Investment linked insurance is scam

TSrobotking123
post Feb 21 2024, 03:29 PM, updated 2y ago

The agent told me I may cash out 20 to 30k should the return is good, but after now they email me I have to top up my monthly payment or downgrade my plan because the premium is increased.

It is a scam lah, in long run you have to keep on topping up your
Monthly premium every 5 or 10 years, it is totally bullshit that you can withdraw the cash
poweredbydiscuz
post Feb 21 2024, 03:30 PM

3,835 posts

Your agent drive what car?
lifebalance

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

Inflation.

Go study about it
AnythingK

223 posts

QUOTE(robotking123 @ Feb 21 2024, 03:29 PM)
The agent told me I may cash out 20 to 30k should the return is good, but after now they email me I have to top up my monthly payment or downgrade my plan because the premium is increased.

Monthly premium every 5 or 10 years, it is totally bullshit that you can withdraw the cash
How is it scam when he never say it is confirmed/guranteed?

This post has been edited by AnythingK: Feb 21 2024, 03:31 PM
Natsukashii
post Feb 21 2024, 03:37 PM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 21 2024, 03:30 PM)
Inflation.

Go study about it
Still, if I take insurance today with annual limit 500k

I'm entitle for my 500k annual limit

Inflation causes the increase of the things including medical stuff, which means my 20k treatment may now cost 30k..

But still I am within the amount agreed during the sign up, which is 500k

Inflation ok.. then increase premium, but I'm still covered 500k lol.. not 750k.

I won't say it's scam, because we still can use the service as per the policy..

Maybe the right word is something else, not "scam"

This post has been edited by Natsukashii: Feb 21 2024, 03:37 PM
TSrobotking123
post Feb 21 2024, 03:37 PM

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Feb 21 2024, 03:30 PM)
Masili c class
zerorating
post Feb 21 2024, 03:41 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

who the hell keep huhah huhah insurance charge remain the same if take ILP?
il0ve51

1,054 posts

insurance is about pool of money.
everyone put RM100 into the pool
if got 3000 people means that month they collect RM300k. one idiot sick and go claim 50k, the pool left 250k. if suddenly all people claim then confirm no money or have borrow from other pool.
TSrobotking123

It recommends me to top up rm133 per month, it is not a small amount, it is a scam lah, I bought this ilp is to hedge against conv to avoid premium increase. But now it is still the same has to pay more....
ddemonn
post Feb 21 2024, 03:44 PM

111 posts

its not a good return

som1 here advised before just to get the insurance or coverage u wan

its sth u have to keep study or research.

its not like u pay 100 or 200 month then everything will be good till u r 75 or 100 years old
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 21 2024, 03:45 PM

3,864 posts

Never ever buy investment linked insurance. The only insurance you should buy is medical and life if you have family.

Investment, just invest yourself. Nowadays you can sit at home and invest worldwide...why need these leeches?

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 21 2024, 03:46 PM
kons
post Feb 21 2024, 03:48 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

how old are you?

so far my ilp premium no change for 20 yrs now
Eulm585
post Feb 21 2024, 03:49 PM

835 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Feb 21 2024, 03:41 PM)
if got 3000 people means that month they collect RM300k. one idiot sick and go claim 50k, the pool left 250k. if suddenly all people claim then confirm no money or have borrow from other pool.
Wrong.

Insurance is a big fat pool of money.
3000 ppl collect 300k.
Insurance company take 300k to invest.
End of year 50k myr claimed by the people.
When annual report, 300k become 400k due to investment.
400k give bonus and divident to shareholder then become 200k.
After 200k - 50k from the person who claimed.

Then next year send email to the person saying ur price has gone up. Please topup extra 25% of the premiums.

This post has been edited by Eulm585: Feb 21 2024, 03:50 PM
desmond2020
post Feb 21 2024, 03:50 PM

910 posts

Inflation.

Go study about it
covered sum not kena inflation pun

liar liar, pants on fire
djlake

283 posts

also, any upcoming vacation or not your agent?
acbc

9,049 posts

Mostly scams to raise quick money for the insurance co to run.
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 21 2024, 03:51 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Feb 21 2024, 03:48 PM)
how old are you?

impossibiru
TSEyeCare
post Feb 21 2024, 03:58 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 21 2024, 03:51 PM)
impossibiru
It is possible, but insurance company will revise your coverage year become shorter, maybe last time cover until 70years old, now become 60 or less.
TheEvilMan
post Feb 21 2024, 04:01 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

how old are you?

Double check, sked ur insulan kompeni already cancel ur coverage due to overdue payment
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 21 2024, 04:03 PM

3,864 posts

how old are you?

Impossible. Even my kid insurance kena 2 times already, medical insurance since he kecik kecik dahulu.
CRaX
post Feb 21 2024, 04:04 PM

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 21 2024, 03:45 PM)
Never ever buy investment linked insurance. The only insurance you should buy is medical and life if you have family.

Investment, just invest yourself. Nowadays you can sit at home and invest worldwide...why need these leeches?
I have life with investment linked. Have been withdrawing for years from the linked account. Usually it takes a week to be disbursed into my own bank account.

how old are you?

True.

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 21 2024, 03:51 PM)
impossibiru
Mine also never change ever since.

a_dot_el
post Feb 21 2024, 04:04 PM

194 posts

All insurance agents are scammer.
MishimaZ
post Feb 21 2024, 04:05 PM

269 posts

Protip - Insurance agent commission is like half of what you paid for 5 years, after that it all belongs to the company.
CRaX
post Feb 21 2024, 04:07 PM

QUOTE(a_dot_el @ Feb 21 2024, 04:04 PM)
All insurance agents are scammer.
True, i had to liaise directly with provider.
pobox
post Feb 21 2024, 04:07 PM

551 posts

You can complain to BNM
Matchy
post Feb 21 2024, 04:08 PM

1,327 posts

how old are you?

which insurance company?
zhou.xingxing
post Feb 21 2024, 04:09 PM

:3
1,863 posts

Gold class sales agent or platinum sales agent need mentenen ok... why u no purely buy medical but investment linked
CRaX
post Feb 21 2024, 04:12 PM

QUOTE(MishimaZ @ Feb 21 2024, 04:05 PM)
Protip - Insurance agent commission is like half of what you paid for 5 years, after that it all belongs to the company.
Depends on policy and provider.
TSrobotking123
post Feb 21 2024, 04:14 PM

I think cancel it, just go gov hospital and run away after recover, Bangla also can why I can't
submergedx
post Feb 21 2024, 04:18 PM

1,132 posts

how about dont top up?
ikanbilis
post Feb 21 2024, 04:21 PM

Trusted member since 2003
2,544 posts

QUOTE(robotking123 @ Feb 21 2024, 03:37 PM)
Masili c class

They make 40% to 90% of the premium u contributed
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 21 2024, 04:21 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(CRaX @ Feb 21 2024, 04:04 PM)
I have life with investment linked. Have been withdrawing for years from the linked account. Usually it takes a week to be disbursed into my own bank account.
True.
Mine also never change ever since.
Stand alone medical card or with life insurance?
yehlai
post Feb 21 2024, 04:26 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

It's the premium increased due to inflation

anakkk
post Feb 21 2024, 04:27 PM

2,116 posts

sometimes is better to buy a whole new insurance :X
CRaX
post Feb 21 2024, 04:27 PM

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 21 2024, 04:21 PM)
Stand alone medical card or with life insurance?
Life insurance without medical card. If you want medical card, get separate policy from other provider.
Lucas0323
post Feb 21 2024, 04:29 PM

808 posts

QUOTE(AnythingK @ Feb 21 2024, 03:30 PM)
How is it scam when he never say it is confirmed/guranteed?
Cuz ts is also a scam account aka dupe.
thxxht
post Feb 21 2024, 04:32 PM

368 posts

medical inflation
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 21 2024, 04:34 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(CRaX @ Feb 21 2024, 04:27 PM)
Life insurance without medical card. If you want medical card, get separate policy from other provider.
Ceh ofcourse lah life insurance never increase lah🥵🥵🥵

Medical card is the one increase
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 21 2024, 04:38 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(anakkk @ Feb 21 2024, 04:27 PM)
sometimes is better to buy a whole new insurance :X
Got pros & cons.

If jew still healthy go ahead u can do it. But beware got 2 years contestable period meaning if got major claim they can reject if dig any hole found possibility u had/related to that sickness before u bought the insurance.

So usually in order to avoid that, ppl keep the old policy running for 2 years. So u'd be paying for 2 policies for min period of 2 years.
anakkk
post Feb 21 2024, 04:44 PM

2,116 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 21 2024, 04:38 PM)
Got pros & cons.

If jew still healthy go ahead u can do it. But beware got 2 years contestable period meaning if got major claim they can reject if dig any hole found possibility u had/related to that sickness before u bought the insurance.

So usually in order to avoid that, ppl keep the old policy running for 2 years. So u'd be paying for 2 policies for min period of 2 years.
yep, I bought my insurance in 2009, the medical card is co pay card, now they have newer one, but I need to topup a lot.
kons
post Feb 21 2024, 04:45 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Feb 21 2024, 04:08 PM)
which insurance company?
aia
zerorating
post Feb 21 2024, 04:48 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Feb 21 2024, 04:26 PM)
It's the premium increased due to inflation
but the existing policy benefit didnt inflate.
iGamer
post Feb 21 2024, 04:53 PM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

how old are you?

Really? My ilp also wanna to raise premium, but I refuse to top up, just maintain existing premium. So the investment part probably shrink to nothing.
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 21 2024, 04:53 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Feb 21 2024, 04:45 PM)
aia
Life Insurance right?
koja6049
post Feb 21 2024, 04:54 PM

614 posts

how old are you?

it shows you never read the "love letters" your insurance company is sending you biggrin.gif

My insurance cover with AIA is also 20 years now, last time the cover promise me cover until 100 years. But now, a few love letters came stating that "according to the current premium you're paying, your insurance cover is project to cover you until 70 years old) whistling.gif
Matchy
post Feb 21 2024, 04:54 PM

1,327 posts

which insurance company you using? kons mentioned his AIA never increase... hmm.gif

QUOTE(kons @ Feb 21 2024, 04:45 PM)
aia
poweredbydiscuz
post Feb 21 2024, 04:56 PM

3,835 posts

Inflation.

Go study about it
how old are you?

Apparently kons insurance company forgot to study about inflation innocent.gif
koja6049
post Feb 21 2024, 04:58 PM

614 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Feb 21 2024, 04:54 PM)
which insurance company you using? kons mentioned his AIA never increase... hmm.gif
my AIA insurance premium also never increase for almost 20 years (cover since 2007). But 100 years old coverage has been cut short to 70 years old unless I "top-up" biggrin.gif

My mother's case the same, prudential promise coverage until 70 years old. But few week ago suddenly a love letter came stating "your insurance coverage will lapse next month unless you top up". She's just 67 with 3 more promised years to go whistling.gif
TSrobotking123
post Feb 21 2024, 05:00 PM

QUOTE(Matchy @ Feb 21 2024, 04:54 PM)
Allianz, the best medical card I surveyed. Every year burn money for nothing
Hobbez
post Feb 21 2024, 05:01 PM

1,235 posts

From the way banks tried to hardsell all these, already known it is a scam lah. Everyone saying China investments very rosy, etc.

Who could predict the future today? But if you were not like a herd type person only you can see what happening now.
Duckies
post Feb 21 2024, 05:01 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

Actually this insurance is like a triangle lo

Premium (monthly payment)
Years of Coverage
Covered value

U pick 2 lo. Cause of medical inflation everything becomes costly. So if u don't top up then years of coverage OR covered value becomes less je. Usually in this case years of coverage will be shortened lo.

If you want to keep the same years of coverage and covered value, then premium naik lo. Sometimes those investment linked insurance can cover the premium naik but if premium naik too much then still kena top up.
ayamxxx
post Feb 21 2024, 05:05 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(robotking123 @ Feb 21 2024, 03:37 PM)
Masili c class
bets C180 converted C43 or C300 bodykit
Matchy
post Feb 21 2024, 05:07 PM

1,327 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Feb 21 2024, 04:58 PM)
my AIA insurance premium also never increase for almost 20 years (cover since 2007). But 100 years old coverage has been cut short to 70 years old unless I "top-up" biggrin.gif

My mother's case the same, prudential promise coverage until 70 years old. But few week ago suddenly a love letter came stating "your insurance coverage will lapse next month unless you top up". She's just 67 with 3 more promised years to go  whistling.gif
damn... they can reduce like that?
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 21 2024, 05:11 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Feb 21 2024, 04:58 PM)

My mother's case the same, prudential promise coverage until 70 years old. But few week ago suddenly a love letter came stating "your insurance coverage will lapse next month unless you top up". She's just 67 with 3 more promised years to go  whistling.gif
Yea that could be possible if he missed the letters.

Or perhaps he was talking about life insurance.

Wait kons verify
dennis008
post Feb 21 2024, 05:13 PM

545 posts

just park in S&p 500
koja6049

614 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Feb 21 2024, 05:07 PM)
yes they can, it is all written in the t&c. The problem here is alot of insurance agents do not want to tell you upfront all these t&c otherwise it will make people think twice about signing up. This is one of the very bad practice in malaysia. I feel like insurance agents should educate the client on why insurance premiums increase and why you should still subscribe by showing the facts and figures, instead of hiding stuff shadily like this smile.gif
Singh_Kalan

2,033 posts

Insurance saving/investment plan has one of the worst net return la.
Most only give an effective compound return of 2.5% p.a, same as FD, but they will locked your money for decades.
Better just put it in EPF

kons

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 21 2024, 05:11 PM)
Yea that could be possible if he missed the letters.

Or perhaps he was talking about life insurance.

Wait kons verify
life/tpd
medical card
multi stage crit care
and some nonsense stuff
poweredbydiscuz
post Feb 21 2024, 05:14 PM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Feb 21 2024, 05:07 PM)
They don't force people one. They very good let you have a "freedom" to choose whether agree to increase the premium or not.

If you don't agree, they will either
1) reduce the coverage period or
2) reduce the coverage amount/benefits.
limeuu
post Feb 21 2024, 05:15 PM

12,291 posts

It's not a scam....just a bad product....yhoytb for buying

As said above already, if you want insurance, then just buy insurance.

And the only 2 you need are term life and surgical/hospital....and make sure you can max your tax relief.

Forget even whole life ...if you die at 80 why need to give money to your children?
knumskul
post Feb 21 2024, 05:17 PM

784 posts

QUOTE(il0ve51 @ Feb 21 2024, 03:41 PM)
Macam play in-between
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 21 2024, 05:17 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Feb 21 2024, 05:13 PM)
life/tpd
medical card
multi stage crit care
and some nonsense stuff
1 more thing. How much premium?
blindmutedeaf
post Feb 21 2024, 05:18 PM

270 posts

What fund you invested into?
Meantime, insurance cost risen a lot these few years
Matchy
post Feb 21 2024, 05:20 PM

1,327 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 21 2024, 05:15 PM)
It's not a scam....just a bad product....yhoytb for buying

As said above already, if you want insurance, then just buy insurance.

And the only 2 you need are term life and surgical/hospital....and make sure you can max your tax relief.

Forget even whole life ...if you die at 80 why need to give money to your children?
nowadays insurance company damn clever... those term life/medical, the coverage very basic and short only. if want more coverage, need to take the ILP.

This post has been edited by Matchy: Feb 21 2024, 05:21 PM
kons
post Feb 21 2024, 05:20 PM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 21 2024, 05:17 PM)
1 more thing. How much premium?
1k monthly
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 21 2024, 05:23 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(kons @ Feb 21 2024, 05:20 PM)
1k monthly
Ur agent amoi or batang? Pm me contact number if amoi
limeuu
post Feb 21 2024, 05:25 PM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Feb 21 2024, 05:20 PM)
nowadays insurance company damn clever... those term life/medical, the coverage very basic and short only. if want more coverage, need to take the ILP.
Coverage depends on your insured sum ...tenure you decide....both you decide and the bigger and longer the higher the premium....

Calculate based on your circumstances. I figured that my family commitments will be over by the time I reach 60, so my term ends at 60....it lapse after that, I get nothing after that....but if I live beyond, I don't need the insurance payout anymore....so bye.
K.I.T.T
post Feb 21 2024, 06:00 PM

672 posts

Insuran u need ask bonanza question :
" If i lost one of my leg or hand can get full compensation ah ' ?
ZforZebra
post Feb 21 2024, 06:12 PM

172 posts

Deswai fuk mutual fund. Put in SA also better
kenny9192
post Feb 22 2024, 08:55 PM

hello sorry to interupt.

any allianz agent here?

just want to know that normally how long will it takes to complete the process
of policy surrender?

summited all required documents via email.
post Feb 22 2024, 09:20 PM

269 posts

Repricing is nowadays getting more common and unavoidable due to rising medical inflation. Most companies underwrite a policy based on the situation at the time the policy was written. Due to rising claims especially k favourite medical card, cost of insurance has been rising. In the past people has been misusing medical card and a lot of time hospitals don’t care especially when you request to be hospitalised. Nowadays, due to insurance companies getting more strict, hospitals are now more reluctant to hospitalise people for a long period of time. Last time you need to stay 2 days in hospital before you can make claims but nowadays doctors will even discharge you on the same day if you undergo minor surgeries. A lot of people do not know that medical card biz are not profitable and that’s why they normally sell ILM products to support the medical card and make a profit.

Also, all repricing requires BNM approval and it’s not just suka-suka do only as they have to give proper justification to BNM.

This post has been edited by 30624770: Feb 22 2024, 09:21 PM

0.0248sec    1.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:44 PM