Career Progression AVP, SAVP, VP, SVP, Career Wonder

SUStakeshikitamura
post Nov 16 2023, 02:43 PM, updated 3y ago

40 posts

I'm curious, is having AVP at the age of 28-29 is considered too young and not qualify?
Wedchar2912
post Nov 16 2023, 03:55 PM

3,616 posts

QUOTE(takeshikitamura @ Nov 16 2023, 02:43 PM)
I'm curious, is having AVP at the age of 28-29 is considered too young and not qualify?
I think nowadays late 20s AVP is fine. It's no longer the 1980s where companies are too strict about speed of promotions.

Furthermore, salary brackets are very wide too. You can have a manager paid more than a vp.
Also have to look at the firm: a svp may just translate to a vp elsewhere.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Nov 16 2023, 03:56 PM
SUStakeshikitamura
post Nov 16 2023, 04:00 PM

40 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 16 2023, 03:55 PM)
I think nowadays late 20s AVP is fine. It's no longer the 1980s where companies are too strict about speed of promotions.

Furthermore, salary brackets are very wide too. You can have a manager paid more than a vp.
Also have to look at the firm: a svp may just translate to a vp elsewhere.
thank you! this is insightful.
macaionly
post Nov 21 2023, 09:04 AM

35 posts

In which world is svp in one bank an avp in another bank? Svp is at least 3 levels above avp.

Eulm585
post Nov 28 2023, 02:47 PM

835 posts

QUOTE(macaionly @ Nov 21 2023, 09:04 AM)
In which world is svp in one bank an avp in another bank? Svp is at least 3 levels above avp.
Some dont have avp, straight vp to svp then director.
All just rubbish naming convention..
If not customer no look up on banking staff
cms
post Dec 4 2023, 04:10 PM

762 posts

For banks its usually like M, AVP (AD), VP (D), SVP (MD), C suite

Other places like M, SM, AD, D, C Suite
pegasus1101
post Jan 23 2024, 08:04 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Eulm585 @ Nov 28 2023, 02:47 PM)
Some dont have avp, straight vp to svp then director.
All just rubbish naming convention..
If not customer no look up on banking staff
Agree totally. This is just marketing gimmick. You can be an AVP but you are actually equivalent to an Assistant Manager or even a Senior Executive, depending on the company. Perfect example, Affin Bank, you can be a VP but you are actually working on the field and do not have any management role. Same goes to Maybank. I think in Maybank, a management role would be Director and above or something like that. AVP, VP are not managerial roles, if i am not mistaken.

It really depends on the company. The benefit I can see this is that, if you jump, you can demand higher and there are still many companies out there who sees this positions as very high position so they could offer you a management role after that.

Eulm585
post Jan 23 2024, 08:40 AM

835 posts

QUOTE(pegasus1101 @ Jan 23 2024, 08:04 AM)
Agree totally. This is just marketing gimmick. You can be an AVP but you are actually equivalent to an Assistant Manager or even a Senior Executive, depending on the company. Perfect example, Affin Bank, you can be a VP but you are actually working on the field and do not have any management role. Same goes to Maybank. I think in Maybank, a management role would be Director and above or something like that. AVP, VP are not managerial roles, if i am not mistaken.

It really depends on the company. The benefit I can see this is that, if you jump, you can demand higher and there are still many companies out there who sees this positions as very high position so they could offer you a management role after that.
Different departments also get different title. An AVP for customer facing vs an AVP for lets say IT is different.

Customer facing roles normally have more inflated titles
flying_manatee
post Jan 26 2024, 08:41 AM

210 posts

If this is in banking then AVP at 28-29 is fine, banking AVP is equivalent to AM in other industries.

If commercial AVP that's really a high flyer, I wouldn't say definitely too young but the person would have to be outstanding.
mothicy
post Jan 26 2024, 01:57 PM

before asking about rank, develop your technical and soft skills first. then talk about rankings. some employees can be a VP even at the age of 28-29 and some don't even have the maturity even their age is 34, so they don't deserve to be an AVP even. Mindset like clerical.
contestchris
post Jan 26 2024, 04:57 PM

5,542 posts

I got AVP in one of the largest banking groups before my 29th birthday, and I only started working when I was 23/24 years old.

I definitely felt macam a bit scared by the heavy responsibility. Go for it, never know how it turns out.
contestchris
post Jan 26 2024, 04:58 PM

5,542 posts

QUOTE(pegasus1101 @ Jan 23 2024, 08:04 AM)

AVP is considered "team lead". VP can be HOD already.
hoonanoo
post Jan 31 2024, 08:48 AM

1,782 posts

Last time met many bankers from one british MNC, all their position AVP and VP one.

Every year macam change relationship bankers.

Felt almost as if the whole dept made up of AVP and VP.

0.0152sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:26 AM