TSAlternate Gabriel
Jan 18 2024, 10:08 AM, updated 2y ago

Grab defends new delivery fee, bonus, amid boycott calls
 PETALING JAYA: Grab has defended its revamped delivery fee and bonus framework amid calls for riders to boycott the ride-hailing and food delivery company. In a statement, Grab said the revamped earnings framework, which came into effect yesterday, “benefit our most active delivery partners”.It said this will ensure bookings that require more time and effort would be “more fairly compensated”.
Under the revamped framework, base fares have been reduced while incentives have been increased for peak-hour deliveries, distant pick-ups and extended wait times to pick-up deliveries.“This is done with reference to our delivery partners’ recent feedback about bookings that involve longer wait times at merchants’ outlets or pick-ups that are further away,” it said. However, some Grab riders have opposed the new framework and urged others to boycott the company. Posters urging Grab riders against working this Friday have been circulating on social media.
A member of a Facebook group for riders, Ameruddin Abdul Halim, said he disagreed with the reduced base fares but called for pragmatism.
“Like it or not, we must acknowledge that this is the nature of gig work. There are no contracts, and it isn’t meant to be a long-term career.”However, another member, Syana Syazana, said it was important for the riders to “fight for their rights”, adding that the reduced fare was inadequate in view of the escalating cost of living and the money spent to maintain vehicles. Meanwhile, the Malaysian P-Hailing Delivery Riders Association (Penghantar) said they would not participate in the protest.
Its president, Zulhelmi Mansor, said they would remain neutral on this issue.
On Aug 4, 2022, about 100 food delivery riders submitted a memorandum to Grab’s headquarters in Petaling Jaya, complaining about low delivery fares that forced them to work longer hours. The riders rode to Grab headquarters from 10 Klang Valley rally points as part of the 24-hour “Food Delivery Blackout”. https://www.msn.com/en-my/news/national/gra...71423cfec&ei=25
lonely66
Jan 18 2024, 10:13 AM
mcdonald13
Jan 18 2024, 10:14 AM

reduce base fare lagi? i'll check tomorrow
gashout
Jan 18 2024, 10:17 AM
this type of business, call it new economy, end up being a slave economy where you use debt to own a car, to earn peanuts.
and all servicing and loan payment is on you.
and you think you achieve work freedom. kek.
forever follow fare price, no AL, no promotion, just stuck on the road.
don't be stupid.
SUSM4A1
Jan 18 2024, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(lonely66 @ Jan 18 2024, 10:13 AM) LULZ
desmond2020
Jan 18 2024, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(gashout @ Jan 18 2024, 10:17 AM) this type of business, call it new economy, end up being a slave economy where you use debt to own a car, to earn peanuts. and all servicing and loan payment is on you. and you think you achieve work freedom. kek. forever follow fare price, no AL, no promotion, just stuck on the road. don't be stupid. you can rent the car from grab
TSAlternate Gabriel
Jan 18 2024, 10:19 AM

QUOTE(gashout @ Jan 18 2024, 10:17 AM) this type of business, call it new economy, end up being a slave economy where you use debt to own a car, to earn peanuts. and all servicing and loan payment is on you. and you think you achieve work freedom. kek. forever follow fare price, no AL, no promotion, just stuck on the road. don't be stupid. Yes correct. At least People that work as lorry driver, van driver under a company still entitled for Annual Leave, bonus, increment eventhough they always on the road.
SUSskyblack4492
Jan 18 2024, 10:21 AM
QUOTE(M4A1 @ Jan 18 2024, 10:17 AM) Why lulz
MR_alien
Jan 18 2024, 10:23 AM
actually why people prefer grab over foodpanda?
Avangelice
Jan 18 2024, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(gashout @ Jan 18 2024, 10:17 AM) this type of business, call it new economy, end up being a slave economy where you use debt to own a car, to earn peanuts. and all servicing and loan payment is on you. and you think you achieve work freedom. kek. forever follow fare price, no AL, no promotion, just stuck on the road. don't be stupid. QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ Jan 18 2024, 10:19 AM) Yes correct. At least People that work as lorry driver, van driver under a company still entitled for Annual Leave, bonus, increment eventhough they always on the road.  These gig works aren't meant for full time. It's meant for people who are retired got nothing to do or those desperate enough or those wanting the extra cash after work. People here do full time with a car. Damn Pelik.
h0riz0nLine
Jan 18 2024, 10:24 AM

i stopped using grab already
will use them only if i really need it due to unforeseen reason
this kind of nonsense is created only to siphon your money
value low price high
kcal
Jan 18 2024, 10:25 AM

its gig economy la. never meant to be permanent job. last time got smart ass say no need to go university can still earn a lot doing grab. now too many grab OTR kenot cari makan
SUSM4A1
Jan 18 2024, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(skyblack4492 @ Jan 18 2024, 10:21 AM) give up working for company choose drive grab kekkkk is the same as working for company also what u no drive , grab no pay u u no work...company no pay same theory
H4XF4XTOR
Jan 18 2024, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 18 2024, 10:23 AM) actually why people prefer grab over foodpanda? probably they also use grab service most of the time for travelling. i only use food panda or shopee because grab price for food delivery sucks and even their subscription is not interesting.
SUSskyblack4492
Jan 18 2024, 10:29 AM
QUOTE(M4A1 @ Jan 18 2024, 10:27 AM) give up working for company choose drive grab kekkkk is the same as working for company also what u no drive , grab no pay u u no work...company no pay same theory  But grab suka ma work anytime haha. Freedom
RT8081
Jan 18 2024, 10:31 AM
Guys, grab driving is meant to be your side gig, not to replace it as your main job.
You will learn nothing or inherit new experience if this is your main job..it is ok to be a side income
This post has been edited by RT8081: Jan 18 2024, 10:31 AM
SUSM4A1
Jan 18 2024, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(skyblack4492 @ Jan 18 2024, 10:29 AM) But grab suka ma work anytime haha. Freedom ala just take it as part time and full time aje u part time macdonald....u work u get pay u no work ma no pay same same is not like OWN BUSINESS also pun.
kangkayu
Jan 18 2024, 10:32 AM

owning cars, living 5 mins from MRT and having buses plying outside my house, yet ayam thankful for Grab
KevProp
Jan 18 2024, 10:33 AM

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ Jan 18 2024, 10:19 AM) Yes correct. At least People that work as lorry driver, van driver under a company still entitled for Annual Leave, bonus, increment eventhough they always on the road.  EPF contribution from majikan too
SUSandylyc
Jan 18 2024, 10:33 AM
Later Bangla will become Grab delivery