android 10 in 2023 safe?

TSmindmenglish
post Oct 3 2023, 06:03 PM, updated 3y ago

25 posts

hi. now i'm using android 9 for 3 yrs no problem atm ( for work, m2u. shopee, tng ). but interested at old huawei p30 2019 new display sell at rm599 android 10.

is it ok to use android 10 now? i google it said its 50/50 safe and better install antivirus.

the reason is i want 6 inch phone but now all phone 6.5 inch and

soul78
post Oct 3 2023, 06:17 PM

938 posts

in year of cyber attacks, malwares and hacks...

try to stick to phones that has ongoing support for Android and the company you buy from is still pushing patches and fixes to the phone.
cloudwan
post Oct 3 2023, 06:30 PM

- Knob -
8,526 posts

Better not, even my late sis Samsung Galaxy Note 9 on Android 10 already starting to show incompatibilities with some newer apps like MI Home app, can install but cannot create new account etc. Huawei i think worse still with they being cut off from google infra. Just my 2 cents tho.
Baconateer
post Oct 3 2023, 06:55 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

dont not get phone running android 10 anymore

bank apps will stop supporting it

for example Pbe app will supporting it soon..
awol
post Oct 3 2023, 07:26 PM

916 posts

i tot minimum android version now is 11?
acbc
post Oct 3 2023, 07:34 PM

9,050 posts

For security and banking, don't bother. Many banking apps won't work on it.

Better to spend a bit more and get something like OnePlus 7 Pro or Samsung Galaxy Note 10+ instead. These may be old 2019 models but still supported and using Android 12.
TSmindmenglish
post Oct 5 2023, 04:55 PM

25 posts

hmm tq 4 the reply. but my aunt an insurance agent also use android 9 now for 3 yrs ( m2u, cimb, bsn, petrol )
even at kampung also my niece bisnes online kuih also android 9 they said no problem
PRSXFENG
post Oct 5 2023, 08:05 PM

2,614 posts

Realistic answer, not really unsafe, considering people out there are still using Windows 7 browsers and guess what, the banking websites dont care
yet android devices get the unfair treatment forcing you to upgrade

sure, security patches are important but honestly I feel like they rarely affect the end user

Also, DO NOT bother with Android antivirus, useless
just do not install apks from unknown sources and sketchy cleaner turbo booster ultra 2023 photo editor pro apps from the play store and you'll be fine

This post has been edited by PRSXFENG: Oct 5 2023, 08:06 PM
nordtty
post Oct 16 2023, 04:51 PM

112 posts

and use adblocker, always
andrekua2
post Oct 19 2023, 11:09 AM

13,489 posts

QUOTE(mindmenglish @ Oct 3 2023, 06:03 PM)
hi. now i'm using android 9 for 3 yrs no problem atm ( for work, m2u. shopee, tng ). but interested at old huawei p30 2019 new display sell at rm599 android 10.

is it ok to use android 10 now? i google it said its 50/50 safe and better install antivirus.

It is not about secure or not. It really depends on the mobile banking app support. RHB for instance had stop supporting Android 8 and probably Android 9 soon. I heard some said PBB already stopped supporting even Android 9.

I think if you wanna do mobile banking, buy a new phone with current Android 13 and be supported for at least 3-4 future Android update.

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Oct 19 2023, 11:09 AM
Raymond T.
post Oct 19 2023, 09:56 PM

Glock 19 Holder
1,368 posts

You may buy for general use while not for sensitive application such as banking / finance / etc
JLA
post Oct 23 2023, 09:27 AM

2,795 posts

android version is not the problem
user is the problem
install app from unofficial store

WATCH: How do scammers take over your phone and steal your money? (23:19)
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/cna-insider...protect-3858756
enriquelee
post Oct 25 2023, 10:13 AM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

Public bank already send me 2nd reminder that their mobile app will not be able to use on Android 10 soon.
JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 8 2023, 11:31 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(mindmenglish @ Oct 5 2023, 04:55 PM)
hmm tq 4 the reply. but my aunt an insurance agent also use android 9 now for 3 yrs ( m2u, cimb, bsn, petrol )
even at kampung also my niece bisnes online kuih also android 9 they said no problem
then you already answer your own question .
SixteenNine
post Dec 1 2023, 08:25 AM

36 posts

its time to buy new phone. adroid 10 not many apps support anymore.

i suggest by mid range phone such as poco F5 or honor x9B 5G. RM1.5k
Kasawari 2
post Dec 1 2023, 08:46 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(enriquelee @ Oct 25 2023, 10:13 AM)
Public bank already send me 2nd reminder that their mobile app will not be able to use on Android 10 soon.
Public bank already stop their app support below Android 10 months ago. However, I am still using Huawei phones with Android 7 & 9 by accessing via their internet banking website using the secure sign token until I get a new phone with latest Android 12 or 13. Currently both old phones still in working order and not in a hurry to buy new one as I am too stingy to splash > RM1.5 k for one. Security wise, just don't access sites on public wifi will be safe I guess.
PRSXFENG
post Dec 2 2023, 11:39 AM

2,614 posts

QUOTE(Kasawari 2 @ Dec 1 2023, 08:46 AM)
Public bank already stop their app support below Android 10 months ago. However, I am still using Huawei phones with Android 7 & 9 by accessing via their internet banking website using the secure sign token until I get a new phone with latest Android 12 or 13. Currently both old phones still in working order and not in a hurry to buy new one as I am too stingy to splash > RM1.5 k for one. Security wise, just don't access sites on public wifi will be safe I guess.
Honestly this is what I don't get about old phones being "unsecured"

Use banking app on old operating system? - DANGER DANGER

Do banking via browser on an old operating system? - totally fine
You could have a gazillion pieces of malware in the background and it wouldn't even know
Kasawari 2
post Dec 2 2023, 01:26 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Dec 2 2023, 11:39 AM)
Honestly this is what I don't get about old phones being "unsecured"

Use banking app on old operating system? - DANGER DANGER

Do banking via browser on an old operating system? - totally fine
You could have a gazillion pieces of malware in the background and it wouldn't even know
I use brave, duck duck go, vivaldi or firefox browser for internet banking rather than chrome as extra precaution.
Brotherjoe
post Dec 22 2023, 01:15 PM

2,217 posts

QUOTE(mindmenglish @ Oct 3 2023, 06:03 PM)

some bank need android 11 already.
JLA
post Dec 28 2023, 09:11 AM

2,795 posts

app dev just follow what google play store minimum android version target
google way to kill old android phone

0.0257sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled