Banking GXBank - First Malaysian Digital Bank (by Grab), UNLIMITED 1% cashback+3% p.a. interest!

BboyDora
post Oct 16 2024, 10:23 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(chong6998 @ Oct 14 2024, 11:03 PM)
Some shop only accept cash btw, need some cash

exchange rate better than money charger
Use gx card to reload to grabpay to pay qr, this don't hav cashback
Or use gx card directly pay shop, this hav cashback
ohhhh!!! really??? rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

no extra charge? like my maybank credit card charge around 3% if i not mistaken.

This post has been edited by BboyDora: Oct 16 2024, 10:23 AM
BboyDora
post Oct 16 2024, 10:24 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Oct 14 2024, 01:02 PM)
Credit card charge 2.5% more or less on forex.
Use debit card forex charge is lower.

Use credit card only for convenience (eg hotel deposit) or if >2% cashback/reward.
so gx bank debit is better than queue up for money exchange?

I plan to change SGD 200 only cash. coz later got balance coins cannot convert back. troublesome.
BboyDora
post Oct 18 2024, 10:10 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Oct 16 2024, 11:09 AM)
normally before I leave sg I'll go money changer and change my sg coins back to paper notes
thanks for the tips. i didnt know about it. they accept?

not like Malaysia, even bank dont wanna accept my coins. mad.gif mad.gif
BboyDora
post Oct 20 2024, 10:54 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Oct 16 2024, 05:10 PM)
still waiting for gxbank to announce what they're gonna do with the 1% come nov 1st...2 more weeks still no news
I contacted their CS to ask about using gx in Singapore and I asked about the 1% too. they said 5th Nov will discontinue. no more ady. bye.gif bye.gif
BboyDora
post Nov 10 2024, 10:34 PM

2,361 posts

yes. dont argue ady.

must thanks our sifu @TOS
BboyDora
post Jan 6 2025, 01:59 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(TOS2 @ Jan 1 2025, 08:36 AM)
New magic number in 2025 (365 days instead of 366 days):

0.005*365/0.02 = 91.25 (down from 91.50 last year)

Happy New Year! smile.gif
TOS tai kor , finally you are back!!!
BboyDora
post May 16 2025, 11:50 AM

2,361 posts

anyone of you put RM 10k or more in your digital bank?

old uncle like me very reserve and i put money in traditional saving acct in bank like PB with no interest. (feel like donkey sometimes)
should I put more money in gxbank? what if my phone get stolen?
BboyDora
post May 16 2025, 12:04 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ May 16 2025, 11:54 AM)
oh ya.... thank you thank you
BboyDora
post May 18 2025, 07:43 AM

2,361 posts

now GX bank no more cashback 1% for buying stuff? did i miss out any annoucement?
BboyDora
post May 23 2025, 01:03 PM

2,361 posts

hi all, im going shanghai China soon.

dont plan to change much cash. Fully using GX bank card is it ok? or need to change more cash?

heard that Alipay and tng got charges / more expensive.

heard also visa and master credit card not user friendly there.

thank you

BboyDora
post May 23 2025, 01:33 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(magika @ May 23 2025, 01:25 PM)
China need change cash. Alipay can use n exhange rate quite ok. No peer to peer though. Better use weixin pay also. No money changer in China at leasr to my knowledge. Credit card not friendly there.
ok thank you!!

BboyDora
post May 24 2025, 10:04 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ May 23 2025, 01:34 PM)
Most of the places don't accept Visa/Mastercard. They prefer Unionpay card / Unionpay QR / Alipay / WeChat Pay.
Alipay will link to my mastercard. so is ok right?
BboyDora
post May 24 2025, 10:06 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 23 2025, 01:55 PM)
Do take note that many shops there don't accept Visa/Mastercard cards even if the shop has a card payment machine. Even if does, make sure the merchant charges you their local currency (CNY) rather than they convert to MYR for you.
If you let them convert to your home currency (MYR), the FX rates will become more expensive and not worth it.
Also, do double check if the merchant doesn't impose any additional service charge.

QR payments are widely accepted there. Do install Alipay app, and sign up for an account. As for the payment method, pair it with your GX Bank card. If you have Wise card, do pair it too as a backup.

If each transaction costs CNY 200 and above, Alipay will impose 3% service charge. To avoid that 3% charge, make sure the amount is CNY 199.99 or less. This also applies to WeChat Pay (Weixin Pay).

You can also insert your GX Bank card to any China ATMs to withdraw cash. The FX rates will follow Mastercard 0% rate.
As far as I know, China ATMs won't charge you additional fees unlike most countries that tend to impose additional charges due to an overseas issued card.
You can select Chinese or English language interface on the ATM there, so don't worry even if you can't read Chinese.
What will be the passcode for ATM? my GX bank code?

Can direct use GX bank without pair pair with Alipay?
BboyDora
post May 24 2025, 10:09 AM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(magika @ May 23 2025, 01:42 PM)
U need Alipay and/oe Weixin pay also for small small things and transportation. Just remember to do full verification before leaving for China.
banana like me only depends on Alipay.

thinking of changing more cash in shanghai (major city should be ok * cross fingers**)

I went Yunnan before, gosh.... all cashless. my cash worthless and they dun accept.
BboyDora
post May 26 2025, 01:00 PM

2,361 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ May 24 2025, 03:10 PM)
What will be the passcode for ATM? my GX bank code?
Yes, enter the same 6 digits PIN of your GX Bank card.
On the China's ATM, you select the CNY amount you want to withdraw, once you got your cash, you'll see your GX Bank's balance has deducted in MYR. Pretty straightforward.
The withdrawal limit is the same as your GX Bank's transaction limit settings.
https://help.gxbank.my/Personal%2F%2Fcards/..._the_GX_Card%3F

Can direct use GX bank without pair pair with Alipay?
Technically you can.
But don't be surprised if you see many shops there (e.g. restaurants, convenient stores, boutique stores) don't even have a card payment machine.
And even if there is, they may only accept UnionPay cards but not Visa/Mastercard cards.
But of course, if you so happen to see a Visa and Mastercard logo sticker/labels around the cashier, then you can be rest assured.Β  biggrin.gif

GX Bank card uses Mastercard payment network.
So, as long that merchant accepts Mastercard card payment, then it should work just like any other Mastercard cards you have from other banks.
If you see a card payment machine on the cashier, you can just try and use your GX Bank card and wave it onto the payment machine to see if the transaction went through.
It may feels like a hit-and-miss thing, so do manage your expectation.

If you have other overseas-travel-friendly debit cards such as Wise card or TnG Visa card, it's a great idea to also bring it along as a backup. Don't rely 100% on GX Bank card only.

Even if that shop accepts cash, they may not have small change if you pay in larger bills.
Yes, China really embraces cashless payments till that extent.
thank you so much for you detailed and long explanation!!!. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
fully understand

This post has been edited by BboyDora: May 26 2025, 01:00 PM
BboyDora
post Sep 13 2025, 10:22 AM

2,361 posts

can create fd pocket without problems.

put Rm 1k each since maybank saving account give me nothing.

This post has been edited by BboyDora: Sep 13 2025, 10:23 AM

0.0213sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:32 AM