QUOTE(tcwan @ Sep 28 2023, 07:19 PM)
This news article about FTTR left me scratching my head. What is the value proposition in adopting this technology?
Given that the article talks about fibering individual rooms in your home, for Gigabit speeds.
I’ve already done it with my own Gigabit PoE switch and Cat 5e to each room.
Assuming that we are taking about a clean slate, that may be something worth considering depending on the cost of equipment and fiber runs, but I don’t see how it’ll be beneficial to existing home installations.
In addition, all the equipment seems to be owned by thr ISP. So you won’t have any real control over network configuration and management in your own home either.
Maybe someone has a better idea of why it would be useful.
you imagine it like this lah;Given that the article talks about fibering individual rooms in your home, for Gigabit speeds.
I’ve already done it with my own Gigabit PoE switch and Cat 5e to each room.
Assuming that we are taking about a clean slate, that may be something worth considering depending on the cost of equipment and fiber runs, but I don’t see how it’ll be beneficial to existing home installations.
In addition, all the equipment seems to be owned by thr ISP. So you won’t have any real control over network configuration and management in your own home either.
Maybe someone has a better idea of why it would be useful.
• no hacking, just "paste" the fiber strand onto your wall, all the way to wanted corner of your premise. the "room" in the name is just euphemism to describe anywhere other than where your main router is.
• it's for LAN-to-LAN purpose.
• and of course the average joes and janes out there don't have equipment to convert the fibre signal into electrical pulse; that's why they came bundled with ISP equipment.
Sep 30 2023, 02:37 AM

0.0192sec