35 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 >Bottom

Home solar 4 months in.

bee88
post Aug 19 2025, 07:13 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Aug 19 2025, 02:59 PM)
they just give 25 years,
they will 101 reason to void the warranty specially on the water side,
cause IP68 is not guarantee water cannot go in.
and no warranty on water protection.
the company also dunno still around after 10 to 15 years
For micro, Replacement is one to one.. they don’t and unable to open and check if water or not. From what I know, Hoymiles straight give debit note for new inverter to supplier unlike string inverter. So as long the companies still around, should be okay de.
bee88
post Aug 19 2025, 11:07 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Aug 19 2025, 08:47 PM)
Does Pathgreen replaced the micro up on the roof with skylift service included for 10 years, no labour or any other charges? brows.gif
So far okay la. Haven’t over the warranty period yet for me. But Their price is reasonable for the labour anyway for year 6 onwards. Just few hundred and can have coverage for another year with unlimited service request.
bee88
post Aug 20 2025, 08:39 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Aug 19 2025, 11:56 PM)
Oh, 6th year onwards chargeable? If need used skylift habis lo brows.gif
No need skylift.
bee88
post Aug 20 2025, 01:20 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Scissorshand @ Aug 20 2025, 01:01 PM)
To replace micro inverter don’t require sky lift la halo
But if house is 3 storey, maybe need, if there is no roof access. Usually should have roof access with ladder though.
bee88
post Sep 2 2025, 10:37 PM

303 posts

I think for solar users no point going tou. It seems like they now even have peak and off peak generation record for export. And of course this could indicate something fishy going on soon.
bee88
post Sep 2 2025, 10:39 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Sep 2 2025, 07:58 PM)
Just got my bill :

August (TOU) : RM364
July (Non TOU: RM247

Usage for both and Solar generation almost the same.

I wonder if the bill is wrong? Any one can guide me thru and "My penjanaan in the bill is 0"

Weird
It’s just a glitch in calculation. They will rectify soon with second bill.
bee88
post Sep 3 2025, 11:14 AM

303 posts

I trust my panels more than tou. Boosting export is my priority over tou.
bee88
post Sep 3 2025, 11:17 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 3 2025, 08:43 AM)
If they keep the current NEM deduction calculation, it is still feasible to go ToU for solar users coz technically they deduct the peak usage first regardless of when it is exported. During the holidays and weekends, usage is all in off peak rate (weekend day usage with multiple air-conds on hot day is pretty high for me).

However if they change to Peak Export can only be use for Peak Import and Off Peak export can only be use for Off Peak Import. Peak Export cannot be contra off for Off Peak Import that is initially rumoured (actually stated somewhere in TnB faq then), then ToU is not only not worth it, it might also be detrimental for NEM user to subscribe to ToU.

This is because most of our generation will likely be during Peak Period with peak usage contra off from direct solar generation. So with most of our solar generation exports accumulated during Peak Period, if cannot be use for off-peak usage where most household usage especially night air-cond users is in at night till morning, solar users will not only not benefit from ToU, it will be likely be a major loss where off peak import adds up with peak export sitting there and yet cannot contra them off. May as well stay with standard rates where all exports can be use for all imports.

So hopefully they keep to current calculation for NEM deduction aka deduct 100% Peak Import first then only follow by Off Peak Import deduction regardless of when it is exported.
However for my calculation in previous post, it will not be much but can still save up to 2 cups of starbuck in 1 year for me...haha.

But if they implemented the peak export can be use only for peak import, then I will be discontinuing ToU.
This is what I worry about. Or maybe in the future it’s just value based. Like u generate 1000kwh peak at 28 cent and 1000kwh at off peak 24 cent. Total credit u get is 280 ringgit and 240 ringgit. Rm520 ringgit. Then this rm 520 is used to offset the value of the peak and off peak usage (also value).

This will devalue ur generation.
bee88
post Sep 3 2025, 12:14 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Sep 3 2025, 11:34 AM)
What is the problem then? When the time comes, changed back to normal NEM and pay the rm10 charge, you only need to click a button and upload ic in the website
Yes. Will be okay if can change back.
bee88
post Sep 3 2025, 01:11 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ Sep 3 2025, 12:44 PM)
Can lar...at least for now. The main reason I sign in so fast for ToU is because TnB ensure this ToU it can revert back to Standard Rate at any time.
Will lose RM10 stamping fee and probably 1 month of value difference.

If I did not do ToU, I would not know my actual Peak and Off Peak actual import usage. The ToU subscription showed me the actual pattern of my usage. Even if I switch back to standard, the point of view has done its job and gave me a peak of my usage pattern if based on ToU rather than always wondering if I do ToU, what will the total be like vs Standard Rate.

I already can see that without solar panel, due to my family members aka parent using air-cond during daytime, my peak usage is almost same with my off peak usage.
The solar direct usage absorb almost all the daytime usage with remaining half of my peak period usage coming from 6pm+ to 10pm, where we have dinner, mom switch on air-cond again.

With solar panel absorbing half of the peak usage, I can achieve 30:70 peak and off peak usage ratio that is beneficial when calculating using ToU.

So if import > export and peak usage > off peak usage, ToU for NEM is worthwhile over long term if TNB does not do any UTurn on current calculation.

What bee88 fear is just that, TnB doing uTurn down the line which is very very possible. Coz I read TnB faq about peak export can only be used for peak import and cannot be use for off peak import. Now they do this favourable to us 100% peak import deduction first regardless of when it was exported...

So TnB can sort of uTurn the current calculation at any time and revert to the original screwed FaQ one.

Anyway for now, I know for sure ToU does benefit me long term but be prepare to lose some money first aka RM10 stamping fee and the bloody full SST charges of my over 600 units of usage coz they cut off at 23 days for me and bill me full SST charges on ALL the units imported. The already earned on your first bill before switching to ToU...hehe.
Yes. I am very sus with what their are doing ever since I uncovered that they could have made us pay for the network charge and capacity charge.

But tou or not, it’s just difference by a bit. The rule of thumb is if your import - export is 1000kwh, the tou saving is rm26 vs non tou. And if u manage to reduce to 500kwh difference , then the saving is only rm13. Since my case the difference is only 100kwh units, the saving if I switch to tou is only less than rm5.
bee88
post Sep 3 2025, 01:32 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Sep 3 2025, 01:27 PM)
So can do some magic to make the 100kW disappear! brows.gif
Of course doing it.
bee88
post Sep 12 2025, 01:06 PM

303 posts

Atap sudah keluar. Similar to nem nova
bee88
post Sep 12 2025, 03:19 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Sep 12 2025, 02:14 PM)
Seems like the offset for ATAP is energy charges only. Not include capacity/network/retail charges unlike NEM.
Based on smp I thjnk. Not the fixed energy charge that we see in the bill. Every month might change smp.
bee88
post Sep 17 2025, 06:51 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(LDP @ Sep 14 2025, 08:23 AM)
Thx for sharing. Any specific brand ?
Mine used Helukabel
bee88
post Sep 17 2025, 12:40 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Sep 17 2025, 11:10 AM)
Not CCA.
Cca I thought not so good?

https://www.helukabel.de/de-en/Newsroom/Ite...-or-copper.html

This post has been edited by bee88: Sep 17 2025, 12:55 PM
bee88
post Sep 17 2025, 06:54 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Sep 17 2025, 06:05 PM)
CCA for solar is not Copper Cladded Aluminium! Helukabel is DCA. My house also used 4mm Hellukabel but if I know then would rather used 6mm Kuka CCA. From low to high fire resistance DCA, CCA, B2CA & B1CA.
Oh. Yes. Hellukabel that I use is this grade.

Flammability class: Dca
Smoke emission class: s2
Drip particle class: d2

Why only 4mm instead of 6mm the usual size?
bee88
post Oct 4 2025, 07:52 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(jeckyl @ Oct 3 2025, 01:10 PM)
Do we know what is the range for the "System Marginal Price"? Is it in use under NEM already or it will be new tariff under Solar ATAP?
Smp is usually hovering between 18 cent to 22 cent. Yes. It’s already being used since nem period for nem nova. So new tariff and atap will based on the same pricing. I don’t see the possibility of two smp price for different programmes that run concurrently.
bee88
post Oct 17 2025, 08:10 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Oct 17 2025, 09:46 AM)

System nowadays is much cheaper, 12.4kwp system around 45k EPP with 32kwh battery.  If cash term can negotiate for a few k more discount. This is enough for 1200kwh usage per month.
But one thing about the saving under this / atap is not fixed or predictable like nem. Just need to be aware of that. Overall the saving would be okay.
bee88
post Oct 17 2025, 08:36 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 17 2025, 08:22 PM)
If ROI takes 10 years then don't think it is worth it. I tot gov is  promoting renewable energy that would help data centers & EV industries n reduce dependency  on electricity & petrol subsidies, mana tahu allow TNB to take one step back. Those smaller rooftop solar companies would have a hard time to sustain.
ROI is about 75 months. Not exactly 10 years. Based on my friend’s setup under Bess. I feel it’s okay lah, not so bad, but this 75 months could possibly stretch a little further depending on weather. Yes, they are more sensitive to weather compared to nem. Also it depends on your usage as well. If the usage hit 1500kwh, will have better ROI.
bee88
post Oct 18 2025, 05:50 AM

303 posts

QUOTE(lurkingaround @ Oct 17 2025, 09:50 PM)
Most houseowners in Malaysia use most electricity at night, eg, cook dinner, wash clothes, watch TV, play computer, sleep in aircon rooms, charge EV car overnight, etc.

12kWp system = produces 1,200kWh per month = 40kWh per day but BESS/battery can only store 32kWh during daytime = about 6-7kWh would be exported to TNB during the day at RM0.21 per kWh under ATAP.

So, ROI is about 86 months or 7 years, not 75 months/6 years. Worth it.?
Like it said, it depends on your ussge and production. To get about 75 months, it’s based on 1500kwh usage above. It probably drag a little bit more to 80months, based on my experience on my monitoring on real production. 75 months is on paper. This also exclude when afa is negative. Afa is negative will affect ROI negatively. Coz under atap and Selco, ur import is highly reduced.

As for the usage, don’t forget that 1500keh and above will be in 37 cent energy rate, that’s why the saving is more.

35 Pages « < 32 33 34 35 >Top

0.1285sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 04:59 AM