Car Paint Protection Choices, Which is most suitable?

TSkll71
post Dec 27 2023, 11:12 AM, updated 2y ago

28 posts

Dear All forumers,

I am considering getting some paint protection for a new car.

There are many choices - PPS Teflon coating (eg by Shine N Shield), Nano Ceramic Coating (many different providers), Graphene Coating, Liquid PPF (Revivify), and PPF.

I am a little not too keen on PPF as I understand that that it will turn yellow over time, and as my car is white, this may not be doable.

I am considering Revivify as it seems to be able to give some protection against scratches and stone chips, whilst provide the glossiness that ceramic coating gives. But it is by no means cheap.

Would appreciate views and advice from those who had experienced these different products.

Cheers.
GeekinE90
post Dec 27 2023, 11:30 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(kll71 @ Dec 27 2023, 12:12 PM)
Dear All forumers,

I am considering getting some paint protection for a new car.

There are many choices - PPS Teflon coating (eg by Shine N Shield), Nano Ceramic Coating (many different providers), Graphene Coating, Liquid PPF (Revivify), and PPF.

I am a little not too keen on PPF as I understand that that it will turn yellow over time, and as my car is white, this may not be doable.

I am considering Revivify as it seems to be able to give some protection against scratches and stone chips, whilst provide the glossiness that ceramic coating gives. But it is by no means cheap.

Would appreciate views and advice from those who had experienced these different products.

Cheers.
PPF is a sacrificial layer of protection for the paint. It's intended purpose is not to last long and is supposed to be stripped and replaced every couple of years. As rightly stated, any PPF will turn yellow and harden over a few years especially in our climate, and when it hardens it's a bi*tch to remove and often requires abrasive cutting on the paint surface to rid the glue and PPF crumbs. In addition, removal of PPF very often strips clearcoat and paint especially on headlights, bumpers and repainted (non factory paint) surfaces. If you have to do PPF, my advise is to get precut PPF instead of custom cut, as custom cut often requires removal of panels and bits of the car to wrap it and requires a steady hand of the installer as to not cut the paint with the blade. In addition, the removal process of the PPF also requires removal of the panels and parts. Set your expectations to replace the PPF every 2-3 years to avoid issues with PPF hardening and glue etching on the paint surface.

In mature overseas market, factory dealerships only supply precut PPF as an option to apply as it doesn't void warranty and avoids high risk of issues when panels are removed (broken clips etc) and put back in the process. For super high end cars, resale is also affected once panels are removed as part of custom cut PPF application, and precut PPF allows the car to command a premium instead.

If you intend to track your car or do frequent Ulu Yam type convoy drives, PPF is the best option. For normal daily city use, a good coating job is the better option as it will give better clarity/optics vs PPF and ease long term maintenance of the paint.

This post has been edited by GeekinE90: Dec 27 2023, 11:44 AM
Quazacolt
post Dec 27 2023, 11:51 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Dec 27 2023, 11:30 AM)
If you intend to track your car or do frequent Ulu Yam type convoy drives, PPF is the best option.  For normal daily city use, a good coating job is the better option as it will give better clarity/optics vs PPF and ease long term maintenance of the paint.
Track no use 1 la

Public roads Touge maybe.
But if you unlucky you get bigger stones, or constantly pelted by members with sticky tires, also same useless PPF will be destroyed
constant_weight
post Dec 27 2023, 01:46 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 27 2023, 11:51 AM)
Track no use 1 la

Public roads Touge maybe.
But if you unlucky you get bigger stones, or constantly pelted by members with sticky tires, also same useless PPF will be destroyed
On bigger gravel, paint itself can be intact. However bumper still gets dent mark.

I got a couples. Won't know actual impact until replace the PPF.
PPF eliminate the paint chip on bonnet thought.

I notice Glasurit paint is really good. I have Glasurit clear coat on my carbon spoiler, no ultra fine micro scratches despite I casually wipe it with cloth over 3 years+.

Sticky tires are moster. I'm smashing my own car. Gravel stones are accumulating on some rear bumper trims.

I know certain cars to keep at certain distance from. High chance RE-71RS or Cup2. Those are usually driven very fast anyway. Quite fun to listen their "civil war" story, smashing each other during group outing. Lol...

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Dec 27 2023, 01:48 PM
Quazacolt
post Dec 27 2023, 03:27 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Dec 27 2023, 01:46 PM)
On bigger gravel, paint itself can be intact. However bumper still gets dent mark.

I got a couples. Won't know actual impact until replace the PPF.
PPF eliminate the paint chip on bonnet thought.

I notice Glasurit paint is really good. I have Glasurit clear coat on my carbon spoiler, no ultra fine micro scratches despite I casually wipe it with cloth over 3 years+.

smashing each other during group outing. Lol...
Depends your definition of bigger. Sepang sizes no way paint survive, unless maybe those costing 5 figure paint like Glasurite (top tier models) that generally only used on conti cars and definitely not on your usual P1 P2 T&H/Japanese
My car paint all damages until the base coat (no rust)
But some of the front roof and fender down to bare metal until rust showed. Front Bumper about half shaved until bare plastic.

This year end finally got to respray entire car from UMW Toyota Lexus Melaka, quoted 5.5k .
Long overdue pending since 2019 since very limited budget all the time sad.gif

Smashing is all fun and games until that windscreen gets a bullseye or straight up crack laugh.gif
You'll wiser up in a hurry to either overtake quickly or stay further behind
constant_weight
post Dec 27 2023, 04:22 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Dec 27 2023, 03:27 PM)
Depends your definition of bigger. Sepang sizes no way paint survive, unless maybe those costing 5 figure paint like Glasurite (top tier models) that generally only used on conti cars and definitely not on your usual P1 P2 T&H/Japanese
My car paint all damages until the base coat (no rust)
But some of the front roof and fender down to bare metal until rust showed. Front Bumper about half shaved until bare plastic.

This year end finally got to respray entire car from UMW Toyota Lexus Melaka, quoted 5.5k .
Long overdue pending since 2019 since very limited budget all the time sad.gif

Smashing is all fun and games until that windscreen gets a bullseye or straight up crack laugh.gif
You'll wiser up in a hurry to either overtake quickly or stay further behind
My bigger means you can hear sound of gravel hitting the bumper, not sure exact size probably >1cm.

I have a couple spots, with 8mil Xpel PPF, paint is intact but bumper still get a dent. So info for TS on this topic, PPF is not perfect, depends on how extreme is the usage

5.5k is not the cheapest, probably mid grade. Quoted 2k for old corolla never heard of brand paint, not even using PPG.

I heard Toyota/Lexus/Mazda usually got water based eco friendly paint from PPG. Salesman blow water source, not sure how true.

Yes, many kena windscreen cracked. So it was FK8 outing with few GTR join in.
Those modded kaw kaw elite were far in front. The experienced casual members stayed behind.

The new kaki with standard car tried to keep up with the 1st tier, learned the hard way. bangwall.gif

This post has been edited by constant_weight: Dec 27 2023, 04:22 PM
TSkll71
post Dec 27 2023, 06:14 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Dec 27 2023, 11:30 AM)
PPF is a sacrificial layer of protection for the paint.  It's intended purpose is not to last long and is supposed to be stripped and replaced every couple of years.  As rightly stated, any PPF will turn yellow and harden over a few years especially in our climate, and when it hardens it's a bi*tch to remove and often requires abrasive cutting on the paint surface to rid the glue and PPF crumbs.  In addition, removal of PPF very often strips clearcoat and paint especially on headlights, bumpers and repainted (non factory paint) surfaces.  If you have to do PPF, my advise is to get precut PPF instead of custom cut, as custom cut often requires removal of panels and bits of the car to wrap it and requires a steady hand of the installer as to not cut the paint with the blade.  In addition, the removal process of the PPF also requires removal of the panels and parts.  Set your expectations to replace the PPF every 2-3 years to avoid issues with PPF hardening and glue etching on the paint surface.

In mature overseas market, factory dealerships only supply precut PPF as an option to apply as it doesn't void warranty and avoids high risk of issues when panels are removed (broken clips etc) and put back in the process.  For super high end cars, resale is also affected once panels are removed as part of custom cut PPF application, and precut PPF allows the car to command a premium instead.

If you intend to track your car or do frequent Ulu Yam type convoy drives, PPF is the best option.  For normal daily city use, a good coating job is the better option as it will give better clarity/optics vs PPF and ease long term maintenance of the paint.

Do you or any of the forumers have any experience with Liquid PPF (Revivify) or CQuartz?

This post has been edited by kll71: Dec 27 2023, 06:15 PM
GeekinE90
post Dec 29 2023, 04:06 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(kll71 @ Dec 27 2023, 07:14 PM)

Do you or any of the forumers have any experience with Liquid PPF (Revivify) or CQuartz?
I have Cquartz Finest Reserve (CQFR) on 3 of my cars. It's a good coating in terms of durability and optics. CQFR has more color depth and richness vs Cquartz Professional, where CQuartz Pro is more of the gloss and glass type effect. CQFR is more durable vs CQPro, but for hyrophobic and slickness CQPro wins.

You won't go wrong with either one.

No experience with Liquid PPF. It's still quite new and expensive. Heard the optics and clarity is not really there yet.

This post has been edited by GeekinE90: Dec 29 2023, 04:08 PM
tvcat
post Dec 29 2023, 05:37 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,919 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Dec 29 2023, 04:06 PM)
I have Cquartz Finest Reserve (CQFR) on 3 of my cars.  It's a good coating in terms of durability and optics.  CQFR has more color depth and richness vs Cquartz Professional, where CQuartz Pro is more of the gloss and glass type effect.  CQFR is more durable vs CQPro, but for hyrophobic and slickness CQPro wins.

No experience with Liquid PPF.  It's still quite new and expensive. Heard the optics and clarity is not really there yet.
How much you paid for it?
Xccess
post Dec 30 2023, 03:53 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,772 posts

Ceramic Pro coating for all my ride. Didn't opt for PPF becos ownership rarely exceed 4 yrs before next upgrade. I do go back for yearly maintenance.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Dec 30 2023, 03:54 PM
TSkll71
post Jan 3 2024, 10:27 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(GeekinE90 @ Dec 29 2023, 04:06 PM)
I have Cquartz Finest Reserve (CQFR) on 3 of my cars.  It's a good coating in terms of durability and optics.  CQFR has more color depth and richness vs Cquartz Professional, where CQuartz Pro is more of the gloss and glass type effect.  CQFR is more durable vs CQPro, but for hyrophobic and slickness CQPro wins.

No experience with Liquid PPF.  It's still quite new and expensive. Heard the optics and clarity is not really there yet.
Thanks for the input. Read quite a bit about CQuartz. May I ask if CarPro is the only place that apply them in Malaysia? Do you need to do yearly maintainence by applying the coat?
TSkll71
post Jan 3 2024, 10:31 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(kll71 @ Dec 27 2023, 06:14 PM)

Anyone here have experience with Art Pro ULGO before?

0.0187sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:58 AM