QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Oct 31 2007, 08:23 PM)
yalorgeng lerrr
miri 2 hour flight je mar
left bout 2
reached bout 4
LYN Proton Saga/Iswara Drivers' Forum! Now with V7, Updated TT information
Oct 31 2007, 09:03 PM
1,216 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
Nov 1 2007, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(wkho555 @ Nov 1 2007, 04:43 PM) just now to SC there. ask them if u add vacuum n vol meter any problem with my warranty? they tell me better dun coz whatever link in n add in parts proton will say something. crap lar broif they really 1 2 make noise rite... u just go back....take out the meter or wutever...then go to another sc how they going to know? all these meters no need cut anything wut |
Nov 1 2007, 10:51 PM
QUOTE(singchaii @ Nov 1 2007, 05:29 PM) err guys...ya'l do realize that welding anneals the metal rite?the car is made from pressed sheet metal of a certain class and a certain strength n hardness (not exactly sure which class tho) but once you heat it up by welding n let it cool, it loses its properties and softens... (not to mention the heat destroys the antirust layer and thus promotes rusting in that area) i dont think doing any of the above would be advisable anywhere on the car...let alone a region exposed to major stress |
Nov 1 2007, 10:55 PM
Nov 1 2007, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(cheeann @ Nov 1 2007, 08:33 PM) dont use greaseit will damage the belt material use an old bar of soap (just touch it against each side of the belt) it will solve your prob for a month or so or you can use the custom silicon spray for belts (this is the more high class expensive solution) both oso solve the prob wan |
Nov 1 2007, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(singchaii @ Nov 1 2007, 10:21 PM) now RM27k, no more sport rims, no more cool pipe. agree on the sport rimsBut why you all like that muffler ha? I curious ler.. That muffler look suck wow.. the sound nice when low rpm while in high rpm, the sound worst. especially when rev. The sound so empty.. Better, buy car without sport rim, and that muffler then go buy aftermarket and put. Any member agree with me? Hehe. but would rather have a normal ori saga muffler |
Nov 1 2007, 11:03 PM
Nov 1 2007, 11:05 PM
Nov 1 2007, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(cheeann @ Nov 1 2007, 11:03 PM) if damage d belt also i won't reccoment la... the belt is made from rubber and nylon reinforcing fibersjus a thin later will do... cuz i do tat ard 2twice a yr~ but if u put 2 much grease i'm sure will damage it~ grease reacts with the vulcanized rubber breaking down the chains formed in this process this reduces the strength of the rubber and starts to cause cracking once there are cracks the grease gets into the cracks and comes in contact with the reinforcing fibers this will cause the fiber strands to expand and further worsen the cracking and compromise the strength of the belt the grease in the fibers will also slowly over time cause the bonding between the fiber and the rubber to fail as the rubber that is currently bonded to the fibers begin to deteriorate add on: grease and rubber rarely go well together unless the rubber is specifically designed to withstand exposure to grease and other oils unfortunately, belts do not fall under that category This post has been edited by neosaint99: Nov 1 2007, 11:15 PM |
Nov 1 2007, 11:13 PM
QUOTE(singchaii @ Nov 1 2007, 11:05 PM) will la brother. BUllet will save FC also. last time kweng told me geh. Haha.. Dun beleive, ask him. hehe.. if anything, it should increase fcbut at the same time increase power marginally the bullet has very little air flow resistance compared to a normal box this will reduce the back pressure on the exhaust stroke which is caused by the air flowing through the exhaust pipe and being impeded by the box's dampers less back pressure means the exhaust gas will flow out faster and more air can be sucked into the combustion chamber more air being sucked into the combustion chamber means more fuel will get sucked in also this will translate into more power since more fuel is combusting but then this will also result in a slightly higher fc |
Nov 1 2007, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(cheeann @ Nov 1 2007, 11:13 PM) tis 1 of cuz i know la,but s i said jus put a small thin film layer of good quality grease d... im not saying it wont worki also got put a thin later grease on whko555's car n it helps reduce sum noise create n make him felt so uneasy d. . . it most definitely will the grease will lubricate the belt's movements on the pulley so basically rather than vibrating (at a very high frequency) when running over the pulley,...the grease will help the belt to slip thus eliminating the sound all i suggested were two alternatives which are non-destructive to the belt's material up to ya'll to choose |
Nov 2 2007, 12:00 AM
QUOTE(wkho555 @ Nov 1 2007, 11:19 PM) put me on da table pula. but the noise is back now.... aiks. thats a good question i saw some workshop did the same also. BTW what is the piping size for good fc n what is inside bullet actually? iinm a bullet works like a gun's silencer expansion of sound waves makes then lose energy so...iinm...basically....nothing... hahaha but then again...i could be wrong...just basing it on theory |
Nov 2 2007, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(cheeann @ Nov 1 2007, 11:23 PM) i din't say it'll work or not but still small amount of grease only... there is such a thing in the industry know as FS...which is factor of safetyif it really tat destructive my car won't b able 2 reach ard 70k km for it's major service n i won't put ppl's life in danger also cuz later kena sue then i die lo~ these things are over-designed anything that involves humans which might pose a safety issue to them if it fails usually has a safety factor of minimum 2.5 that means that if the belt is meant to be changed at 100k,...it is designed to last until 250k... this is so to take into account any unforeseen occurrences that might degrade the belt during its normal operation so even if it halves the life of the belt,...it will still last to its scheduled change at 100k Added on November 2, 2007, 12:03 am QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Nov 1 2007, 11:48 PM) no use le if u got cool exhaust and rims ur FC flying high... now our FC reasonable ma.. my fc highway also can high RM0.14 (speeding to 140km/h).. singchaii say his car FC can reach RM0.12 err...i flew mas the other dayAdded on November 1, 2007, 11:50 pm y? wat happen? i just find the aircon like no air con the vent is a BIG as ur little finger same case i think its the plane they are using was is a 737-200? This post has been edited by neosaint99: Nov 2 2007, 12:03 AM |
Nov 3 2007, 12:05 AM
QUOTE(singchaii @ Nov 2 2007, 09:14 PM) This 1 ar? I done it at Autogen.. err...you should leave the holes in the beams openWanna do sound proof on bonnet, do like mine. Stick all. If we cut and stick according the hole, still not good enough. Cause between the hole with the tulang bonnet, still got lubang for the sound go tru geh.. Hope understand What I'm trying to said.. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « those holes are there for ventilation if water gets in and all is closed (and it will get in...thats y the whole car can drain...all the beams...under the car...the channels forming the door sill...in the bonnet...even the doors have drainage holes....), water vapor will be trapped inside n cant dry out that fast and as im sure u all know...water n iron dont exactly make a good team the engine will most prolly be more silent compared to using the triangular pieces but then the life of the metal will be compromised and btw...its not sound waves we are trying to stop from getting out when we install this sound insulation as we call it it is actually damping material we are basically trying to dampen the vibration of the metal surface in question not stop sound waves from penetrating it (which is impossible as the metal is a solid and sound waves are merely vibrating air particles) This post has been edited by neosaint99: Nov 3 2007, 12:07 AM |
Nov 3 2007, 12:16 AM
QUOTE(dopeisgood @ Nov 2 2007, 11:24 PM) last month jus went there to buy insuflex to sound proof my car doors.. now still doin.. bought d stuff but no time to do.. haha actually there got alot of ICE stuff.. n quite messy.. u can c alot of UR bars there.. improve n gab stuff there too.. haha and as we were talking about water in the bonnet justnow...doors were also mentionedif you are not aware of just how much water comes into the door during a heavy rain,...try taking off the plastic shell door cover and leave the plastic sheet on... then get sum1 to hose the window down at full flow (this is only a fraction of what nature can throw at your car mind you) and then see how much water actually flows through your door insuflex is a rubber material (granted it is synthetic) and i am also aware that it is a closed cell system (meaning its not a sponge) but try dipping it in water for a few minutes then take it out all of the surface cells (which are open on the surface) will be holding water also, when you stick it to your door,...the inside is going to be oily as there is antirust grease which they have sprayed on the inside of the door yes, i know it can be cleaned off but it will never be 100% oil free unless you use petrol (which you should never do as it will damage the paint...) so the glue u are using to glue the insuflex into place will leave cavities here n there... i understand that you will try your very best to get it to stick all over but it can never be a 100% job these cavities will in turn retain water when it rains and draining will be much slower and as mentioned above, water n metal dont make good friends also, the insuflex will accumulate ALOT of dirt over time as the surface is not smooth presence of dirt also accelerates the degradation of metal very significantly that is why tar sheets are always used when it comes to areas that are exposed to water tar is a petroleum based material and thus will not be adversely affected in any significant way by the oil film left by the antirust coating which you have cleaned off therefore, i strongly advise against the use of insuflex/superlon to insulate inside the door cavity |
Nov 3 2007, 12:39 AM
QUOTE(dopeisgood @ Nov 2 2007, 11:49 PM) oic.. ok ok.. u r the 1st one i heard tat save fuel using meter.. haha good wan.. erm.. if me jus put on k&n drop in.. save fuel more power and most important save money cuz no need change air filter anymore hahaha hmm...k&n need to oil again after wash rite?the only way that a filter can increase efficiency is by reducing the resistance to the airflow of the intake manifold this in turn would mean either a thinner membrane, or bigger holes in the filter membrane either way, the bottom line is the same...more dust particles get into the engine these kind of filters evolved from racing and rally cars i do admit that they improve performance but as the saying goes....theres no such thing as a free lunch there is always a compromise somewhere in this case, its in the life of the engine more particulate entering into the combustion chamber wears out parts faster (think sand paper) the vac gauge does not influence the operation of the engine's system in any way therefore it will last as long as it can as long as it is properly taken care of you can monitor how much you press and thus make sure that you are not merely dumping unburnt hydrocarbons into the atmosphere this is especially important for underpowered cars like the iswara lmst as it is easy to overpress when it comes to underpowered cars Added on November 3, 2007, 12:43 am QUOTE(dopeisgood @ Nov 3 2007, 12:20 AM) err...arent we then not addressing the real problem at hand?the doors sound 'tinny' (like milo tin) coz the outer door panel vibrates and has no damping on it that is the main source of the sound from the doors even if you insulate the plastic panel inside, the metal outer panel is still vibrating this vibration transfers to the rest of the car body through the door links and will thus increase the overall cabin noise its better to try and stop the problem at the source...not just cover it up This post has been edited by neosaint99: Nov 3 2007, 12:45 AM |
Nov 3 2007, 12:54 AM
QUOTE(dopeisgood @ Nov 3 2007, 12:48 AM) ok ok.. u have ur way of thinkin.. i start wit the door panel 1st den onli go to the door body.. thx sifoo for advice.. hahahame noob its not really a 'way of thinking' that would imply that there is no basis to it and its all just my preference anywayz... regarding the k&n air filter is this the type that needs to re-oil after use? or is it just wash with water n then air dry it n can terus put back into the filter box? whats the price of it? how long can we use it? thanks for the info |
Nov 3 2007, 01:07 AM
QUOTE(dopeisgood @ Nov 3 2007, 12:57 AM) yeah need to be reoil after u wash.. tats a cleaner kit wit it.. wash every 20000km.. kenot clean thru air gun.. it will spoil the filter element.. 20k?y u interested?? haha can pm me wor here kenot post bout sales.. haha anytime can find me wow that would be a heck of alot of dirt trapped inside d rite? flow not affected mer?... how much is the filter? and the cleaner kit? this is not about sales this is for general info je i think i'll be sticking with the normal filter nywayz... so kevin cant send u warning dun worry |
Nov 3 2007, 01:19 AM
Nov 3 2007, 01:35 AM
QUOTE(dopeisgood @ Nov 3 2007, 01:29 AM) its d same as normal disposable filter wat.. when d performance of the car is abnormal mean its time to wash.. after that its like new.. d filter is drop in rm230 and cleaner kit around rm65.. the filtration is better than oem replacement filter.. ooo...hmm...just wondering... how can it filter better than a normal fiber filter and yet still allow better air flow? these seem to be contradictory characteristics p.s. normal air filter should be changed before the performance becomes abnormal....i.e. preventive maintenance This post has been edited by neosaint99: Nov 3 2007, 01:35 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0352sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:37 PM |