QUOTE(FusionXY @ Oct 13 2025, 11:35 AM)
EM rejoice lor, lol Which 5G Modem is better?
Which 5G Modem is better?
Nov 2 2025, 08:21 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
530 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
Nov 2 2025, 09:31 PM
Nov 18 2025, 12:12 PM
any one using this 5g modem?
![]() ![]() using MTK 7981 Chipset with MTK T750 Modem. dl can get 300Mbps ++ at my site. is it normal for U mobile 5G NSA? ![]() |
Nov 20 2025, 12:20 PM
Nov 20 2025, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(vkashin @ Nov 20 2025, 12:49 PM) i guess it depends on site? VN007+ is using IVY510, i know this baseband chip, didn't expect so such different in speed compare to SD X62.Using umobile U Home 5G, still NSA at my place, but on TP-Link X-50-5G instead, it gets me 500Mbps+ download & 100 Mbps upload on speedtest. This speed is pretty much what I get doing speedtest on Maxis and Digi using mobile phone (iphone & poco f3) Previously using unicom CPE VN007+, had only manage to get 200Mbps download at the same place Previously I also uses Unicom CPE which has UniSoC IVY510 chip, but it lacks B28 band, so I can't connect to NSA. here is the screen shot of the bands its support. if N28 is available I can use this CPE again. btw, on the market its M.2 5G module is marketed as fibocom Fm650. ![]() |
Nov 20 2025, 01:44 PM
Nov 20 2025, 01:48 PM
Nov 20 2025, 01:54 PM
Nov 20 2025, 02:03 PM
QUOTE(syahpian @ Nov 20 2025, 01:59 PM) because uhome borneo have unlimited quota, prepaid borneo is rm 20 per month and only have 2TB quota, that only for 5G, 4G only have 100GB lol, You sure it is truly unlimited and no FUP on U home? what is the monthly usage of your u home borneo plan? I never exceed 1TB/month on my prepaid borneo. so better just get uhome borneo since only need to add rm 40 (rm 58) already can get unlimited quota on 4G and 5G, that is no brainer choice |
Nov 20 2025, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(syahpian @ Nov 20 2025, 02:07 PM) using borneo prepaid running node before, exceed 2TB usage lol, still getting around 25-50 usd monthly (depend on market) dayum, then exceed the 2TB is different story lar, I not that hardcore. you running mining node? so can say my uhome borneo is paying for itself also, this uhome is double as my failover for unifi 1Gbps |
Nov 20 2025, 02:15 PM
Nov 20 2025, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(syahpian @ Nov 20 2025, 02:19 PM) definitely take sim only and don't have to tie down with contract, beside you already got your own arcadyan, U mobile free 5G modem is heavily locked down, no tinkering is possible. not useful for ppl who want to have greater control of it. |
Nov 20 2025, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(syahpian @ Nov 20 2025, 02:35 PM) well, actually you can, those modem are actually firmware locked. you just need to reflash the firmware with generic version to remove the lock. but it is very tricky, as you need to connect to the SPI to write the new firmware, either through serial tty port on the board or unsolder the SPI chip place it on a writer to flash it. very tedious job. eauyong, salimbest83, and 1 other liked this post
Nov 20 2025, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(syahpian @ Nov 20 2025, 03:18 PM) Yupe, for sure need some soldering skills and a bit of tinkering. Could be risking / bricking the modem if not done properly. Not for ppl who are not into this stuffs. syahpian liked this post
Nov 20 2025, 10:35 PM
QUOTE(eauyong @ Nov 20 2025, 09:41 PM) It is possible to flash a chip especially the Winbond 8-pin SOIC by the CH341A 24 25 Series EEPROM Flash BIOS USB Programmer Module + SOIC8 SOP8 Test Clip For EEPROM 93CXX _ 25CXX _ 24CXX _ on board - No need to unsolder. I have done that for a motherboard few years ago but now forgotten already. Still have two programmers, this CH341A and a very old but capable WELLON VP-38B+ bought in 2005 from weilei.com.cn (Windows XP). yupe, I know that, you need to buy the bracket that is cover the top of the SPI chip so that it makes contact with 8 pins of the SPI chips. I already open my 5G modem router, but I think they all covers in metal bracket to shield all the high frequency signal, if not, I would be able to take the pic of the SPI chip. |
Nov 20 2025, 10:36 PM
jusbella liked this post
Nov 22 2025, 01:07 PM
Nov 22 2025, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(syahpian @ Nov 22 2025, 11:19 AM) Is oem, they tweak the linux kernel to 5.4.210 but keeping as 21.02 for supporting m.2 5g baseband at kernel level without installing the drivers for it. I think update to 24.10 run the risk of bricking. The spi flash is only 128mb with 8 or 9 partitions. Is very tricky to upgrade. Dont play play. syahpian liked this post
Nov 22 2025, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(syahpian @ Nov 22 2025, 02:05 PM) ah, i see, my aw1000 already using 24.10 what was your previous version? you upgraded yourself? ![]() also, mine already extended the internal storage ![]() https://github.com/xhikarishii/openwrt-ipq |
Nov 22 2025, 03:19 PM
QUOTE(JLA @ Nov 22 2025, 02:15 PM) http://192.168.0.1/cgi-bin/luci/admin/status/overview factory default version.standard openwrt luci page from ssh terminal CODE cat /etc/openwrt_release ![]() |
| Change to: | 0.0148sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:25 PM |