Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V42, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

solarmystic
post Sep 6 2024, 07:31 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(AoiB @ Sep 6 2024, 07:04 AM)
Government doing stupid shit doesn't mean it's not illegal/excessive though. I was wondering if FMT is still reliable to complain to or are they toadies now
Mkini and FMT together with Malay Mail would definitely be the ones to write about this sorry state of affairs in the past, though lord knows if they'd even dare write an article criticizing the heavy handedness of the government after their reporters called hauled up by the cops recently over one of their other stories.

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Sep 6 2024, 07:25 AM)
Still fucked up to see this happening here in this country. Just last year we had 0 worries about this at all and now there are even people reporting VPN providers being banned.
Indeed, it is the absolute height of hypocrisy that the ones in power right now are the ones to direct the ISPs to do this when in the past it was they themselves (e.g. DAP) who taught Malaysians how to circumvent censorship when their own sites and blogs were blocked by the previous administrations.

There is no positive way they can frame this move, and i reckon it's extremely eye opening for those who were still coping about the true nature of this current government.

This post has been edited by solarmystic: Sep 6 2024, 07:36 AM
solarmystic
post Sep 6 2024, 08:54 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(blackbox14 @ Sep 6 2024, 08:04 AM)
Ultimately it's what the other person said: the majority just don't give a fk. One of the reasons they can't be assed to care about issues like this is because they are struggling with other hardships.

As long as that is the case, it is near impossible to get decisions like this reversed unless bigshots in companies and the government itself disagree with it as well.
Imo, the majority will soon be rudely awakened when the socmed companies refuse to comply with the government's directives to apply for licensing to continue their operations in this country.

What they're doing right now is obviously a precursor to prevent the majority from easily bypassing their measures once the bans of platforms that refuse to play ball with them gets enforced.

It will no longer be something that only affects the IT literate minority like us at that point, and there will be hell to pay.

It'll also be interesting to see who backs down first, the socmed giants (FB, Tiktok etc) or the government.

This post has been edited by solarmystic: Sep 6 2024, 08:55 AM
solarmystic
post Sep 6 2024, 09:17 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(wong_86 @ Sep 6 2024, 09:13 AM)
this is too over liao, my company also using cloudflare services, really hisap TM nut liao.
This is really retarded on their end, companies that are affected by this should be suing TMNUTz for loss of earnings/income.

They really didn't think about the side-effects of this hare brained scheme did they lol.
solarmystic
post Sep 6 2024, 12:56 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(squall0833 @ Sep 6 2024, 12:54 PM)
I also received this sms this morning

but after restart all equip, speed remain same
profile still not updated

not sure if that mean last year free upgrade or is another free upgrade

im already from 300 to 500 last year free upgrade

if this is another free upgrade, will it be 800 or 1g?  drool.gif
Same here, i wonder whether these SMSes are just delayed and are actually referring to the previous free speed upgrade given in the past lol.

I went from 100 to 300 the last time around, another bump to 500 would be nice since upload would be doubled to 100 from 50.

I just rebooted the ONT and router just to be sure and the speed is still 300/50.

This post has been edited by solarmystic: Sep 6 2024, 12:57 PM
solarmystic
post Sep 6 2024, 02:16 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(kenny79 @ Sep 6 2024, 01:30 PM)
RM0 Unifi: Hi. Do you know we've upgraded your account @unifi to a higher speed for FREE? Your profile will be updated soon. Enjoy your new speed!

Have being received today's but seem the account after reboot still remains the same speed on 300mbps was previous as 100mbps v5 upgrade permanent last yearupgrade ...
Yep, this is the exact SMS message i got too.

Just checked my phone it seems like i received it on Wednesday, the 4th of September.

I ignored it initially since i thought it was just a relic of last years free speed upgrade, no way TMNUT would be generous to give 2 speed upgrades back to back lol.

If more people get the upgrade actually applied to their accounts after receiving the SMS message do report it here yea.

This post has been edited by solarmystic: Sep 6 2024, 02:23 PM
solarmystic
post Sep 6 2024, 02:37 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(issac99289928 @ Sep 6 2024, 02:31 PM)
Why suddenly so much bandwidth to give for free ? IS TM installing  XPS PON line cards ?
The conspiracy-tard in me doesn't think it's a coincidence that these "free upgrades" are being given out just as they're imposing more tighter controls to block public access to sites that would traditionally consume a lot of bandwidth lol.

hmm.gif
solarmystic
post Sep 6 2024, 04:26 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Sep 6 2024, 04:00 PM)
Are you out of contract already? Maybe these so called free upgrades have some small print stating you’ll be tied to a new contract.
Good point! I'm actually not contracted anymore, haven't been for the past 4 years.

Kept on getting those calls from telemarketers to get tied to a new one but i just ended up ignoring them after awhile, i like having the flexibility to bail out if necessary.

solarmystic
post Sep 6 2024, 04:55 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Sep 6 2024, 04:48 PM)
Wait, what?! I’ve been visiting this thread too often lately so when you said socks, first thought was socks5  laugh.gif
You mean actual socks, like the sexy kind? Apa story? For science, of course.
The socks that had a certain design on it that caused an entire line of stores and its owner to be hauled to court.

That should jog your memory lol.
solarmystic
post Sep 7 2024, 08:12 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 7 2024, 07:56 AM)
adsl days were terrible. latency was so damn high. also u paid a lot for slow dl/ul ontop of that. i don't miss those days other than lack of dns poison, but we had that even when ftth was available. it's only recently this became a problem  cry.gif
Hear hear! Those of you who never experienced the pain of EXTREME SCREAMYX SLOWDOWNS will never know how bad it was before Unifi expanded its coverage from around 2013 onwards. Unifi came into being in 2010 but coverage was extremely limited at first.

Here is the first very Extreme Screamyx Slowdown thread on this very forum, made in 2008.

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/746285

The late 2000s to mid 2010s (from 2008 to 2015) were horrific for wired ADSL internet costumers with no fiber alternatives, so desperate were people to escape the painfully slow TM network infrastructure that they resorted to subscribing to wireless alternatives like P1 WiMAX and YES 4G.

Remember the potong campaigns from P1 WiMAX which turned out to also be a POS once their towers and infra got over subscribed?

I member.

This post has been edited by solarmystic: Sep 7 2024, 08:15 AM
solarmystic
post Sep 10 2024, 02:33 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(hazairi @ Sep 10 2024, 02:26 PM)
Yup, my network card limitation. Can only support up to 1Gbps. But still at least speedtest I should get 999Mbps. haha
With the overhead involved, 936-940 Mbps is the maximum throughput the connection can handle so that speedtest reading is perfectly normal.

If you want the full speed, the connection needs to be fully negotiated at 2.5 Gbps to your router.

This post has been edited by solarmystic: Sep 10 2024, 02:34 PM
solarmystic
post Sep 13 2024, 10:04 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(MyProLife @ Sep 13 2024, 09:39 PM)
Is unifi now blocking third party dns again... (deco set to 8.8.8.8, some devices cannot connect to some apps/sites unless using encrypted dns from device setting)
Uncle Murray's site working perfectly fine for me on 8.8.8.8 plaintext unencrypted DNS.

solarmystic
post Sep 17 2024, 07:44 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(Orpheus1120 @ Sep 17 2024, 07:29 AM)
Well, I hate to say this but this looks like TM is throttling bandwidth in my case. I was up whole day and as of 4.30am, all routes are back to normal with almost perfect latency.

But things went to hell again at 7am. Judging from what I'd seen first hand this looks very much like classic throttling of the border gateways.

I hope I am wrong and that it's just a local congestion on my side, so I'll monitor again for the next couple of days.
How can we test for this on our end? Just do a cloudflare speedtest?
solarmystic
post Sep 17 2024, 11:56 PM

271 posts

shopee is fucked up rn going through equinix

This post has been edited by solarmystic: Sep 17 2024, 11:57 PM
solarmystic
post Sep 18 2024, 12:00 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(BenYeeHua @ Sep 17 2024, 11:57 PM)
Fine on 175.141.x.x, time to reboot until you get 10ms to shopee. tongue.gif
funnily enough lazada and every other site that resolves ipv6 works just fine lol.

i tried doing the cloudflare traceroute and just like that other guy found out that ipv6 routes pretty fast but ipv4 is slow.

how can ipv6 resolves sites okay but ipv4 be broken and horribly slow?

This post has been edited by solarmystic: Sep 18 2024, 12:02 AM
solarmystic
post Sep 18 2024, 07:48 PM

271 posts

What's the point of having 100 Mbps - 2Gbps internet connections when the quality of the connection itself is horrendous and basic functionality such as web browsing itself is slow as molasses if you haven't been assigned to a "premium" IP range?

We're not even talking about bandwidth heavy stuff like streaming 4K youtube or netflix (which is ironically much smoother than web browsing thanks to Google's reliable CDN), its BASIC WEB BROWSING!

It's no different than being on ADSL grade Screamyx at this point istg.

This post has been edited by solarmystic: Sep 18 2024, 07:49 PM
solarmystic
post Sep 18 2024, 08:00 PM

271 posts

Why tf is traffic to shopee.com.my (a MY website) being routed through SG?

solarmystic
post Sep 19 2024, 12:37 AM

271 posts

QUOTE(Haru97 @ Sep 19 2024, 12:34 AM)
Guys guys, miracle happened!
Unifi adjusted the route! No longer hurricane electric rape, omg.
Seems to be fixed on my end as well, pinging cloudflare with ipv4 is smooth again (used to be in the hundreds of ms), though ipv6 remains the champion for low latency,

0.0402sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:50 PM