Dvico TViX media player owner, pls come in

yonggoh
post Feb 21 2009, 07:32 PM

1,314 posts

hello people smile.gif

Just spent the last hour or so reading up on the previous pages...

I have little experience with 1080p media besides my Blu Ray Discs so please bear with me...

Do these files such as .mkv retain the lossless audio from their original source? Also are the latest Dvicos able to stream out lossless audio via HDMI? Will this be like the PS3 and be as Linear PCM or actually be True HD signals?

I guess Dvico owners who run their units via HDMI to recievers can answer this question...

Sorry for the long winded questions.

Possibly planning to match a Dvico 7000 to an Onkyo TX-SR606 Reciever with Mission 5.1 SPeaker Setup. Would be great if one could enjoy Lossless Hi-Def sounds with the Dvico smile.gif

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Feb 21 2009, 07:34 PM
yonggoh
post Mar 25 2009, 03:24 PM

1,314 posts

greetings... I have my friends Dvico player with a 1TB HD installed in it. This has no content.

I have a bunch of .mkv files on my PC which i intend to place in the Dvico harddive.

what is the best way to go about this? (pardon my newbie-ness in all of this)
yonggoh
post Mar 25 2009, 04:48 PM

1,314 posts

thanks fellas! will goto the shop nearby to pick up a USB cable and give that a shot!

will certainly save me trouble from copying from PC to ext harddrive..then copy ext harddrive to dvico harddive...

ahh... i can just use the usb cable from my printer for this...

This post has been edited by yonggoh: Mar 25 2009, 05:18 PM
yonggoh
post Mar 26 2009, 05:40 AM

1,314 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 25 2009, 07:17 PM)
Don't use Dvico to copy from ext HDD. (Which you ext hook up to dvico and use the remote to copy) It will take forever to copy.
Just connect the dvico to PC and copy.
Ya i hooked up Dvico to PC...
oh yar hor... still took me about 6 hours to copy about 1TB... lol
yonggoh
post Mar 30 2009, 10:04 AM

1,314 posts

mavric:

does your amp able to recieve HDMI input?

i had my friends Dvico6500 hooked up to my Onkyo amp via HDMI cable for video and sound, and was able to get clean sound from 1080/720p mkvs, mp3s and "crap" mpgs and avis
yonggoh
post Mar 30 2009, 10:14 AM

1,314 posts

Good morning fellas,

Pardon my newbieness in all of this...

Am contemplating getting a Dvico 6500 for the old man.
Thing is I have a couple of TB of movies and such on my Desktop PC. My room is on the other side of the house.

Currently using some D-Link wireless for Wi-Fi, but that has crap range so i'm looking to upgrade to a n-router (if that helps)

Would I somehow be able to share my files with the Dvico via some sort of wireless connection? Saves me lots of $$$ on purchasing seperate Hard Drives for the Dvico just to have my Desktop's content on the player...
yonggoh
post Mar 30 2009, 10:51 AM

1,314 posts

mavric,

Maybe if you have a Coaxial instead of Optical you could give that a shot?
yonggoh
post Aug 21 2009, 11:06 AM

1,314 posts

ive got the 1080p .mkv vs the actual bluray of Kung Fu Panda...

SQ..its not even a contest.
PQ bluray does look more fluid...but there us not much in it...

Same observation applies to Black Hawk Down...

the main adv blurays have over the .mkv's has always been the SQ... thats why for concert presentations i always pick the bluray...

i have not been able to compare bluray .iso file to bluray disc yet so wont comment on that...
yonggoh
post Sep 8 2009, 11:11 AM

1,314 posts

hi guys.... not a Dvico owner but I figured you guys might be able to help me:

Right now I have about 2 x 1TB of harddrives that i connect to my PC externally via a docking station(individual hard drives swap back and forth)... In the future I plan to get additional harddrives to store all my media files...

Anyone know if there is some kind of docking bay that can support say 4 or more hard drives at once that i can hook up to PC via a single USB cable? Getting tired of swapping back and forth whenever I want to have access to my files...

Kind Regards
yonggoh
post Sep 8 2009, 04:00 PM

1,314 posts

ar188 & k8118k thanks for that...

a nice piece of gear...but 1k just for just a hard drive dock is rather steep for me... unless of course it comes with 4 x 1/1.5 TB harddrives smile.gif

ah well...physical swapping it shall remain then...
yonggoh
post Sep 9 2009, 10:33 AM

1,314 posts

anyone wanna let got of 6500 with latest firmware PM me smile.gif

since all you fellas will "upgrade" to 6600...
6500 will be perfect for my dad smile.gif
yonggoh
post Sep 9 2009, 11:34 AM

1,314 posts

how much is the dune now anyway?

0.0843sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:38 AM