Banking GXBank - First Malaysian Digital Bank (by Grab), UNLIMITED 1% cashback+3% p.a. interest!

TOS2
post Mar 27 2025, 12:01 PM

358 posts

https://gxbank.my/docs/terms/GX%20Card%20PD...0Apr%202025.pdf
TOS2
post Mar 27 2025, 01:57 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Mar 27 2025, 01:27 PM)
Does the fee applicable to card renewal upon expiry?
Yup, I think so. No exception.

They are betting on a consumer's typical laziness behaviour. Once you put 1000 MYR in GX Bank, you will be lazy to move money here and there. Banks always make money from this type of customer.

But it is interesting to note that they say account, not saving pockets. You therefore need to move money out of the saving pockets to main account or top up main account from 91.25 or 91.50 to 1000 MYR for 30 days after they replace your card.

And you must remember to move out the 1000-91.25 or 1000-91.50 30 days later.

Otherwise, you will lose interests on better offers elsewhere tongue.gif
TOS2
post Mar 27 2025, 11:33 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(joice11 @ Mar 27 2025, 09:36 PM)
err sorry now the magic no is RM91.25 right? 91.5 is for what?
You may renew your card in leap years or common years. the 91.50 case takes into account of the case when you happen to renew your card in leap years like in 2028, 2032, 2036, 2040, 2044, and 2048 etc.

Also i check my acc expire date is mar 2029, mean still free for another 4 year right?
Yes, for now. Bear in mind that they can change their T&C anytime they like. Fluidity is the norm in the banking sector.

Regaring the overseas spent, no memtion still have 1% cash back?
The 1% cashback thingie is in the rewards section: https://www.gxbank.my/campaign-tnc (item 9 GX Card Rewards Campaign).

The Product Disclosure Sheet is a Bank Negara requirement to inform consumers before they use the bank's product (i.e, pre-contractual stage): https://bnm.gov.my/documents/20124/938039/p...ure_dec2024.pdf

There are strict requirements to follow when drafting a PDS, which is why it is more or less standard across all banks in Malaysia, regardless of products.

S 16.4 A FSP shall ensure the PDS does not exceed two A4 pages and ensure that the information is presented in an easily readable font size.

S 16.5 A FSP shall use plain language and active verbs to make the PDS easy to read and understand.

G 16.6 In relation to paragraph 16.5, keeping sentences short will make the PDS easier to read. Most plain language writing guides recommend an average sentence length of not more than twenty words per sentence.

The 1% reward is not and never promised to consumers who are planning to use GX Bank debit card, which is reasonable, consider that reward campaigns come and go.

I wouldn't read too much into the PDS. After all, the debit card business is mostly about back-end interchange fee charged to merchants and for credit card business, the "revolvers" who always pay the minimum balance and essentially borrow at 20-30ish percent p.a. from banks are the core customer that drive the profits. Whereas credit card PDS will warn you about the high interest rate, e.g. https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...2C-Plat_PDS.pdf, debit card says nothing about the B2B hidden backend interchange fee mechanism. (Your 1% reward actually comes from that backend interchange fee thingie.)

Just treat it as extra info good to know. smile.gif

TOS2
post Sep 30 2025, 03:34 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(storky20 @ Sep 30 2025, 03:21 PM)
Anyone got the mail from GXBank that GX Card details may be compromised and they’re automatically blocking online tx for the cards?

They’re even asking me to cancel and replace my card (albeit free).

Doesn’t really inspire confidence, but then again, only a hundred or so left in the account.
Yea, me kena last month. I cancelled old card, paid 12 MYR for new card and CS said fee will be reimbursed in September. Today last day September still no money in yet...
TOS2
post Dec 3 2025, 09:01 PM

358 posts

Don't know where to ask this... Uhmm I am going to Auckland, New Zealand during CNY next year for conference.

Just want to know if they accept GX Bank, Ryt bank, Wise etc. cards? Or mostly need to pay cash?

How are the FX rates and fees like?

Thanks for info. smile.gif
TOS2
post Dec 3 2025, 09:41 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Dec 3 2025, 09:38 PM)
As long the merchant's card terminal accepts Mastercard, you're good to go.
Do ensure that the "Overseas transactions" setting is enabled on your GX Bank app. It is already enabled by default.
https://help.gxbank.my/Personal%2F%2Fcards/...transactions%3F

How are the FX rates and fees like?
The FX rate will follow Mastercard's rate.
You can refer here: https://www.mastercard.com/global/en/person...-converter.html
Bank fee is 0%.
Just to be sure, most Auckland food stalls accept Mastercard ya?

I am worried about how much NZD cash to bring there...
TOS2
post Dec 3 2025, 10:12 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(Confession @ Dec 3 2025, 10:10 PM)
worst come to worst, you can withdraw cash with the card too.

ANZ Bank: NZD3 ATM fee per withdrawal
BNZ: NZD0
Westpac: NZD0
ASB: NZD6.50 per withdrawal
Wow GX Bank debit card can withdraw cash in Auckland ATMs? blink.gif

FX rate follows Mastercard?
TOS2
post Today, 12:00 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 4 2025, 11:49 PM)
People there like cash. If you use card, you pay extra 2-3%
Noted, will exchange some NZD cash first lah. Thanks for info.

0.0199sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 09:15 AM