-Ads in system apps
-Standby drain
-Bloatware, over 25 apps and games preinstalled
-Overall performance good but not much diff to MIUI
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 12:10 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Jan 12 2024, 01:10 AM)
is he review china unit ?

If he review china unit and complain about bloatware. u better stop watching his video
Global unit. Review unit given directly by Poco

You never use Xiaomi before? Official unit sold here also damn alot of bloatware installed.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 12:32 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 12 2024, 12:30 PM)
and why would u do that?

it's like buying flagship huawei thn try to install google playstore
Like buying car then have to fix your own tyre yourself. What for la like that.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 12:34 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Jan 12 2024, 12:15 PM)
longtime redmi note series user here...it's not hard to totally disable ads and uninstall bloatware...but I may have to look elsewhere for my next phone cos i want a headphone jack and micro sd support.
Impossible to totally disable on stock. Still get ads like the stupid theme app keep spam notification.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 01:06 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jan 12 2024, 12:53 PM)
Limited Knowledge Limit your perspective.
Impossible to disable on STOCK????
Well, you are quite right, with on 1 STOCK Device on hand, quite impossible.

BUT, with a WIndows PC, thats another story.

WITHOUT ROOT.

You can simply remove OEM Bloatware with ease.

give you some tips : "ADB"

--------
I can remove these without ROOT easilty
....... Whereas if I buy Samsung I just get it out of the box and use it? It's like going to restaurant and have to grill the burger yourself what for?

TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 02:40 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 12 2024, 01:22 PM)
PC is customizable, phone isn't...u can't even compare like that
yes, i do agree that there are different level of users but to modify this and that on a phone, i really don't see the point of doing so
it's called a phone for a reason and it doesn't change the productivity like in a PC, it's not an upgrade either like in a PC
In the very first days of iPhone, jailbreak was almost necessary otherwise don't have things like control centre, themes, blue light filter, dark mode, johnny depp apps etc etc. Nowadays there really is not much point, plus violate the safetynet which makes bank apps useless. Phone without bank app is pointless.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 02:43 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(LemonHoneyIce @ Jan 12 2024, 02:14 PM)
Just an additional option able to let us remove the card to do transfers
Sometimes wired connection phone to PC can be buggy, disconnection here and there
and if got removable sd slot can hide hhhhggggnnnn stuff away when ask wanna check brows.gif
Ehh SD card easy to fail I have many fail before when phones used to have sd slot, and the most you can put is videos and photos and docs. Nowadays 256gb standard already hard to fill up. hnngh stuff use second space or secure folder la adui, when wife say check phone you what, say stomach ache run to toilet and pull out sd card meh.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 02:59 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jan 12 2024, 02:52 PM)
with those few comments about ads, I am using xiaomi hyperos now and didnt see any ads at all wo
other than apps notification which easily disabled
Out of box. Most people like uncle aunties will use phone out of box. Only millennial power user will care to mod their phones and disable settings or root. Even gen z nowadays don't do this stuff anymore, everyone just buy iphone
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 03:02 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(overlimit @ Jan 12 2024, 02:57 PM)
Aren't there just some features the China's variant of the same model can't make up for if it were to be used outside of mainland? Such as Google Wallet etc, on surface, you get Google GMS Play Store, firmware wise, it's still the China's firmware underpinnings. Xiaomi purposely block Global rom from being flashed onto the China's variant.

Iianm, some features are going to be missed out. It's not exactly without compromise
Someone gave me China rom Honor before a few years back, oh my god what a pain. No matter what cannot install google services, no unlocked bootloader so cannot flash global rom, and so much junk on the phone preinstalled. Crazy how Chinese people can tahan this. Wasted days of my time before I gave up
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 03:07 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(Akmall540 @ Jan 12 2024, 12:25 PM)
im using redmi note 12 and just got this hyperOS one week. no problem so far. ok jer. a bit different from MIUI.
Any big difference? Look at the review seems like only small difference in looks, what about performance
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 03:24 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(overlimit @ Jan 12 2024, 03:04 PM)
Because of ecosystem, it works okay if you were in China, use Alipay, use WeChat pay those sort of Chinese exclusive online services. Oh yeah, that's part of the reasons why Apple and Samsung(iianm HK variant) are so highly sought after in China, not because they are "rich" but they "had to" to avoid the hassles of China's android phones.
QUOTE(jmas @ Jan 12 2024, 03:09 PM)
I also lazy since 2-3yrs ago, getting tired blocked banking software
didnt mod my new phone at all
QUOTE(Natsukashii @ Jan 12 2024, 03:17 PM)
Yes we live in different time now. In those days, flashing was fun. I loved Lineage. A combination of Lineage with a Xiaomi phone is the best Android experience, the best of entry, midrange or flagship. But we didn't need bank apps.. can just use browser and SMS. Now it's all different. Even e-wallet like boost will reject a rooted device.
Exactly la, young that time was fun, I played with Cydia and Blackrain then can install alot of johnny depp app and change wallpaper all that. Now I can't think of any root/jailbreak feature that is must have, some more will lose bank apps.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 03:28 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Jan 12 2024, 03:22 PM)
Even windows preinstalled with xbox tiktok etc
Xbox owned by Microsoft
Since when got tiktok preinstalled on windows? You clicked the ad la.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 03:42 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(narf03 @ Jan 12 2024, 03:37 PM)
my windows installation got it right after install and update, and its not just me.

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows...d5-95212f1e1c2e
Tiktok is suggested app, which is advertisement. You click on it means it installed automatically
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 04:25 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Jan 12 2024, 04:21 PM)
Ads aside, another big issue with Xiaomi is their updates quality.

Often time they’re late and unpolished.
Once a long time ago, a major xiaomi update disabled all notifications vibrations and sound. My parents kept calling me ehh why my phone no ring wan why I keep getting missed call only. Headache man have to make a trip to see them to fix it.

I installed Xiaomi security cam at my grandparents home for my parents to check on them. Every month the app will disconnect and I have to go over and reset and reconnect the whole damn thing.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 04:26 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Jan 12 2024, 04:24 PM)
dulu can but getting more and more difficult to do so.

even ATM withdrawals can use your phone instead of your ATM card.

with MyDigitalID coming soon, not sure if it will be safer leaving your banking phone in your drawer or to have it next to you at all times.

unless you want to carry two phones, not sure if you have any choice.
Buy two phones void the whole point of buying Xiaomi phone, which is to save money because its cheap. Buy two phone might as well buy one iphone or samsung.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 06:57 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Jan 12 2024, 06:51 PM)
my line of work is mission critical

i need all the extra step.
even laptop pc are seperate
Then makes even worse sense to use Xiaomi when Google, Apple, Samsung have dedicated chip like Titan and Secure Enclave.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 08:44 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jan 12 2024, 07:31 PM)
The cleaner is part of the security app which came free along with MIUI phones.

Each of its MIUI app such as Mi Browser, Mi Security, Mi Music, all you need to go to each of its settings to disable "Receive Recommendations" by turning the switch off.

After that don't forget to reboot your phone.

If still persist you can remove system apps with a more difficult method not recommended for newbies. System app removal with ADB. That is for last method unless you cannot tahan without needing to root the phone.
OR buy a bloody Samsung and don't have to deal with all that bs. Pay money some more have ads some more Stockholm syndrome say very happy, laugh die me.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 10:46 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(petpenyubobo @ Jan 12 2024, 10:42 PM)
Xiaomi phones give good value though, if you know how to get rid of all the unwanted bloatware apps and ads.

You can buy a phone with similar or better specs at half the price of a Samsung.
Only if your phone is nearing its end of life or long past its warranty then only consider flashing it with 3rd party OS to give it new life.

A recent bought phone in the same year should give you at least 3 Android OS revisions.

I wouldn't buy the very latest Android flagship phones today and expect to buy a new phone every 2-3 years from now.
Samsung give 4, Google give 7. That alone is more value to Xiaomi that only gives 2 years.

better specs at half the price of a Samsung.

Nope, cannot beat S22 at RM1099.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 10:57 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(eds2 @ Jan 12 2024, 10:51 PM)
or use adblock dns on your android private dns feature.

android likes to call home to send telemetry
I have adblock dns on. Still have ads in certain system apps.
TSGargamel_gibson
post Jan 12 2024, 11:37 PM

526 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Jan 12 2024, 11:09 PM)
Poco x6 good buy or not? Not the pro version as i need sd card slot and 3.5 jack. Plan to replace my a52s with this
Sidegrade at most, downgrade in most other things.
Chip is exactly the same as your a52s, rebranded

0.0512sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:09 AM