do maybank2u always go offline midnight 12-1?, why they need 1 hour downtime everyday?

haturaya
post Oct 28 2023, 07:11 AM

2,554 posts

Modern bank systems still 'stuck' with old way of doing things. Do all balance, batch processing at the beginning of the day (12am).

The system works well for years... why bother to change? Or is it too expensive to revamp?
anakMY
post Oct 28 2023, 07:17 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Oct 28 2023, 01:41 AM)
Thats usually the taim I finally got some time to sit down in front of ma pc and look through my account payable/receivable and make payment to ma supplier.

Sorry la unker sometime late in making payment due to this issue. When finally got time but bank acting up pula.
Don't tell me out of 24 hours, u r only available from 12am-1am.
DarkAeon
post Oct 28 2023, 07:31 AM

774 posts

it has been like this for decades. u just got old enough to use banks is it?
SUSskyblu3
post Oct 28 2023, 07:36 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Oct 28 2023, 12:40 AM)
Yes, all bank 12am will down
We do daily batch run at this time window

DarkAeon
post Oct 28 2023, 07:39 AM

774 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Oct 28 2023, 07:11 AM)
Modern bank systems still 'stuck' with old way of doing things. Do all balance, batch processing at the beginning of the day (12am).

The system works well for years... why bother to change? Or is it too expensive to revamp?
the woke culture has the same thinking. why must we be stuck with the old way of doing things?

and look at what they have done to themselves.
Dainez
post Oct 28 2023, 09:05 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Oct 28 2023, 12:43 AM)
This issue can be easily be remediated by having secondary system to take over batch run while primary system caches the transaction. Unfortunately this setup will cost a lot of money and banks don’t see high volume transaction during 12am so they take easier way
Wait 2 more weeks. 11.11 12am sure high volume
Mavik
post Oct 28 2023, 09:18 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Oct 28 2023, 12:41 AM)
This has been forever how come only now you know?
Because a lot of younger customers who grew up with eWallets and also digital banks never have to face this. Only for banks with the old mainframe core banking have to deal with this.
Mavik
post Oct 28 2023, 09:19 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(haturaya @ Oct 28 2023, 07:11 AM)

To revamp would cost them a huge bomb, can be up to RM1billion depending on the size of their core banking.
Skylinestar
post Oct 28 2023, 09:19 AM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Oct 28 2023, 07:17 AM)
Don't tell me out of 24 hours, u r only available from 12am-1am.
tell that to shopee sales team
PJng
post Oct 28 2023, 09:22 AM

12,049 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Oct 28 2023, 03:15 AM)
Even 12 am using mbb credit card to buy things at 7 eleven also cannot. Kena before. But use tngo e wallet can go through.
Many year ago, my cimb credit card can, time just a bit 12am few min
Mavik
post Oct 28 2023, 09:22 AM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(DarkAeon @ Oct 28 2023, 07:39 AM)
the woke culture has the same thinking. why must we be stuck with the old way of doing things?

and look at what they have done to themselves.
Because the woke culture also encouraged quiet quitting and those working at those teams will just do their jobs as their told and won't do anything more to push for improvements.
zenix
post Oct 28 2023, 09:25 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Oct 28 2023, 12:43 AM)
This issue can be easily be remediated by having secondary system to take over batch run while primary system caches the transaction. Unfortunately this setup will cost a lot of money and banks don’t see high volume transaction during 12am so they take easier way
yep so debit cards usually won't transact around that time
after that should be find
but credit cards because it is a global system with multiple backups are 24/7
haturaya
post Oct 28 2023, 10:01 AM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Oct 28 2023, 09:19 AM)
To revamp would cost them a huge bomb, can be up to RM1billion depending on the size of their core banking.
Exactly... Maximise profit while minimise expenses. sweat.gif That's what banks do. Not much incentive to spend RM1bil for the sake of making sure 12am transaction go through. whistling.gif
accordvtec
post Oct 28 2023, 10:04 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Oct 28 2023, 01:41 AM)
Thats usually the taim I finally got some time to sit down in front of ma pc and look through my account payable/receivable and make payment to ma supplier.

Sorry la unker sometime late in making payment due to this issue. When finally got time but bank acting up pula.
wah pandai betul to delay payment.
next time ill use this skill to tell my suppliers also lol.
bank maintenance when i wana do transfer, so i cannot do and wait until forgot lol

0.0126sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:16 PM