DIY engine service possible ?

TSbluecat68
post Jan 21 2024, 05:25 AM, updated 2y ago

361 posts

Just wondering how hard it would be to service / clean / replace engine part (valve / piston / clutch plate) all by myself on Modenas Kriss MR1 ??

By the way I already have experience change or replace engine oil / tyre / brake / horn & starter switch by myself, yeah sure I know engine service / maintenance job is not the same level but I like to DIY if possible.
jetblast
post Jan 21 2024, 05:49 AM

1,039 posts

With the right tools everything possible.
TSbluecat68
post Jan 21 2024, 07:24 AM

361 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Jan 21 2024, 05:49 AM)
With the right tools everything possible.
Sure so exactly what tool I need other than right size spanner & Screw driver ??
jetblast
post Jan 21 2024, 08:46 AM

1,039 posts

You might need impact wrench, strap wrench, good set of socket, spark plug removal socket. See YouTube many channels talk about tools for simple motor maintenance
harryleesbr
post Jan 21 2024, 11:32 AM

Sent to a trusted workshop. Ride more, worry less and cheaper.
basilisk
post Jan 21 2024, 03:29 PM

30 posts

if you need to use the bike daily, better send to shop.
if you can take ur own sweet time to do during free time, go ahead and do it.
tools buy it when you need it.
TSbluecat68
post Jan 21 2024, 10:05 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(harryleesbr @ Jan 21 2024, 11:32 AM)
Sent to a trusted workshop. Ride more, worry less and cheaper.
"Trusted workshop" ?? I don't meet any.
jaycee1
post Jan 21 2024, 10:44 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Funny...no one mentioned trying to get a shop manual for the bike before you start ......
TSbluecat68
post Jan 21 2024, 11:58 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 21 2024, 10:44 PM)
Funny...no one mentioned trying to get a shop manual for the bike before you start ......
May be the "BEST" manual can usually be found in youtube.
alexei
post Jan 22 2024, 09:21 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

it is possible, but you will end up spending more that you need for something that's needed done every 50~200k km, or never

I sent mine for full overhaul, cost me 400 and peace of mind, work done in two days

only try this if your time is worth much less

try removing the magnet first before you drop the engine

you'll need a magnet puller, mallet, impact wrench, torque wrench, loctite, gasket maker, bearing set, oil seals, circlip plier, penknife, flame torch, degreaser, engine cleaner, WD40, a working top (usually a tyre) and lots of patience
paskal
post Jan 22 2024, 11:23 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(bluecat68 @ Jan 21 2024, 05:25 AM)
Just wondering how hard it would be to service / clean / replace engine part (valve / piston / clutch plate) all by myself on Modenas Kriss MR1 ??

By the way I already have experience change or replace engine oil / tyre / brake / horn & starter switch by myself, yeah sure I know engine service / maintenance job is not the same level but I like to DIY if possible.
quite easy if you have some mechanical skill.

if you don't need to use the bike anytime soon, then go ahead jer.
worse come to worse, pack all the parts you removed in a sack and bring it over to the workshop and ask them to rebuild hehehe
TSbluecat68
post Jan 22 2024, 12:39 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Jan 22 2024, 11:23 AM)
quite easy if you have some mechanical skill.

if you don't need to use the bike anytime soon, then go ahead jer.
worse come to worse, pack all the parts you removed in a sack and bring it over to the workshop and ask them to rebuild hehehe
I got only one bike for transport and job and need it everyday so that's the problem if I got stuck somewhere doing DIY, no backup transport to go retail to buy this or that but can't say I have enough confidence to send my bike to the 2 nearest service shops so let's see how. Currently still looking for good reputation service shop which provide motor for temp use.

By the way mine bike already 10 yrs old and of course losing some say 20% power and consume more fuel since feel months ago so which type of overhaul I should go ?? I heard there are general overhaul and top overhaul.

This post has been edited by bluecat68: Jan 22 2024, 12:39 PM

0.0185sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:17 PM