ipod touch/iphone vs PSP, video
Oct 28 2007, 04:06 PM, updated 19y ago
943 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: KL Sri Petaling |
nowadays psp can support many kind of video.....and the UMD video is still the best quality for portable devices....Can ipodtouch/iphone beat it in future????
Oct 28 2007, 09:28 PM
i think its depend on the user more....psp bring the highest video quality but apple mov file also not bad....psp more heavy but ipod more convinience...
Added on October 28, 2007, 9:28 pm QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Oct 28 2007, 09:12 PM) now of coz apple..... This post has been edited by kevinwcw: Oct 28 2007, 09:28 PM |
Oct 29 2007, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(mingdynasty @ Oct 28 2007, 11:19 PM) for this is how it goes... its really headche if someone is enjoying watching video.....becoz UMD video is still the best tat i had seems before....if u like play game of course psp is the 1 to go for but if u interested in song movies then u can compare apple/psp cause both have that feature... if u think u may want to play game..psp lo.. but if ur a no no gamer..then apple mayb better cause smaller and lighter and the new iphone/itouch has touch technology...hehe head ache.??.hahahahaha |
Oct 30 2007, 07:19 PM
QUOTE(cRazYee @ Oct 30 2007, 02:53 AM) now i compare it to UMD video...(better) Added on October 30, 2007, 7:21 pm QUOTE(wei @ Oct 30 2007, 12:13 PM) I'm a ex PSP owner & current iPhone owner. damm heavy is true I would go for iPhone for some personal reason: - PSP is demm heavy, my hand get tired if I have to carry it 2hr in a bus/train while watching it. - PSP doesn't feel nice to hold on my hand. - To sync the video into PSP is troublesome (during my time), have to install this and that, convert this and that, take out the memory card and put it back. Then I have to remember which movie I watched, watch until where. With iPhone I just use iTunes. And iTunes manage what I want, clean. iPhone remember where I last stop the movie (very important). - Quality wise I can comment much, as this solely depends how you do video conversion. And the UMD is ofcourse good. But I don't use magnifying glass to watch a 3.5" video. What I like for PSP is the animated clip you get when you're picking the video. If you don't remember what's the title, at lease you can have a preview of what is it. This post has been edited by kevinwcw: Oct 30 2007, 07:21 PM |
Oct 31 2007, 09:03 AM
Oct 31 2007, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(davidmak @ Oct 31 2007, 01:21 PM) I think you mean a PMP, short for personal media player. A device that can display pictures and playback music and video all on one device. EPSON, Nokia, NEC, Creative, Microsoft, Apple and etc all want a piece from this market. LOL....ur promoting nokia o? Personally, I think adding internet connectivity via WiFi just sweetens the whole deal. Now we only need the ability to selectively send and receive files for icing the cake. PSP has all of these features but its just a little big even with the new version. The down point is it lacks a touchscreen interface which is important when you want to do some input. The iPod Touch is small and very thin. Basically it looks like a piece of mini tablet where you can jot on it. Reading from such a device is no doubt very challenging because of the small screen (even at 3.5"). But Apple was able to get around it by utilizing what it calls the pinch to zoom or double tap to zoom on the particular area that you want. And it does so smartly... by zooming to the area just nice for reading without scrolling horizontally. This is where a device with touchscreen excels at. I think Nokia's N800 and the new N810 does that too which is superb. Now the only show stopper is support for Flash and Javas for the iPod Touch. An area the Nokia has always been good at, especially with Symbian S60 3rd Edition FP1. UPDATE: To correct spelling. |
Nov 1 2007, 12:29 AM
QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Oct 31 2007, 10:41 PM) talk bout portability buy both...... as now PSP got mroe accesories swaping batts MStick is very convenient for PSP aint it? for batts life which have longer life? movie game n music 3 main entertainment which beats the best i also kinda confusing to get a PSP lite or an Iphone... like ipod touch bring the latest technologies tat we havent play before and psp now many games too.....like final fantasy crysis core(only psp) and more.....if you like to play games the psp is surely is the best choice but if you like to having something slim and easy for ur entertainment for example online and listen music of coz ipod.... Added on November 1, 2007, 12:51 amcompare the similary between tis two devices Wifi website exploring Ipod touch bring more convinience becoz easy to use and got the horizontal technologies Psp got wifi for web explore also and it got smart fit funtion but the quality not very good all the thing is like squezz together and it is using joystick fot the pointing devices... MUsic Ipod touch still leading for tis becoz ipod got coverflow and also it is using mac os x means when listen to songs can also do other things like exploring website or check mail... Psp only can run one application and the music player is very simple and not very user friendly Video This one a bit challange..... Ipod got wide screen psp also got.... Psp got umd Video and also watching movie with memory stick now got PMP the quality nice as RMVB Ipod hmm......still not very clear and good for image quality...... This post has been edited by kevinwcw: Nov 1 2007, 12:51 AM |
Nov 1 2007, 10:42 AM
nice article...
Nov 2 2007, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(CooLeRthings @ Nov 1 2007, 12:15 PM) hard to choose i juz finish crysis core lo......nice game quality for PSP i like all those portable thing can swap everything while iphone kinda limit is like when portable, batt's life is kinda important psp u can get extra batts while iphone loose on this the reason i like iphone is the touch screen n UI, the whole thing look classy n cool PSP got a favourite game i wanna try... Crisis Core n if i wanna get, i plan to get tat 77777 units bundle set now dilemma on choosing which device to follow me ... |
Nov 5 2007, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(limyusiong @ Nov 3 2007, 12:28 AM) get both, like me....psp for gaming, video oso can....ipod, i got iphone...phone, plus ipod....wan bigger storage, got video 30gb stand by for me...tat is more than enof for me.... haha get both.....for me i seldom play games so i will choose ipod.. Because i can only accept quality....(psp games still very poor quality) compare to computer LOL |
Nov 6 2007, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(merajey @ Nov 6 2007, 01:06 AM) why most of ppl keep thinking psp loose to iphone in vidz quality?...if movies on the go is the concern these two(iphone n psp) share the same quality output eventhough psp can hold vidz up to 720*480...but let get back what r the 1st purpose this gadget to be built of...psp for mobile gaming n iphone music device with phone....so there is already a clear winner which one suit them the best.... so ur supporting ipod.... for me the best of portable all around device should have... *good mp3 n video management(in terms of software and user friendly UI) *can handle various of format *able to play media within +/- 10 hours *lot of accessories range *replaceable battery other than that will be a bonus for the device... (one thing i keep sigh when using apple product using windows was the itunes software eat a lot of RAM resources...not a good sofftware for a so-so pc like me ) |
Nov 6 2007, 08:59 PM
Nov 8 2007, 03:58 PM
Nov 9 2007, 01:51 AM
QUOTE(empty1339 @ Nov 8 2007, 10:40 PM) depend on yourself man...for me disadvantage is all is touch screen first will feel uncomfortable and its no a cheap stuff scare been stolen advantage watch drama when on the ways to work using LRT , use flick.im(instant message) at starbuck or other wifi area, listen music and play mini games... |
Nov 11 2007, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(carjack18 @ Nov 11 2007, 09:07 AM) ipod touch/iphone is more to listen to music and the position of its earphone is better than psp. our topic is about video....For psp it is more to gaming. They are from 2 different world. Back to the topic sony always bring the latest video technologies for example UMD video the best portable video, Blueray Technology and Full HD 1080.... For apple first product for entertainment devices IPOD...mp3 player not video player.... Video ipod vs psp PSP win |
Nov 11 2007, 09:13 PM
Nov 13 2007, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(cRazYee @ Nov 12 2007, 10:29 PM) if u wanna speak about history everyone have their own opinion PEACEapple have alot as well, H.264 codec from apple.. benifit everyone to enjoy great HD quality video with small file size. apple made the first public computers.... sony brings alot new technologyto this world, thanks from them but, they have very very bad managament inside. How many CEO they been change back from this 7 years? pity sony is losing money everyday....... talking about sound quality for mp3 world, no doubt we can know sony have better 1, but they still losing on marketing... lack of accesories in market. still, psp screen ratio is not the best for video. Added on November 12, 2007, 10:32 pm ok, then ask yrself how many UMD video will u own? i think we have to speak in your living world, YEs there is very good quality UMD, but if u never own it, what for we gonna discuss things that no gonna come into your life? wil u willing to spend so much just for the mobile video? we hardly see UMD video in malaysia market dont forget, this kind of UMD also got region issue if u buy hacked version psp like psp-1001,psp-2001 u have to stick with US region movie if u have PSP-1000,2001, then stick with japanese region PSP-1006,2006, Asia pacific region.. |
Dec 6 2007, 09:34 AM
iphone is nice but we talk about ipod touch vs psp becoz tis two is entertainment devices..
| Change to: | 0.0186sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:45 AM |