Honda Accord 2017 / 2018

If between these 2 .. go for Camry 2.5 Hybrid

This post has been edited by angeline84: Feb 14 2024, 11:35 PM
littlefire
post Feb 16 2024, 03:29 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(D.gRave @ Feb 14 2024, 09:18 PM)
Honestly, didn't know. But used to heard lots of battery issue, and cost a lot.

And wife bias toward new car, saying better tech, and warranty wise.

Maybe will see the S70 then make up mind.
When new car must be better tech.. lol
Camry hybrid technology & larger better chassis anytime better than the s70, but only if the previous owner did all the necessary change/service if not you will take up his aftermath. laugh.gif

If want less headache, get Camry without the Hybrid or get even better Toyota Mark-X.
TSD.gRave
post Feb 16 2024, 05:05 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 16 2024, 03:29 PM)
When new car must be better tech.. lol
Camry hybrid technology & larger better chassis anytime better than the s70, but only if the previous owner did all the necessary change/service if not you will take up his aftermath.  laugh.gif

If want less headache, get Camry without the Hybrid or get even better Toyota Mark-X.
Will check on the Mark-X, I like the hybrid, wanted the serena hybrid but too big, then saw the camry hybrid around 65-75k. But wife say check out the S70 since just came out
DS51
post Feb 16 2024, 11:00 PM

495 posts

200k km mileage vs 0km mileage..

very huge difference in term of maintenance..

if u really love camry, then camry lor..if u 50/50, then pick s70

as for me, I will pick camry as I love big car. big and spacious interior really good for long distance travelling
joelleow
post Feb 16 2024, 11:16 PM

69 posts

Camry is a good choice, but think twice before getting that hybrid.
Let's not forget that inverter+battery combo might cost a bomb to fix.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5372064
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5027498/+100

This post has been edited by joelleow: Feb 16 2024, 11:17 PM
TSD.gRave
post Feb 17 2024, 09:00 AM

425 posts

QUOTE(joelleow @ Feb 16 2024, 11:16 PM)

This is my biggest concern. Somebody above said battery around 7k with 24 months warranty, not sure about other stuff.

I'm not planning on going big, somewhere around 75k below for 7 years loan.

I do prefer hybrid car but knowing 2nd hybrid car might come with issues thus the S70 recommended by my wife. Mark X is wayyy out of league atm.
iOrange
post Feb 17 2024, 11:20 AM

320 posts

if your budget is tight id recommend s70. go for camry hybrid if you can spare another 10-20k to maintain it
angeline84
post Feb 17 2024, 11:34 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(D.gRave @ Feb 17 2024, 09:00 AM)
This is my biggest concern. Somebody above said battery around 7k with 24 months warranty, not sure about other stuff.

I'm not planning on going big, somewhere around 75k below for 7 years loan.

I do prefer hybrid car but knowing 2nd hybrid car might come with issues thus the S70 recommended by my wife. Mark X is wayyy out of league atm.
There is an auction car going for 53K + for Camry Hybrid.
Can consider if you have the cash.
GamersFamilia
post Feb 17 2024, 09:28 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,901 posts

QUOTE(iOrange @ Feb 17 2024, 11:20 AM)
if your budget is tight id recommend s70. go for camry hybrid if you can spare another 10-20k to maintain it
frankly me myself i would go for proton s70 , brand new car would be the best choice
ayamxxx
post Feb 19 2024, 10:36 AM

4,067 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Feb 14 2024, 05:06 PM)
Camry
If need local support can check Tee & Tee at Klang. They specialist in Hybrid repair for Toyota Hybrid vehicles
summary : not that cheap, understandable since hybrid. if want cheap this shop also can sell recond battery unit.
ayamxxx
post Feb 19 2024, 10:38 AM

4,067 posts

only buy hybrid when it is new & under warranty. We all thought only the battery need to be replaced but forgot the other related unit that required to the battery, when k.o, cost fortune.

take S70 in this case
GamersFamilia
post Feb 19 2024, 04:37 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,901 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 19 2024, 10:38 AM)
only buy hybrid when it is new & under warranty. We all thought only the battery need to be replaced but forgot the other related unit that required to the battery, when k.o, cost fortune.

take S70 in this case
totally agreed with you , if it's brand new then worth to get hybrid car , used hybrid car the one we should avoid nod.gif
amboi_asamboi
post May 4 2024, 04:23 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(joelleow @ Feb 16 2024, 11:16 PM)

1) do u own one?
2) did u have problem above?
3) did that cost u a bomb?

Or “my friend say..” kind of source?
TSD.gRave
post May 4 2024, 04:39 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(amboi_asamboi @ May 4 2024, 04:23 PM)
1) do u own one?
2) did u have problem above?
3) did that cost u a bomb?

Or “my friend say..” kind of source?
1) No
2) No since didn't owned.
3) again No

source came from families and friend.

I'm just looking around for Hybrid since I believe it is better than EV in longer run, but budget aren't much.
amboi_asamboi
post May 4 2024, 06:46 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(D.gRave @ May 4 2024, 04:39 PM)
1) No
2) No since didn't owned.
3) again No

source came from families and friend.

I'm just looking around for Hybrid since I believe it is better than EV in longer run, but budget aren't much.
These are rare occurrence.

U will see more VW kena towed than Camry

Hybrid is a breeze.

pcdoctor_my
post May 5 2024, 06:58 PM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Feb 14 2024, 09:19 PM)
Also take note you are comparing a C segment vs a D segment, vast of a difference.
Correction. S70 is officially a C segment car. Please dont intentionally demote or downgrade just to protect H .

Source:
https://autobuzz.my/2024/03/06/proton-s70-3...segment-saloon/
https://www.nst.com.my/business/corporate/2...rket-proton-s70

Also at Paul Tan.org (cant post link here due to "you know why").

rumahwip
post May 6 2024, 07:05 AM

1,102 posts

so buy which 1?
littlefire
post May 6 2024, 10:33 AM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ May 5 2024, 07:58 PM)
Correction. S70 is officially a C segment car. Please dont intentionally demote or downgrade just to protect H .

Source:
https://autobuzz.my/2024/03/06/proton-s70-3...segment-saloon/
https://www.nst.com.my/business/corporate/2...rket-proton-s70

Also at Paul Tan.org (cant post link here due to "you know why").
Technically is no, they are using BMA (B-segment Modular Architecture) chassis which is a B-Segment but they stretch out and try to make it like B & C mid segment. Their marketing team try to spin it so people will buy it as a lot of people here prefer C-Segment cars but at a lower price point.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/B-segment_Mod...ecture_platform

FYI Proton X50 is also using the same BMA chassis.

Another reference from the original car it base from Geely Emgrand also market as B-Segment.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geely_Emgrand

FYI, most of these online reviewers are paid including Paul T*n so dont 100% believe what they said/write in their blogs/youtube.

This post has been edited by littlefire: May 6 2024, 10:39 AM

0.0361sec    0.31    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:33 AM