News Employers not allowed to pay salaries in cash with

SUSMaybachS600
post Nov 16 2023, 09:27 AM, updated 3y ago

900 posts

Employers not allowed to pay salaries in cash without approval - Sivakumar

KUALA LUMPUR: The payment of wages in cash is prohibited unless approved by both the employee and the Department of Labour Peninsular Malaysia (JTKSM) director-general to avoid manipulation.

Human Resources Minister V.Sivakumar said employers who do not pay wages through a bank account are committing an offence punishable by a fine of up to RM50,000 under Section 25 and 25(A) of the Labour Act 1955 (Act 265).

At a joint operation held at Pasar Borong Kuala Lumpur today, Sivakumar said 34 employers were inspected and 19 of them paid wages in cash. Other offences included violations of working hours and non-compliance with the Minimum Wages Ordinance.

“The operation aims to address complaints regarding unpaid wages, lack of contributions to the Social Security Organisation (Socso) and the Employees Provident Fund (EPF), and employers not paying salaries via bank accounts,” he told reporters after participating in the operation in the wholesale market.

Meanwhile, Sivakumar said that from January to October, a total of 1,654 investigations were opened for offences relating to payment of salaries, accommodation of workers and minimum wage orders, resulting in total fines of more than RM4.3 million.

He said that of the investigation papers opened, 357 cases were fined a total of RM391,236 while 775 cases were compounded RM3,958,500.

The investigation papers were opened under Act 265, Workers’ Minimum Standards of Housing and Amenities Act 1990, and Minimum Wages Order 2022.

He said the ministry and relevant departments are determined to ensure that there is no element of forced labour in the country and that integrated operations will continue throughout the country.

“I have stressed several times that if there are complaints from employees or the embassies, we will take stern action against any employer who does not comply with the existing laws in line with the International Labour Organisation (ILO) Convention,“ he said. - Bernama

Link: https://thesun.my/local/employers-not-allow...umar-CC11752624
MR_alien
post Nov 16 2023, 09:31 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

jobs that are paid in cash usually don't pay EPF and SOCSO at all
Mixo Mania
post Nov 16 2023, 09:35 AM

81 posts

Knowing my HR, she going to say “okay if you want bank in you can only receive 7 days later”

Her argument on why she go cash is because if that day or the day before got absentism she can deduct on the spot. If got bank in the Giro need to approve few days before actual pay date. So if got absentism between salary bank in and approval date very hard to claw back apparently.

I don’t want argue much coz this hr of mine power trip and probably sucking the GMs cock.

This post has been edited by Mixo Mania: Nov 16 2023, 09:37 AM
drug5
post Nov 16 2023, 09:58 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(Mixo Mania @ Nov 16 2023, 09:35 AM)
Knowing my HR, she going to say “okay if you want bank in you can only receive 7 days later”

Her argument on why she go cash is because if that day or the day before got absentism she can deduct on the spot. If got bank in the Giro need to approve few days before actual pay date. So if got absentism between salary bank in and approval date very hard to claw back apparently.

I don’t want argue much coz this hr of mine power trip and probably sucking the GMs cock.
So every month ur HR pass cold hard cash to u???
pinkfoxlulu
post Nov 16 2023, 09:59 AM

159 posts

deiiiiii pija sama u
SUSskyblack4492
post Nov 16 2023, 10:01 AM

1,342 posts

Where to report employer?

This post has been edited by skyblack4492: Nov 16 2023, 10:01 AM
Ichibanichi
post Nov 16 2023, 10:02 AM

327 posts

lel
confirm your company alot of workers hilang diri after gaji masuk
Aparaa
post Nov 16 2023, 10:03 AM

72 posts

I think can pay cash but consider as 'advance payment' la. Then the 'advance' amount will be reflected (deduction) in the staff monthly salary slip. Only the balance will be banked into the staff bank account. Most important is in the staff salary slip, got deduction for epf, socso, sip, tax (if any), etc
bereev
post Nov 16 2023, 10:03 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 16 2023, 09:31 AM)
jobs that are paid in cash usually don't pay EPF and SOCSO at all
and most are thouse illegal immigrants
ray123
post Nov 16 2023, 10:06 AM

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

The economy is so bad that some workers ask to be paid in cash weekly to keep up.
Mixo Mania
post Nov 16 2023, 10:10 AM

81 posts

QUOTE(drug5 @ Nov 16 2023, 09:58 AM)
So every month ur HR pass cold hard cash to u???
For some of the ground workers yes. Office still get bank in.

Who gets cash or bank in, HR macam suka hati decide one.
Natsukashii
post Nov 16 2023, 10:13 AM

^^
1,084 posts

Meanwhile, Sivakumar said that from January to October, a total of 1,654 investigations were opened for offences relating to payment of salaries, accommodation of workers and minimum wage orders, resulting in total fines of more than RM4.3 million.

Got people still working for below min wage?

Those business is the one that deserves boycott.

Boycott priority all gone wrong.

This post has been edited by Natsukashii: Nov 16 2023, 10:13 AM
ixaRA
post Nov 16 2023, 10:15 AM

91 posts

I never get salary by cash.. all bank in to bank
scorptim
post Nov 16 2023, 10:18 AM

700 posts

Pay by cash coz they pay Rm1500 then declare pay Rm3000 = instant profit
adam71
post Nov 16 2023, 10:19 AM

88 posts

Only applicable local or including foreign workers?....my foreign workers dont want to go to bank / ATM bcs ......received cash...can immidetely called their remitance agent bkash .....to send money back

This post has been edited by adam71: Nov 16 2023, 10:28 AM
Nightstalker93
post Nov 16 2023, 10:22 AM

74 posts

Then how your company pay your EPF/SOCSO? hmm.gif
Absent also kena deduct on the spot? What chinaman company is this?
netmatrix
post Nov 16 2023, 10:25 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

At a joint operation held at Pasar Borong Kuala Lumpur today

I would not expect people that runs a pasar booth/ stall to be run fully like an office anyway.
adam71
post Nov 16 2023, 10:27 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(ixaRA @ Nov 16 2023, 10:15 AM)
I never get salary by cash.. all bank in to bank
many plantation worker get salary in cash...some warehouse paid cash...weekly wages.....to malaysian
porselinaheart
post Nov 16 2023, 10:28 AM

Old Timer
576 posts

QUOTE(adam71 @ Nov 16 2023, 10:19 AM)
Only applicable local or including foreign workers?....my worker dont want to go to bank / ATM bcs ......received cash...can immidetely called their remitance agent bkash .....to send money back
Hallo pulis.

tongue.gif
NightFelix
post Nov 16 2023, 10:28 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

now can pay salary via TnG what, got DuitNow LULZ

0.0177sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled