The New Proton S70 Thread

josh5671
post Apr 4 2024, 11:03 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(ameenbp94 @ Apr 4 2024, 10:56 AM)
for flagship variant you can change to sport mode (default mode after engine start is comfort mode). the suspension will change to hard. I have tried with my car
S70 suspension will change stiffness with mode selector? i think you mean power steering stiffness right?
josh5671
post Apr 4 2024, 11:14 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(spectrum17 @ Apr 4 2024, 11:07 AM)
the car is not equipped with adaptive sus
i know. because me x50 owner.
josh5671
post Apr 5 2024, 11:07 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(Mysagavvt @ Apr 5 2024, 10:59 AM)
Just went for 1k service today. According to the sa its normal that this car sounds like a kancil on idle🤦🤦🤦
s70 no gdi 100% will sound like kancil due to 3cyl.
if it gdi will be sound like pickup truck, due to the way it inject/ignite the fuel.
josh5671
post Jun 4 2024, 03:45 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(arenji @ Jun 4 2024, 02:53 PM)
Hi guys

Is this car recommended for a family of 5? I haven't test drive the car but i really like the package that comes with it on paper.
i will suggest you test drive the car with your family.
i checked the car, compare to my current x50.
S70 rear seat actually 'feel' more comfortable than my x50... (maybe just placebo, who know)
other than that, i think only NVH etc that slightly worse

again. test drive with your family, as this car not 30K but long term 'investment' lol
josh5671
post Jun 28 2024, 09:26 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(locco81 @ Jun 27 2024, 08:17 PM)
Anybody knows how to disable the 120km/h overspeed alarm/warning? for premium variant
in the meter cluster setting. overspeed
josh5671
post Jul 4 2024, 09:30 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(yashin @ Jul 4 2024, 09:04 AM)
Flagship or Flagship x best? Worth it for the cam and sunroof? How practical is sunroof here?
80~90% people will say sunroof/moonroof useless. for me i like my x50 sunroof.
so depend what you need/asking for, period.

josh5671
post Jul 4 2024, 01:18 PM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 4 2024, 01:14 PM)
It is practical to use after tint it with 100% IRR, high TSER tint. Once the car are park under hot sun, open up all windows + sunroof will cool it down faster.
i think i use 70~75% IRR only. usable.
ofc i wont open the shade on afternoon. only morning and evening.

night time drive open sunshade, if temp low enough open sunroof freshair actually wake you up a lot,
josh5671
post Sep 14 2024, 02:44 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Sep 13 2024, 10:46 AM)
this car get less heat already? less moving thread sweat.gif
actually depend what you looking for...
less thread moving mean it less issue too. isnt ? whistling.gif
josh5671
post Sep 14 2024, 10:17 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(TheLegend27 @ Sep 14 2024, 09:17 AM)
unlike preve very fast moving last time.
no doubt now day living goes fast.
if no issue probably no people discuss about car unless the car have potential of mods.
by look at the how long thirdrparty x50 headunit arrive,
it still need long before local shop get the OEM mod support for s70. the discussion will come.

josh5671
post Sep 14 2024, 11:36 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(Betrue @ Sep 14 2024, 11:11 AM)
It's year 2024 still give u 3 cylinder need to change timing belt engine. Like x50, x70, x90 all not going to sell after people realise it's high fuel consumptions + expensive leceh maintenance + lousy proton service.
either you sarcasm/troll or not sure what you talking.
theres pro and con on everything. perfect car doesnt exist?
josh5671
post Sep 26 2024, 10:03 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(Mysagavvt @ Sep 26 2024, 06:17 AM)
If I'm  not mistaken, third party head units are available. Enquired at an accessories shop at balakong and they said they could do it
i know. because i am one of the x50 FS that use thirdparty headunit with thirdparty 360
it got its all kind of small issue here and there.
ofc pro more than con...but cant hide all the con. whistling.gif

not sure about s70 stock headunit. my suggestion, dont create demand for new HU if stock HU work perfectly fine.

josh5671
post Oct 9 2024, 10:33 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(incredibless @ Oct 8 2024, 11:16 PM)
thanks. just contemplating also on X50 since share the same powerplant but been go through the owner experience, it seems hit and miss either a problem-free ride or alot issues. Thus im think the S70 should be a much improve product..haha. not sure it will be less issues
since i only own x50...hard to tell how good or how bad s70 goes.
on the road actually more and more,it shouldnt be too bad.
so, either s70 share most part with x50 mean it shared same issue too;
or it doesnt share the same part, but got different issue?

for my 2cent, i hope it share same part, so you can expect every single potential issue in advance even it doesnt happen on you.

*out topic*
my x50 now got noise from pulley/pulley bearing/belt when idling with ac off/compressor idle speed.
when rpm up or compressor kickin, that noise gone/inaudible
josh5671
post Nov 6 2024, 10:08 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 1 2024, 09:15 AM)
check alternator pulley
thanks.. i think i will direct buy the clutch pulley and change it on next oil change whistling.gif
the lowest to the ground should be alternator pulley right?
josh5671
post Nov 6 2024, 10:40 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 6 2024, 10:32 AM)
not the tensioner pulley
X50 famous for alternator pulley issue lately, but their case is the pulley become loose and cannot charge battery
for S70, I dunno yet

in my case, my belt screeching (not S70), send to diagnose, is not belt or tensioner issue, but because alternator pulley jam
- when idle, aircon off, masuk gear - vibrate
- when idle, aircon on and compressor running, masuk gear - screeching noise and vibrate
then my x50 probably different issue.
when AC on, idle the engine/stop car. something screeching,
turn AC off, idle the engine/stop car, more loud it screeching.
but when you AC on or off while moving, with some RPM there...less screeching or not auditable due to engine noise.

now narrowed down to all kind of pulley+belt...yet pulling it out to check one by one...
my alternator/battery charge seem ok

josh5671
post Nov 6 2024, 11:12 AM

1,197 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Nov 6 2024, 10:48 AM)
oh like this... probably tensioner bearing or those things
I'm not familiar with X50 structure, but should easily diagnose and replace it
yea, because so far it doesnt affect the car yet.
probably one of the pulley or belt as i claim before..because all these seem like not yet replace since the car come to me

ofc will update here later if preceded anything, good or bad.

0.0265sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:49 PM