Urgent:Electrician secretly downsized neutral wire

TSivan89
post Jan 20 2024, 01:49 AM, updated 2y ago

28 posts

Good day fellow forumers!

I've hired a contractor to do renovation for my parents' 2 storeys old house.
I've asked them to totally knock down everything inside the master bedroom toilet.
And I've asked them to change new wiring for the (instant) water heater shower unit too.

So, just now I went to check the progress and I found that the contractor used 2.5mm for the live wire,
but only 1.5mm for the neutral and ground wires. And they tiled it up already. Is it dangerous?
Should I ask them to knock down the new tiles and redo the neutral/ground wires with 2.5mm ones?

My parents' house is on 3 phase power. And there is a sub DB upstairs powering 3 bedrooms.
The said downsized wires are upstairs in the master bedroom toilet.

Thank you experienced sifus for your inputs!!
lj0000
post Jan 20 2024, 02:01 AM

2,199 posts

What's written on your contract? Quotation?

For single phase house appliance the neutral must be the same size as phase.

In industry 3phase machines like motors then can have half sized neutral

In data centers with high harmonics the neutral is double the size of phase conductor.

Also important must use sirim certified cables like fajar mega

For water heater remember to install 10ma rcd
Yes must use 4mm² for both live and neutral
Earth can be half size

This post has been edited by lj0000: Jan 20 2024, 11:25 AM
TSivan89
post Jan 20 2024, 02:16 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jan 20 2024, 02:01 AM)

In data centers with high harmonics the neutral is double the size of phase conductor.

Yes must use 2.5mm² for both live and neutral
Earth can be half size
Thanks so much for the quick reply!!

Around RM20k+ for master bedroom toilet and garden renovation. For the water heater single point wiring is RM260.

The house is on 3 phase, this one doesn't matter right?

Yes, the wires they used is Sirim MS 2112-3 certified, not sure what brand though, I can't find the packaging. 2.5mm wire should be good enough for 3kW water heater right?

Yes, after learning from the sifus here, I've installed an EPS 10ma RCCB a few years back.

OK, I will ask them to re-pull the wiring tomorrow or worst case knock down the new wall tiles. Thanks for the advice again!

This post has been edited by ivan89: Jan 20 2024, 02:25 AM
lawrencesha
post Jan 20 2024, 06:06 AM

882 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jan 20 2024, 02:01 AM)

Yes must use 2.5mm² for both live and neutral
Earth can be half size
Wah.. you work for datacenters?
lj0000
post Jan 20 2024, 11:25 AM

2,199 posts

QUOTE(ivan89 @ Jan 20 2024, 02:16 AM)
Thanks so much for the quick reply!!

Around RM20k+ for master bedroom toilet and garden renovation. For the water heater single point wiring is RM260.

The house is on 3 phase, this one doesn't matter right?

Yes, the wires they used is Sirim MS 2112-3 certified, not sure what brand though, I can't find the packaging. 2.5mm wire should be good enough for 3kW water heater right?

Yes, after learning from the sifus here, I've installed an EPS 10ma RCCB a few years back.
OK, I will ask them to re-pull the wiring tomorrow or worst case knock down the new wall tiles. Thanks for the advice again!
usually no need to brake tiles. just pull the wires through the pvc hose
should use 4mm2 cables. (my mistake. should not be 2.5)

https://www.st.gov.my/en/contents/publicati...r%20Systems.pdf

you may read the guide cover to cover.
some points
- use double pole 20A water heater switch
- as much as possible, the LN wires should not have joints.
- earth cable should not have joints.
- do not use 3pin plug to connect water heater
- leave a loop of wire before entering water heater (so water wont go inside)

This post has been edited by lj0000: Jan 20 2024, 11:26 AM
SUSceo684
post Jan 20 2024, 02:18 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ivan89 @ Jan 20 2024, 01:49 AM)

I've asked them to totally knock down everything inside the master bedroom toilet.
And I've asked them to change new wiring for the (instant) water heater shower unit too.

So, just now I went to check the progress and I found that the contractor used 2.5mm for the live wire,
but only 1.5mm for the neutral and ground wires. And they tiled it up already. Is it dangerous?
Should I ask them to knock down the new tiles and redo the neutral/ground wires with 2.5mm ones?

My parents' house is on 3 phase power. And there is a sub DB upstairs powering 3 bedrooms.

Must be same size as phase (live) conductor.

Selene Yeo
post Jan 20 2024, 02:57 PM

149 posts

QUOTE(ivan89 @ Jan 20 2024, 01:49 AM)

That contractor is really endangering your parents' life by fixing underspec power cable. Water heaters with power rating below 5.711kW have to use 4mm2 cables, based on Suruhanjaya Tenaga's guidelines.

And the rest just follow lj0000's good advice.

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Jan 20 2024, 11:25 AM)

some points
AbbyCom
post Jan 20 2024, 06:06 PM

453 posts

some points
Damn, my electrician put 3 pin plug for the water heater when we did whole house reno.

Also recently also found out the aircond switch melted - then found out he wired the master room aircond and 2nd room aircond from 1 single MCB - and we only use the airconds for 1 hour daily - usually both airconds on at the same time.

That same idiot also undersized the DC power supply for my ceiling LED lighting strips, keep burning out until the main contractor changed another electrician who then bought a bigger sized power supply.

Now have to look for another electrician to do remedial wiring works, /k got recommendations near Ampang Jaya area?
Selene Yeo
post Jan 21 2024, 02:13 AM

149 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Jan 20 2024, 06:06 PM)
Damn, my electrician put 3 pin plug for the water heater when we did whole house reno.
Yeah usage of 3-pin socket + plug connection to power up water heater is a BIG NO for water heater, according to Suruhanjaya Tenaga guideline.

U can either

a. get the contractor to remove the 3-pin socket and its junction box and connect the electrical cable directly to the water heater, which u might need to hack some walls to hide the cable and to fill / cover the hole left from the removal of the junction box, or

b. a cheaper and faster option is just to replace the 3-pin socket with a water heater connector (shown below) while reusing the 3-pin socket's junction box, so no hacking or filling holes required. U can easily purchase the water heater connector online - Shopee / Lazada

AbbyCom
post Jan 21 2024, 03:17 PM

453 posts

QUOTE(Selene Yeo @ Jan 21 2024, 02:13 AM)
Yeah usage of 3-pin socket + plug connection to power up water heater is a BIG NO for water heater, according to Suruhanjaya Tenaga guideline.
U can either

a. get the contractor to remove the 3-pin socket and its junction box and connect the electrical cable directly to the water heater, which u might need to hack some walls to hide the cable and to fill / cover the hole left from the removal of the junction box, or

b. a cheaper and faster option is just to replace the 3-pin socket with a water heater connector (shown below) while reusing the 3-pin socket's junction box, so no hacking or filling holes required. U can easily purchase the water heater connector online - Shopee / Lazada
thx!

This post has been edited by AbbyCom: Jan 21 2024, 03:17 PM
syin16
post Jan 21 2024, 08:08 PM

665 posts

Parking for info.
TSivan89
post Jan 26 2024, 02:16 AM

28 posts

some points
QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jan 20 2024, 02:18 PM)
Must be same size as phase (live) conductor.
QUOTE(Selene Yeo @ Jan 20 2024, 02:57 PM)
That contractor is really endangering your parents' life by fixing underspec power cable. Water heaters with power rating below 5.711kW have to use 4mm2 cables, based on Suruhanjaya Tenaga's guidelines.

And the rest just follow lj0000's good advice.
Understood, thanks lj0000, ceo684 and Selene Yeo for the advice!! Sorry for late reply, was busy juggling work and renovation.
The contractor basically just pushed the blame on his staff. Excuse is 2.5mm finished, so his staff used 1.5mm. Quite BS la.
I warned him to be more careful and professional.

By the way, I've also decided to change completely new wiring for the common bathroom's water heater from DB too.

I bought Mega 4mm wire for the contractor to use this time.
The (instant) water heater I bought is Deka 4.5kW high power version.
For the RCBO, I bought Schneider Easy9 25A, 1P+N, 6kA, C Curve 10mA.
Schneider RCBO somehow doesn't have 20A version.

1) Should I buy EPS 20A 2P 10mA 6kA RCBO Type AC instead?
2) Why EPS RCBO has 2 poles, while Schneider RCBO only has 1 pole?
3) Is RCBO only good enough? Or should I use MCB + RCCB setup?

Thank you all again!!
lj0000
post Jan 26 2024, 09:20 AM

2,199 posts

QUOTE(ivan89 @ Jan 26 2024, 02:16 AM)
Understood, thanks lj0000, ceo684 and Selene Yeo for the advice!! Sorry for late reply, was busy juggling work and renovation.
The contractor basically just pushed the blame on his staff. Excuse is 2.5mm finished, so his staff used 1.5mm. Quite BS la.
By the way, I've also decided to change completely new wiring for the common bathroom's water heater from DB too.

25a is ok
4500/230=20amps already

Rcbo need to compare live and neutral
Mcb only measure the live.

Rcbo save space. It's only 1din size. so ya it's good idea to use rcbo. Drawback is, if fail then harder to buy and more expensive compare to separate mcb+rcd.
There are debates that voltage based rcbo should be used. When tnb voltage is low then the current sensing won't work, that should not happen for domestic lah

Thank you all again!!
This post has been edited by lj0000: Jan 26 2024, 09:21 AM
SUSceo684
post Feb 1 2024, 02:40 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ivan89 @ Jan 26 2024, 02:16 AM)

Thank you all again!!
With 4mm cable the RCBO you have is sufficient.

Just to show what happens when 1.2mmsq (40x0076) is used on a WH:

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
Pain4UrsinZ
post Feb 6 2024, 10:49 PM

1,856 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 1 2024, 02:40 AM)
With 4mm cable the RCBO you have is sufficient.

Just to show what happens when 1.2mmsq (40x0076) is used on a WH:
my house using 2.5mm wires with 10ma RCD, not connecting to MCB. it means no protection on the overloading ?
SUSceo684
post Feb 6 2024, 11:00 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Feb 6 2024, 10:49 PM)
my house using 2.5mm wires with 10ma RCD, not connecting to MCB. it means no protection on the overloading ?
RCD only does NOT give overload protection. There should be a MCB in tandem with the RCD 10mA.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Feb 6 2024, 11:01 PM

Pain4UrsinZ
post Feb 6 2024, 11:17 PM

1,856 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 6 2024, 11:00 PM)
RCD only does NOT give overload protection. There should be a MCB in tandem with the RCD 10mA.
yalo ,my one dont have, first i requested RCBO, all the while i tot it is RCBO until one day i find it out it is just RCD the contractor installed for me.

0.0183sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:08 PM