News Car park operators liable for damage to vehicles

SUSMaybachS600
post Oct 2 2023, 08:54 AM, updated 3y ago

900 posts

Car park operators liable for damage to vehicles

PETALING JAYA: Which party is liable for damage caused to a vehicle when it is parked at a car park?

The issue of liability was raised recently when a motorist, Preshila Karunagaran, 27, discovered that her car had been damaged after parking it at a car park near the Puchong Prima LRT station.

Preshila, who works as a front desk receptionist at a hotel in Kuala Lumpur, said: “It’s disheartening, especially considering that I parked my two-month-old car in the car park on the assumption that it would be safe. I feel violated knowing that someone hit my car and ran away.”

She said she had to deal with the inconvenience of sending her car to a workshop and paying for the repairs, adding that when she approached a car park attendant, he claimed that he was unaware of the incident and that the CCTV there was not functioning.

“I lodged a police report, but there was little they could do since there was no evidence of who damaged my car.

“It’s unfair that I have to shoulder the cost for someone else’s misdeed. I wanted to file a claim with my insurance company, but that would take a few weeks to process.

“In the end, I paid RM4,859 to change the windscreens, two pairs of tyres and so on,” she added.

Lawyer Siva Ganish Sudrarajoo said car park operators can be held liable for damage to parked vehicles under contract law and the tort of negligence.

He said individuals have legal options and remedies available to them, including filing a civil claim for monetary compensation based on the tort of negligence and breach of contract.

“In Malaysia, the liability of car park operators under contract law is governed by the Contracts Act 1950. Their liability under tort is determined based on case law, with Donoghue vs Stevenson being the precedent followed by Malaysian courts,” he said.

In a landmark case, the Court of Appeal in Euro Rent A Car Sdn Bhd vs Sunway Parking Services Sdn Bhd (2020) held that the car park operator could not rely on an exemption clause to evade liability since the motorist had paid a fee to park at the facility. Hence, the parking operator must be held liable for negligence.

“When pursuing compensation for damage (to a vheicle) in a car park, it is important to be aware of the statutes of limitations.

“Legal action based on contract or tort must be filed within six years from the date the cause of action is accrued, as stipulated by the Limitation Act 1953.”

To strengthen a case against a car park operator, he emphasised that the factors and evidence taken into account when determining liability include both oral and documentary evidence.

“Claims for losses and damage can be made directly against the car park operator or through the individual’s insurance company, provided the loss or damage is covered by the insurance policy.

“Individuals should gather documentation such as a copy of the parking ticket or receipt to prove that they parked their vehicle at the operator’s car park.

“Dashcam footage or pictures or videos of the car park surroundings may also serve as crucial evidence, especially in cases of theft or negligence,” he added.

Link: https://www.thesundaily.my/local/car-park-o...cles-MD11563096
St0rmFury
post Oct 2 2023, 08:57 AM

225 posts

I believe it was already decided that if the customer paid for parking, then the operator is liable for any damage.
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 2 2023, 09:00 AM

3,834 posts

If park road side pay dbkl kena damage can claim from dbkl or not?
party
post Oct 2 2023, 09:03 AM

816 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Oct 2 2023, 09:00 AM)
Yes but got tnc. But pls make sure u do pay for it
pureawesomeness
post Oct 2 2023, 09:04 AM

191 posts

What kind of accident caused windscreen damage and 4 tyres to be changed?

If this is the damage I would assume someone intentionally hit it, and probably it wasn't parked correctly. Just my guess.
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 2 2023, 09:06 AM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(pureawesomeness @ Oct 2 2023, 09:04 AM)

If this is the damage I would assume someone intentionally hit it, and probably it wasn't parked correctly. Just my guess.
Article never mentioned accident pun.
mac_mac21
post Oct 2 2023, 09:11 AM

189 posts

Free parking or paid parking ?
mac_mac21
post Oct 2 2023, 09:15 AM

189 posts

Parking operators should be responsible of the security la...

If parking operator suka suka put claused "management not held responsible for property damage", means management sendiri can go cannabalize the car for parts etc ect, and wash hand say the cctv not functioning

Napalm_man
post Oct 2 2023, 09:17 AM

723 posts

"he claimed that he was unaware of the incident and that the CCTV there was not functioning." - Typical...

"In a landmark case, the Court of Appeal in Euro Rent A Car Sdn Bhd vs Sunway Parking Services Sdn Bhd (2020) held that the car park operator could not rely on an exemption clause to evade liability since the motorist had paid a fee to park at the facility. Hence, the parking operator must be held liable for negligence." - Sorry boss, park at your own risk while me busy playing PUBG with my phone

killdavid
post Oct 2 2023, 09:18 AM

Senior Satire Officer
1,638 posts

What about those that come collect from you at those seemingly public spaces ?
If something happen can we ask them to bear it ? So easy come collect money on public space.
SUSredic
post Oct 2 2023, 09:19 AM

330 posts

CCTV not functioning story again

made in which country?
DarkNite

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(St0rmFury @ Oct 2 2023, 08:57 AM)
I believe it was already decided that if the customer paid for parking, then the operator is liable for any damage.
Correct as long as have council licence.
Licence parts of the requirements are liability insurance, cctv & emergency help button, if I'm not mistaken.

Do beware of unlicensed operator and public roads parking as these are at your own risk.

This post has been edited by DarkNite: Oct 2 2023, 09:20 AM
poweredbydiscuz

3,834 posts

QUOTE(mac_mac21 @ Oct 2 2023, 09:11 AM)
Free parking or paid parking ?
Those need to pay on weekdays one. Like last time need to pay at machine and now pay on tng app/jomparking/flexi parking.

Long time ago side windows got smashed but that time never thought of claim from dbkl.
zenix
post Oct 2 2023, 09:23 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

parking management always say "park at your own risk"

MR_alien
post Oct 2 2023, 09:23 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,581 posts

this is provided u even paid which i know a lot didn't

QUOTE(mac_mac21 @ Oct 2 2023, 09:15 AM)
Parking operators should be responsible of the security la...

If parking operator suka suka put claused "management not held responsible for property damage", means management sendiri can go cannabalize the car for parts etc ect, and wash hand say the cctv not functioning
this "clause" has been proven by multiple judge that it doesn't work in the face of the law

people today still put that clause in to scare people only(people who doesn't know)
treblecase
post Oct 2 2023, 09:40 AM

IHI
779 posts

Habis la after this parking operators will increase their fees.
SUStatabun
post Oct 2 2023, 09:42 AM

59 posts

got precedence already. he can go saman the parking operator if he wants
etan26
post Oct 2 2023, 09:44 AM

323 posts

QUOTE(pureawesomeness @ Oct 2 2023, 09:04 AM)

Someone is red eyed . . . more like it ...
thxxht
post Oct 2 2023, 09:48 AM

368 posts

sue the car park operators, their insurance may pay for the damages if they are found to be negligent
fatman_xing
post Oct 2 2023, 10:02 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(St0rmFury @ Oct 2 2023, 08:57 AM)
IMHO, I don't think so that Operators are liable for any damage per se, but for this case, the negligence of the Operator in ensuring the CCTVs are in working condition. Without the CCTV recordings, authorities are unable to trace the perpetrators. Therefore, they faulted on this.

0.0202sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:05 AM