LYN Tennis lovers, Tennis Racquets & Courts in Klg Valley

grinner
post Feb 9 2009, 09:15 AM

486 posts

hello guys,

... anyone in melaka and wants to meet up for stroke sometime?

... i've been looking for people to hit around with for a Long time (>3 years)... as yet no one cry.gif

... kinda old-timer sweat.gif , as for Llevel, used to play for state doubles some time ago... now very rusty...

anyways, drop me a line if interested... appreciate it... thanks guys!
grinner
post Feb 10 2009, 11:37 AM

486 posts

QUOTE(perswis @ Feb 10 2009, 10:27 AM)
I go back to kampung at Jasin once every 2 or 3 months. If wanna play, play where?
once every 2-3 months aaaa perswis??? heh s'okay still good rclxms.gif ... we can go play at mbmb court near mitc tu perhaps... no idea where else can play... staff at kym said can play there, but haven't tested since no other kaki... never mind, next time you're coming back to jasin, drop me a line and i'll see where i can squeeze us...

...oh, another thing... thinking of starting@coaching my son up on tennis (supposed to start 5 years ago sweat.gif )... anyone wanting to let go of a junior racquet?
grinner
post Feb 10 2009, 03:57 PM

486 posts

aye i realise junior racquets do not cost much, but being this will be my son's first tennis racquet, intended as intro to tennis i.e. tennis 101, i (not just because i am stingy whistling.gif) i would prefer he start off with something 'pre-used' -and- once he attains a marked improvement, then he gets to buy a new racquet i.e. as an incentive biggrin.gif

...but thanks for the info anyway!
grinner
post Feb 10 2009, 04:23 PM

486 posts

errmm... have i mentioned my son had just turned 10 years old? ...anyways, i suppose there are kids that start off with adult racquets, but i would think swinging a long, heavy adult racquet will not do much good to teaching him the timing of his swing, and probably won't do his developing body any good too, hence starting him off with a junior racquet. (do correct me if i am wrong on this though... i have never taught kids before, just secondary school pupils)

...anyway, if anyone in melaka is interested in having their kids learn tennis, i wouldn't mind taking on a few... would be more fun for my kid to have company while learning... free of charge of course, maybe just chip in for balls and court time smile.gif
grinner
post Feb 10 2009, 04:55 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(SticH @ Feb 10 2009, 04:41 PM)

What's the difference between big head size racket and small head size racket? Since I played badminton before, so smaller by bit head size wont bother me .  tongue.gif

...off the top of my head, i would say that generally a bigger racquet head is more forgiving, since a bigger headsize equals a bigger sweet spot, so you have a better chance of hitting the center of the racquet@sweet spot, which is why we often equate bigger head sized racquets with younger players/beginners/lady players(?) and smaller head-sized racquets (with their smaller sweet spot) is associated with advanced/professional players, since they will be able to find the sweet spot regularly and gain the advantage of the added control the smaller head size offers.

in badminton you don't have the problem of having to hit your shots regularly on the sweetspot, so head-size isn't much of a factor there... probably the smaller you can get away with it, the better i suppose?
grinner
post Feb 13 2009, 10:55 AM

486 posts

smile.gif ...as their skill in shot-making increases, a player will find that their current racquet is inadequate or unsuitable for their level... sometimes players also switch from a stiff to a more flexible one to prevent injuries... lots of reasons why players change racquets... of course, there is also changing for fun smile.gif...

... i am also thinking of changing my racquets... just need some people to take them off my hands (for a really modest price of course wink.gif)
grinner
post Feb 16 2009, 04:03 PM

486 posts

QUOTE(cartographer @ Feb 16 2009, 09:55 AM)
Anybody knows what is the meaning of 'swingweight' of a racquet and how does it affects our game?
Swingweight is a measurement of a racquet's resistance to being rotated about an axis going through your hand. A low swingweight makes it easy for the player to swing the racquet (maneuverable). But it also makes it easy for the ball to move the racquet, resulting in loss of power.

Swingweight is determined by both the amount of mass and its distribution in the racquet — distribution being much more important. The farther an amount of mass is located from the hand, the more effect it will have on stabilizing the racquet.
...got that off the 'net wink.gif ...good thing i checked, since i was going to answer something about hanging a piece of weight from the tip of the racquet and the effect from swinging that around rclxub.gif ...fortunately i remembered that was for measuring the stiffness of a racquet...

...anyway, basically it means how the racquet feels when you swing the racquet, in that it feels head-heavy or head-light... the former makes the racquet more stable on impact but at the expense of mobility while the latter makes the racquet more manoeuvrable but less stable i.e. twisty on impact... depends on the user really which one they prefer...

...i still remember when i first bought and used the wilson hammer profile way, way back then... (they'd just released the range...) *nostalgic* wow, that was kinda revolution in racket technology, i suppose... where the racquet felt well-balanced when you swing it, but the weight was actually all in the head, making it very stable on impact but quite easy to swing... too bad it was just too stiff (brittle actually) for my game... i cracked both my racquets so i sold them to my juniors whistling.gif

...anyway, swingweight generally determines whether a racquet suits a baseliner or serve-and-volleyer... please correct me if i am wrong, though... agassi* wannabes will choose a more head-heavy racquet while sampras* wannabes one with more mobility i.e. head-light... that's some (incorrect) generalisation, but you get the idea...

* i guess these examples give away that i am from that generation rolleyes.gif

0.0487sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:48 PM