Filling In Names for Airline Ticket Purchase, how o_O?

TSshaniandras2787
post Jan 24 2024, 10:21 AM, updated 2y ago

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

I can never get how to fill in the names when purchasing airline ticket.

This is from ANA's website:

*there is no equivalent example provided for in ANA's website but the closest one is the example from Hong Kong.

... and this is from MAS's website:

so, assuming my name is "Anthony Loke Siew Fook" then for ANA I would need to fill in:

"Siew Fook Anthony" as the first name; and
then "Loke" for the last name

HOWEVER for MAS:-

the first middle would be "Siew Fook"; and
then last name as "Anthony Loke".

so how o_O?

EDIT: So if i want to purchase from ANA, how should i fill my name?

This post has been edited by shaniandras2787: Jan 24 2024, 10:29 AM
poweredbydiscuz
post Jan 24 2024, 10:25 AM

3,834 posts

What's your question? You wanna buy from which airline?
TSshaniandras2787
post Jan 24 2024, 10:28 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jan 24 2024, 10:25 AM)
What's your question? You wanna buy from which airline?
from ANA.
ryansxs
post Jan 24 2024, 10:34 AM

2,378 posts

last name is Loke
given name is the rest of them

follow the passport, all name.
TSshaniandras2787
post Jan 24 2024, 10:40 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(ryansxs @ Jan 24 2024, 10:34 AM)
last name is Loke
given name is the rest of them

follow the passport, all name.
ouh... which means it will be:-

First Name: "Anthony Siew Fook"; and
Last Name: "Loke" (just "Loke"?)
kenneth0
post Jan 24 2024, 10:43 AM

157 posts

This will work even for MAS. thats how i fill up all the time

erry-
post Jan 24 2024, 11:04 AM

Custom Member Title
2,323 posts

Follow name on passport. As long as all name at passport got at ticket, no prob first/last name. If u got BIN/BINTI also just put either at end of first name or beginning of last name.

This post has been edited by erry-: Jan 24 2024, 11:06 AM
a13solut3
post Jan 24 2024, 11:04 AM

Whiner FTW!
1,759 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 24 2024, 10:40 AM)

yes this one is correct. ^ is the proper way.

even if i do

First Name : Anthony
Last Name : Loke Siew Fook

it will still go through anyway. been there done that.

This post has been edited by a13solut3: Jan 24 2024, 11:05 AM
TSshaniandras2787
post Jan 24 2024, 11:06 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(erry- @ Jan 24 2024, 11:04 AM)
Follow name on passport. As long as all name at passport got at ticket, no prob first/last name. If u got BIN/BINTI also just put either at last first name or beginning last name
oh, ok thanks.

really don't understand why airline companies don't streamline these forms. could have just have one column which states "FULL NAME AS PER PASSPORT".
TSshaniandras2787
post Jan 24 2024, 11:07 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Jan 24 2024, 11:04 AM)

even if i do

Yeap, OK... thanks!

acbc
post Jan 24 2024, 11:10 AM

9,048 posts

Follow the passport lor.

If your name is Anthony Loke Siew Fook, then the Surname or Family Name is Loke and rest will be Given Name or Other Name.
TSshaniandras2787
post Jan 24 2024, 11:14 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 24 2024, 11:10 AM)
Follow the passport lor.

If your name is Anthony Loke Siew Fook, then the Surname or Family Name is Loke and rest will be Given Name or Other Name.
Yeah. The problem with ANA's website is that it did not mention "Surname" or "Family Name" but just "First Name" and "Last Name" so with a name like "Anthony Loke Siew Fook", not sure which one is to be regarded as "First Name" and which is "Last Name" and then assuming that "Last Name" IS the "Surname" then should the "First Name/Given Name" be "Anthony Siew Fook" or "Siew Fook Anthony".

confused.gif
poweredbydiscuz
post Jan 24 2024, 11:18 AM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 24 2024, 11:06 AM)
oh, ok thanks.

really don't understand why airline companies don't streamline these forms. could have just have one column which states "FULL NAME AS PER PASSPORT".
Because most countries passport don't display as one "full name". They separate first/given name and last/surname.

We are the minority who display as one full name.
acbc
post Jan 24 2024, 11:20 AM

9,048 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 24 2024, 11:14 AM)
Yeah. The problem with ANA's website is that it did not mention "Surname" or "Family Name" but just "First Name" and "Last Name" so with a name like "Anthony Loke Siew Fook", not sure which one is to be regarded as "First Name" and which is "Last Name" and then assuming that "Last Name" IS the "Surname" then should the "First Name/Given Name" be "Anthony Siew Fook" or "Siew Fook Anthony".

:confused:
Last Name is Family Name or Surname lor. Same thing.
TSshaniandras2787
post Jan 24 2024, 11:28 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Jan 24 2024, 11:18 AM)
Because most countries passport don't display as one "full name". They separate first/given name and last/surname.

We are the minority who display as one full name.
ugh - i wonder if ICAO has a say in making sure everyone's name is displayed consistently in passports.

QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 24 2024, 11:20 AM)
Last Name is Family Name or Surname lor. Same thing.
yeah, that would be a rational assumption but to occasional travelers (like me), it may be confusing because the "Last Name" in "Anthony Loke Siew Fook" could mean "Fook".
ryansxs
post Jan 25 2024, 01:20 PM

2,378 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 24 2024, 10:40 AM)

yes.

unless they specify first, middle and last name.

then first and middle will be, Anthony and Siew Fook respectively.
haya
post Jan 25 2024, 01:52 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 24 2024, 11:28 AM)
ugh - i wonder if ICAO has a say in making sure everyone's name is displayed consistently in passports.
Ref: ICAO Doc 9303, Machine Readable Travel Documents Part 3 — Specifications Common to all MRTDs

They have to accommodate significant parts of the world that do not have concepts of family names, surnames, last names etc.

The problem is that GDS and immigration systems are built by people who assume, and expect, if not demand, that everyone has a family name/surname/last name.
hksgmy
post Jan 25 2024, 04:29 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jan 24 2024, 11:14 AM)

confused.gif
By almost universal convention and duly acknowledged by all and sundry in the Anglophilic domain, you last name is your family or surname.

First Name (or names) is/are your given names - in this case, following your example, Anthony (first) Siew Fook (middle names) LOKE (last name)
Blofeld
post Jan 25 2024, 04:56 PM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Jan 24 2024, 11:04 AM)

even if i do

basically this ^

always work everywhere

ACCA (not an airline, though) provides the same advice above for chinese names

First name: John

Last name: Tan Ah Kow

so it will appear on the cert as John Tan Ah Kow

so the name order will be similar on your IC and passport
hksgmy
post Jan 25 2024, 06:35 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Jan 25 2024, 04:56 PM)
basically this ^

always work everywhere

ACCA (not an airline, though) provides the same advice above for chinese names

First name: John

Last name: Tan Ah Kow

so it will appear on the cert as John Tan Ah Kow

so the name order will be similar on your IC and passport
That's a clever workaround and certainly a middle finger right back atcha flipper to the colonists that insist on ramming their naming conventions upon us.

0.0224sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:23 AM