Home solar 4 months in.

Cavino
post Sep 28 2024, 06:10 PM

842 posts

Now jinko panel have 590kw per panel, ja solar 610kw....i heard some have reach 700kw to 750kw per panel, anyone heard of that? If yes, what solar panel brand has this in Malaysia market. I just sign up for jinko, then heard someone supposedly have these kw panel available? Not sure if it's true.. My roof design limits the panel I can put in, so darn cialat if my signup jinko now has 590kw while others already reach 700 to 750kw.
Cavino
post Sep 30 2024, 01:20 PM

842 posts

Actually I corner lot supposedly got bigger roof compared to the middle terrace but the roof design with so many corner and triangle shape thus instead of putting straight rows of panels, i have to split it up...2 over here inside this triangle spaced roof, 1 over there, 3 more over here...

So instead of roof with space with at least 20 panels, my old style roof design can only fit 11 already max out. Forced to use my car porch roof to add more that is originally not in the plan.

Yes, the space is very limited thus bigger size panels will reduced the number of panels I can put in aka in 1 part of roof, we try to squeeze in 4 panels but if size if bigger, maybe only 2-3 panels.

That is why I asking if consumer (not commercial), heard got 700-750KW panels, if almost similar size then can use same number of panels to generate higher capacity. I targeted 22-23 panels for 13k++ Kwh..but now maxed out at 10+ Kwh and that is pushing limits on all available roof space. In practical installation later, not 100% sure if need to remove another panel or 2 if real installation cannot fit.

As I hear from relatives mentioned now got 700-750Kw per panels, why still using 590 Jinko and 610 Ja solar that is already outdated now...I blur liao coz I tot currently (as of now only) in Malaysia, most tier 1 are at 590 to 610 or I am wrong at that?

So I ask here got anyone hear anything about 700kw panels (at least on tier 1 graded panels)?

This post has been edited by Cavino: Sep 30 2024, 01:28 PM
Cavino
post Sep 30 2024, 01:32 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Sep 30 2024, 01:27 PM)
First of all, you already signed the contract, right? Many tier 1 650-700W is available but installer don't like it much due to difficulty in handling it especially when you are on a roof top.  sweat.gif
Signed....immediately 2nd day hear got...

But if you mentioned 650-700w got installation difficulty, that means the panels are much heavier and bigger? Then that might not be any better than the current panels due to extra weight and size, at least in regards to my roof. The car porch, I try not to increase too much weight.

I initial tot same panel size and weight but with better efficiency...then I regret sign so fast coz rushing to see if still can bet on current NEM quota. But if increase size and weight, then I think ok to stay with the current jinko 590 due to space limitation of my roof.

If however missed the current NEM, then while waiting to later NEM, most likely new panels might arrive by then. Waiting got both pro and cons.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Sep 30 2024, 01:36 PM
Cavino
post Sep 30 2024, 03:44 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Sep 30 2024, 02:50 PM)
Hmm... what is your inverter capacity? if you already at 1.2 performance to your inverter, there is little benefit to go for 700-750 panel, unless by doing so means you want to install less panel. But generally when you sign, it already indicate number of panels... as the surveyor should have calculate the roof size and fittings, routings into the costs.
Quoted Hoymiles HMS1800, 4-5 units split up over the roof since my solar panels are all over. Some are 4 panels together, some 1, some 2..As of now 18 panels unless under actual installation, got problems due to angle of the roof..
Cavino
post Oct 30 2024, 10:00 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(mrstohchu @ Oct 26 2024, 03:28 PM)
Seems that most are on HMS as i can barely find any user contribution on HMT. Price wise, i got my system comparable to a HMS system so i went with it despite there being not much review on this series (To be fair, my vendor said he underquoted me).

So far only diff is i get a balanced distribution of the energy to each phase* n my per panel max is slightly higher. Asides from that, i cannot tell or have yet to discover.

*Good or bad i dont know, mr google n chat GPT says balanced better, others say ability to customise better 🤷🏻‍♀️.
HMS are having 4 MPPTs while HMT having 2 MPPTs.

That means HMS series can have 1 MPPT to each panels while HMT are sharing 2 panels to 1 MPPT.
From my understanding, the more MPPT the better it is for efficiency of each independent panels.

Due my roof setup with many angles, separated with some facing front, some side, some bundle 4 panels, some 1 or 2 panels, the installer recommended 1 MPPT to each panel as each panels can have independent start-up, different shading efficiency, etc. So due to my panels splitting limited roofing positioning, HMS series are better than HMT albeit have to tie down each inverter to individual phase.

HMT with 2 MPPT will confined to 2 panels to same MPPT, with each dual panels having same startup, efficiency (the lowest of the 2), etc. If all facing same direction, they say ok but still I am unsure if 4 MPPT single phase in this case got any advantage over 2 MPPT 3 phase inverter.

Cavino
post Oct 30 2024, 02:45 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Oct 30 2024, 01:22 PM)
which is that?...

i checked many -4T mi... they all show 2 mppts only...
I also tot 2mppt based on website but my installer send this....they using 4mmpts.
I think this is the one in website Europe without D or DW behind just HMS-2000. The one in website for Asia comes with HMS-2000D or DW behind..

This post has been edited by Cavino: Oct 30 2024, 03:12 PM
Cavino
post Oct 30 2024, 02:47 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Oct 30 2024, 02:01 PM)
How long usually SEDA take to approve?
Usually 10 days after installer pay to SEDA but nowadays very hard to say...some goes up to a month after payment to SEDA. I am on the 3rd working week after payment from supplier to SEDA, still waiting.
Cavino
post Nov 4 2024, 02:53 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(RVN10 @ Nov 4 2024, 01:30 PM)
When was the submission?

with only 9.7869MWac left i am worried. i booked yesterday with Ihsan-PG.. not sure how efficient PG with submission.
He did on early October. My installer paid SEDA (I receive the payment confirmation from SEDA), on 9th....and almost a month liao and I have not receive my approval.

You will receive an email later from SEDA for payment (both you and your installler, at least for my case). Once your installer pay SEDA, I'm told your requested quota will be reserved as one of the applied quota aka safe while waiting for approval.

For me, I am not too worry as I can wait BUT I am not sure if Solaris quota can wait....nanti habis when mine was done and I can't do installation on December as I am not around... cry.gif

This post has been edited by Cavino: Nov 4 2024, 02:57 PM
Cavino
post Nov 27 2024, 08:52 AM

842 posts

I wanted 24 pcs of solar but only managed to squeeze in 18 pcs based on earlier engineer drawing. After installation and squeezing even more by the actual installer, we realised we can add at least another 4-5 pcs of panels here and there.

Now since my solar are already activated and NEM 3.0 has extend another 50MW, does anyone know if there is any possibility SEDA can allow application to add on more panels coz I heard from installer that SEDA only allow a single application although he will go check again if can apply for add-on to increase the panels.
Cavino
post Nov 27 2024, 09:01 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Nov 26 2024, 11:25 PM)
1. I have no water filter with heating function.
2. Unlikely my solar water heater coz last checked in January. But i would do what you suggested to be sure.
3. Water bill is low and no spike
4. No dryer as well
My solar water heater has pull a line for switch to do manual electric switch on.

That means I leave the manual electric power off all the time and the heater will run on solar. Once the water is not hot anymore means the solar powering the water has run out. Then only I switch on the electric power for about half an hour...once heat up, I switch the power off. This allow us to track if solar is working OR if manual power inverter is also working and also prevent current from keep charging the water non stop during non sunny days.

Yesterday my night electricity shoots up to 20 units vs my usual 12 units....coz we have to iron double the amount of clothes (probably 1 hour and more).

Also the fridge if non-inverter and acts up can cause the electricity to shoot up.

Last time b4 I switch to water filter, we use those permanent water heater vacuum...worked ok all the time until it shorted..it still works but the bills shoots up double and triple. Did not realise the dispenser is the cause coz it is still working until we switch it off and the daily current falls down greatly.

So hard to detect sometimes as they are still working but suddenly consume power like crazy. Only switch off 1 at a time daily to track can track.
Cavino
post Dec 26 2024, 11:49 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(justinwong85 @ Dec 20 2024, 03:28 AM)
dear sifu, need some advise here
i'm currently looking to setup solar, bill at 600 per month, and planning to get an EV car probably in a year or two
house facing west, roof top deck slanted and will be facing east if panel is install at the roof deck, issue is that behind my house, there's a high rise which will be causing significant shadow during morning until noon
is this still viable for solar consideration?
or better off to extend my car porch front and install solar on top, since i'm facing west, and there's no blocking on that view
Although the strongest solar generation are generally from 12pm onwards, morning to afternoon lighting still contribute substantial solar power. Generally shading can halves your solar generation. Now you calculate whether the money spend installing the solar vs estimated solar generation (generally calculated 20% less than what is quoted by installer, and in your case, might even need to reduce to 50% of expected generation). Then you see worth it or not. My own one takes about 6-7 years for ROI that is based on the quoted -20% rate. Now, my roof are having many triangles and there might be some minor shading, it can drop further to 8 years for ROI....

Might not even be worth it but already installed and December is not a good example for average solar generation per month due to many cloudy and rainy days vs the rest of the years.
Cavino
post Jan 14 2025, 11:03 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jan 10 2025, 08:56 PM)
panel has at least 3 bypass diodes... if shading or faulty, the affected section is bypassed...

on a string system... you have normal production from other panels and probably partial production from the shaded or faulty panel...

on micro inverter... the shaded or faulty panel most likely will have zero production because it has insufficient startup voltage...

so a string system is better here...
Like that what is point of micro inverters in such cases.....

One of their strength vs string inverter last quoted is 1 panel failing won't affect others while string inverter's panel failure might affect others.
If string inverter can do the same (1 panel failing in the same wired group, not affecting others), then that so call micro-inverter advantage is muted.
Cavino
post Jan 20 2025, 06:08 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(bleeper @ Jan 20 2025, 02:51 PM)
Means I have to wait for the tnb bill right? My first bill will be around 10th Feb. That’s why wondering if the Tnb usage graph can be used or not.
The bill only show solar that has been exported out to TNB minus the what is imported in for your TNB usage.

When power is generated by solar and flow to the meter, they will be diverted to be consumed by your daytime usage aka refrigerator, day time air-cond, light, etc. Any balance will be exported to TNB. The solar power that was consumed BEFORE the balance was exported out to TNB is the missing number between your total solar generation and TNB calculation.

For eg, my solar generated 866kwh on Dec but exported only 618kwh. I used 656kwh on TNB power...
So my usage minus the export is 38kwh and was charged 2.18 cents for each unit not inclusive the taxes.

That means my day time direct consumption from the solar panels is 248kwh. That is 1/4 of the solar generation already, while night usage are way higher.
That is mostly without aircond in daytime (coz December mostly cool month)...Also we are not in for about a week except for 1 person at home.

Imagine when hot weather comes and daytime air-cond will be use before my 80 years old mom get dehydrated from heat...hehehe...

I need at least 1/4 or 1/3 more solar panels but my roof almost full liao.

One disadvantage of micro-inverters for 3 phase, each inverter is connected to a phase. Meaning if 1 of the phase need more power than the connected microinverters can provide, the other inverters connected to other phase with more solar power cannot help, have to import from TNB instead. Any balance from other phase will be exported to TNB.

The hoymiles has 3 phase microinverters but surprisingly they have only 2 mppts vs single phase microinventers with 4 mppts. So we opt for single phase inverters for efficiency.

If only my roof can take string inverter...but the panels are spread out too wide and at odd numbers.
Cavino
post Jan 21 2025, 09:26 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jan 21 2025, 02:40 AM)
Not allow to add without SEDA approval, but if reapply for upgrade is a different story.

But if you ask contractor to do for you, it won't be cheap. And if you are just adding additional panel, not much contractor will want to do it. cause less profit....  so they will either charged high labour cost or turn you down. In short it is not so worth it. (this is case of buying bigger inverter waiting to install more panels later)

But if like your usage is too high, and after factoring all additional cost, upgrading is still worth for you... then be it lo... it all depends to your kwh tariff tier and the upgrade price.
Ya, I kena that....engineer say max 18 panels due to roof (it is very tightly spaced) when I wanted 22-24 panels. Then during installation, the installer say can add more BUT engineer draw and calculate based on drone pics..haiz..miscalculated.

Since NEM extended, I requested to add more panels but was quoted exorbitantly....with over 60% price increase per panel (inclusive a microinverter). After calculated the ROI, not worth it. I gave up.

Anyway, turned out 2 of my panels shaded badly. Will shift to new location meaning only 2-3 panels space left and only 1 at good location...so I gave up and live with below RM400-RM480 worth of generation instead of RM600-700++ as I initially planned.
Cavino
post Jan 21 2025, 09:31 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Jan 21 2025, 04:00 AM)
4.92kwp 8panels , 2 micro inverter
7.38kwp 12panels,3micro inverter

diff 6k for extra 4panels + 1micro inverter

BTW ,your average tnb bill how much?
Mine installed liao but other installer.

If want more, better do it together coz if you want to add more after installation, you have to reapply SEDA, another skylift cost.

My installer those corporate company...a bit regret coz if go for individual aka small installer may have charge much lower...

Your 4 panels + 1 microinverter (I assume is Hoymiles HMS2000) difference only 6K coz installed at 1 go.
When I want to add new SEDA application for 4 panels + 1 HMS2000, they charge 11K.....I gave up, ROI not worth it for me. If 6K, I straight add then...
Cavino
post Jan 27 2025, 03:34 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 25 2025, 09:10 AM)
For a solar panel system costing 30k.

Which cc is good for earning cashback/points even after converting txn TO Installment for 60mth? CC must not have annual fee otherwise need to ask for fee waiver yearly.
Many CC when converted to EPP installment, there will be no points or cashback for those transactions.
Cavino
post Mar 6 2025, 11:24 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee @ Mar 6 2025, 09:32 AM)
not sure but mine since installation in Dec and running...
in Dec i paid RM2.85 follow by Jan -2.85 and Feb -3.30 with surplus total 110 kwh now  biggrin.gif 
with average RM250 bill now no need paid anything...
Once your bill (import) exceeded 600 kwh, any charges therefore are charge 8% SST, then you have 1.6% charges of your overall usage (not including SST).

Even if your solar generation contra all of that off, the SST and 1.6% will still remain..plus the RM3 minium charges.

So in Feb, I have imported 671kwh from TNB. My solar generation contra all of it off with extra solar generated leftover for next month.
I still got the SST charges RM3.10 (71 units above 600) with 1.6% (1.6% of RM270.57 based on 671units) RM4.33 plus RM3...= RM10.43

So if you are heavy users, the more you imported from TNB during the month, even if your solar generated are super high and covers all of it, you will still have to pay the SST and ICPT charges plus with min. charges. Either way the government still get the tax even if TNB does not charge your anything....oh wait, they do, the minimum charges.

This post has been edited by Cavino: Mar 6 2025, 01:32 PM
Cavino
post Apr 29 2025, 11:14 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Apr 29 2025, 09:01 AM)
Not really, better get your vendor to checked the cabling & sub DB. By the way for those of you using micro, I would like to share this news. It could be an isolated case though. My friends micro installed with PG in 2023 started giving issues, last month 1 unit dead & was replaced & last week another unit too. Lucky for PG my friend unit was installed on his balcony instead of underneath the panel on the roof. Otherwise need pay 2X skylift charges.
On usage of skylift, I think only if change solar panel only need skylift to remove and get the panel up there. My solar guy relocate few panels last time (due to shading), on the same roof (different position) and did not use skylift. One time got leak under panels in roof, they lift/remove the panels and fix the problem under the panels, no need skylift also.

Sien, mine using 5 micro units. Feel like its a matter of when within the 10 years as I believe PG using Hoymiles as well...

This post has been edited by Cavino: Apr 29 2025, 11:19 AM
Cavino
post May 8 2025, 09:35 AM

842 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ May 7 2025, 09:43 PM)
So far met 2 guys got issues, 1 from PG the other Solaroo. Both installed in 2023, PG last month 1 dead took about 2 weeks to replaced & last week another unit, not replaced yet, JB. Solaroo is worst, the guy(ipoh) asked me you mean this year? Seems his last year start dying but very quick to replaced though. This year already 2 dead but replacement was next day, with skylift service.

I wonder why need skylift unless they need to change the solar panel itself (skylift need to lift new and remove old solar panel to/from the roof). If just lifting panel to change microinverter, no need sky lift ler. Unless again, the roof cannot be access unless using skylift.

My installer relocated the solar panels from front roof to back roof without skylift.

Cavino
post Jun 5 2025, 12:38 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(ameliorate @ Jun 4 2025, 09:33 PM)
Can you explain a bit how this works? I assume imported from grid meaning night time usage? Exported to grid meaning extra from daytime?
This is my 2 cents for microinverters with 3 phases (my understanding)

Eg. You have 5 microinverters with 3 tnb phases, black, yellow and blue.

1 microinverter goes to black, 2 goes to yellow and 2 goes to blue (yes, each microinverters is attached to a phase, not combined to all 3 phases).

Lets say your black phase with 1 microinverter generated 4kw a day

Case 1 : your electricity usage of that phase in daytime is 3kw, you will export 1kw back to TNB.
Case 2 : your usage is 6kw during the day, you will import 2kw from TNB to cover the shortfall.

That is for black phase only.

Note : Solar generated during the day will be immediately consumed by devices that use electricity attached to that phase during the day. When the power generated exceeded the power usage of that phase, then only you have excess to be exported to TNB.

Assuming your other microinverters generation in 2 other phases minus usage has surplus, you manage to have a balance of combined 40kw from other 2 phases.

In case 1 above : You will add 1kw from solar to the 40KW to be exported back to TNB = 41kw exported for the day.

However in case 2 :
Your elec usage for black phase exceeded the solar generated for that phase meaning you got to import 2kw from tnb to cover the shortfall during the day.
Many assume the 40kw from other phases will cover the shortfall BEFORE exporting to TNB thus TNB will receive 38kw. WRONG.
Each phase direct solar usage (not exported) and surplus export are independent. Once exported from a phase and then when you import back from TNB, then it will cover all phases when used.
That means your black phase will IMPORT 2kw from TNB to cover your usage of 6kw (4 solar generated) in that line. While your other phase surplus will EXPORT 40kw to TNB.

You would think it's the same, right, in the end you still got charge for only 38kw (40Kw export - 2 KW import).
Technically you are correct BUT the taxes and ICPT charges.....any unit you import from TNB will be taxed (if exceed 600 units) with ICPT charges.
Any units you used from solar generation BEFORE export to TNB will not be calculated in TNB Bills since they are used up before even entering TNB meter to be exported.

Meaning if we export 40 and import 2kw, TNB will charge us 2kw in taxes even if your 40kw can cover the actual per unit price at no cost to you (have excess 38kw). TNB will still calculate the imported 2kw in taxes and icpt.

In another word, any units THAT you import from TNB will be calculated for tax (6% tax for any unit above 600)and icpt (total unit cost - tax) regardless if this is your own excess exported to TNB.

So any solar power used before EXPORT is not calculated by TNB but anything that goes back to TNB and then re-imported will be calculated WITH TAXES and ICPT cost.

So advantage of daytime usage of solar is no tax and icpt cost. Those who generated a lot during the day but also used a lot during the night might not need to pay for unit cost (if export>import) BUT you will get taxes and ICPT charges for all the unit you import even if it is technically your own excess electricity that has been exported to TNB during the day.

Another advantage of daytime direct solar usage before any excess is exported to TNB is when you have very high usage. Assuming if you have no solar installed, you will hit 1800 units per month usage but with solar installed and your daytime solar usage is 500 units with remaining 1300 units imported from TNB. TNB will only registered the 1300 in their bills and you will not hit 1500 units in their tnb bill total usage calculation, then no extra 10cents per unit after 1500 cost.

Another example is if actual usage is 700 units, but with solar, your daytime usage of 200 units means your import become less than 600 units (tnb did not register your direct solar usage before export to TNB), you will not get tax and might even get ICPT rebate below 600 units. (ok, this one is theory but if based on logic, it should be that, hopefully someone with below 600 units imported can confirmed.)

This post has been edited by Cavino: Jun 6 2025, 11:23 AM

0.1576sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:38 PM