QUOTE(kwss @ Jun 3 2024, 01:58 AM)
TM lost its peering with Cloudflare.
If I remember correctly, TM used to peer with Cloudflare. Now all traffic to Cloudflare goes to Telstra.
Checking AS4788 in bgpview.io confirms they no longer peer with Cloudflare.
Maxis (AS9534) and Celcom (AS10030) do have peering with Cloudflare.
Looking into Cloudflare's peering policy (https://www.cloudflare.com/peering-policy/), the only clause that can cause this is:
"To suspend, without notice, peering connectivity in the event of a severe quality of service issue such as high latency, packet loss, or jitter pattern is detected and to take appropriate traffic engineering steps to maintain service quality."
I am also having a bad time with AWS right now routing me to Cogent Singapore > AWS India. None of the telco seems to peer with AWS, even though all of them interconnect with MyIX.
Amazon's peering policy (https://aws.amazon.com/peering/policy/) is a lot stricter compared to Cloudflare, like you must connect to at least 2 edge location and your pipe must be at least double the size of your peak traffic.
Both Cloudflare and Amazon did not do RS Peer inside MyIX, which can be verified here:
https://www.peeringdb.com/net/1418
https://www.peeringdb.com/net/4224
What this means is that peering must be setup manually. So either TM is lazy or they already maxed out their pipe.
The question then becomes: How hard is it to add a bigger pipe to MyIX? It is right inside KL and the port fees is in Ringgit, not some foreign currency.
https://myix.my/services/?sid=port-fees
BTW, you can do a speedtest to MyIX by changing the server to "MyIX". It's 2am and I only get 200Mbps, what a joke.
ISP in Malaysia sucks especially TM. They are in comfort zone since they monopoly the internet services in Malaysia. Many other ISP have to use TM fibre infra.If I remember correctly, TM used to peer with Cloudflare. Now all traffic to Cloudflare goes to Telstra.
Checking AS4788 in bgpview.io confirms they no longer peer with Cloudflare.
Maxis (AS9534) and Celcom (AS10030) do have peering with Cloudflare.
Looking into Cloudflare's peering policy (https://www.cloudflare.com/peering-policy/), the only clause that can cause this is:
"To suspend, without notice, peering connectivity in the event of a severe quality of service issue such as high latency, packet loss, or jitter pattern is detected and to take appropriate traffic engineering steps to maintain service quality."
I am also having a bad time with AWS right now routing me to Cogent Singapore > AWS India. None of the telco seems to peer with AWS, even though all of them interconnect with MyIX.
Amazon's peering policy (https://aws.amazon.com/peering/policy/) is a lot stricter compared to Cloudflare, like you must connect to at least 2 edge location and your pipe must be at least double the size of your peak traffic.
Both Cloudflare and Amazon did not do RS Peer inside MyIX, which can be verified here:
https://www.peeringdb.com/net/1418
https://www.peeringdb.com/net/4224
What this means is that peering must be setup manually. So either TM is lazy or they already maxed out their pipe.
The question then becomes: How hard is it to add a bigger pipe to MyIX? It is right inside KL and the port fees is in Ringgit, not some foreign currency.
https://myix.my/services/?sid=port-fees
BTW, you can do a speedtest to MyIX by changing the server to "MyIX". It's 2am and I only get 200Mbps, what a joke.
TM does not put effort to improve their quality of service. Futhermore TM receives special treatment and support from government.
Hope something can be done about this in conjunction with increase of data centres that are being and going to be build in Malaysia.
Jun 3 2024, 10:39 AM

0.0300sec