Fun with my first camera, noobie attempts of photography&photoshop

goliath
post Oct 26 2007, 10:33 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(V3i HoN6 @ Oct 26 2007, 10:29 AM)
Yeah, I feel boring after looking at other's gallery and looking back at mine. The composition is weak but I was pretty helpless that time rushing around and trying to avoid the crowd.
That's the ugly side of going on tour. Because tour guides will rush the hell of their groups from one place to another but dump them at souvenir shops for hours because they get commission from the sales the shop made... tongue.gif
TSV3i HoN6
post Oct 29 2007, 07:45 PM

ǝlıɥdouɥɔɐɹɐ
1,617 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Oct 26 2007, 10:33 AM)
That's the ugly side of going on tour. Because tour guides will rush the hell of their groups from one place to another but dump them at souvenir shops for hours because they get commission from the sales the shop made... tongue.gif
That's very true.
Countless of souvenir, herbs, tea shops for hours.
Visited 2 shopping plaza for 3 times EACH for excuses like dinner, go toilet before long journey, waiting for nearby park to open, and to stop by for toilet again, which lasted 1 and half hour. OMG.

Let's not forget that they arrange pretty decent hotels which located at ulu places so you get no access to normal shops, to make sure you won't find out their so called recommended shops are overpriced and most importantly they don't receive any commission from you.

My last trip to zoo negara.

8.user posted image
d(@@)b
post Oct 29 2007, 09:13 PM

724 posts

i like the first shot. may u ask what compact camera are you using? k, its canon A710

This post has been edited by d(@@)b: Oct 29 2007, 09:36 PM
leetplayer
post Oct 30 2007, 08:25 PM

O'le
984 posts

I love that elepahnt shot man! Good work.. but some picture have high contrast smile.gif
~rainNshine~
post Oct 30 2007, 10:39 PM

57 posts

Nice shots you have in your gallery. I like the macro shot of your tarantulas thumbup.gif
Your PS skill is good too!
I also happen to have the same camera as you but disappointing photography skill cry.gif
Maybe 1 day I have the courage to open a gallery for the sifu here to C&C biggrin.gif
Keep up the good work! rclxms.gif
aceejay
post Oct 30 2007, 11:45 PM

the wah-wah jimi !
972 posts

your first shot is the best but sadly..other pic kindda give bit of noise into the scene ..good try anyway thumbup.gif
TSV3i HoN6
post Oct 31 2007, 12:23 PM

ǝlıɥdouɥɔɐɹɐ
1,617 posts

QUOTE(leetplayer @ Oct 30 2007, 08:25 PM)
I love that elepahnt shot man! Good work.. but some picture have high contrast smile.gif
Yeah, it was so hard to get it pose for me.
Hands are everywhere trying to feed the fella and sometimes it got some water coming out from the trunk.
I wish I can freeze it and get closer to the trunk and blur the background more.

QUOTE(~rainNshine~ @ Oct 30 2007, 10:39 PM)
Nice shots you have in your gallery. I like the macro shot of your tarantulas  thumbup.gif
Your PS skill is good too!
I also happen to have the same camera as you but disappointing photography skill  cry.gif
Maybe 1 day I have the courage to open a gallery for the sifu here to C&C  biggrin.gif
Keep up the good work!  rclxms.gif
Thanks, glad that you like them.
I don't have any skills at all to talk about, just that I try to shoot as many as I can and learn from that.
You can post your shots here if you dont mind.

QUOTE(aceejay @ Oct 30 2007, 11:45 PM)
your first shot is the best but sadly..other pic kindda give bit of noise into the scene ..good try anyway thumbup.gif
The noise is deteriorated by the resizing program but most of the shots are far distance zoom except the first one and fifth one.

This post has been edited by V3i HoN6: Oct 31 2007, 02:41 PM
julchin_09
post Oct 31 2007, 12:53 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

Wah Hong. I didn;t know you had an interest in photography. Hey, LIke that this coming CNY, We go Penang Hill and Ferringhi again lar.... smile.gif Not forgetting the city area....

Some of you pics have good compositions. The camera may be limited in functions and settings to give the pictures that extra impact a DSLR Can but I can see you have the idea already. Get the best out of the camera and spend less time in the digital darkroom a.k.a PS. But good job with the pics and keep them coming.

p:s I like the elephant pic......
NonBlooD
post Oct 31 2007, 01:10 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Oct 24 2007, 11:38 AM)
that just sounds exactly like me laugh.gif

your shots are great...
i like how you post process it to make it look so dramatic...
like me 2.. = =

Added on October 31, 2007, 1:16 pmzoo negara photos... smile.gif

1. Pics are too flat, try reduce the aperture like f4 or f5.. smile.gif
2. I think its bit noisy rite?...hi ISO?...

but i think the real thing that cause the photo bcome like that is the way u post process it, did u increase the shadow area in curve?...dont increase too much cos u will make the dark parts become very noisy, try do it when u shot that time.. smile.gif the curve also make u lost some details and the color i guess cos its bit dull..

just my 2 cents.. tongue.gif still learning too.. ^.^

P/s : try shot the side with light falls on not shadow fall on, most of ur shots the shadow is in front so it makes the object darker... smile.gif

hope this helps...if dont then let me know.. XD

This post has been edited by NonBlooD: Oct 31 2007, 01:16 PM
TSV3i HoN6
post Oct 31 2007, 03:57 PM

ǝlıɥdouɥɔɐɹɐ
1,617 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Oct 31 2007, 12:53 PM)
Wah Hong. I didn;t know you had an interest in photography. Hey, LIke that this coming CNY, We go Penang Hill and Ferringhi again lar.... smile.gif Not forgetting the city area....

Some of you pics have good compositions. The camera may be limited in functions and settings to give the pictures that extra impact a DSLR Can but I can see you have the idea already. Get the best out of the camera and spend less time in the digital darkroom a.k.a PS. But good job with the pics and keep them coming.

p:s I like the elephant pic......
How could I not after seeing everyone's masterpiece.
But I was initially buy it for shooting macro of my T but end up it wasn't really shoouitable in indoor condition.
I couldn't get the whole T on focus with the max f8.0 and moreover it will certainly go underexposed.
The flash in so close distance is too harsh and it will create a stupid dark corner at the bottom right because of the protuding lense barrel blocking it. Increase the shutter will blur the subject and my tripod couldn't bend to the right distance and right angle. Aihhh.. I'm like dont know how to proceed. I'm thinking of a way to shoot again with the help of external light source and reflection.

I'd love to go Penang Hill and Batu Ferringhi for a try especially if you are there to guide me.
No idea how to shoot at people, building, and the city area fast moving environment.
I personally think that is the hardest part but I don't mind following you around and see the result as an experience and inspiration.
If you have got the time we can try our luck at pantai keracut waiting for turtle to come ashore.

QUOTE(NonBlooD @ Oct 31 2007, 01:10 PM)
like me 2.. = =

Added on October 31, 2007, 1:16 pmzoo negara photos... smile.gif

1. Pics are too flat, try reduce the aperture like f4 or f5.. smile.gif
2. I think its bit noisy rite?...hi ISO?...

but i think the real thing that cause the photo bcome like that is the way u post process it, did u increase the shadow area in curve?...dont increase too much cos u will make the dark parts become very noisy, try do it when u shot that time.. smile.gif the curve also make u lost some details and the color i guess cos its bit dull..

just my 2 cents.. tongue.gif still learning too.. ^.^

P/s : try shot the side with light falls on not shadow fall on, most of ur shots the shadow is in front so it makes the object darker... smile.gif

hope this helps...if dont then let me know.. XD
I'm sorry but can you elaborate more on how you see that it is flat or non-flat.
Very interested to learn about this.

And yes, I increase the shadow area using photoshop and obviously I failed since everyone noticed the noise.
Will keep trying on different side of light and shadow. Thanks for the useful remind
I have a bad habit of avoiding light because my photoshop experience tell me I can fix the under area but not the over area, which I really shouldn't.

NonBlooD
post Oct 31 2007, 06:03 PM

800 posts

flat as in the color blend into the back ground...if u having this exposure problem, try over expose your photo +1 or +2 then later go into computer reduce it cos if its under expose n when u increase it all noise come out...i try to do 1 editing on my fav photo from u.. smile.gif nice shots and angle...very good for compac cam.. ^.^

P/s : hope u dun mind i edit it without permission.. tongue.gif wanna test test... smile.gif

This post has been edited by NonBlooD: Oct 31 2007, 06:28 PM
julchin_09
post Oct 31 2007, 06:13 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

QUOTE(V3i HoN6 @ Oct 31 2007, 03:57 PM)
How could I not after seeing everyone's masterpiece.
But I was initially buy it for shooting macro of my T but end up it wasn't really shoouitable in indoor condition.
I couldn't get the whole T on focus with the max f8.0 and moreover it will certainly go underexposed.
The flash in so close distance is too harsh and it will create a stupid dark corner at the bottom right because of the protuding lense barrel blocking it. Increase the shutter will blur the subject and my tripod couldn't bend to the right distance and right angle. Aihhh.. I'm like dont know how to proceed. I'm thinking of a way to shoot again with the help of external light source and reflection.

I'd love to go Penang Hill and Batu Ferringhi for a try especially if you are there to guide me.
No idea how to shoot at people, building, and the city area fast moving environment.
I personally think that is the hardest part but I don't mind following you around and see the result as an experience and inspiration.
If you have got the time we can try our luck at pantai keracut waiting for turtle to come ashore.
I'm sorry but can you elaborate more on how you see that it is flat or non-flat.
Very interested to learn about this.

And yes, I increase the shadow area using photoshop and obviously I failed since everyone noticed the noise.
Will keep trying on different side of light and shadow. Thanks for the useful remind
I have a bad habit of avoiding light because my photoshop experience tell me I can fix the under area but not the over area, which I really shouldn't.
Oh.... I didn;t know at f8 you won't get the whole spidey in focus? Last time when I used the POwershot S3 it seemed ok at least for me. Though the flash for sure won't work unless you find a way to bounce it off white card and diffuse it. Alternatively use a table lamp as your light source. icon_rolleyes.gif

Pantai Keracut is the Ranger patrolled beach right? Yea, it would be nice to go there but Im guessing it has to be either in the wee hours of the morning or an overnight thing. We can plan that no biggie, but since last trip we went to Ferringhi and the fact that I missed the chance to go up Penang Hill... this time really got to go. Oh and that huge dam after the butterfly farm. There's waterfalls there right? We should go there..... rclxm9.gif

TSV3i HoN6
post Oct 31 2007, 06:33 PM

ǝlıɥdouɥɔɐɹɐ
1,617 posts

QUOTE(NonBlooD @ Oct 31 2007, 06:03 PM)
flat as in the color blend into the back ground...if u having this exposure problem, try over expose your photo +1 or +2 then later go into computer reduce it cos if its under expose n when u increase it all noise come out...i try to do 1 editing on my fav photo from u.. smile.gif nice shots and angle...very good for compac cam.. ^.^

P/s : hope u dun mind i edit it without permission.. tongue.gif wanna test test... smile.gif
Show me, please.
You are doing me great favor.
And if you or any taikor dont mind, show me how you would crop no.13 in my beijing pics.

ADDED: Hey, how you do that?
I mean how the color become like...... blend or blur or dont know how to describe it.
More of a dreamland feel, like a layer of fog.

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Oct 31 2007, 06:13 PM)
Oh.... I didn;t know at f8 you won't get the whole spidey in focus? Last time when I used the POwershot S3 it seemed ok at least for me. Though the flash for sure won't work unless you find a way to bounce it off white card and diffuse it. Alternatively use a table lamp as your light source. icon_rolleyes.gif

Pantai Keracut is the Ranger patrolled beach right? Yea, it would be nice to go there but Im guessing it has to be either in the wee hours of the morning or an overnight thing. We can plan that no biggie, but since last trip we went to Ferringhi and the fact that I missed the chance to go up Penang Hill... this time really got to go. Oh and that huge dam after the butterfly farm. There's waterfalls there right? We should go there..... rclxm9.gif
Maybe I wasn't try it hard enough.
We will see how we can work out that time.
For waterfalls, we can try the one in Bukit Hijau, nearer to Kulim and cleaner.
I like it there instead of Penang one with teh tarik color.

This post has been edited by V3i HoN6: Oct 31 2007, 07:16 PM
NonBlooD
post Oct 31 2007, 08:48 PM

800 posts

color : selective color, play untill u get a right color then safe it cos ur lens/cam dont really produce correct color...the blur is gussian blur.. smile.gif
TSV3i HoN6
post Nov 6 2007, 05:44 PM

ǝlıɥdouɥɔɐɹɐ
1,617 posts

Thanks nonblood and I like your Wat Pho shots. Show us more please.

Here some update. My exercise trip to Taman Pertanian with my college mates. We rented a bicycle each but only gone through roughly half of the places.

1. Pony's breakfast

3. Wanna try something other than the usual close out macro shots. Satisfied with how it turned out despite it is not very noticeable and normal looking compare to other flamboyant blossoms.

4. Inside the four season house.

5. Could have find a better background, but it was too late when I got the idea.

6. A view from the tower. really nice view but I just dont know how to present it in better way. I will go back for more shots of this.

7. This is copy pasta from inspired by ryan_c, note the caption. I really admire his works.

8. Another shot inspired by ryan_c, my first try out on B&W.

9. I purposely blur it during that time because I'm knew what I'm gonna do with it.

orenzai
post Nov 7 2007, 10:16 AM

3,114 posts

quite nice shots there smile.gif
only thing i would comment about is the last pic. The top left part is blown.
szyap
post Nov 7 2007, 11:52 AM

Nobody
748 posts

only pic #5 and #8 are interesting smile.gif

TSV3i HoN6
post Nov 13 2007, 03:06 PM

ǝlıɥdouɥɔɐɹɐ
1,617 posts

QUOTE(orenzai @ Nov 7 2007, 10:16 AM)
quite nice shots there smile.gif
only thing i would comment about is the last pic. The top left part is blown.
Yeah, that part is the bright sky contrary to the tree.

QUOTE(szyap @ Nov 7 2007, 11:52 AM)
only pic #5 and #8 are interesting  smile.gif
Will try to think more to get my composition more interesting.
And I like your pictures in your blog too.
Where are you? seems like wester country.

0.0228sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:55 PM