Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V42, READ 1ST PAGE FOR RELEVANT WIFI INFO!

skywardsword
post Aug 19 2024, 05:51 PM

680 posts

went and recontract at tmpoint for the SWU 4.0

ask for the rm119- 300mbps, free 6 months - recontract 24 months

Did not want the new router/combo... but was forced to take it.

Also had to sign up the rm39 tm mobile line for three months...
was told I can terminate it after 3 months.

skywardsword
post Aug 20 2024, 06:50 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Edlois @ Jul 1 2024, 01:47 AM)
Tm unifi just upgraded my plan to 800mbps. and gave me this Fiberhome HG6145F3.

I had an existing DECO M5 mesh wifi.

But the problem comes when. I change the combo mode -> Bridge mode. I reset my DECO mesh and authenticate the PPPOE service credentials with proper VLAN profile. it's not working.
Okay nvm then I change back the ONU/combo box to combo mode again.

suddenly. the internet led start blinking. meaning I can't access to the internet.
I had the correct PPPOE service credentials
then I didn't touch anything, other than toggling between "Combo Mode" and "Bridge Mode"

I can't find any other people who got this "HG6145F3" on the forum. so.... help...... bangwall.gif  bye.gif  bye.gif
Is your issue resolved? when my TM tech came today, I directly told them, I want to use my own routers, switch. They also gave me this HG6145F3.

they directly setup as bridge. after selecting that. they also had to do the "authlink" - password thing on the ONU in order for it to work. <<< this is based on my untrained photographic memory, which is ymmv...>>>>

So you may need help from TM if you want to set bridge mode. *** or if you know the authlink code...

My question for others, is does this Fiberhome router have backdoor, should I switch back to the "dumb" huawei ONU?
skywardsword
post Aug 21 2024, 11:11 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Aug 21 2024, 10:57 AM)
Guys, for SWU 4.0. I applied for the 300mbps which is Rm119 with 6 months waive, contract started this March-2024. But i noticed that my billing for the past 6 months, it's showing 300mbps at Rm139 instead of Rm119. Although it got waived (except this month, the waive is prorated) but i curious if anyone also getting this?

[attachmentid=11501386]
Edited: I've contacted Unifi via Maya, they gave me a case number and said will get back to me within 5 working days.
I applied the same. not yet received the rm119 or the rm139 prorated bill. less than 1-2 days ago just applied and completed. anyhow, did they also ask you sign up rm39 tm mobile line, I read thru 20 over pages, some claim that within first month can cancel the post paid plan already. the tm point agent told me can cancel in three months.

btw... my online tm unifi dashboard yet to indicate my latest plan also.
skywardsword
post Aug 21 2024, 02:14 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Aug 21 2024, 11:36 AM)
They did not offer me postpaid plan that time.

I wonder if anyone have the SWU 4.0 T&C? I feel like reading it, just to know the 119 is perpetual only until certain months, @skywardsword, did your agent tell you anything about whether the Rm119 is permanent?
aaaahhh... I did not ask about rm119 being permanent. but I strongly believe it to be permanent. because if it it is not, than Maxis here we come.
skywardsword
post Aug 21 2024, 02:45 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Aug 21 2024, 02:37 PM)
But Lon3Rang3r00 case now seems to be no perpetual already  hmm.gif
He would not see what happens in 18 months. when the total 24 month ends contract?

Do remember a lot of people, the Gross price is always the normal price, and the discount, perpetual or not, will only know at the end of contract right?

Anyhow, if we "the important family member " who always help to check on the Home internet line, dies.... then in 24 months, if it reverts to normal price with no discount....I sincerely hope, someone else in the family is "smart and motivated" enough to continue monitor what TM is charging them for internet.

It is chump change for some... like rm 10-40... but to a lot of ktard in the M80, we need that to help out in the family.
skywardsword
post Aug 21 2024, 02:50 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(Lon3Rang3r00 @ Aug 21 2024, 02:44 PM)
There's no T&C stated that the offer price is perpetual, we have no black and white to argue with them. But I'll see what is their replies then decide next move. The current price listed at UniFi website, exclude Promo is Rm139 for 300Mbps, they can't just say mine under SWU also sharing the same Rm139.
yeah, would be nice to have black and white. but honestly, with TM... I cannot waste too much brain cell. my 100mbps best plan from 2018... till today, even though I am already on FSU300mbps for more than 2 years... it still display the 100mbps Best plan...

wtf....

and in fact, I do not know when my contract ends... because in the Unifi dashboard--- nothing of use is displayed.... rubbish website. *** I only know, because I got baited to accept the "free Disney hotstar" that auto renew my contract, and I set up a calender note to not let it auto renew and tie me down with another 2 years. I had infact called TM last month to warn them, you better not "auto renew" disney hotstar and tie me down another 24months.

So same as the disney hotstar... if they continue to give your discount price... they tie you down another 24 months, you also susah.... so I do not believe the logic works that way.

If they no gip perpetual discount... than we also can do 3 things... port out or terminate, or go negotiate to renew at even lower rates.

Edit: also thanks Kwss --- I put the huawei ONU back on last night after reading your insight. Very interestingly, the cloudflare speed test, showed that I have 0- 3.5% loss package, at first I thought it was because I use dns 1.1.1.1 and 8.8.8.8. but seems like that is not what it is. I did a ten plus cloudflare speed test on the fiberhome combo ONR... and not much difference compared to the huawei ONU. Infact the huawei one, for the 25mb transfer.. it boosted all the way to 700mbps.

For the 100mb download... it stayed in the 300mbps speed.

also did the DNS ~ tlc check -- I am surprise, even though I did not do special setting on the mikrotik, it pass the test. Probably like you guys said, tm did not continue to do their DNS poisoning?

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Aug 21 2024, 02:58 PM
skywardsword
post Aug 21 2024, 03:04 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(kcl2006ch @ Aug 21 2024, 12:04 AM)
for the GPON password and VOIP number / PIN can get from installer, i managed to get it from installer now i can switch between old onu and new combo ONR
I did not grab it from the tech... because I did not have the 1gbps or 2.5gbps line, at one stage I ask Anime4000 for his PON sfp to install in the mikrotik router... but kecut bola...because it is not cheap for me, and not really worth it since I am still on 300mbps line.

the good thing about 300mbps line, is pay less, and sendiri shiok when it boost pass 300mbps.
skywardsword
post Aug 21 2024, 06:04 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Aug 21 2024, 04:39 PM)
The only way now to check contract end date is either through your bind device (example Unifi TV box added date under your account) which has the date stated or contact live chat / walk-in TM Point.

I believe we having same type of contract - Disney Plus Hotstar.
Mine is 29 Sept 2022 - 2024 which is next month.

When is yours ended?
Five days ago. Give or take.
skywardsword
post Sep 6 2024, 11:31 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Sep 6 2024, 09:52 AM)
i'm just curious but is starlink the solution? it's satelite so isn't that outside the jurisdiction? any1 using starlink know if their affected by this dns nonsense  hmm.gif
However if they want to operate in Malaysia, they will need license and follow local law. So censorship orders will still be followed.

The thing about these "conditions" they set into their carrier grade routers/switches. As the traffic becomes congested, this type of filtering, firewall rules, will just make the internet slow to a crawl? Is that part of the reason why internet have been getting slower and slower.

skywardsword
post Sep 6 2024, 01:18 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(squall0833 @ Sep 6 2024, 12:54 PM)
I also received this sms this morning

but after restart all equip, speed remain same
profile still not updated

not sure if that mean last year free upgrade or is another free upgrade

im already from 300 to 500 last year free upgrade

if this is another free upgrade, will it be 800 or 1g?  drool.gif
I just received the FSU too. Happy news even though come 6pm to 12am, I know throttle by congestion to 5mbps only.
skywardsword
post Sep 20 2024, 01:12 PM

680 posts

From what I can tell, TM botched it's DNS reversal, plus, another major issue they had was, they tried to implement the Carrot and stick at the same time. While everyone reported the DNS causing problem, they also gave the carrot, to Free Speed Upgrade.

They probably were also not prepared for it, as upgrading the 300mbps to 500mbps, = those customer will get a "Public" IP address, instead of behind their Nat "private" IP.

Hence, initially when they announced the upgrade, I quickly go check my IP address, low and behold I have those 175. type of address, hence I knew I got the FSU. In additional to the 500mbps down which is common, I also got the 100mbps upload, which is the spec of the 500mbps line.

Anyhow, now, they reversed the upgrade, speed is hovering, even with cloudflare and or Tm's own speed test at 340mbps down and 30-57mbps upload.

The claim of putus cable dalam laut... I think is just their smoke and cover? It does not make sense, for lowyat kopitiam, to have slow connection, when we are not even going abroad right? server is in Malaysia....does not hold water the argument.

Edit: essentially, their system, they probably have lots of switches and carrier routers, that they updated to run their "filters" and so now is just a big mess to reverse all that, and also have to hand out IP that they do not have?

btw, I still am on the 175. IPs, which I got after just 1 restart of the FTPon unit.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Sep 20 2024, 01:22 PM
skywardsword
post Oct 3 2024, 09:10 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(Jjuggler @ Oct 3 2024, 08:56 AM)
For their 1Gbps plan they provide optional FTTR installation 1+1 . At least they are using good or pretty decent mesh and ONR. I personally liked Celcomdigi's approach. Maxis is using 2.5GbE Wi-Fi 6E Kaon router for their 2Gbps users. Meanwhile unifi... supplying cheap ONRs to their customer.
At last, since aug already kena lock SWU4.0 lagi best package...300mbps. And since than the shit Unifi speed daily during peak 6pm to12pm. Plus fiasco with poison DNS/hijack. Anyone who is free should seriously consider jumping to another provider who gives good routers/onr

0.1858sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 10:31 PM