Gross 4K can afford S70 ?

dares
post Feb 18 2024, 02:00 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(Longway @ Feb 17 2024, 09:25 PM)
persona premium + its FC + unusual high interest rate = more or less the price of s70 base model
Persona Premium RM60k, 12k D/P, 9 years @ 3.2% p.a = total paid RM74k
S70 Exec RM74k, 12k D/P, 9 years @ 2.7% p.a = total paid RM89k

Difference RM15k, assuming you can get 2.xx% p.a for the S70 to start with.

Not sure what are your expectations with S70's fuel economy, and if in reality it is better than Persona's. But considering you WFH and seldom drive, I gather that it will take quite a while to make up that RM15k difference in fuel costs.

Also, S70 maintenance fee in quite a bit higher than Persona overall.
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2024, 02:45 AM

4,139 posts

QUOTE(hjack @ Feb 17 2024, 11:48 PM)
Kinda agree with you.
My wife's earning similar to TS, also with zero commitment except own insurance, was eyeing for Yaris or Myvi few years back. Eventually settled for Myvi as preferred AT > CVT.

So TS can go for 70k car.
A big part of the equation aside from less commitment is cost of living, so TS has things worked out for him since he stays with his parents where he already saves on housing and utility.

Another factor is really where he stays, and it does make a lot of difference.

https://livingcost.org/cost/malaysia

I know because I travel to many towns in Malaysia and in general cost of living in KL and JB are far greater than even PJ or Klang let alone further out of Klang valley .

And if it is other states, the difference is even more astounding.

Although TS did not say where he lives, but his statements of saying RM 10 per meal seems to suggest that he may not be living any where near KL.

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Feb 18 2024, 02:55 AM
EnergyAnalyst
post Feb 18 2024, 03:03 AM

4,139 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Feb 17 2024, 11:55 AM)
not about can or cannot - but about should or should not. i can buy a ferrari too with my current income but should I? smile.gif
Well it all boils down to this....Attached Image

TSLongway
post Feb 18 2024, 03:10 AM

144 posts

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 18 2024, 02:00 AM)
Persona Premium RM60k, 12k D/P, 9 years @ 3.2% p.a = total paid RM74k
S70 Exec RM74k, 12k D/P, 9 years @ 2.7% p.a = total paid RM89k

Difference RM15k, assuming you can get 2.xx% p.a for the S70 to start with.

Not sure what are your expectations with S70's fuel economy, and if in reality it is better than Persona's. But considering you WFH and seldom drive, I gather that it will take quite a while to make up that RM15k difference in fuel costs.

Also, S70 maintenance fee in quite a bit higher than Persona overall.
15k divide by 9 years is RM 140 per month , if you can save rm 50 per month from fuel by driving S70 its already a minor difference . Never underestimate these campro engine , it can make a car cheap with high running cost this is especially true if you consider the rising fuel price . with the night and day difference between persona and s70 , monthly rm 90 is a no brainer albeit with higher insurance and slightly and maintenance cost
General_Nic
post Feb 18 2024, 06:07 AM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

QUOTE(Longway @ Feb 17 2024, 09:24 PM)
alza is below 3% , i believe s70 will be below 3% also
rates dropped so much? when my colleague bought his Alza mid last year, it was 3.1-3.3 hmm.gif

QUOTE(dares @ Feb 18 2024, 01:42 AM)
Back then X50 and X70 could get 2.xx% p.a., not sure how it is now.
mid last year when I was surveying X50, I was told rates around 3.2-3.4
dunno about now, but things can change a lot in half year
rumahwip
post Feb 18 2024, 07:57 AM

1,099 posts

axia je la
ipat88
post Feb 18 2024, 08:45 AM

341 posts

LISTEN TS. When it comes to buying cars, pls follow ur heart not other people suggestion. Dont buy something u dont want because of other people recommendation. U might regret it later. I did it in the past.

There another ways for you make the monthly paymnent more affordable. Put more on deposit, 24-35k then ur montly payment will be the same with myvi. Save money until u have enough for deposit before u buy
CyberKewl
post Feb 18 2024, 09:39 AM

2,900 posts

QUOTE(ipat88 @ Feb 18 2024, 08:45 AM)
LISTEN TS. When it comes to buying cars, pls follow ur heart not other people suggestion. Dont buy something u dont want because of other people recommendation. U might regret it later. I did it in the past.

There another ways for you make the monthly paymnent more affordable. Put more on deposit, 24-35k then ur montly payment will be the same with myvi. Save money until u have enough for deposit before u buy
i would somewhat agree with your point and approach - if TS can bring the monthly down to 500 a month or even less then yeah go for it. always remember to factor in maintenance, insurance, tyre, petrol. those costs are often NOT factored into the monthly. one can average those out into a monthly fee. today he can afford that s70 but he *should* not buy it.

Or...find ways to earn more on the side - do grab, etc.
tzxsean
post Feb 18 2024, 10:28 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

seeing his responses, I think he's already determined in getting S70

so I would say just plan the financial part accordingly and go ahead. Also make sure to have backup plan for worst case scenario.

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Feb 18 2024, 10:28 AM
GamersFamilia
post Feb 18 2024, 02:26 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,860 posts

QUOTE(rumahwip @ Feb 18 2024, 07:57 AM)
axia je la
yea that's what i've told before , just go for axia e ( axia rahmah ) .. already good
dogbert_chew
post Feb 18 2024, 05:33 PM

1,565 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Feb 18 2024, 02:26 PM)
yea that's what i've told before , just go for axia e ( axia rahmah ) .. already good
Had Axia E before and still a big fan because you get it cheaper now 22K than my first Kancil 660 demmit.

However just a reminder it doesn't have ABS EBD so during rainy days really really need to SLOW down.
croydon
post Feb 18 2024, 06:23 PM

535 posts

make sure monthly less than 600, myvi 2013 around 20k... enough for depo

This post has been edited by croydon: Feb 19 2024, 01:10 PM
4WD_er
post Feb 18 2024, 06:38 PM

572 posts

Save more for the down payment, say loan less than RM 45k you should be fine to own a S70.

MYVI is not a good candidate for long haul drive, now that the car is old better move on. It still worth some money, top up with your own savings should be fine.
TSLongway
post Feb 18 2024, 07:38 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Feb 18 2024, 06:23 PM)
make sure monthly less than 600

Hi may i know what are you trying to tell me ? You're saying s70 maintenance is not much higher than myvi ?
GamersFamilia
post Feb 18 2024, 07:43 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,860 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Feb 18 2024, 05:33 PM)
Had Axia E before and still a big fan because you get it cheaper now 22K than my first Kancil 660 demmit.

However just a reminder it doesn't have ABS EBD so during rainy days really really need to SLOW down.
thank you for the reminder , really appreciate it ...
true it's cheaper then kancil laugh.gif because previously im the owner of kancil 850 wink.gif but already sold it few years back ..
thinking to buy axia e , basically for my wife , she loves manual transmission , to replace her old first gen myvi smile.gif

wawasan2200
post Feb 18 2024, 10:43 PM

189 posts

gross 4k = net 3.5k

buy s70 or not depends your future plan

if ts plan to get married in future or buy a house etc then better dont buy a new car

salary 2.4k to 4k = 67% increment
myvi 50k to s70 = 60% increment

on paper ts have higher purchasing power but now everything are expensive than last time 7% increment may not beat inflation, after buy s70 you may feel suffer

insurance + petrol + maintenance

if your saving per month > instalment then can go ahead

your myvi insurance should around 500 as nbv 20k
s70 insurance is around 2.5k

maintenance you need to check

fuel - fuel cost will go up, dont forget gov is removing petrol subsidies, maybe fuel cost will double
salary 4k buy s70 80k
technosakai
post Feb 19 2024, 09:49 AM

546 posts

QUOTE(Longway @ Feb 17 2024, 07:28 AM)
Gross 4K can afford S70 premium (79k) ? I'm not talking about loan approval , I'm talking about overall financial affordability .

0 Commitment , except for medical insurance . Don't drive much because WFH.
dont ask us can afford or not.. you yourself should calculate whether you can afford it or not as we are not you, we don't know what's your monthly commitment and monthly spending
you said 0 commitment other than medical insurance, assuming its rm 200 / month.
4k gross, get 3.5 nett - 200 = rm 3.3k
what about your spendings per month? Rm 1k? nowadays easily can spend rm 1k without knowing one la.. so assume 1k la.
left with rm 2.3k then like what other bros calculated, need at least rm 800 for the car with a 9 year instalment plan
left rm 1.5k.
heck, if you're comfortable with that savings per month, then go ahead?
but be sure to think properly.. now you don't have commitment, but what about in the future? say 2 / 3 years down the road..
what about maintenance of the car? tyres aint cheap, parts aint cheap..
got the money to afford for the maintenance or not?

don't be like some ppl that I see on fb.. go apply loan for myvi AV, monthly rm 698, then after that complain no money for maintenance. lel..
wanna service also wanna think twice and wanna take out whatever parts that can be taken out..
if you wanna live that way, then by all means go ahead and buy the car.. but yet wfh and won't be driving much..
honestly don't see the point in changing a car just because you travel to KL every few months.

littlefire
post Feb 19 2024, 10:06 AM

2,736 posts

Buy is easy, but maintenance, insurance, petrol this will be a challenge later.
S70 will not be cheap to maintain like Myvi, need to standby 2X the maintenance fee from what your current Myvi.
Just look at the tires enough, Myvi using 14~15 inch, S70 16~17inch. The 16~17 inch tires logically going to cost more.

Example

Myvi 175/65/R14 - 185/55/R15
185/55/R15 - Take Toyo CR1 price found in Shopee
MYR 193/pcs

S70 205/55/R16 - 215/50/R17
215/50/R17 - Take Toyo CR1 price found in Shopee
MYR 337/pcs

The tire price itself at least 75% more expensive compare to myvi.
Just imagine for other maintenance parts also.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Feb 19 2024, 10:33 AM
kelvinfixx
post Feb 19 2024, 10:12 AM

1,590 posts

if you like the car go ahead.
Saitama
post Feb 19 2024, 10:17 AM

308 posts

rule of thumb has always been buy a car that cost a year of your salary or lower.

invest the rest of your money. in 10 years time, u will be glad u did that instead of spending more than u can afford on a mere car.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0231sec    1.02    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:11 AM