Civic FC, got some questions wanna ask sifus

TSbryant601
post Dec 4 2023, 09:40 AM, updated 3y ago

grrrrrrrrr
1,066 posts

Dear all sifus,

just wonder does anyone has civic fc, mine is year 2017, now my car the fuel consumption (FC) quite high, previously usually hangs around 16km/l, but currently its 10km/l to 12km/l max. wonder anything i could check to know the reason behind high FC?

second would that when going on uneven road, there would be 'thump' sound near the rear left of the car. but when going through a hump, it doesnt have the 'squeeking' sound, but recently i have changed the rear bearing and it happened after few month after changing the wheel bearing.

thanks all for the inputs!
TSbryant601
post Dec 5 2023, 08:32 AM

grrrrrrrrr
1,066 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 4 2023, 04:04 PM)
Civic weakness - Lower arm bushes & absorber prone to fail (Confirm fail after few years of usage due to stupid bush design in it)

fuel consumption high? Check your tires air pressure, air filter, spark plugs condition and also what engine oil you use during your last change.
do you know how much would it cost to change the bush and labour?
and which workshop if you can introduce.
thank you.

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Dec 4 2023, 04:11 PM)
check for carbon build up on intake valves too
noted, thanks for the advise
TSbryant601
post Dec 11 2023, 03:15 PM

grrrrrrrrr
1,066 posts

Bush and suspension issue.

Thanks all for reply
TSbryant601
post Dec 12 2023, 11:15 AM

grrrrrrrrr
1,066 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Dec 11 2023, 07:13 PM)
Full disclosure mine is a model 2021 civic fc 1.5 tcp (last batch).

My fuel consumption lowest is 9.7km/l and 10km/l (highest). Currently, is 9.7km/l.

Driven waja, pesona, polo, passat, c200, glc 200, can safely say civic fc is sluggish and not very responsive. Then again, once its driving smoothly on highway, its okay.

For short distance, where you expect a lot of stops, traffic or bends, i drive between 1-1.5k rpm.

For straight road or road is clear, i will let it go up to 2k rpm before i accelerate further.

The acceleration work best staggered rather than sudden acceleration, example going from 1k rpm and you step hard on peddle and it rav all the way up.

Not a car person but that's my observation.
thanks for the feedback. the reason behind im asking is that i used to get around 15km/l mostly city drive, and also the reason i got such number because i pick the time on my travel, hence i manage to get the number i mentioned.

im somehow light footed when i drive except when i got frustrated then i might be heavy footed.

i think due to the damper/absorber issue it f*** up my fuel consumption and hanging around 9-11km/l.
TSbryant601
post Dec 12 2023, 01:22 PM

grrrrrrrrr
1,066 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Dec 12 2023, 12:44 PM)
the Civic 1.5 Turbo engine is extremely efficient if you are driving on the highway. can easily get 15 km/l
if you are stucked in traffic, every car will suffer

BTW, what is the mileage on your car? ever washed the throttle body?
agree with you on the efficiency of the turbo engine. i got 20km/l from penang back to KL.

160k km, i dont think i have done washing the throttle body

0.0196sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:51 AM