Which 5G Modem is better?

Billy.Who
post Nov 13 2024, 08:43 PM

137 posts

Anyone use those MiFi battery powered 5G modems?

Something like this:
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/5g-mobil...3779444632.html

Back when UniFi Air was 4G I used it with some cheapo RM30 USB dongle and the performance was very sensitive to position.. Place it near the window and I can get ~50mbps and it can drop to ~20mbps or lower.

Considering these 5G modems cost 600+ it would be terrible if they also had signal issues.

This post has been edited by Billy.Who: Nov 13 2024, 08:44 PM
Billy.Who
post Nov 14 2024, 12:16 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(xswatch @ Nov 14 2024, 08:45 AM)
one of the most important thing about any 5g modem is the chipset. the link that u post above using mediatek, lol. and it's unbranded too.

better get GteniQ iQ03X55, proper modem, modified, also detachable battery too. this model using Qualcomm x55, proper chipset for router bro. price wise also cheaper too rm500+.

https://s.lazada.com.my/s.N00y6
QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 14 2024, 09:37 AM)
This gteniq I heard is good and cheap during 11.11 sales.
I kept thinking whether want to get it or not.
End up didn't trigger cause afraid if rarely use gonna be wasted.
Hope 12.12 sales can apply platform voucher.
Cheapest can get around 400-500 with 15% platform voucher.
Thanks for the recommendations

Too cheapskate to spend 400 for a modem lol. Was looking at that particular modem as I saw a used one for around RM300 (think it was FB marketplace)

To be fair I only need it for 1-3 months at most. I think I'll just get a cheap 2nd hand 5G phone and tether it to my PC or just activate the hotspot. Won't do it with my main phone as it places a lot of strain on the battery (have done it before with Unifi Air 4G and the battery showed noticeable degradation after 1+ months or so)

Billy.Who
post Nov 14 2024, 12:29 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 14 2024, 12:20 PM)
FB marketplace have to becareful yo.
Using 5G to tether will make the phone to overheat.
Best to use direct cable tether so that the battery won't run out but expect to be plugged until 100%
Yes. Did that a few years back with a 4G broadband sim. Phone also got relatively hot and after 1+ month I noticed the battery life was reduced. Which is why I'll do it on a cheapo phone this time
Maybe with 5G I'll have to find some way to throttle the max speed so it doesn't stress the phone too much. Main use is for browsing and some torrenting lol so I guess I just have to carefully manage my usage to avoid overheating the phone.

And yea FB marketplace can be dodgy. Saw some listings that even came with warnings from FB itself that the post is using images from other users and somehow they don't remove it other than place that warning at the top
Billy.Who
post Nov 14 2024, 01:01 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 14 2024, 12:39 PM)
If got 5G USB Modem will be easier. So far none yet.
Saw many cheapo version online, mention 5G but actually is a fake 5G paste as the cover only.
The another forumer recommed that model quite good. Can use future use then sell to someone.
Definitely can get something when you sell that modem since it is good model.
Might do that as a last resort. Have also seen some decent used modems online at around RM 500. Should be easy to resell later.

And yes practically all of the cheap '5G' modems in the market are just 4G LTE with 5GHz WiFi. They just deceptively label the 5GHz as '5G'
Billy.Who
post Nov 18 2024, 08:59 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(vkashin @ Nov 14 2024, 02:20 PM)
for your usage probably a cheap phone as hotspot would be better
from my experience, using a 5g phone hotspot to attend zoom classes and to make presentations - it will get choppy after nearly an hour - same thing happens whether i created hotspot on my iphone or realme narzo 50 pro 5g..
Resolved after I decided to invest in a cheapo Unicom VN007 5g CPE.. smooth like butter
and now for my data needs on the road I'm using Olax MF650 - happy with the size and speed + stability, battery also can last for the entire workday
QUOTE(FusionXY @ Nov 14 2024, 02:47 PM)
Oh ya, for the portable modem can use either battery or direct bypass.
You can bypass the battery if you don't want to degrade the battery lifespan. Like connect USB to your laptop to use. A cheap 5G phone also good.
Thanks for all the feedback.

Was about to get a Vivo Y27 dirt cheap but the seller went MIA lol

Have also decided to look into 5G modem/routers and saw a few used ZTE MC801A for around 450-500+ but some of the listings are as old as 2+ months. Is this a bad choice hence the unsold units?

Also saw a Nokia FastMile 3 selling for 400 earlier today but by the time I was able to contact the seller it was already sold (think it was sold within 2-4 hours!) Seems like this is a very coveted modem and there are very few units on the marketplaces (Caro/FB/Mudah)..
Billy.Who
post Nov 25 2024, 01:26 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(Billy.Who @ Nov 18 2024, 08:59 PM)
Thanks for all the feedback.

Was about to get a Vivo Y27 dirt cheap but the seller went MIA lol

Have also decided to look into 5G modem/routers and saw a few used ZTE MC801A for around 450-500+ but some of the listings are as old as 2+ months. Is this a bad choice hence the unsold units?

Also saw a Nokia FastMile 3 selling for 400 earlier today but by the time I was able to contact the seller it was already sold (think it was sold within 2-4 hours!) Seems like this is a very coveted modem and there are very few units on the marketplaces (Caro/FB/Mudah)..
Both the ZTE & Nokia were sold before I could get them lol.

Ended up with a Zyxel NR5103E that was unfortunately faulty. Seems that there is a batch around that mostly functional other than totally being unable to connect to 5G (https://www.facebook.com/pendakwahteknologi...750048315/?_rdr)

Gotta start searching yet again for another modem...
Billy.Who
post Nov 25 2024, 02:29 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Nov 25 2024, 02:02 PM)
so what are u going to do with the nr5103e?

already tested in other area?

or use it as 4G modem router only?
Tested it in PJ/Kelana and Bandar Sri Damansara, both of which should have solid or at the very least decent DNB 5G coverage. Yet the modem could never establish a 5G connection.. very likely a faulty batch as per the link. Have also seen similar comments on platforms like Shopee, Lazada, forums etc.

Got it off Carousell and I'm fortunate that the seller is willing to provide a refund

Billy.Who
post Nov 25 2024, 03:11 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Nov 25 2024, 02:43 PM)
you are lucky got the refund.

that's why in another thread i only recommend tplink x50 5g and nv510 from authorised tplink seller.

too risky to buy a 5g modem router from grey market but end up becomes a paper weight.
? The problem is specific to the NR5103E (Three (the telco) variant). Most of the stuff on Lazada/Shopee should be fine if they're unlocked.

Buyers just need to be somewhat familiar with the tech to ensure that the units support the necessary bands to work in Malaysia. Although in some cases the savings might not be worthwhile since the pricing is relatively high, around 100-300 cheaper than official units. Then again the people who resort to such channels probably don't have the financials to spare so the savings no matter how little may be significant for them
Billy.Who
post Nov 26 2024, 02:33 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Nov 26 2024, 12:05 AM)
You must select 5G-NSA only and not 4G/5G-NSA/5G-SA Auto fallback.

Then select B28 (many selected N28 wrongly) + N78 ONLY.

Which firmware version u using? Do not upgrade it OTA because it meant for 3 UK market. Stick with version B.

Mine uptime already >1 month 24/7.
Can't seem to get the OTA so stuck with B12 anyway. Believe the UK users are at B14 or higher.

Bands already set and configured to Auto Switch @ 5G-NSA/4G. No option for NSA only (other 3 options are SA/NSA/4G Auto; 5G-SA & 4G).

Appreciate the very helpful comments from the community so far but the fact is that there are 5103E lemon units around that are practically fully functional save for the ability to connect to 5G at all:

https://www.facebook.com/pendakwahteknologi...750048315/?_rdr

Screenshot of a LYN post from above FB link

https://ispreview.co.uk/talk/threads/zyxel-...3e-no-5g.40149/

https://www.ispreview.co.uk/talk/threads/th...y-b12-fw.39058/
Billy.Who
post Nov 26 2024, 03:29 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Nov 26 2024, 03:07 PM)
That is correct. Did you also check the tiny switch behind the modem whether it's set to external antenna or internal antenna? Make sure it's internal antenna many overlooked that as well.
Yes yes all is properly set lol. Again, this is sadly most certainly a lemon unit. Hard as it is, unfortunately we just have to admit that there are sometimes manufacturing defects with products which is why warranties exist after all..

Will be returning this soon. Hope I wont be as unlucky yet again with the next modem I get. lmao this is already my 2nd 'problem' modem. Just before I got this, I also went to pick up a used MC888D from a seller who was not aware it was still locked because it worked with some overseas SIM he tested with.
Billy.Who
post Mar 20 2025, 12:42 PM

137 posts

Anyone using 5G broadband in a condo? Any recommendations for a modem with decent connection strength? What about external antennas? Any success using them to boost the signal enough for a good connection?

Currently staying at around the equivalent to the 18th-20th floor (condo is on elevated ground/hill). Getting decent 5G reception (5/5bars; ~100++ - 200++mbps) via a Zyxel NR5103E and its internal antennas.

When using the same SIM (Yes 5G) on my phone, its only able to get 4G so the modem is likely doing the heavylifting. The phone's own Maxis sim is able to get a 5G connection though at lower speeds (~50mbps - below 100mbps) vs 300-500+mbps at ground level.

So in addition to the relatively high floor, there is also the problem with Yes 5G's poorer connection.. Was thinking of adding the antennas since the NR5103E supports it and it would be more cost effective than getting another 5G modem.
Billy.Who
post Sep 2 2025, 04:40 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(Ardy7201 @ Jul 6 2025, 11:56 AM)
hi, me oso want to buy 5g modem

in list, tplink why? 3 years waranty

my sim : HALAL

so no need any mod like arca etc

tried gten cp502

good, my home can archived 500mbps. then after 3 month sold to new owner, modem died. no power. waranty expired

gten cp502 con : too many antenna. im worked outstattion, ourdoor for live stream event. its kind of hard to bukak-pasang the antenna
NX510v - https://www.tp-link.com/my/home-networking/...-router/nx510v/

Nx200 - https://www.tp-link.com/my/home-networking/...r/archer-nx200/

X50-5G - https://www.tp-link.com/my/home-networking/...50-5g/#overview

will go for X50-5G i think. Rm650+-

2.5Gbps port +1

https://prnt.sc/arLlLYj_BObe
https://prnt.sc/wgB40iz6LRkz
https://prnt.sc/tf9T1j3SMOQO

Curious to hear about this too.

Anyone knows the difference between the X50-5G and the NX510v?

I believe the X50-5G is using the Qualcomm X62 but can't find any info on the chipset on the NX510v. The quoted max speed is the same for both at 3.4Gbps so it could possibly be the same chipset too.

Also heard that the NX510v interface has more controls/options. Not a priority but good to have. Also unsure if the X50-5G allows band selection/locking with its more consumer oriented interface?
Billy.Who
post Sep 6 2025, 04:10 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Sep 2 2025, 04:53 PM)
I don't know so much about the technical difference between the 2 but I have NX510v. It is on archer platform, not Deco, so it can't work with other Deco mesh devices if you want to in the future.

It is also not supported by the Deco app, instead you need to use the Aginet app or the web portal (a good thing if you don't like to use the app).

But not sure is the NX510V discontinued or not - the download center doesn't have any firmware uploaded anymore and there has been no new firmware releases for a long time.
QUOTE(jsnhoh @ Sep 3 2025, 09:55 AM)
what version of firmware u r using now ?? I couldn't get the firmware upgrade from the menu, so I downloaded the latest firmware and upgraded it manually.
Don't need the Deco mesh system at all (living in a tiny studio apartment lol). It's just that the X50 seems more common for whatever reason. Would also prefer the NX510v's web portal for setup etc instead of an app

Btw are you all using from a landed property or a condo? If condo, how is the signal strength?

Currently using a Zyxel NR5103E from the ~18th floor (condo is at elevated ground) and I have to place the modem sideways to get around 150-250Mbps and regularly adjust the angle/position to maintain those speeds. When I tested at the lobby it can get around 300-450Mbps. Don't mind the slower speeds since that's a given compromise for using 5G @ relatively high floors but would appreciate a more stable connection too.

Edit: Just found out there is also a higher end Deco model, the X80-5G which not only has faster WiFi speeds but double the LTE/5G antennas (X80: 8x antennas; X50: 4x antennas) which should help with signal strength.
X80-5G vs X-50-5G

This post has been edited by Billy.Who: Sep 8 2025, 05:10 PM
Billy.Who
post Nov 25 2025, 07:01 PM

137 posts

Is this actually a suitable antenna for a 5G modem? The info provided is quite limited and conflicting based on the pic and description (18 vs 29 dBi / 10W vs 50W) lol

0.0152sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:28 PM