Cash or Wise (Digital Card), Travelling to Australia

TSGentleman_League
post Oct 6 2023, 10:34 AM, updated 3y ago

240 posts

Hey guys, I'm travelling to Australia next month. I plan to bring Cash around 1k AUD for 8 days if I'm short in cash i will be using Wise Digital Card.

Any advice? Should i just Change 1.5k Australia Dollars or just rely on Wise will do but they have small surcharge for converting.

Sekian muaks
mushigen
post Oct 6 2023, 10:38 AM

4,954 posts

Changing to aud at moneychanger pun kena rugi on exchange rate spread, kan?

And if you don't finish using and you want to change back, rugi again.

And there's issue with security when carrying too much cash.
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 6 2023, 10:39 AM

3,834 posts

Just a matter of preference. Personally I will use card as it's more convenient and safer. In Australia even small and remote towns also can accept cards.
Lembu Goreng
post Oct 6 2023, 10:40 AM

1,129 posts

i dont carry any cash at all whenever i'm down under

moonsatelite
post Oct 6 2023, 10:41 AM

737 posts

Not sure how the Australian Border Force screens Malaysians because there are the bad ones who ruined the reputation by overstaying their visa's, etc....

I heard they would want a daily itinerary and proof of funds to cover the cost of stay when you're there

This post has been edited by moonsatelite: Oct 6 2023, 10:42 AM
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 6 2023, 10:44 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Oct 6 2023, 11:38 AM)
Changing to aud at moneychanger pun kena rugi on exchange rate spread, kan?

And if you don't finish using and you want to change back, rugi again.

And there's issue with security when carrying too much cash.
fair point there sir, looks like Wise is a great idea to start with.

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Oct 6 2023, 11:39 AM)
Just a matter of preference. Personally I will use card as it's more convenient and safer. In Australia even small and remote towns also can accept cards.
Agree, I believe they are mature in e-wallet it will be more easier for me. Just topup my Wise wallet whenever i need.

QUOTE(moonsatelite @ Oct 6 2023, 11:41 AM)
Not sure how the Australian Border Force screens Malaysians because there are the bad ones who ruined the reputation by overstaying their visa's, etc....

I heard they would want a daily itinerary and proof of funds to cover the cost of stay when you're there
My Visa already approved, should be no problem and i will be travelling alone 1k AUD in cash should be suffice?
viktorherald
post Oct 6 2023, 10:46 AM

172 posts

You can store balance in AUD in Wise account, at any time with the exchange rate you deem good from now to the date of your travel.

So using WISE is really a no brainer, since it also offers good rates

I've use WISE to go for Taiwan trip some months ago, and just by using WISE i saved ~RM50 compared to credit card / local money exchanger rates

This post has been edited by viktorherald: Oct 6 2023, 10:47 AM
Virlution
post Oct 6 2023, 10:48 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 10:34 AM)
Hey guys, I'm travelling to Australia next month. I plan to bring Cash around 1k AUD for 8 days if I'm short in cash i will be using Wise Digital Card.

Any advice? Should i just Change 1.5k Australia Dollars or just rely on Wise will do but they have small surcharge for converting.
Sekian muaks
almost everywhere accept card.
your got wise digital credit card can already....

bring credit card as well, else border security might ask you how you going to pay for everything
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 6 2023, 10:49 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Oct 6 2023, 11:46 AM)
You can store balance in AUD in Wise account, at any time with the exchange rate you deem good from now to the date of your travel.

So using WISE is really a no brainer, since it also offers good rates

I've use WISE to go for Taiwan trip some months ago, and just by using WISE i saved ~RM50 compared to credit card / local money exchanger rates
Its my first time using Wise actually. In Malaysia i dont carry cash with me at all, just because its my first time in Melbourne and i will be travelling alone just wanna be safe if Digital payment is mature there biggrin.gif
blanket84
post Oct 6 2023, 10:49 AM

1,520 posts

Most of smaller retailers there charge credit card fees if you use card to pay.
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 6 2023, 10:52 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Oct 6 2023, 11:49 AM)
even with Wise?
g00glesYYl
post Oct 6 2023, 10:55 AM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

Hi Sifu,

How we top up or transfer money to Wise acct? Bank transfer or Credit card funding like those touch n go?
mushigen
post Oct 6 2023, 10:58 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Oct 6 2023, 10:55 AM)
Hi Sifu,

How we top up or transfer money to Wise acct? Bank transfer or Credit card funding like those touch n go?
Bank transfer or FPX, either from local or overseas banks. No cc transfer allowed.
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 6 2023, 11:05 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Oct 6 2023, 11:55 AM)
Hi Sifu,

i think they have alot of currency to choose, if im not wrong u have to topup MYR then do the conversion
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 6 2023, 11:09 AM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 10:52 AM)
even with Wise?
Wise is a visa card so yes.
aidris87
post Oct 6 2023, 11:11 AM

61 posts

just use any credit card you are fine

my advise dont bring cash at all overseas
moonsatelite
post Oct 6 2023, 11:12 AM

737 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 10:44 AM)
Agree, I believe they are mature in e-wallet it will be more easier for me. Just topup my Wise wallet whenever i need.
My Visa already approved, should be no problem and i will be travelling alone 1k AUD in cash should be suffice?
8 days and AUD $1,000 hmm.... You'll have to gauge yourself how cheap living in Malaysia is, traveling to Europe, America's, Oceania's, just stepping out your door, you'll have to spend USD $10 at least, be it transportation, food, etc...

People living in the mentioned regions often cook and eat at home.

Also, there's always this quote mentioned on all visa forms, "Visa approval does not guarantee entry into (Country's name), entry is subjected to immigration approval"
viktorherald
post Oct 6 2023, 11:12 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 10:49 AM)
Its my first time using Wise actually. In Malaysia i dont carry cash with me at all, just because its my first time in Melbourne and i will be travelling alone just wanna be safe if Digital payment is mature there  biggrin.gif
You can try top up a MYR in WIse account, and do a small swipe there and see how it goes

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Oct 6 2023, 10:49 AM)
in my experience, it just charge the exchange rate listed in the app +1% and thats it

This post has been edited by viktorherald: Oct 6 2023, 11:14 AM
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 6 2023, 11:15 AM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Oct 6 2023, 11:12 AM)
in my experience, it just charge the exchange rate listed in the app +1% and thats it

He's talking about Australia.
viktorherald
post Oct 6 2023, 11:16 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Oct 6 2023, 11:15 AM)
He's talking about Australia.
yeah i mean i dont see any CC network charges in here

This is what i saw on the WISE pricing website
https://wise.com/my/pricing/card-fees?sourc...R&targetCcy=AUD

seems like the fees is just 0.6%, which is way lower than CC network + exorbitant bank FX rate

This post has been edited by viktorherald: Oct 6 2023, 11:17 AM
blanket84
post Oct 6 2023, 11:16 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 10:52 AM)
even with Wise?
Any cards. Only small retailer do that though. Supermarket, departmental stores, established brand stores wouldn't charge you extra.
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 6 2023, 11:18 AM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Oct 6 2023, 11:16 AM)

It's the retailers aka merchants sendiri add the surcharges if you choose to pay by card.
viktorherald
post Oct 6 2023, 11:18 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Oct 6 2023, 11:18 AM)
It's the retailers aka merchants sendiri add the surcharges if you choose to pay by card.
shocking.gif

but is it mean this practice is retailer by retailer basis? if choose good retailer then such problems will be more manageable?

This post has been edited by viktorherald: Oct 6 2023, 11:19 AM
mushigen
post Oct 6 2023, 11:19 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Oct 6 2023, 11:16 AM)

seems like the fees is just 0.6%, which is way lower than CC network + exorbitant bank FX rate
He's referring to the additional charge imposed by smaller Aussie merchants on top of the conversion fee you paid to top up your card to that foreign currency.

Just like how in the early days retailers here imposed 2% or 3% surcharge if you paid by cc.
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 6 2023, 11:22 AM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Oct 6 2023, 11:18 AM)
shocking.gif

but is it mean this practice is retailer by retailer basis? if choose good retailer then such problems will be more manageable?
Yes, small hostels/shops there still do that.
blanket84
post Oct 6 2023, 11:25 AM

1,520 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Oct 6 2023, 11:12 AM)
You can try top up a MYR in WIse account, and do a small swipe there and see how it goes

Apps got charges, retailer also got charges. So it's double charges.

Like you buy from small retailer here. CC price and cash price is different.
viktorherald
post Oct 6 2023, 11:26 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Oct 6 2023, 11:19 AM)
He's referring to the additional charge imposed by smaller Aussie merchants on top of the conversion fee you paid to top up your card to that foreign currency.

Just like how in the early days retailers here imposed 2% or 3% surcharge if you paid by cc.
Oh I see... hmm, then I have no good solution to that

Use cash on this situation, then swipe away on big purchases it is yeah?
billylks
post Oct 6 2023, 11:29 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Oct 6 2023, 10:46 AM)

For hotel, shops, 7eleven, mrt, we sure can use wise in Taiwan.

But how about for food stalls or pasar Malam? Do they accept debit card? Or qr app? Or cash only?
viktorherald
post Oct 6 2023, 11:31 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Oct 6 2023, 11:29 AM)
For hotel, shops, 7eleven, mrt, we sure can use wise in Taiwan.

But how about for food stalls or pasar Malam? Do they accept debit card? Or qr app? Or cash only?
thats why need cash to backup also. cards is only for big shopping spree
mhyug
post Oct 6 2023, 11:32 AM

1,553 posts

word of advice, shops dont have online terminals like qr pay etc. Not even coles have em, but they do have some spread on apple pay. So make sure you have your physical wise card too.

The digital card can be used for online purchase only like Uber etc.

This post has been edited by mhyug: Oct 6 2023, 11:33 AM
billylks
post Oct 6 2023, 11:37 AM

180 posts

QUOTE(viktorherald @ Oct 6 2023, 11:31 AM)
thats why need cash to backup also. cards is only for big shopping spree
No qr app ka? I was in Taiwan many years ago that time no ewallet yet.
viktorherald
post Oct 6 2023, 12:03 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(billylks @ Oct 6 2023, 11:37 AM)
No qr app ka? I was in Taiwan many years ago that time no ewallet yet.
oh, i think i didnt go through the trouble to research and set that up, just used cash all the way

cards definitely no i think

This post has been edited by viktorherald: Oct 6 2023, 12:05 PM
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 6 2023, 12:24 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Oct 6 2023, 12:32 PM)
word of advice, shops dont have online terminals like qr pay etc. Not even coles have em, but they do have some spread on apple pay. So make sure you have your physical wise card too.

The digital card can be used for online purchase only like Uber etc.
Apply pay is connected to Wise Digital Card, As long they have card machine u can just wave right?
rip_code
post Oct 6 2023, 12:42 PM

1,972 posts

Sekian muaks
put 90% into Wise and the rest just exchange to AUD cash to put aside for emergency just in case merchant doesn't have terminal.

You can still withdraw money using Wise card at any ATM and first two withdrawal is free (if your cash is out and need another physical cash)

Use Wise card/Apple Pay whenever you can.

I just got back from Perth weeks back and all my transaction via card or Apple Pay. I exhange couple of hundred dollars that doesn't used until my end of trip. Have to spent all during last day because coming back here and exchange, rugi on exchange fee.

edit: been to Coles, petrol station, wildife park, outskirt attracktion and even small coffee shop accept card.

This post has been edited by rip_code: Oct 6 2023, 12:43 PM
dickybird
post Oct 6 2023, 12:44 PM

2,093 posts

1k?
How long your stay?
Border force will sure hold you for suspected overstayer.
Lembu Goreng
post Oct 6 2023, 12:46 PM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 10:49 AM)
Its my first time using Wise actually. In Malaysia i dont carry cash with me at all, just because its my first time in Melbourne and i will be travelling alone just wanna be safe if Digital payment is mature there  biggrin.gif
and you dont have to carry cash at all in Melbourne.

Seriously.

TSGentleman_League
post Oct 6 2023, 12:50 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ Oct 6 2023, 01:42 PM)
put 90% into Wise and the rest just exchange to AUD cash to put aside for emergency just in case merchant doesn't have terminal.

You can still withdraw money using Wise card at any ATM and first two withdrawal is free (if your cash is out and need another physical cash)

Use Wise card/Apple Pay whenever you can.

I just got back from Perth weeks back and all my transaction via card or Apple Pay. I exhange couple of hundred dollars that doesn't used until my end of trip. Have to spent all during last day because coming back here and exchange, rugi on exchange fee.

edit: been to Coles, petrol station, wildife park, outskirt attracktion and even small coffee shop accept card.
thanks for the input sir, i have a few question in mind.

- Do u have any issue at the boarder for carrying less cash?
- If i apply just for Wise Digital Card should be ok right since its connect to apply pay?

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Oct 6 2023, 01:46 PM)
and you dont have to carry cash at all in Melbourne.

Seriously.
With all these comment, i gonna rethink about changing so much cash now haha
mushigen
post Oct 6 2023, 12:57 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 12:50 PM)

- If i apply just for Wise Digital Card should be ok right since its connect to apply pay?
Why not top up a bit to get a physical card sent to you?
pisces88
post Oct 6 2023, 01:04 PM

3,969 posts

credit card also ok ma
kevintth
post Oct 6 2023, 01:17 PM

1,618 posts

QUOTE(aidris87 @ Oct 6 2023, 11:11 AM)
just use any credit card you are fine

my advise dont bring cash at all overseas
have to see which country also ... Only those developed country la....

Like Thai... mostly cash. 7-11 now previously can use card... now min spending 200 baht only can use.

vhs1
post Oct 6 2023, 01:17 PM

2,830 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Oct 6 2023, 10:40 AM)
i dont carry any cash at all whenever i'm down under
I go SG, only cash $5 in my wallet. That also I didn't use at all.
MrBaba
post Oct 6 2023, 01:31 PM

2,506 posts

Sekian muaks
Wei u Malaysian better bring more cash else immi kick u out Aus . Not joking
ye0073
post Oct 6 2023, 01:32 PM

480 posts

Just back from Sydney, didnt bring cash. Only use Wise. Transportation also can accept Visa.
tifosi
post Oct 6 2023, 01:36 PM

Friend is someone to share last Cookie with!
5,156 posts

I’ve been to Thailand and Singapore recently, money changer rates are slightly better than Wise but the convenience of wise is unbeatable.

Just note that there are some merchants in oz that charges small % if you use card.
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 6 2023, 01:41 PM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Oct 6 2023, 01:31 PM)
Interesting. You kena before?
party
post Oct 6 2023, 01:41 PM

814 posts

Cash + card.

My fren kena beaten up when kena robbed coz no cash only card. Got cash kena robbed is cash hilang only
MrBaba
post Oct 6 2023, 01:46 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Oct 6 2023, 01:41 PM)
Interesting. You kena before?
U go ask around sure got alot case one, especially Sydney Melbourne airport . The immi there see Malaysian passport saja will auto on racist mode ( other pert of Aus don't have this issue ) .
I use APEC card don't have to deal with this bs .
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 6 2023, 02:27 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Oct 6 2023, 02:31 PM)
QUOTE(ye0073 @ Oct 6 2023, 02:32 PM)
Just back from Sydney, didnt bring cash. Only use Wise. Transportation also can accept Visa.
QUOTE(MrBaba @ Oct 6 2023, 02:46 PM)
U go ask around sure got alot case one,  especially Sydney Melbourne airport . The immi there see Malaysian passport saja will auto on racist mode ( other pert of Aus don't have this issue ) .
I use APEC card don't have to deal with this bs .
so who am i going to do. I plan to get 300 AUD in cash only now since alot of ppl asking me to use wise and i apply for digital/Physical card already.
jmas
post Oct 6 2023, 02:31 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

1k AUD, sure bo?
when kastam questioned u have to show u got enough in bank/cash to fund your trip, credit card not counted
happened many cases, especially m'sian get targeted, too many illegal working there

anyway, I would store cash in Wise then withdraw from ATM there
1k AUD (cash/in wise/in bank) is probably reasonable provided you already got accommodation

This post has been edited by jmas: Oct 6 2023, 02:36 PM
zstan
post Oct 6 2023, 02:33 PM

15,856 posts

i just came back from Australia. didn't use a single cent of cash
sinkiebaru
post Oct 6 2023, 02:35 PM

27 posts

Nowadays hardly need to use cash when overseas. Just bring a couple of hundred, the rest use card. Much safer.
MrBaba
post Oct 6 2023, 02:36 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 02:27 PM)
so who am i going to do. I plan to get 300 AUD in cash only now since alot of ppl asking me to use wise and i apply for digital/Physical card already.
U want to gamble it ma bring less money la , if they deny u entry mean u kena ban masuk Aus for 3 year. My friend case valid working holiday visa holder , immi spot he talk to a group of Malaysian ( Sydney airport ) that they suspect those ppl plan to jump aeroplane. The whole group kena bring into interview , even thou he got valid visa pun kena refuse entry .
If u unlucky shit can hit the fan quickly , if u lucky even u bring drug also can masuk Aus . So u pandai pandai la
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 6 2023, 02:36 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 6 2023, 03:33 PM)
i just came back from Australia. didn't use a single cent of cash
are u having trouble in boarder asking to prove of cash?
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 6 2023, 02:42 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Oct 6 2023, 03:31 PM)
1k AUD, sure bo?
when kastam questioned u have to show u got enough in bank/cash to fund your trip, credit card not counted
happened many cases, especially m'sian get targeted, too many illegal working there

1k AUD (cash/in wise/in bank) is probably reasonable provided you already got accommodation
yup i got all those documents with me, accommodation bnb details, my flight leaving australia and letters for my identification here
zstan
post Oct 6 2023, 02:44 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 02:36 PM)
now border straight scan passport on e-reader if from Malaysia. don't even need to talk to any human
Icehart
post Oct 6 2023, 02:45 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 6 2023, 02:44 PM)
now border straight  scan passport on e-reader if from Malaysia. don't even need to talk to any human
What does that mean? Can elaborate?
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 6 2023, 02:48 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 6 2023, 03:45 PM)
macam singapore, scan ur passport and wait for verification
zstan
post Oct 6 2023, 02:55 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 6 2023, 02:45 PM)
like KLIA e-gate
nottherealme
post Oct 6 2023, 02:59 PM

61 posts

Getting Australia visa is easy. Just apply online. Most that was denied all happened in the Australian airport. Sucks but that’s what they like to do. Anyway just recently travelled there last month they are not as strict anymore. I brought 500AUD just in case and the rest with CC.
myteam94
post Oct 6 2023, 03:17 PM

438 posts

Just came back from NSW

bring about 350AUD and CC, didn't get tahan

cuma at E-gate got bit issue because forgot to remove spec so scanner not detect face

just go another dedicated service Lane and voila, Immi officer check out and i enter Aussie.
ye0073
post Oct 6 2023, 03:59 PM

480 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 02:36 PM)
The boarder didnt ask to prove of cash for me as i am using smart gate.

Update: Wise now supports Apple Pay for Malaysia user also.

This post has been edited by ye0073: Oct 6 2023, 04:02 PM
Icehart
post Oct 6 2023, 04:09 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 02:48 PM)
macam singapore, scan ur passport and wait for verification
QUOTE(zstan @ Oct 6 2023, 02:55 PM)
like KLIA e-gate
Oh isn't this better? Less chance of kena social engineered and asked questions.
But I suppose if you look like someone who will abuse visa you can't board the plane anyway.
prophetjul
post Oct 6 2023, 04:10 PM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Oct 6 2023, 02:31 PM)
1k AUD, sure bo?

Been to Aus a dozen times, never asked to see cash. Who uses cash nowadays?
zstan
post Oct 6 2023, 04:20 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 6 2023, 04:09 PM)
Oh isn't this better? Less chance of kena social engineered and asked questions.
But I suppose if you look like someone who will abuse visa you can't board the plane anyway.
yeah. hence if u dont carry cash nobody question u also. cause they already know most people have credit cards
jmas
post Oct 6 2023, 04:25 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 6 2023, 04:10 PM)
not really cash on hand they looking for, just if you got enough money to support your trip, like cash in bank for example
to clear doubt that you are not there to work illegally
prophetjul
post Oct 6 2023, 04:29 PM

12,273 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Oct 6 2023, 04:25 PM)
not really cash on hand they looking for, just if you got enough money to support your trip, like cash in bank for example
That evidence was given during ETA application. Not at immigration.
adamtayy
post Oct 6 2023, 04:31 PM

1,399 posts

Sekian muaks
Do they have QR pay / e-wallet

8 days?

One day at least must prepare / put aside ~ 200 aussie dollar
jmas
post Oct 6 2023, 04:36 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 6 2023, 04:29 PM)
That evidence was given during ETA application. Not at immigration.
I see, this i not sure la
back in 2019 my group of fren almost kena send back cuz they say "not enough proof" luckily they got local ppl to vouch for them
rip_code
post Oct 6 2023, 05:32 PM

1,972 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 6 2023, 12:50 PM)

they didnt check for cash. not sure if that should be their SOP. but during applying ETA i do submit all my payslip, house title etc.
yes digital card fine. i add digital card to my apple pay the other day. wasn't support yet for Malaysia during my stay.

but i suggest just bring any CC that you have just in case if they ask how are you going to spend there.

dont forget to declare all the things. i heard now is very strict and once caught, they can either cancel your visa or shorten your length of stay cry.gif

This post has been edited by rip_code: Oct 6 2023, 05:50 PM
rip_code
post Oct 6 2023, 05:51 PM

1,972 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Oct 6 2023, 04:36 PM)
I see, this i not sure la
back in 2019 my group of fren almost kena send back cuz they say "not enough proof" luckily they got local ppl to vouch for them
yeah that was before covid. now ETA very slow to get. last time within few hours to 24 hours can get.

ETA nowadays need to submit all your income in this country like salary, car grant etc.
viktorherald
post Oct 6 2023, 09:43 PM

172 posts

Just remember TS, there's a comprehensive thread in finance section about Wise here

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4953197/+1980#entry108262820
Icehart
post Oct 6 2023, 09:58 PM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(rip_code @ Oct 6 2023, 05:51 PM)
yeah that was before covid. now ETA very slow to get. last time within few hours to 24 hours can get.

ETA nowadays need to submit all your income in this country like salary, car grant etc.
Depends on profile I guess.
Mine was approved in 2 minutes.
rip_code
post Oct 6 2023, 10:34 PM

1,972 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 6 2023, 09:58 PM)
wow seriously 2 minutes? fastest i ever heard.
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 9 2023, 09:54 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 6 2023, 10:58 PM)
2 minute even including IMMI and ETA app? wow thats fast, the fastest i get is 1 day with full support documents
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 9 2023, 09:56 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Oct 6 2023, 05:10 PM)
agree, i already discussed with my friends. We will put a 300AUD cash aside for emergencies, others we will use WISE and CC .

i already did applied Wise physical card for emergencies if i wanted to draw cash , and digitcal card is support by apple pay which is very convenient
Icehart
post Oct 9 2023, 10:30 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 9 2023, 09:54 AM)
2 minute even including IMMI and ETA app? wow thats fast, the fastest i get is 1 day with full support documents
2 minute after submission and paying the fees. Received the email - Thought it's gonna ask for full set of documents but surprised to see granted.
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 9 2023, 10:34 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 9 2023, 11:30 AM)
2 minute after submission and paying the fees. Received the email - Thought it's gonna ask for full set of documents but surprised to see granted.
oh not with IMMI, my parents get instant approve in ETA app they dont have to go thru IMMI.
Icehart
post Oct 9 2023, 10:38 AM

14,899 posts

QUOTE(Gentleman_League @ Oct 9 2023, 10:34 AM)
oh not with IMMI, my parents get instant approve in ETA app they dont have to go thru IMMI.
Let us know how your Australia trip and budget! I'm planning to go there next year.
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 9 2023, 10:44 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 9 2023, 11:38 AM)
Let us know how your Australia trip and budget! I'm planning to go there next year.
Flight is around 3k for Scoot, Accommodation 3.5k for 7 nights cause im staying in CBD right beisde Victoria Market. Thats all i can provide from now, thats the spending so far i got.
JimbeamofNRT
post Oct 9 2023, 10:52 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(ye0073 @ Oct 6 2023, 03:59 PM)
The boarder didnt ask to prove of cash for me as i am using smart gate.

Update: Wise now supports Apple Pay for Malaysia user also.
if muka jump aeroplane they will ask to you move aside
NXaqua
post Oct 9 2023, 11:44 AM

921 posts

Just sharing,

I be heading to Gold Coast, then Adelaide this mid Oct.

Will carry Wise, 2 credit card and cash 500aud.
It will be about 7 days stay, 2 days at hotel and 5 days relative house.

Too bad the weather is already warming up there.
TSGentleman_League
post Oct 9 2023, 11:47 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(NXaqua @ Oct 9 2023, 12:44 PM)
Just sharing,

I be heading to Gold Coast, then Adelaide this mid Oct.

Will carry Wise, 2 credit card and cash 500aud.
It will be about 7 days stay, 2 days at hotel and 5 days relative house.

Too bad the weather is already warming up there.
yes its coming to summer, it might be warm like msia not sure about the humidity
Virlution
post Oct 9 2023, 11:58 AM

483 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Oct 6 2023, 04:25 PM)
Yup.... no money = high risk

0.0302sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:49 PM