How to deal with medical insurance repricing?

Wedchar2912
post Jan 10 2024, 09:47 PM

3,665 posts

agents obviously prefer to sell ILP due to the commission payout to them. No need to waste time in trying to figure this part out. and naturally insurance firms prefer ILP as it gets to grow its asset management biz as well.
Wedchar2912
post Jan 13 2024, 04:09 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(brokenbomb @ Jan 11 2024, 09:16 AM)
No.. haha. it is standalone. Almost 30%

ILP only 15-20

Some agents actually don’t care if u wanna buy standalone or ILP. And some agents are pushing u to buy standalone because later in life when u thinking of adding life or critical illness. They will just ask u to buy a new plan. Life 1 plan. CI 1 plan.

The beauty of ILP is that u can delete add on rider and still keep the policy. Maybe waiting period la need to start Balik. But other than that. ILP is ok.

As for the sustainability. Ask ur agent to choose the lowest risk funds as to not oversell the returns. I know some companies can promised as high as 10% per annum. Gila.
your example of 30% vs 15-20 is also in % rite?
percent of what? of payment right? so which payment is higher?
Wedchar2912
post Jan 13 2024, 11:46 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 13 2024, 11:35 PM)
Since you guys are so curious on the commission
https://www.bnm.gov.my/-/ops-cost-control-l...siness-24122019

it's on BNM website for public view.

you can refer to page 18/22 where it compares the total commission of IL and non-IL in % terms. even though it mentioned financial adviser, it's actually the same for those in the agency model with upline and downline. you just can't see the breakdown of what the upline and downline earns if you refer to this page but i guess what matters is the total commission you are paying as a consumer.

as someone has mentioned, actually if you ask for the formal quotation from the insurance company, it's all clearly stated there. enforced by BNM.
Nothing to be curious about.

I am just stating a fact by asking a simple question.
Which is more profitable to both the agents and the firm?

No passing judgment from me. Insurance is a business, not charity.

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Jan 13 2024, 04:09 PM)
your example of 30% vs 15-20 is also in % rite?
percent of what? of payment right? so which payment is higher?
Wedchar2912
post Jan 17 2024, 12:28 PM

3,665 posts

I am curious...
this thread is "How to deal with medical insurance repricing?".

So how?
agents recommend ILP... DIY gurus recommend DIY with medical cards only and invest outside...

any other solutions beside be healthy?
Wedchar2912
post Jan 19 2024, 10:28 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(qhw @ Jan 19 2024, 03:47 PM)
Hi Chris, thanks so much for the suggestion. Any ballpark figure like how much lower the premium will be for like-for-like medical coverage?

please find below the revised table from the GE document
I am wondering if anyone notice this effect.

Say one is 36 years old, male, healthy: pay around 180rm pm for coverage.
But at age 76, which i dare say really needed the insurance, the cost is at least 2K rm pm for coverage. (lets not kid ourselves, it will most probably be way more than that when the time comes).

Can one afford to continue the coverage just when one is old, most probably not working and needed the coverage the most?

A great way to hook on "loyal" customer for life... blink.gif
Wedchar2912
post Jan 19 2024, 10:58 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 19 2024, 10:49 PM)
Normal. You are not the only who noticed. I noticed also. That's why I said my passive income today can already cover my 80 year premium. Plan for it. Or use just use don't hospital.

That's why I consider using gathercare in case it get expensive as backup.
That's the catch 22... continue the coverage if one can afford by the time one aged, or basically "wasted" all the payments up until that breaking point where one no longer can continue to pay the coverage.

Does it not seem, subconsciously, a little like a nefarious scheme that is not sustainable.... maybe that's why some layman liken it to a ponzi scheme of sorts. blush.gif blink.gif

One more observation to note: all these recent no limit lifetime coverage policies look good on paper... but in reality, the medical premium fees will skyrocket as time passes.
(insurance is a pooled risk sharing scheme... pretty much no stats yet for age 70 to 80 under these unlimited lifetime coverage policies yet).
Wedchar2912
post Jan 19 2024, 11:09 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 19 2024, 11:01 PM)
That's why I always said the hefty premium is insurance company of saying we have milked you enough. Now we know you are going to claim a lot. Well be prepared to pay a lot. It's our gentle way of saying get the f**k out. We don't cover you.
the motto is always get as much insurance as you can afford.... or something like that by agents...
(and they get like 50% of your first year premium paid... ).

oh well... for those who can, its better to earmark/set aside like a million ringgit (have to revise this number every 5 years yourself) to cover old age medical treatment than throw into some super expensive ILP or medical card.
Wedchar2912
post Sep 1 2024, 06:23 PM

3,665 posts

QUOTE(batman1172 @ Sep 1 2024, 05:17 PM)
Product offered by general insurance no guarantee renewal right?
guaranteed renewal doesn't mean the price will not go up by a lot...

0.0293sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 02:04 AM