4G/LTE Modem Router Recommendations

JLA
post Dec 23 2024, 09:24 PM

2,791 posts

QUOTE(my44 @ Dec 23 2024, 08:07 PM)
Looks interesting. These few months I’m experimenting with Yes4G and B20+38 maybe can increase the performance a bit. Obviously I’m not looking for 5G solution yet (those 5G ‘mifi’ still quite out of my budget).
dont think b28 can ca with b38 b40
b28 use 5G data while b38 40 4G
4G LTE CA mostly with celcomdigi maxis umobile

9M-MAS
post Dec 24 2024, 03:10 PM

1,423 posts

D-Link DWR-933M mifi sports 4G+, and at less than RM200, looks attractive
andrekua2
post Dec 24 2024, 09:35 PM

13,483 posts

Unifi 4G is a bit like YES, they are on their own and on weird band 5 and band 38/40.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Dec 24 2024, 09:36 PM
JLA
post Dec 25 2024, 07:22 AM

2,791 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Dec 24 2024, 09:35 PM)
Unifi 4G is a bit like YES, they are on their own and on weird band 5 and band 38/40.
TM leverages Maxis’ infrastructure to drive enhanced mobile connectivity nationwide
Maxis will provide approximately 6,800 sites for 4G MOCN and domestic roaming (DR) services, and 10,000 sites for 2G DR, greatly benefiting all subscribers in rural and urban areas nationwide.
https://www.maxis.com.my/en/about-maxis/new...ity-nationwide/

* no time frame, domestic roaming until future notice
* dont use non broadband sim card plan inside modem

thankyou
post Dec 25 2024, 10:28 AM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(JLA @ Dec 25 2024, 07:22 AM)
TM leverages Maxis’ infrastructure to drive enhanced mobile connectivity nationwide
Maxis will provide approximately 6,800 sites for 4G MOCN and domestic roaming (DR) services, and 10,000 sites for 2G DR, greatly benefiting all subscribers in rural and urban areas nationwide.
https://www.maxis.com.my/en/about-maxis/new...ity-nationwide/

* no time frame, domestic roaming until future notice
* dont use non broadband sim card plan inside modem
Macam take jalan... Unifi 4G is very bad still...
my44
post Dec 28 2024, 03:33 AM

2,488 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Dec 24 2024, 03:10 PM)
Interested with this 4G+ model too but I asked the shoppee seller and they replied battery must always be slotted in. Cannot operate without.

Had poor prior experience with previous Huawei mifi where the battery got bloated.
SUSeds2
post Dec 28 2024, 09:44 PM

101 posts

buy a 2nd 4g phone from fb marketplace and use it as hotspot?

(i use xperia xz1)

This post has been edited by eds2: Dec 28 2024, 09:47 PM
Pip_X
post Feb 28 2025, 01:42 PM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Dec 24 2024, 03:10 PM)
Just got this.
Battery life teruk even with that 3A battery.. 4 jam 5 jam habis.
My old ass 8 years old zte with 2.1A battery can 8 jam still tak mati.
9M-MAS
post Feb 28 2025, 08:21 PM

1,423 posts

QUOTE(Pip_X @ Feb 28 2025, 01:42 PM)
Just got this.
Battery life teruk even with that 3A battery.. 4 jam 5 jam habis.
My old ass 8 years old zte with 2.1A battery can 8 jam still tak mati.
wow that's a surprise. I was tinkering with the idea of getting it myself as can get really good price on Shopee the last few days, what with the discounts. Only thing that's been holding me back is the fact I have Olax G5010 - but was quite tempted nonetheless.

How many devices were connected to its wifi? Speeds ok?
Pip_X
post Feb 28 2025, 10:30 PM

Got miao miao jor.
2,465 posts

QUOTE(9M-MAS @ Feb 28 2025, 08:21 PM)
wow that's  a surprise. I was tinkering with the idea of getting it myself as can get really good price on Shopee the last few days, what with the discounts. Only thing that's been holding me back is the fact I have Olax G5010 - but was quite tempted nonetheless.

How many devices were connected to its wifi? Speeds ok?
2 to 3 devices only.
Speed ok, connection stable.
i'm on xoxone, need to change apn to celcom3g and lock band 1,3,5,7,8.
my44
post Apr 30 2025, 04:38 PM

2,488 posts

Currently using this used NEC modem bought from Aliexpress. It cannot connect to 5G NSA for whatever reason and the setting is dumbed down so cannot even see or lock band. BUT the 4G+ is pretty fast, presumably due to LTE Cat 9 or above (?) or carrier aggregation. Can reach 100 mbps at night with both Tunetalk and Yes4G sims.

Decided not to return it despite not able to connect to 5G NSA because the 4G+ is pretty decent for the price (didn’t pay RM500+ for ‘real’ 5G NSA).

Also, its battery operation mode is interesting; it can hold charge at 70% with one of the settings. Helps retain the battery longevity because not constantly held at 100% producing a lot of heat (the modem is warm already the way it is, so the charging hold maybe helps in the long run).

Also the battery is non replaceable.

https://world.taobao.com/item/737113712292....FromAutoCallApp

0.0223sec    1.16    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:06 AM