Renting unit - who pays the maintenance fee?, Landlord or Tenant?

Legozz
post Feb 6 2024, 02:38 PM

209 posts

Never heard case where tenant pay for maintenance fees. Always landlord pay.

Of course, this is subject to your rental agreement
Gabriel03
post Feb 6 2024, 04:17 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 6 2024, 02:03 PM)
yes, it is 100% confirmed my agent is just copying paste the standard contract t&c.

I even risked myself by transferring all the deposits to her personal account including 2 months of rentals + 1 month of advance payment (act as booking fee as well) plus 0.5 month of utilities deposit and rm300 stamping/legal fee + her agent fee of 0.5 month rental. (is it standard for tenant to pay agent fee as well?)

she was making excuses that her company account does not want to have so many transactions in and out so just pay to her will do. i actually knew that this is not the standard practice which i must bank in to the property agency account instead. but i did it still luckily no bad thing happened and i had been staying for close to 2 months now.

that time when the tenancy agreement was drafted, she even made mistake on my IC no. luckily i did the check on the agreement, she said it was her company admin who drafted it but i highly doubted it.
i think she just wanted to pay p
Regarding your question on the standard practice of tenant paying agent fee, it depends as there is no clear rules to it.

In Klang Valley, only the landlord pays the fee.

In JB, I know many REN agency collude with other REN agency to charge both tenant and landlord. The practice is Agency A represent the landlord give the listing to Agency B to find tenant. Agency B will put the ads on the several property sites. The tenant contact Agency B to rent the listing came from Agency A. So, automatically, the tenant need to pay Agency B for getting a place for him to rent while Agency A get the fee from the owner for sharing the listing with another agency. Same thing happens where Agency B share its listing with Agency A. It's the trick to double charge while having the same workload.

They call themselves as owner's agent and tenant's agent and justify that it's needed to protect each side's interest. Padahal, the Tenancy Agreement is a copy&paste and the agents don't really understand. Sometimes, they say things that contradict the contract. I remembered once I inform the my agent (representing the tenant) that I want to change the terms. She just forward it to the owner's agent and ask me to nego directly. Useless agent as I had to protect my own rights while paying her agent fee for publishing an ad on a property website.

This post has been edited by Gabriel03: Feb 6 2024, 04:25 PM
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Feb 6 2024, 04:23 PM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

I am the landlord, and I paid the maintenance fees and water charges since the water bill has been consistently RM7 per month. No burden to pay it
theevilman1909
post Feb 6 2024, 04:33 PM

3,969 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Feb 6 2024, 02:36 PM)
I pay all maintenance fees, indah water, electric (no aircon), water and internet but I include the cost in the rent...easier for the tenant and myself as well.
wah... everything including...

how much rent u charging per month huh?
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 6 2024, 04:39 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Feb 6 2024, 02:36 PM)
I pay all maintenance fees, indah water, electric (no aircon), water and internet but I include the cost in the rent...easier for the tenant and myself as well.
QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Feb 6 2024, 04:33 PM)

Interested to know too.

If i rent there sure aircond 24/7
theevilman1909
post Feb 6 2024, 04:41 PM

3,969 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 6 2024, 04:39 PM)
Interested to know too.

but he said No aircon??

how that possible nowadays?? cheap PPR Flats?
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 6 2024, 04:51 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Feb 6 2024, 04:41 PM)
but he said No aircon??

how that possible nowadays?? cheap PPR Flats?
Ooo self buy mobile aircond lor
Duckies
post Feb 6 2024, 04:53 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Feb 6 2024, 04:33 PM)

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Feb 6 2024, 04:39 PM)
Interested to know too.

Charging enough to cover installment je haha

No aircon la..if aircon very hard to control. Plus need to install meter to control usage...very troublesome.
theevilman1909
post Feb 6 2024, 04:56 PM

3,969 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Feb 6 2024, 04:53 PM)
Charging enough to cover installment je haha

No aircon la..if aircon very hard to control. Plus need to install meter to control usage...very troublesome.
really respect your tenants...

No aircon really GG nowadays devil.gif
Duckies
post Feb 6 2024, 04:59 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(theevilman1909 @ Feb 6 2024, 04:56 PM)
really respect your tenants...

No aircon really GG nowadays  devil.gif
If wan use aircon then need to pay for it oh...some tenants want budget one ma biggrin.gif
kucingfight
post Feb 6 2024, 05:00 PM

5,784 posts

even if it's not tenanted, landlord has to pay ..zero sum game
nihility
post Feb 6 2024, 05:09 PM

1,601 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 6 2024, 12:56 PM)
becos problematic part is that the water supply is under management and not saj.

so the water charges are inside the same statement as per the maintenance. and payment is to made to the management account directly.

so can i just pay the highlighted portion to the management for the water charges only?

I moved in on 15 dec 2023.

Wah, the unit you are renting has so much overdue charges, the JMB still allows you to move in/out without restriction?

I believe the place your are renting already utilizing apps like I-Neighbor or E-Community, where the owner can have the access to their billing & payment from the apps. Request to register as the tenant to pay the utility bill direct or make arrangement with the owner, owner share the invoice to you from apps, you bank in to the owner, then the owner pay on behalf & extend to you the official payment receipt.
nexona88
post Feb 6 2024, 06:20 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,588 posts

landlord has to pay....

unless one smart one "indirectly" include into rent whistling.gif
TSwestlife
post Feb 6 2024, 06:29 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(Gabriel03 @ Feb 6 2024, 04:17 PM)
Regarding your question on the standard practice of tenant paying agent fee, it depends as there is no clear rules to it.

In Klang Valley, only the landlord pays the fee.

In JB, I know many REN agency collude with other REN agency to charge both tenant and landlord. The practice is Agency A represent the landlord give the listing to Agency B to find tenant. Agency B will put the ads on the several property sites. The tenant contact Agency B to rent the listing came from Agency A. So, automatically, the tenant need to pay Agency B for getting a place for him to rent while Agency A get the fee from the owner for sharing the listing with another agency. Same thing happens where Agency B share its listing with Agency A. It's the trick to double charge while having the same workload.

They call themselves as owner's agent and tenant's agent and justify that it's needed to protect each side's interest. Padahal, the Tenancy Agreement is a copy&paste and the agents don't really understand. Sometimes, they say things that contradict the contract. I remembered once I inform the my agent (representing the tenant) that I want to change the terms. She just forward it to the owner's agent and ask me to nego directly. Useless agent as I had to protect my own rights while paying her agent fee for publishing an ad on a property website.
yeah. what u shared is exactly real.

for my case is that agent A contacted me to view a new launch project, so i went, and then i met agent B which is the colleage of the agent A, both of them are from the same agency. then during the chat, agent B found out i wanted to rent an unit at apartment X.

then agent B said just nice that he has a unfurnished unit for rent which is what i wanted. then next day both agent A and B brought me to view the unit. During this process, i never manage to get the contact no of agent B, becos he said anything contact agent A which is so called my agent.

Then when i decided to rent the unit, agent A just told me that i need to pay her half month of agent fee. WTF...

but technically in this whole process agent A actually did nothing but same thing as agent B only.

then when it comes to signing the booking form, plus drafting the tenancy agreement until i got the stamped copy of the tenancy agreement. i had to chase her all the time. obviously she is more interested if i buy a unit from the project she introduced than doing this deal of me renting a unit instead. obviously if i buy a new unit from the project, she can make more money than just earning the commission from my rent. quite terrible agent seriously.

plus she is doing the process in an improper manner to ask me to bank to her personal account without going thru her agency.

if not becos the unit is rare to find (partially furnished which is what i wanted, most unit for rent is fully furnished and the rental is ok with car park included), i will not take the risk and bear the lousy service from this agent A. vmad.gif
TSwestlife
post Feb 6 2024, 06:30 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Feb 6 2024, 04:23 PM)
I am the landlord, and I paid the maintenance fees and water charges since the water bill has been consistently RM7 per month. No burden to pay it
u must be from jaybee i guess. tongue.gif
TSwestlife
post Feb 6 2024, 06:35 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ Feb 6 2024, 05:09 PM)
Wah, the unit you are renting has so much overdue charges, the JMB still allows you to move in/out without restriction?

I believe the place your are renting already utilizing apps like I-Neighbor or E-Community, where the owner can have the access to their billing & payment from the apps. Request to register as the tenant to pay the utility bill direct or make arrangement with the owner, owner share the invoice to you from apps, you bank in to the owner, then the owner pay on behalf & extend to you the official payment receipt.
ya lo.. now then i noticed the landlord never pays for maintenance fee for quite a while.

i have no prob moving in and my card access is normal. the place i am renting is using this app called icare. similar to area of my house that i sold recently. so far only owner can have access to the app, even recently i managed to request the owner to register my car in the app becos over here it uses car plate recognition, the access card can only be used for lift and door access to common facilities only. my access now to facilities is normal as well, no restriction. i guess if overdue for few months should still be ok?

electricity i can get the bill from the mailbox and pay it.

just this water is irriating that it is under the management. and payment is to the management account directly.
aurora97
post Feb 8 2024, 03:51 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 6 2024, 06:35 PM)
ya lo.. now then i noticed the landlord never pays for maintenance fee for quite a while.

i have no prob moving in and my card access is normal. the place i am renting is using this app called icare. similar to area of my house that i sold recently. so far only owner can have access to the app, even recently i managed to request the owner to register my car in the app becos over here it uses car plate recognition, the access card can only be used for lift and door access to common facilities only. my access now to facilities is normal as well, no restriction. i guess if overdue for few months should still be ok?

electricity i can get the bill from the mailbox and pay it.

just this water is irriating that it is under the management. and payment is to the management account directly.
Maintenance, Quit Rent, Fire insurance are paid by the landlord.

Utilities (electric, water, sewage, internet) are paid by tenant.

If you are paying your water bill through the management, very likely your condo is very old. Prior to 2007, the water meters come from bulk water meter and the water company charge a minimum fee to the JMB, this cost is pass back to the residents. This means the water meter at your unit belong to the JMB and not Syabas. That's the reason why, you paying min RM 7.

Newer condo, generally you have to apply for your own water meter with Syabas.
TSwestlife
post Feb 8 2024, 05:47 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Feb 8 2024, 03:51 PM)
Maintenance, Quit Rent, Fire insurance are paid by the landlord.

Utilities (electric, water, sewage, internet) are paid by tenant.

If you are paying your water bill through the management, very likely your condo is very old. Prior to 2007, the water meters come from bulk water meter and the water company charge a minimum fee to the JMB, this cost is pass back to the residents. This means the water meter at your unit belong to the JMB and not Syabas. That's the reason why, you paying min RM 7.

Newer condo, generally you have to apply for your own water meter with Syabas.
My side is SAJ.

No u are wrong. My apartment here is super new. Many just collected keys in September only.

It is a brand new unit I am renting.
aurora97
post Feb 8 2024, 05:56 PM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Feb 8 2024, 05:47 PM)
My side is SAJ.

No u are wrong. My apartment here is super new. Many just collected keys in September only.

It is a brand new unit I am renting.
Surprised there are buildings still using bulk water meter.

Your apartment is in Klang Valley or in another state?

Btw, I forgot the main article because this issue has been around for ages... you can see this for your better understanding:

https://www.airselangor.com/uploads/2020/11...-MIGRATION.docx

PARCEL METER
Every parcel owner of high-rise residential building or Gated community shall apply for a parcel meter to a water distribution licensee and open a parcel meter account with the water distribution licensee through the Management.

The existing parcel owner whose water supply had been read and charged through a bulk meter based on the appropriate rates for water supply services, shall apply for parcel meter to a water distribution licensee and open a parcel meter account with the water distribution licensee through the Management who shall submit the application to Migration Section, Pengurusan Air Selangor which based at Headquarters.

Effective 1 February 2014, the Migration of Bulk meter to Individual meter water supply account has been made mandatory by the Federal Government in accordance to the Rules of Water Services Industry (Water Reticulation and Plumbing) 2014.

Any person who fails to comply with the rules “Water Services Industry (Water Reticulation and Plumbing) Rules 2014” is committing an offence and shall, upon conviction, be fined not exceeding ten thousand ringgits.

TSwestlife
post Feb 8 2024, 06:09 PM

14,315 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Feb 8 2024, 05:56 PM)
Surprised there are buildings still using bulk water meter.

Your apartment is in Klang Valley or in another state?

Btw, I forgot the main article because this issue has been around for ages... you can see this for your better understanding:

https://www.airselangor.com/uploads/2020/11...-MIGRATION.docx

PARCEL METER
Every parcel owner of high-rise residential building or Gated community shall apply for a parcel meter to a water distribution licensee and open a parcel meter account with the water distribution licensee through the Management.

The existing parcel owner whose water supply had been read and charged through a bulk meter based on the appropriate rates for water supply services, shall apply for parcel meter to a water distribution licensee and open a parcel meter account with the water distribution licensee through the Management who shall submit the application to Migration Section, Pengurusan Air Selangor which based at Headquarters.

Effective 1 February 2014, the Migration of Bulk meter to Individual meter water supply account has been made mandatory by the Federal Government in accordance to the Rules of Water Services Industry (Water Reticulation and Plumbing) 2014.

Any person who fails to comply with the rules “Water Services Industry (Water Reticulation and Plumbing) Rules 2014” is committing an offence and shall, upon conviction, be fined not exceeding ten thousand ringgits.
Mine is in jaybee.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0204sec    2.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 10:15 AM