20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Malaysian millennials give up on home ownership

Slowpokeking
post Jan 19 2024, 10:23 AM

19 posts

QUOTE(gamehype @ Jan 19 2024, 10:20 AM)
There is always some rich fag who can pay the tax.

Just put a hard limit on property ownership. There is no reason someone should be able to own more than certain amount of property.
Do both heavy tax and hard limit.
cursetheroad01
post Jan 19 2024, 10:25 AM

55 posts

There is always some rich fag who can pay the tax.

Just put a hard limit on property ownership. There is no reason someone should be able to own more than certain amount of property.
And if they can pay, why not?
Taxing them and then passing it back as subsidies to first time buyers does both in discouraging hoarding and encouraging first time ownership.
SUSMookKai
post Jan 19 2024, 10:25 AM

20 posts

The solution is to build multi storey carpark, but with a small studio attached to every carpark space. Can run basic plumbing for a toilet, but no shower and kitchen. Use communal bathrooms, can be chargeable per use basis or for time use basis. No cooking, either eat out or tapau.
Boomwick
post Jan 19 2024, 10:26 AM

996 posts

Renting good

No need pay bank interest, no need pay maintenance fee, no need pay quit rent assessment and fire insurance.

Spoil ad owner replace item

And not saying the rental is cheaper than paying the loan
imin

818 posts

This. I don't know why it seems all gomen doesn't matter from which party cannot do this.
anakkk

2,115 posts

QUOTE(smsid @ Jan 19 2024, 10:07 AM)
You limit how many properties a person can have, will automatically fix the problem.

Baby boomers owning too much properties.
most boomers already 60 and above, if they can buy, means they have the financial power, most also buy for their charsiew kids to goyang tolor and collect rental, if you are one of the charsiew then nothing to blame LOL

a lot of boomers I know still staying in flat, doing odd jobs

smsid
post Jan 19 2024, 10:27 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(cursetheroad01 @ Jan 19 2024, 10:10 AM)
Or better, tax them kau kau, and then give back as subsidy for first time buyers.
QUOTE(Slowpokeking @ Jan 19 2024, 10:19 AM)
Should impose heavy tax for people that own multiple properties.
You impose heavy tax, they will directly channel those cost to renters.

It will create even more problems with higher rent on horizon, and those house owners will gladly tell them it is government fault for such burden.

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jan 19 2024, 10:14 AM)
as always... salah house buyers, not developers, not cement/steel/sand makers.

You go check how much steel/ sand price first. Those are unchecked inflation.

You cant even build a landed double storey house now with 200K even you are given land for free.
Yeah, the usual talking points since 1997, rofl. XD

a_dot_el
post Jan 19 2024, 10:28 AM

194 posts

That's why don't breed so much. Then you can help out your children to own some home.
damonlbs
post Jan 19 2024, 10:29 AM

487 posts

You limit how many properties a person can have, will automatically fix the problem.

r u a commie????

why u against free market?
Boldnut
post Jan 19 2024, 10:31 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(smsid @ Jan 19 2024, 10:27 AM)

It will create even more problems with higher rent on horizon, and those house owners will gladly tell them it is government fault for such burden.

the point I am trying to make is those parties ie. developer,cement,sand,steel maker are responsible for high housing price.

you can go try to build your house at cost price, you will find yourself these guys are the ones earning biggest bucks in the entire food chain.

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jan 19 2024, 10:32 AM
smsid
post Jan 19 2024, 10:32 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(damonlbs @ Jan 19 2024, 10:29 AM)
r u a commie????

why u against free market?
Not a commie, it is a simple way to fix greedy people who want easy money by hogging all properties.

Did I step on someone's toe? Hahaha.
BL98
post Jan 19 2024, 10:32 AM

743 posts

QUOTE(Johannlo @ Jan 19 2024, 10:13 AM)
Buy shoplot, rent condo.
This one is expert.

Buying place to stay at young age is a total waste. The property becomes a liability instead of asset.

Better buy a shoplot which can generate recurrent income. Rent anywhere that is convenient and closer to work, then change house when work change. Be flexible and be like water.

If possible, do not buy an expensive condo, ie more than 500k ones just for investment or rental purposes.
cursetheroad01
post Jan 19 2024, 10:33 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(smsid @ Jan 19 2024, 10:27 AM)

Tax hoarders and subsidize first buyers enough so mortgage is cheaper than rent

Can increase cukai pintu too. The more you rent it out, the more you're taxed.

Can also add tax on rentals too to discourage renting. Those that can afford upscaled rental units for sure have no problem dealing with it. And for a certain rental bracket, allows tax refund.

This way it will be too costly to hold on to excess properties. Rented out or not.

This post has been edited by cursetheroad01: Jan 19 2024, 10:49 AM
Boldnut
post Jan 19 2024, 10:36 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Jan 19 2024, 10:32 AM)
This one is expert.

Buying place to stay at young age is a total waste. The property becomes a liability instead of asset.

Better buy a shoplot which can generate recurrent income. Rent anywhere that is convenient and closer to work, then change house when work change. Be flexible and be like water.

If possible, do not buy an expensive condo, ie more than 500k ones just for investment or rental purposes.

1 unit of shop these days is 2million easily. And it is not like developer will build them anymore. They just spam building condo kao kao because it earn a lot more.

Good luck buying shoplot

This post has been edited by Boldnut: Jan 19 2024, 10:36 AM
haturaya
post Jan 19 2024, 10:37 AM

2,554 posts

Opps, time to sell nearly all my properties sweat.gif
ShadowR1
post Jan 19 2024, 10:39 AM

Im still HeRe ...
1,883 posts

Those who own lots of property is because the property fall from the sky one, look up more n u might catch one.
kelvinng92
post Jan 19 2024, 10:42 AM

30 posts

some of them take the public transport to work and leave their car at home

Am I the only one think this part is a good direction? Of course not the part buy car as successful benchmark. sweat.gif
Utilise public transport if able to, and car use for trips / weekend / place that hardly accessible / emergency, usually trip/weekend will be car pool instead of 1 people in a car.
DarkNite
post Jan 19 2024, 10:44 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

FYI
As of end 2023 we have 27,000 over-hang units, completed and ready for use, but remain unsold for nine months after its launch date.
likefunyouare
post Jan 19 2024, 10:45 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(krishtiano86 @ Jan 19 2024, 10:17 AM)
I'm very sure she doesn't declare all this income. LHDN weak in this area.
my uncle got property worth hundreds of million

but still can get the bantuan cash topkek
Raddus
post Jan 19 2024, 10:46 AM

239 posts

No reason to buy house when my dad already buy one for me

20 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0154sec    1.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:24 PM