News Grab defends new delivery fee, bonus, amid boycott

kimigenesis
post Feb 12 2024, 07:45 AM

87 posts

This post allows me to see the ugly face and mindset of most Malaysian. Only know how to complaint here and there, but never think about work harder than they should.

Let me tell you some real life stories. I live both in China and Malaysia. Normally like 3km from my living place to my office, I kena charge about RMB 11-12 which equivalent to MYR 7-8. Remember, I’m in Shanghai and they have much higher cost of living there and fuel price is double what we pay in Malaysia for 92. Yes, most of them are EVs but they still need to do their maintenance and pay a higher price to buy a car. How about food delivery? Usually it’s RMB 3 for about 2-3km which equivalent to MYR 2. Why they can survive but we Malaysian know only how to complaint?

Secondly, I even saw some post looking down on Abam Rider or Driver. Using their arrogance attitude looking down people who puts in the effort to earn a “Halal” income. It’s easy to say why do Rider or Driver this sort of no future job and they should go and look for a permanent job. That day I went to buy some phone gadgets, had some conversation with the salesgirl. I ask her what salary she get per month and she tells me basic MYR 1,500. Please tell me WTF you can do with MYR 1,500 in 2024? I still remember when I was in U roughly 20 years ago, I can earn about MYR 1000. That time a pack of cigarettes cost around 4, roti canai 0.50 and teh ais 1 ringgit. Our cost of living has increased at least 3 times but our job basics salaries increased less than 0.5 times. Is that what you are recommending those abam to fall from one to another death circulation of permanent job that basically hard to survive, let alone future.

Regardless of permanent job or gigs, it is still a temporary solution for someone who really wants to climb out of Malaysia broken system. Yes, you have to put in more effort if you want to climb out faster. If 10 hours of works not enough, put in 12, if not 14. Then only you start to think about future. If you put in 8 hours hoping to earns 6k-8k per month, that’s daydreaming.

0.0169sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 04:34 AM