QUOTE(Snoopycute98 @ Oct 4 2025, 07:49 PM)
u should visit the respiratory / lung deptnot ENT
[HELP] Coughing more than 1 month with Phlegm?, No sore throat, coughing with phelgm
Oct 5 2025, 10:22 AM
4,697 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Oct 5 2025, 10:28 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
116 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Oct 5 2025, 10:36 AM
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 5 2025, 10:20 AM) Can share what other symptoms u have other than just dry cough? At starting only coughing then around 5 months starting to have no appetite for food and then some time sleeping will have cold sweat even sleeping with aircondno phlegm at all? no fever? no pain in chest? fewer up and down, coughing have little phlegm After checking in GH and stay in hospital for 5 days, they let me back home for self home quarantine 14 days Have to take total 6 months of non stop medication Our kkm is really good because i only pay rm1 for checking and the rest (hospitalization & TB medicine) all free dest9116 liked this post
Oct 5 2025, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(darkwaka @ Oct 5 2025, 10:36 AM) At starting only coughing then around 5 months starting to have no appetite for food and then some time sleeping will have cold sweat even sleeping with aircond Thanks for sharingfewer up and down, coughing have little phlegm After checking in GH and stay in hospital for 5 days, they let me back home for self home quarantine 14 days Have to take total 6 months of non stop medication Our kkm is really good because i only pay rm1 for checking and the rest (hospitalization & TB medicine) all free May I know if you mingle around with foreign workers? or where do you think u got it from? |
Oct 5 2025, 11:30 AM
Oct 5 2025, 04:49 PM
413 posts Joined: Jun 2022 |
QUOTE(darkwaka @ Oct 5 2025, 11:30 AM) I dont mingle with foreigner and i dont know where i got it from Wow thx for informing. During hospitalize atleast got 6-7 patient same ward with me all also kena TB From.what i heard not easy to get TB. Need to have combo of malnutrition and living in crowded space with other TB ppl to get it. Also heard the antibiotics very annoying cos if not take as instructed for full 6 months the TB not going to go awat then need top up another months/years of antibiotics again. |
Oct 5 2025, 06:36 PM
495 posts Joined: Apr 2019 |
QUOTE(darkwaka @ Oct 5 2025, 10:36 AM) At starting only coughing then around 5 months starting to have no appetite for food and then some time sleeping will have cold sweat even sleeping with aircond Yep even if u go clinic, if u tell u cough more than 1 month, they will start asking you questions on symptoms of TB exactly as what you described. They asked me any fever, got night terror or not, sleep OK or not.fewer up and down, coughing have little phlegm After checking in GH and stay in hospital for 5 days, they let me back home for self home quarantine 14 days Have to take total 6 months of non stop medication Our kkm is really good because i only pay rm1 for checking and the rest (hospitalization & TB medicine) all free TB medication takes a long time to cure, best not to skip. If you work near to foreigners or have close family coughing and u know they work near to foreigners especially construction workers, better check. Worst case is when the tubules appear, hence the name tuberculosis, the tubules will damage not only your lungs, it will appear everywhere, like brain, kidney, liver, knee joints, throat. Issue now is the gov stopped giving the BCG injection @ standard 6 in 2001, so the only injection is when newborn. The vaccine loses effect at 12 YO by 24+ years old start work in 2025, most people are no longer immune, easily infected from foreigners and spread around. Last time is difficult to kena due to everyone being vaccinated, now no more all are exposed fully This post has been edited by dest9116: Oct 5 2025, 06:47 PM |
Oct 5 2025, 06:41 PM
QUOTE(heinlein @ Oct 4 2025, 08:29 PM) Better safe than sorry. Last time the longest I cough also 3 months til cough blood. Pharmacy refuse to sell me med and tell me go see doc immediately since she said I might hv infection If cough over 1 week with phlegm green colour and deep cough chest pain when cough or wake up from coughing, go clinic and tell them ur symptom, insist blood test to confirm bacteria or virus, if bacteria they will give antibiotic.Don't expect u can recover, nowadays bacterial cough very difficult to recover without antibiotic. Take antibiotic after 2 days will feel better, by the end of the antibiotic u confirm fully recover. If no take, u might progress to pneumonia and u will die without ventilator. Don't play with cough |
Oct 5 2025, 06:52 PM
96 posts Joined: Oct 2022 |
QUOTE(dest9116 @ Oct 5 2025, 06:41 PM) If cough over 1 week with phlegm green colour and deep cough chest pain when cough or wake up from coughing, go clinic and tell them ur symptom, insist blood test to confirm bacteria or virus, if bacteria they will give antibiotic. True. That's why amoxicillin is one of the top/frequent purchase when ang mohs travel over to mexico. They stock up..Don't expect u can recover, nowadays bacterial cough very difficult to recover without antibiotic. Take antibiotic after 2 days will feel better, by the end of the antibiotic u confirm fully recover. If no take, u might progress to pneumonia and u will die without ventilator. Don't play with cough |
Oct 5 2025, 07:05 PM
1,788 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
QUOTE(dest9116 @ Oct 5 2025, 06:41 PM) If cough over 1 week with phlegm green colour and deep cough chest pain when cough or wake up from coughing, go clinic and tell them ur symptom, insist blood test to confirm bacteria or virus, if bacteria they will give antibiotic. I did see doctor and recovered since pharmacy refuse sell me med, I remember the med include 1 week worth of antibiotic, I never think it as serious until recently my friend husband die from myocarditis , which is caused by virus infection from flu and coughDon't expect u can recover, nowadays bacterial cough very difficult to recover without antibiotic. Take antibiotic after 2 days will feel better, by the end of the antibiotic u confirm fully recover. If no take, u might progress to pneumonia and u will die without ventilator. Don't play with cough |
Oct 5 2025, 07:08 PM
979 posts Joined: Jan 2022 |
If you got plegm I suggest you go to Farmasy and get 4 dissolving tablet of mucosolvan. Really works take it 2 time a day and 3rd day u will be much much better with almost no plegm
Oct 5 2025, 07:12 PM
96 posts Joined: Oct 2022 |
QUOTE(heinlein @ Oct 5 2025, 07:05 PM) I did see doctor and recovered since pharmacy refuse sell me med, I remember the med include 1 week worth of antibiotic, I never think it as serious until recently my friend husband die from myocarditis , which is caused by virus infection from flu and cough Refuse to sell? Lol. That's because you're looking in the wrong direction. |
Oct 5 2025, 08:07 PM
QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Oct 5 2025, 04:49 PM) Wow thx for informing. Yes the medicine need to take 2 months high dose and 4 months normal dose (total 6 months), lucky my Tb cure after 6 months of medicine but doctor say if near Tb patient maybe will kena tb againFrom.what i heard not easy to get TB. Need to have combo of malnutrition and living in crowded space with other TB ppl to get it. Also heard the antibiotics very annoying cos if not take as instructed for full 6 months the TB not going to go awat then need top up another months/years of antibiotics again. QUOTE(dest9116 @ Oct 5 2025, 06:36 PM) Yep even if u go clinic, if u tell u cough more than 1 month, they will start asking you questions on symptoms of TB exactly as what you described. They asked me any fever, got night terror or not, sleep OK or not. Doctor at GH ask if i have taken BCG jab (taken when 12 yo) and ask if i have cough blood, lucky no cough blood if not then maybe gg liaoTB medication takes a long time to cure, best not to skip. If you work near to foreigners or have close family coughing and u know they work near to foreigners especially construction workers, better check. Worst case is when the tubules appear, hence the name tuberculosis, the tubules will damage not only your lungs, it will appear everywhere, like brain, kidney, liver, knee joints, throat. Issue now is the gov stopped giving the BCG injection @ standard 6 in 2001, so the only injection is when newborn. The vaccine loses effect at 12 YO by 24+ years old start work in 2025, most people are no longer immune, easily infected from foreigners and spread around. Last time is difficult to kena due to everyone being vaccinated, now no more all are exposed fully Now i see people cough i will stay far far, scare if kena again need to take medicine for 6 months again After take the medicine when you pee your pee is near to orange colour |
Oct 5 2025, 08:41 PM
3,019 posts Joined: Oct 2005 |
nowadays hard to get antibiotic, they scared of antibiotic strain
Oct 5 2025, 11:48 PM
QUOTE(john123x @ Oct 5 2025, 08:41 PM) Ya that's why, understood they dowan simply give, that's why if dowan give just insist a blood test they can detect is virus or bacteria based on the type of antibody in the blood. The test take 5 mins only to draw blood and test at the machine. If bacteria and u been coughing over a week they must give you the antibiotic. Else they will risk u infect from upper respirator to lower respirator, become pneumonia that time ur lungs all inflamed and water in lungs, can't breathe then die.Just go to another clinic if they being asshole or if they don't have the blood testing machine. This post has been edited by dest9116: Oct 5 2025, 11:49 PM |
Oct 6 2025, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Oct 5 2025, 04:49 PM) Wow thx for informing. very easy to get. Even if you sit nearby a TB patient in a bus.From.what i heard not easy to get TB. Need to have combo of malnutrition and living in crowded space with other TB ppl to get it. Also heard the antibiotics very annoying cos if not take as instructed for full 6 months the TB not going to go awat then need top up another months/years of antibiotics again. TB is very contagious There have been several reported cases in journal articles of TB patients travelling in public transport such as planes and buses; and then they tested the passengers who were sitting nearby the patient. And those sitting nearby were found to be infected. But one thing unique about TB is that if you are infected, it is still latent and it won't activate yet that fast. Then for some people, the latent infection doesn't even activate at all throughout their life. So, many ppl are not even aware that they have the infection because it's just latent infection (no symptoms = no sickness = not contagious). Only when it is activated (showing symptoms = feeling sick = contagious), then you are a danger to others. heinlein liked this post
Oct 6 2025, 09:56 AM
215 posts Joined: Sep 2015 |
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 6 2025, 01:40 AM) very easy to get. Even if you sit nearby a TB patient in a bus. speaking of TB, my late father passed away because of TB. He couldn't do operation to remove the "water" lung because high risks of operation failure due to weak health, he got kena stroke before ~10 years ago. Besides he's also a smoker and always drink a can of beer per day. TB is very contagious There have been several reported cases in journal articles of TB patients travelling in public transport such as planes and buses; and then they tested the passengers who were sitting nearby the patient. And those sitting nearby were found to be infected. But one thing unique about TB is that if you are infected, it is still latent and it won't activate yet that fast. Then for some people, the latent infection doesn't even activate at all throughout their life. So, many ppl are not even aware that they have the infection because it's just latent infection (no symptoms = no sickness = not contagious). Only when it is activated (showing symptoms = feeling sick = contagious), then you are a danger to others. Now that I keep on coughing for nearly 2 weeks already, I'm not sure if I got infected with TB as well |
Oct 6 2025, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Oct 6 2025, 09:56 AM) speaking of TB, my late father passed away because of TB. He couldn't do operation to remove the "water" lung because high risks of operation failure due to weak health, he got kena stroke before ~10 years ago. Besides he's also a smoker and always drink a can of beer per day. What are his symptoms?Now that I keep on coughing for nearly 2 weeks already, I'm not sure if I got infected with TB as well He didn't take the TB antibiotics? There is a possibility u r infected if u stay with him in the same house. And possibly it has activated. For some ppl, the activation comes 10 or 20 years later. Mind sharing what are your symptoms now? Any chest pain? Any breathing difficulties? |
Oct 6 2025, 12:10 PM
215 posts Joined: Sep 2015 |
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Oct 6 2025, 12:20 PM) What are his symptoms? His symptoms were constantly have to cough, even at night sleep time also can hear him cough, skins getting darker as months pass by, and also just feel weak in general. Initially he went to Sun*** Hospital by himself and checked with a doctor, then my father complained to me that the doctor did not diagnose him with TB but with something else, for that I don't really know the details la but in the end visit another doctor. Have to stay in the hospital to draw out the "water" in the lungs, discharged out of hospital after a week, then have to come back again do the same thing because "water" still gets into one of his lungs. Bought the medicines, got like a lot of medicines for him to take lolHe didn't take the TB antibiotics? There is a possibility u r infected if u stay with him in the same house. And possibly it has activated. For some ppl, the activation comes 10 or 20 years later. Mind sharing what are your symptoms now? Any chest pain? Any breathing difficulties? He usually comes back home late, sleeps in separate room. Even if he arrived home early e.g. 8.30pm-9pm, he would sit outside home and smoke while reading online novel until 11pm then only go to bed. He got curi-curi smoke even though doctor told him stop smoking So far my symptoms are getting better compared to last week, just the throat feels little itchy now. I had to get cough syrups instead of Strepsils because Strepsils always don't work. As for chest pain, not really chest pain but the area below the left side of my lung, happens only sometimes after eating when sitting down. Breathing okay so far. Last 2 weeks ago when I woke up then can feel the throat pain and itchy. |
Oct 6 2025, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(WongTheThief @ Oct 6 2025, 12:10 PM) His symptoms were constantly have to cough, even at night sleep time also can hear him cough, skins getting darker as months pass by, and also just feel weak in general. Initially he went to Sun*** Hospital by himself and checked with a doctor, then my father complained to me that the doctor did not diagnose him with TB but with something else, for that I don't really know the details la but in the end visit another doctor. Have to stay in the hospital to draw out the "water" in the lungs, discharged out of hospital after a week, then have to come back again do the same thing because "water" still gets into one of his lungs. Bought the medicines, got like a lot of medicines for him to take lol If normal antibiotic not working, quickly go back clinic or hospital tell them what antibiotic u took and not working.He usually comes back home late, sleeps in separate room. Even if he arrived home early e.g. 8.30pm-9pm, he would sit outside home and smoke while reading online novel until 11pm then only go to bed. He got curi-curi smoke even though doctor told him stop smoking So far my symptoms are getting better compared to last week, just the throat feels little itchy now. I had to get cough syrups instead of Strepsils because Strepsils always don't work. As for chest pain, not really chest pain but the area below the left side of my lung, happens only sometimes after eating when sitting down. Breathing okay so far. Last 2 weeks ago when I woke up then can feel the throat pain and itchy. |
| Change to: | 0.0232sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:56 AM |