This post has been edited by Blofeld: Feb 23 2024, 11:42 PM
sljm
post Feb 23 2024, 11:43 PM

35 posts

I had covid after new year, and have been coughing ever since with occasional transparent phlegm. Just found out from here that many others are having the same symptoms..
romuluz777
post Feb 23 2024, 11:58 PM

2,204 posts

The lungs will not be as original post covid. Do take care
shadowglow
post Feb 24 2024, 02:23 AM

462 posts

Do tb test
They will inject weak bacteria under your skin to confirm. It n your family member need to do it too

teslaman
post Feb 24 2024, 02:38 AM

1,154 posts

possible cancer also, try mri scan
6942nole
post Feb 24 2024, 06:05 AM

345 posts

did you take pfizer?
OnePiece999
post Feb 24 2024, 10:06 AM

405 posts

Read my thread already told you be careful, the cause is very obvious already. all on the pictures I posted
submergedx
post Feb 24 2024, 12:07 PM

1,124 posts

Coughing for a month are normal.

Not mysterious at all.
dest9116
post Feb 24 2024, 01:17 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Feb 24 2024, 12:07 PM)
Coughing for a month are normal.

Not mysterious at all.
Not if got thick phlegm yellow/green

Dryish cough with clear phlegm cough for 3 months+ does happen tho especially after covid
kirlcheah
post Feb 24 2024, 05:04 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Feb 23 2024, 05:20 PM)
what heart failure medications r u on ?
entresto 50mg and now changed to 100mg.
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 24 2024, 07:10 PM

3,853 posts

After got Covid, my cough very weird. It just comes suddenly and very violent and loud for a few times. Do you all have this symptom?
kevinc
post Feb 25 2024, 10:24 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(kirlcheah @ Feb 24 2024, 05:04 PM)
entresto 50mg and now changed to 100mg.
ic. tcare
kevinc
post Feb 25 2024, 10:26 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 24 2024, 07:10 PM)
After got Covid, my cough very weird. It just comes suddenly and very violent and loud for a few times. Do you all have this symptom?
prolly due to throat irritation? take some soothing sweets like ricola or himalaya
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 25 2024, 11:38 AM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Feb 25 2024, 10:26 AM)
prolly due to throat irritation? take some soothing sweets like ricola or himalaya
Not throat at all. It just goes tornado suddenly. My friend says have similar symptoms. More to do with lung.
Mel2
post Feb 25 2024, 03:18 PM

861 posts

I had similar cough pattern recently. Been coughing for 3 to 4 months. No running nose, no throat infection. Just phlegm. Yeah transparent ones.

I had cough before covid. After covid cleared, continued coughing. Don't know for what reasons.

It was so bad that I hardly could sleep. During day time, no cough. Just as wanted to sleep, I would cough very badly, at times I couldn't breathe properly. 😪

Glad, just 2 weeks before CNY, suddenly no more cough. I eat mandarin oranges everyday also no cough lol.

hksgmy
post Feb 27 2024, 05:57 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 24 2024, 07:10 PM)
Yes. Quite common post COVID, sadly. Hope you're feeling better.
TSiSean
post Feb 28 2024, 02:00 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Feb 23 2024, 11:34 PM)
first step: Go klinik kesihatan and tell doc u r coughing for more than one month and want to test for TB

doc will take your x-ray and ask u to do the sputum test (3 times). Doc will also write you a recommendation letter to go to see lung specialist in GH.

meanwhile wait for the sputum test and see what's the results. Regardless, sputum test may not be entirely accurate.

second step: go take the letter and make an appointment at GH. GH will give you the tuberculin skin test and blood test. The specialist may request for a sputum test again.

third step: the specialist may arrange for a bronchoscopy for a more accurate result.

Alternatively, if u want to be fast since tomorrow is saturday, u can choose to do it at a private hospital. But basically every step is the same regardless private or public.

U can also arrange by yourself to do a sputum test at any local labs (BP lab, etc).

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

dont play play, TB cases are very high in Malaysia

TB cases rise by over 5% last year

PETALING JAYA: Malaysia recorded 26,781 cases of tuberculosis (TB) cases in 2023, a 5.47% increase from the 25,391 TB cases reported in 2022, says the Health Ministry.

In 2021, there were 21,727 cases reported in the country.

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2024...ver-5-last-year

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

other than TB, of course, the cough could be due to other non-infectious causes such as asthma, GERD, etc

but since u mentioned your phlegm is yellow, it's usually indicative of an infection, it's important to rule out TB first
Should have read your post sweat.gif

I went back to my usual Private Clinic today and instead of Klinik Kesihatan/gov route, Private Clinic GP told me to go to BP for Chest X-Ray (RM 50 for X-Ray). I came back to him with CXR, he said Lungs is ok, no signs of white patches/dots in lungs or pneunomia accumulation at bottom of lungs.

He told me if complete medication, still not helping need to do see specialist sweat.gif

Claiming is just Lung Inflammation sweat.gif Might be due to drinking cold drinks or sleep under direct air cond rclxub.gif
He also saying might possible of Long COVID, if I kena COVID recently, which might lead to long term coughing...

This post has been edited by iSean: Feb 28 2024, 03:10 PM
yhtan
post Feb 28 2024, 04:21 PM

8,650 posts

i do have similar symptoms like yours and i have difficulty in breathing especially sleeping, one of the doctor gave me menthol crystal, boil some hot water, put the menthol crystal and sniff in, it somehow clear up phlegm stuck in my nose.
ticke
post Feb 28 2024, 05:08 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

probably nose drip that u didn't realise. must be one of those kobis side effect...
TSiSean
post Feb 28 2024, 05:25 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(ticke @ Feb 28 2024, 05:08 PM)
probably nose drip that u didn't realise. must be one of those kobis side effect...
You mean Postnasal drip ?

Postnasal drip is the accumulation of mucus in the back of the throat, which can cause a feeling of congestion, a sore throat, or a cough.

Well no idea if this the reason, I didn't really sneeze that often also.
TSiSean
post Feb 28 2024, 05:26 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Feb 28 2024, 04:21 PM)
i do have similar symptoms like yours and i have difficulty in breathing especially sleeping, one of the doctor gave me menthol crystal, boil some hot water, put the menthol crystal and sniff in, it somehow clear up phlegm stuck in my nose.
I think I can just buy Vicks VapoRub for that. Didn't use a long time.
~min~
post Feb 28 2024, 09:25 PM

SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

Been coughing since aug last year. Todei i go check, twice ambik darah, need to send sample kahak for 3 days, xray, dokter say got something on left lung. Come again after all blood test comes out
contagiouseddie
post Feb 28 2024, 09:29 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 23 2024, 01:22 PM)
I hope not  rclxub.gif
Screening for TB now that fast need to cultivate for weeks one  rclxub.gif
TB is completely dry. Got it many years back.
TSiSean
post Feb 28 2024, 09:57 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(~min~ @ Feb 28 2024, 09:25 PM)
Been coughing since aug last year. Todei i go check, twice ambik darah, need to send sample kahak for 3 days, xray, dokter say got something on left lung. Come again after all blood test comes out
Government Clinic and Hospital?
~min~
post Feb 28 2024, 11:18 PM

SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 28 2024, 09:57 PM)
Government Clinic and Hospital?
yes
failed.hashcheck
post Feb 29 2024, 08:21 AM

Neighborhood plant pathologist
2,090 posts

Ooh i got kena like this last year after raya. 5 months cough with phlegm and bloodand no exact known cause. Suspected tb but all possible tests came out negative. Dr even suspect I have hiv which also negative.
But it boils down to lung infection which were solved with two round of antibiotics; although there were more complications discovered following up that were not really solved until now.
CeDhhVss
post Feb 29 2024, 09:45 AM

92 posts

go meet ENT doktor
prophetjul
post Feb 29 2024, 09:57 AM

12,267 posts

QUOTE(CeDhhVss @ Feb 29 2024, 09:45 AM)
go meet ENT doktor
ENT? Why?
Virlution
post Feb 29 2024, 10:24 AM

481 posts

cough medicine, betadine gargle, nasal spray to clear mucus.

vitamin C buy the smallest mg dosage 100mg or 250mg, eat it spread out in the day to make 1000mg a day or if you use those 1000mg tablet like redoxin, break into 4 quarters and drink them morning, noon, evening and night.

try eating steamed orange with salt or boil those pear drinks.

https://www.soluheal.com/steam-orange-salt-...sistence-cough/

https://redhousespice.com/pear-rock-sugar/
CeDhhVss
post Feb 29 2024, 10:27 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Feb 29 2024, 09:57 AM)
ENT?  Why?
ear nose and throat la

Mel2
post Feb 29 2024, 10:39 AM

861 posts

Earlier I mentioned here I did have cough for 3 - 4 months..

I tried drinking kombucha, honey lemon, etc.... they helped a little.... but phlegm returned after 2 days or so...

A friend suggested me to drink coconut oil. I think it helped.... maybe those of you finding your cough so hard to cure.... can try....I bought it from BMS Organics.

I no more coughing now but will add coconut oil in my coffee occasionally..
Steponlego
post Mar 1 2024, 10:35 PM

936 posts

Hi, I just had similar case. I had been coughing every evening, like choking on my own saliva since June. Then every month I will have sorethroat, mild fever. Completed antibiotics, doesn't help much. This goes on until October when the cough got significantly worse. Went to my GP friend, did Influenza test, and then I found out I'm influenza A positive.

After that influenza, the phlegm become worsen, annoying, lasting for one more month. And then by December... it suddenly gone. I'm back to healthy, no more evening cough.

So in total, it took me 6 months for the condition to resolve by itself, which I think, is not something I would recommend anyone. So maybe try find a respiratory specialist because it is a very annoying 6 months of coughing. GP can't help with this condition.
sanwaltz
post Mar 1 2024, 11:35 PM

51 posts

ask doctor if it could be GERD or not
kevinc
post Mar 2 2024, 09:03 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(Steponlego @ Mar 1 2024, 10:35 PM)
Completed antibiotics, doesn't help much.
antibiotic resistance already. need to change antibiotic
kevinc
post Mar 2 2024, 09:12 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(Mel2 @ Feb 29 2024, 10:39 AM)
A friend suggested me to drink coconut oil. I think it helped
this to soothe the throat ?
cycheah
post Mar 2 2024, 09:48 AM

237 posts

during 2022 after my covid on august, i have been throat infection, cough, phlegm, fever, headache on and off... been taking various med here and there... december i went and see TCM, take about 1 and 1/2 months of chinese med and recovered.

think you can consider to visit TCM if western med isn't working very well. one i can recommend in kepong Taipei TCM, you can visit Dr. Chu Yun Sang, retired Dr but he still take patient on Thursday and Saturday. So make your appointment. Or you can visit any TCM near your area

This post has been edited by cycheah: Mar 2 2024, 09:49 AM
smsid
post Mar 2 2024, 11:06 AM

117 posts

I used to have health problems, and I enjoy drinking cold water for any kind of beverage.

But for 5 years, I have been enjoying hot tea almost every tea time and stop drinking any other sweet beverage. It seems to be a good health approach to emulate old wisdom.

So until today, I still enjoy drinking plain cold water every single day, but minus the flu & phlegm.

But cutting fast food & street food also helps a lot.

Street food has been using cheap substitute ingredients from China lately, which is something questionable.
AbbyCom
post Mar 2 2024, 11:16 AM

453 posts

UPDATE = 28-Feb

He told me if complete medication, still not helping need to do see specialist  sweat.gif

Claiming is just Lung Inflammation  sweat.gif  Might be due to drinking cold drinks or sleep under direct air cond  rclxub.gif

Doctor just prescribed :

- 100 ml ZECUF HERBAL COUGH REMEDY
- 10 tablets of Sunward Mucoclear (Ambroxol HCl 30 mg) - Phelgm removal
- 10 tablets of Sunward Deltasolone (Prednisolone 5mg) - antihistamine / reduce swelling ?
Is it confirmed to be viral, not bacterial since no antibiotic prescribed?

The 100-day cough thingy is bad. Son got it end-Nov. See GP give cheap antibiotics no help, have to go to pedriatric specialist - give better antibiotics and then need follow up two more times - total like almost 8 weeks. Good thing we went to see specialist, as his lungs were already pre-pnuemonia (if I remember the term).

Over CNY, uncle's family a few members also not well - later heard whole family kena, yesterday heard one of his daughters (adult 30+yrs old) admitted to hospital for pneumonia.

Conclusion - some strains of this season's flu stronk.

Edit : was afraid TB (but thankfully it was not and since the better antibiotics and some other medications helped) and also that it will spread to others in the house but it's been more than 3 months, only son kena - dunno why.

This post has been edited by AbbyCom: Mar 2 2024, 11:21 AM
ericcheng2021
post Mar 2 2024, 11:29 AM

182 posts

coughing sometimes it is not the throat nor the lung, but the stomach gas.
Mel2
post Mar 3 2024, 07:43 AM

861 posts

QUOTE(kevinc @ Mar 2 2024, 09:12 AM)
this to soothe the throat ?
To reduce phlegm.
croydon
post Mar 9 2024, 02:54 PM

530 posts

kena Dec 2023, this month can say almost 98% no more coughing for me except during cold weather
Odinn
post Mar 10 2024, 01:50 PM

Say what?!?&!%@
1,167 posts

TS, during the whole time, did you ever feel short of breath after exerting yourself, even a bit? E.g. walk up a flight of stairs, walk at fast pace for few mins?
TSiSean
post Mar 10 2024, 02:43 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(Odinn @ Mar 10 2024, 01:50 PM)
TS, during the whole time, did you ever feel short of breath after exerting yourself, even a bit? E.g. walk up a flight of stairs, walk at fast pace for few mins?
It's more like difficulty in breathing due to build up of mucus in the lungs.
Especially during hot and humid afternoons.
Snoopycute98
post Oct 4 2025, 03:43 PM

403 posts

Been cough (with phlegm) for few years, TS got any solution works so far?

Had an appointment with ENT but its around 3 months later

This post has been edited by Snoopycute98: Oct 4 2025, 03:44 PM
mushigen
post Oct 4 2025, 03:52 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Oct 4 2025, 03:43 PM)

Is this a mistake or what?
Snoopycute98
post Oct 4 2025, 04:33 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Oct 4 2025, 03:52 PM)
Is this a mistake or what?
It is real. chronic cough + anxiety cough.

But for last year it was cured for 3 months, then it came back.

TSiSean
post Oct 4 2025, 07:13 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

Mine stopped after awhile, after this post. Apparently one zap with Chest X-Ray, then my lungs became clear. I thought have long covid or what.

I go pharmacy go get pharmacy get Mucosolvan (contains 30mg of Ambroxol hydrochloride), then the phelgm become watery.

This post has been edited by iSean: Oct 4 2025, 07:14 PM
heinlein
post Oct 4 2025, 07:31 PM

1,788 posts

If cough for too long please go see doctor, my friend's husband die from myocarditis becus he ignore his coughing thinking it just a trivial thing
Snoopycute98
post Oct 4 2025, 07:49 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Oct 4 2025, 07:31 PM)
If cough for too long please go see doctor, my friend's husband die from myocarditis becus he ignore his coughing thinking it just a trivial thing
Will see ENT in General Hospital later nx year
heinlein
post Oct 4 2025, 07:56 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Oct 4 2025, 07:49 PM)
need to wait next year? is it because need wait for reservation? my friend's husband cough very long suddenly heart pain and cannot breath, after admit to hospital, many organs deteriorate one after another. Health matters, if can, dun wait, very young 33 yo only

This post has been edited by heinlein: Oct 4 2025, 07:56 PM
darkwaka
post Oct 4 2025, 08:13 PM

116 posts

i have dry cough for 6 months and try chinese n western medicine but still cannot ok then later go GH and check and found out kena TB

Just go any klinik kesihatan and pay rm1 and tell them you have been coughing for a long time and they will check for TB

Snoopycute98
post Oct 4 2025, 08:16 PM

403 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Oct 4 2025, 07:56 PM)
need to wait next year? is it because need wait for reservation? my friend's husband cough very long suddenly heart pain and cannot breath, after admit to hospital, many organs deteriorate one after another. Health matters, if can, dun wait, very young 33 yo only
Yeah 3 months later. Damn u made me worried. I might visit KK tmr and see how
Atrocious
post Oct 4 2025, 08:28 PM

96 posts

By right, both bacteria or viral lung infection should resolve/heal themselves within 2-3 weeks or so. It shouldn't be years. Take either bromhexine or ambroxol can help cough relief, it makes the mucus very easy to purge.

This post has been edited by Atrocious: Oct 4 2025, 08:31 PM
heinlein
post Oct 4 2025, 08:29 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Oct 4 2025, 08:16 PM)
Yeah 3 months later. Damn u made me worried. I might visit KK tmr and see how
Better safe than sorry. Last time the longest I cough also 3 months til cough blood. Pharmacy refuse to sell me med and tell me go see doc immediately since she said I might hv infection
Atrocious
post Oct 4 2025, 08:35 PM

96 posts

The early administration of oral bromhexine reduces the ICU transfer, intubation, and the mortality rate in patients with COVID-19. This affordable medication can easily be administered everywhere with a huge positive impact(s) on public health and the world economy.

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC7502909/

kiddokitt
post Oct 4 2025, 08:42 PM

603 posts

QUOTE(darkwaka @ Oct 4 2025, 08:13 PM)
i have dry cough for 6 months and try chinese n western medicine but still cannot ok then later go GH and check and found out kena TB

Just go any klinik kesihatan and pay rm1 and tell them you have been coughing for a long time and they will check for TB
Damn! During those 6 months, how many have you infected unknowingly? And they infected someone else.
bupapypy
post Oct 4 2025, 09:23 PM

14 posts

if western medicine not working
can try Tcm if u r cannis
byen8888
post Oct 4 2025, 10:27 PM

50 posts

stop having dairy, cold drinks and pantang your diet for 2 weeks. i had the same for a month i just force sneeze hard af to push all out and rest a lil healthier, now ok already.
AppleDroid
post Oct 5 2025, 09:23 AM

61 posts

Try Erdosteine (Erdomed) and Dihydrocodeine Tartrate (Sunward Suncodin).

These are normally prescribed by a lung physician for coughing and phlegm.
Blofeld
post Oct 5 2025, 10:20 AM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(darkwaka @ Oct 4 2025, 08:13 PM)

Can share what other symptoms u have other than just dry cough?

no phlegm at all?

no fever?

no pain in chest?
Blofeld
post Oct 5 2025, 10:22 AM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Oct 4 2025, 07:49 PM)
u should visit the respiratory / lung dept

not ENT
darkwaka
post Oct 5 2025, 10:28 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(kiddokitt @ Oct 4 2025, 08:42 PM)
Damn! During those 6 months, how many have you infected unknowingly? And they infected someone else.
No friends and family member infected

darkwaka
post Oct 5 2025, 10:36 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 5 2025, 10:20 AM)
Can share what other symptoms u have other than just dry cough?

no phlegm at all?

no fever?

no pain in chest?
At starting only coughing then around 5 months starting to have no appetite for food and then some time sleeping will have cold sweat even sleeping with aircond

fewer up and down, coughing have little phlegm

After checking in GH and stay in hospital for 5 days, they let me back home for self home quarantine 14 days

Have to take total 6 months of non stop medication

Our kkm is really good because i only pay rm1 for checking and the rest (hospitalization & TB medicine) all free

Blofeld
post Oct 5 2025, 10:39 AM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(darkwaka @ Oct 5 2025, 10:36 AM)
At starting only coughing then around 5 months starting to have no appetite for food and then some time sleeping will have cold sweat even sleeping with aircond

After checking in GH and stay in hospital for 5 days, they let me back home for self home quarantine 14 days

Our kkm is really good because i only pay rm1 for checking and the rest (hospitalization & TB medicine) all free
Thanks for sharing

May I know if you mingle around with foreign workers?

or where do you think u got it from?
darkwaka
post Oct 5 2025, 11:30 AM

116 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 5 2025, 10:39 AM)
Thanks for sharing

May I know if you mingle around with foreign workers?

or where do you think u got it from?
I dont mingle with foreigner and i dont know where i got it from

During hospitalize atleast got 6-7 patient same ward with me all also kena TB
netflix2019
post Oct 5 2025, 04:49 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(darkwaka @ Oct 5 2025, 11:30 AM)
I dont mingle with foreigner and i dont know where i got it from

During hospitalize atleast got 6-7 patient same ward with me all also kena TB
Wow thx for informing.

From.what i heard not easy to get TB. Need to have combo of malnutrition and living in crowded space with other TB ppl to get it.

Also heard the antibiotics very annoying cos if not take as instructed for full 6 months the TB not going to go awat then need top up another months/years of antibiotics again.
dest9116
post Oct 5 2025, 06:36 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(darkwaka @ Oct 5 2025, 10:36 AM)

Yep even if u go clinic, if u tell u cough more than 1 month, they will start asking you questions on symptoms of TB exactly as what you described. They asked me any fever, got night terror or not, sleep OK or not.

TB medication takes a long time to cure, best not to skip. If you work near to foreigners or have close family coughing and u know they work near to foreigners especially construction workers, better check.

Worst case is when the tubules appear, hence the name tuberculosis, the tubules will damage not only your lungs, it will appear everywhere, like brain, kidney, liver, knee joints, throat.

Issue now is the gov stopped giving the BCG injection @ standard 6 in 2001, so the only injection is when newborn. The vaccine loses effect at 12 YO by 24+ years old start work in 2025, most people are no longer immune, easily infected from foreigners and spread around.

Last time is difficult to kena due to everyone being vaccinated, now no more all are exposed fully

This post has been edited by dest9116: Oct 5 2025, 06:47 PM
dest9116
post Oct 5 2025, 06:41 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Oct 4 2025, 08:29 PM)
Better safe than sorry. Last time the longest I cough also 3 months til cough blood. Pharmacy refuse to sell me med and tell me go see doc immediately since she said I might hv infection
If cough over 1 week with phlegm green colour and deep cough chest pain when cough or wake up from coughing, go clinic and tell them ur symptom, insist blood test to confirm bacteria or virus, if bacteria they will give antibiotic.

Don't expect u can recover, nowadays bacterial cough very difficult to recover without antibiotic. Take antibiotic after 2 days will feel better, by the end of the antibiotic u confirm fully recover.

If no take, u might progress to pneumonia and u will die without ventilator. Don't play with cough
Atrocious
post Oct 5 2025, 06:52 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Oct 5 2025, 06:41 PM)
If cough over 1 week with phlegm green colour and deep cough chest pain when cough or wake up from coughing, go clinic and tell them ur symptom, insist blood test to confirm bacteria or virus, if bacteria they will give antibiotic.

Don't expect u can recover, nowadays bacterial cough very difficult to recover without antibiotic. Take antibiotic after 2 days will feel better, by the end of the antibiotic u confirm fully recover.

If no take, u might progress to pneumonia and u will die without ventilator. Don't play with cough
True. That's why amoxicillin is one of the top/frequent purchase when ang mohs travel over to mexico. They stock up..
heinlein
post Oct 5 2025, 07:05 PM

1,788 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Oct 5 2025, 06:41 PM)

I did see doctor and recovered since pharmacy refuse sell me med, I remember the med include 1 week worth of antibiotic, I never think it as serious until recently my friend husband die from myocarditis , which is caused by virus infection from flu and cough
Roadwarrior1337
post Oct 5 2025, 07:08 PM

979 posts

If you got plegm I suggest you go to Farmasy and get 4 dissolving tablet of mucosolvan. Really works take it 2 time a day and 3rd day u will be much much better with almost no plegm
Atrocious
post Oct 5 2025, 07:12 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Oct 5 2025, 07:05 PM)
I did see doctor and recovered since pharmacy refuse sell me med, I remember the med include 1 week worth of antibiotic, I never think it as serious until recently my friend husband die from myocarditis , which is caused by virus infection from flu and cough
Refuse to sell? Lol. That's because you're looking in the wrong direction.
darkwaka
post Oct 5 2025, 08:07 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Oct 5 2025, 04:49 PM)
Wow thx for informing.

From.what i heard not easy to get TB. Need to have combo of malnutrition and living in crowded space with other TB ppl to get it.

Also heard the antibiotics very annoying cos if not take as instructed for full 6 months the TB not going to go awat then need top up another months/years of antibiotics again.
Yes the medicine need to take 2 months high dose and 4 months normal dose (total 6 months), lucky my Tb cure after 6 months of medicine but doctor say if near Tb patient maybe will kena tb again

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Oct 5 2025, 06:36 PM)
Yep even if u go clinic, if u tell u cough more than 1 month, they will start asking you questions on symptoms of TB exactly as what you described. They asked me any fever, got night terror or not, sleep OK or not.

TB medication takes a long time to cure, best not to skip. If you work near to foreigners or have close family coughing and u know they work near to foreigners especially construction workers, better check.

Worst case is when the tubules appear, hence the name tuberculosis, the tubules will damage not only your lungs, it will appear everywhere, like brain, kidney, liver, knee joints, throat.

Issue now is the gov stopped giving the BCG injection @ standard 6 in 2001, so the only injection is when newborn. The vaccine loses effect at 12 YO by 24+ years old start work in 2025, most people are no longer immune, easily infected from foreigners and spread around.

Last time is difficult to kena due to everyone being vaccinated, now no more all are exposed fully
Doctor at GH ask if i have taken BCG jab (taken when 12 yo) and ask if i have cough blood, lucky no cough blood if not then maybe gg liao

Now i see people cough i will stay far far, scare if kena again need to take medicine for 6 months again

After take the medicine when you pee your pee is near to orange colour sweat.gif

john123x
post Oct 5 2025, 08:41 PM

3,019 posts

nowadays hard to get antibiotic, they scared of antibiotic strain
dest9116
post Oct 5 2025, 11:48 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(john123x @ Oct 5 2025, 08:41 PM)
nowadays hard to get antibiotic, they scared of antibiotic strain
Ya that's why, understood they dowan simply give, that's why if dowan give just insist a blood test they can detect is virus or bacteria based on the type of antibody in the blood. The test take 5 mins only to draw blood and test at the machine. If bacteria and u been coughing over a week they must give you the antibiotic. Else they will risk u infect from upper respirator to lower respirator, become pneumonia that time ur lungs all inflamed and water in lungs, can't breathe then die.

Just go to another clinic if they being asshole or if they don't have the blood testing machine.

This post has been edited by dest9116: Oct 5 2025, 11:49 PM
Blofeld
post Oct 6 2025, 12:40 AM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Oct 5 2025, 04:49 PM)
Wow thx for informing.

very easy to get. Even if you sit nearby a TB patient in a bus.

TB is very contagious

There have been several reported cases in journal articles of TB patients travelling in public transport such as planes and buses; and then they tested the passengers who were sitting nearby the patient. And those sitting nearby were found to be infected.

But one thing unique about TB is that if you are infected, it is still latent and it won't activate yet that fast. Then for some people, the latent infection doesn't even activate at all throughout their life. So, many ppl are not even aware that they have the infection because it's just latent infection (no symptoms = no sickness = not contagious). Only when it is activated (showing symptoms = feeling sick = contagious), then you are a danger to others.
WongTheThief
post Oct 6 2025, 09:56 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 6 2025, 01:40 AM)
very easy to get. Even if you sit nearby a TB patient in a bus.

TB is very contagious

There have been several reported cases in journal articles of TB patients travelling in public transport such as planes and buses; and then they tested the passengers who were sitting nearby the patient. And those sitting nearby were found to be infected.

But one thing unique about TB is that if you are infected, it is still latent and it won't activate yet that fast. Then for some people, the latent infection doesn't even activate at all throughout their life. So, many ppl are not even aware that they have the infection because it's just latent infection (no symptoms = no sickness = not contagious). Only when it is activated (showing symptoms = feeling sick = contagious), then you are a danger to others.
speaking of TB, my late father passed away because of TB. He couldn't do operation to remove the "water" lung because high risks of operation failure due to weak health, he got kena stroke before ~10 years ago. Besides he's also a smoker and always drink a can of beer per day.

Now that I keep on coughing for nearly 2 weeks already, I'm not sure if I got infected with TB as well doh.gif already went to small clinic for antibiotics and generic cough medicines, still got some phlegm in my throat that forces me to cough time to time
Blofeld
post Oct 6 2025, 11:20 AM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Oct 6 2025, 09:56 AM)
speaking of TB, my late father passed away because of TB. He couldn't do operation to remove the "water" lung because high risks of operation failure due to weak health, he got kena stroke before ~10 years ago. Besides he's also a smoker and always drink a can of beer per day.

Now that I keep on coughing for nearly 2 weeks already, I'm not sure if I got infected with TB as well  doh.gif already went to small clinic for antibiotics and generic cough medicines, still got some phlegm in my throat that forces me to cough time to time
What are his symptoms?

He didn't take the TB antibiotics?

There is a possibility u r infected if u stay with him in the same house. And possibly it has activated. For some ppl, the activation comes 10 or 20 years later.

Mind sharing what are your symptoms now? Any chest pain? Any breathing difficulties?
WongTheThief
post Oct 6 2025, 12:10 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 6 2025, 12:20 PM)
What are his symptoms?

He didn't take the TB antibiotics?

There is a possibility u r infected if u stay with him in the same house. And possibly it has activated. For some ppl, the activation comes 10 or 20 years later.

Mind sharing what are your symptoms now? Any chest pain? Any breathing difficulties?
His symptoms were constantly have to cough, even at night sleep time also can hear him cough, skins getting darker as months pass by, and also just feel weak in general. Initially he went to Sun*** Hospital by himself and checked with a doctor, then my father complained to me that the doctor did not diagnose him with TB but with something else, for that I don't really know the details la but in the end visit another doctor. Have to stay in the hospital to draw out the "water" in the lungs, discharged out of hospital after a week, then have to come back again do the same thing because "water" still gets into one of his lungs. Bought the medicines, got like a lot of medicines for him to take lol

He usually comes back home late, sleeps in separate room. Even if he arrived home early e.g. 8.30pm-9pm, he would sit outside home and smoke while reading online novel until 11pm then only go to bed. He got curi-curi smoke even though doctor told him stop smoking doh.gif most likely because of nicotine withdrawal. Doctor did mentioned to take the medicines, but to cure the symptom really have to depend on luck since his health is also weak, taking medicines just only prolong his health for few months but won't cure the TB. Doctor recommended to take surgery but problem is his weak health, the success rate is super low about 5%. In the end succumbed to TB one day at night, he didn't respond at his own bed at home.

So far my symptoms are getting better compared to last week, just the throat feels little itchy now. I had to get cough syrups instead of Strepsils because Strepsils always don't work. As for chest pain, not really chest pain but the area below the left side of my lung, happens only sometimes after eating when sitting down. Breathing okay so far. Last 2 weeks ago when I woke up then can feel the throat pain and itchy.
dest9116
post Oct 6 2025, 01:14 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Oct 6 2025, 12:10 PM)
His symptoms were constantly have to cough, even at night sleep time also can hear him cough, skins getting darker as months pass by, and also just feel weak in general. Initially he went to Sun*** Hospital by himself and checked with a doctor, then my father complained to me that the doctor did not diagnose him with TB but with something else, for that I don't really know the details la but in the end visit another doctor. Have to stay in the hospital to draw out the "water" in the lungs, discharged out of hospital after a week, then have to come back again do the same thing because "water" still gets into one of his lungs. Bought the medicines, got like a lot of medicines for him to take lol

He usually comes back home late, sleeps in separate room. Even if he arrived home early e.g. 8.30pm-9pm, he would sit outside home and smoke while reading online novel until 11pm then only go to bed. He got curi-curi smoke even though doctor told him stop smoking  doh.gif most likely because of nicotine withdrawal. Doctor did mentioned to take the medicines, but to cure the symptom really have to depend on luck since his health is also weak, taking medicines just only prolong his health for few months but won't cure the TB. Doctor recommended to take surgery but problem is his weak health, the success rate is super low about 5%. In the end succumbed to TB one day at night, he didn't respond at his own bed at home.

So far my symptoms are getting better compared to last week, just the throat feels little itchy now. I had to get cough syrups instead of Strepsils because Strepsils always don't work. As for chest pain, not really chest pain but the area below the left side of my lung, happens only sometimes after eating when sitting down. Breathing okay so far. Last 2 weeks ago when I woke up then can feel the throat pain and itchy.
If normal antibiotic not working, quickly go back clinic or hospital tell them what antibiotic u took and not working.
WongTheThief
post Oct 6 2025, 02:22 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Oct 6 2025, 02:14 PM)
If normal antibiotic not working, quickly go back clinic or hospital tell them what antibiotic u took and not working.
sweat.gif now nearly recover fully, maybe tomorrow then would be okay already, don't think I need to go back.
Blofeld
post Oct 6 2025, 04:48 PM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Oct 6 2025, 12:10 PM)

He usually comes back home late, sleeps in separate room. Even if he arrived home early e.g. 8.30pm-9pm, he would sit outside home and smoke while reading online novel until 11pm then only go to bed. He got curi-curi smoke even though doctor told him stop smoking  doh.gif most likely because of nicotine withdrawal. Doctor did mentioned to take the medicines, but to cure the symptom really have to depend on luck since his health is also weak, taking medicines just only prolong his health for few months but won't cure the TB. Doctor recommended to take surgery but problem is his weak health, the success rate is super low about 5%. In the end succumbed to TB one day at night, he didn't respond at his own bed at home.

How long your father was coughing before he passed away.
WongTheThief
post Oct 6 2025, 05:28 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 6 2025, 05:48 PM)
How long your father was coughing before he passed away.
can't recall... about 1~2 years I think? But even before finding out he got TB, he did cough in random frequency

After finding out he has TB, the frequency of coughing keeps increasing

Already told him to stop smoking since I was a kid but didn't listen. However I did saw a few nicotine patch boxes while growing up, I gonna assume he failed to quit smoking. Well, sometimes can't convince a long term smoker I guess.
Blofeld
post Oct 6 2025, 05:50 PM

4,697 posts

QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Oct 6 2025, 05:28 PM)
can't recall... about 1~2 years I think? But even before finding out he got TB, he did cough in random frequency

After finding out he has TB, the frequency of coughing keeps increasing

Already told him to stop smoking since I was a kid but didn't listen. However I did saw a few nicotine patch boxes while growing up, I gonna assume he failed to quit smoking. Well, sometimes can't convince a long term smoker I guess.
What did he do in that 1-2 years? Continue working or resting at home? He still has the energy to walk around in that 1-2 years?
WongTheThief
post Oct 6 2025, 06:33 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 6 2025, 06:50 PM)
What did he do in that 1-2 years? Continue working or resting at home? He still has the energy to walk around in that 1-2 years?
3/4 of 2021 he stayed at home because of covid lockdown, got one time he bought like tons of beer and drank a lot at home

remaining 1/4 of 2021 after lockdown lifted, he will go to work as he's the owner of mudguard shop (makkat in chinese? the one that do car spray and repair job), at this time he looked fine to me

2022 then his health gone rock down bottom, after discovering his TB, certain month of the week had to stay in hospital to withdraw the "water" from the lungs, spent amount 2 months total, I had to drive him to hospital in and out. Sometimes he still went to his shop to work beginning of 2022 but 4-5 months before his death he started to stay at home all day to eat medicine and rest. Had to buy a wheelchair and push him if he needs to go somewhere because he just couldn't breathe much, got respiratory problem already. The hospital got give the 3-ball spirometer for him to test his lung, but yeah difficult for him to do.

0.0525sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 08:12 AM