How long can I still use this HDD for?

TSblownfreaks
post Feb 5 2024, 11:56 PM, updated 2y ago

49 posts

Just checking with the sifus here. I have this HDD, just wondering how long can I still use it for based on this stat. Everything seems to be working fine at the moment but given that it's almost 10 years, I'm just afraid it might just suddenly die. If the indicators says that everything is Good, nothing much to worry right?

teslaman
post Feb 6 2024, 12:04 AM

1,154 posts

QUOTE(blownfreaks @ Feb 5 2024, 11:56 PM)
Just checking with the sifus here. I have this HDD, just wondering how long can I still use it for based on this stat. Everything seems to be working fine at the moment but given that it's almost 10 years, I'm just afraid it might just suddenly die. If the indicators says that everything is Good, nothing much to worry right?

Another 10 years no issue
cassian948
post Feb 6 2024, 12:16 AM

931 posts

If the disk is empty, do read/write benchmark.

If the result significantly slow, eg. ~ 20-50MB/s, not that long lor.
mi-g
post Feb 6 2024, 12:47 AM

Part-time Troll
1,501 posts

here's mine.. still working great, no slowness ever feel..

so its not up to POH only, other factors can determine how long a HDD can lasts....
babylon52281
post Feb 6 2024, 10:29 AM

2,711 posts

You may never know if a mechanical part will suddenly seize or stop moving. IF that data is important, time to change it out.
TSblownfreaks
post Feb 6 2024, 11:01 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Feb 6 2024, 12:16 AM)
If the disk is empty, do read/write benchmark.

If the result significantly slow, eg. ~ 20-50MB/s, not that long lor.
Did a quick test, read/write is around 190/170MB/s. I supposed it is still quite good.

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 6 2024, 10:29 AM)
You may never know if a mechanical part will suddenly seize or stop moving. IF that data is important, time to change it out.
Thanks, totally understand that. Mainly going to use this drive for staging/temp download for torrent for now. So probably will going to use it until it dies naturally.
This Seagate Ironwolf seems very reliable, not sure if it is because it is the older model where they use different technology, a couple of my newer HDD has failed after 4-5 years.
xxboxx
post Feb 8 2024, 09:57 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Why need to worry and take risk when a simple mirroring solution will secure your data even if the HDD dies. One 3TB HDD is also inexpensive as an insurance for your data.

How to Setup RAID-1 on Windows 11

Use "Two-way mirror" for 2 HDD
TSblownfreaks
post Feb 8 2024, 06:46 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Feb 8 2024, 09:57 AM)
Why need to worry and take risk when a simple mirroring solution will secure your data even if the HDD dies. One 3TB HDD is also inexpensive as an insurance for your data.

How to Setup RAID-1 on Windows 11

Use "Two-way mirror" for 2 HDD
Thank you so much for sharing, didn't know got such feature in Windows.

Muusyc
post Feb 11 2024, 01:54 PM

354 posts

Well, I got one HDD been using it for over 30 years, no performance or any issues at all. But another one brought recently only using it less than half-year, spoilt. It's all about luck.

This post has been edited by Muusyc: Feb 11 2024, 02:00 PM
1024kbps
post Feb 15 2024, 11:16 PM

李素裳
6,017 posts

HDD that running for too long will suffer head crash or motor failure,
Second is bad sector keep appearing,
Mechanical stuff are bound to fail due to wear and tear

0.0169sec    1.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:09 PM