I can foresee these models not selling as well and getting steep discounts from retailers in less than 6 months from now
[2023] iPhone 15/15 Plus Discussion, A total powerhouse.
Sep 13 2023, 08:40 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
32,468 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
I can foresee these models not selling as well and getting steep discounts from retailers in less than 6 months from now Kinggnik87 liked this post
Sep 13 2023, 09:59 AM
Sep 13 2023, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 13 2023, 01:33 PM) the trend now is that pro series is always the best selling series than pure no series. Even if there is, it makes sense to get the older versions due to the price difference. The 15/15 Plus price is too awkwardly positioned - if you can get a 14 Pro or 14 Pro Max now before they run out of stock it’ll make more sense!so technically the existing of pure no series are for those who really have budget constraints or those really do not need pro functions and to push ppl to go for pro series. technically no one is interested in pure no series any more... After all, it’s the same chipset and you get more benefits like the higher refresh rate screen, the telephoto lens, the stainless steel frame… |
Sep 20 2023, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(farkingdom @ Sep 15 2023, 04:13 PM) Each person has their own opinion then, to me if 14 Pro (heavily discounted right now) and 15 is about the same price at RM4.4k, then the 14 Pro is much more value for money and also same time superior even though it’s still on lightning port. All the other specs from: Always on display, 120Hz screen, better camera hardware are all quality day to day improvement. That’s a very good point. By December 2024, Apple can no longer sell any device with lightning in the EU, which means the 15 series might be the default entry level iPhones or Apple will be forced to put USB-C into their older phones like the 14 to comply with this rule. It’s also likely they’ll introduce a SE3 with USB-C in March next year…Unless you absolutely want the USB-C and portrait of the 15 then go for the 15. Apple still sell the 14, SE, normal AirPods 3/2, and several other items with lightning port, so it is not entirely dead yet. The whole iPhone user base right now is still lightning. And many general users don’t really care about the charging port, USB-C or lightning, as long it is small and provided in the box, and can charge their phone they are fine. In fact the USB-C transition is going to cost a lot confusion in existing iPhone user base who invested heavily in lightning. Like why their old cable suddenly cannot work etc. or why their husband/wife iPhone with lightning and yours is USB-C. If they can top up to 5.5k for a 15 Pro then of course I’d recommend the 15 Pro cause it’s the latest and greatest. But for those budget conscious, the 14 Pro is still great. |
Sep 20 2023, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(farkingdom @ Sep 20 2023, 09:15 AM) Don’t think they ever updated older models internally, except to update the box to remove charger and earphone for older iPhones like the 11 during the release of iPhone12. That to help save them $$$ and pretend it’s for the environment, I just don’t buy into their whole green and environmental initiative. Yeah, but they did just quietly sneaked in the USB C port into the AirPods Pro 2 though… but I suppose that is easier than retrofitting it into an iPhone. Let’s see… either way, it’s exciting Most probably Apple will just not sell the 14 in the EU next year, since it’s just one region, and only sell the base 15 as entry model. While they can continue selling it to the rest of the world. If they were to update the 14 to USB-C, felt like they should have done it earlier along with the release of the 15. |
Sep 20 2023, 09:47 AM
QUOTE(farkingdom @ Sep 20 2023, 09:27 AM) I did get the lightning AirPods Pro 2 earlier this year, so was kinda bumped when I heard that the AirPods Pro 2 USB-C is getting lossless for vision pro when the hardware is exactly the same. Not that I’m gonna pick up the vision pro hahaha. And why vision pro only.. but then vision pro not out yet so maybe Apple may reverse their decision next year. Hehe, my AirPods Pro 1 still going strong… was hoping Apple would release a black one so I’d have an excuse to change but they didn’t so I’m happy to hold on to mine Hardware wise between lightning n usb-c is they only added dust proof certification to the usb-c charging case while the rest of the hardware and chip is the same. Down the line don’t think anyone can pick up the lightning version anymore, since Apple don’t sell that anymore. The AirPods Pro 2 with lightning gonna be rare. Maybe Apple will start selling the USB-C charging case only few months later like what they did with the MagSafe charging case |
Sep 20 2023, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(farkingdom @ Sep 20 2023, 10:30 AM) The Pro 2 with ios17 software is fantastic though hehe poison you. Overall sound quality and with this new update makes this Pro 2 even better. Hehe, I am already using a black case for my Pro 1 but I want black buds too! You could buy a black case and it would be black. |
Sep 21 2023, 09:14 AM
Sep 21 2023, 09:53 AM
QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 21 2023, 09:22 AM) But usb-c port is a bummer. Can tell that iPhone 14 pro series now the resell value is low due to lightning port instead of usb-c now. Well, yeah, I suppose that is a factor. But there are some folks who couldn’t care less about the USB C port - and those fellas are probably the ones that can get good deals on used iPhones now |
Sep 21 2023, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Sep 21 2023, 10:24 AM) been thinking to replace my mom iphone 6 plus with either iphone 13 pro max or iphone 14 pro max , because she love to take a picture and short video plus already get used to iOS -- so i will check those iphone 14 pro max later on Need to quickly grab them before stock runs out |
Sep 22 2023, 09:56 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 22 2023, 08:44 PM) From the photos it seems like pink, black and green look more prominent, the yellow and blue look kinda white. We’ll have to wait till we see the actual demo sets next week, I guess. |
Sep 22 2023, 09:59 PM
Sep 23 2023, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 23 2023, 12:04 PM) But the 15 no series this year colour and feel are really nice I must say. Never see this in no series iPhone before. It does not look cheap as before and it feels as premium as pro series just like it is the younger ppl version. Hehe, I'll weigh in after I see the actual units next weekend |
Sep 25 2023, 09:06 AM
QUOTE(ASoulNamedLeo @ Sep 24 2023, 09:50 AM) I won't say nerf Plus, more like 15 Pro Max too experimental with its experimental titanium build and experimental A17 Pro processor, which currently made the 15 Plus with A16, better battery life and aluminum build the better buy this year. Hmm… I would still argue if you don’t mind the lack of USB C port and the slightly heavier weight, the 14 Pro Max on discount would be a better option than the 15 Plus, but yeah, in terms of battery performance, it’s hard to argue a case against the 15 Plus.Though I doubt anyone with 15 Pro Max will regret their purchase, most probably they'll just charge the phone more often and put on a case for better protection. And for anyone who waited out for reviews to come out, they know that 15 Plus is enticing buy this year 👀 imo 15 Plus in my eyes is like the best upgrade for users on the 12 Pro Max or older. |
Oct 1 2023, 08:08 PM
I’m old enough to remember when everyone was so paranoid about things being made in China… how the tables have turned, hahaha
Oct 2 2023, 07:37 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
Oct 5 2023, 07:48 AM
QUOTE(Hinoarashi9 @ Oct 4 2023, 10:11 PM) So this year I bought the base iPhone model instead of the Pro model Hahaha, I don't think the seller intentionally tried to scam you but maybe he or she is just ignorant It is quite difficult finding leather case like Nomad, Uniq etc as mostly seller in Lazada/Shopee are selling for cases for the Pro version only I came across Mujjo brand, and the seller has case for iPhone 15 in stock so I bought one Today the case arrived. After unboxing, ayam quite sus because on the box, the iPhone number is covered by sticker (usually at box show Leather Case for iPhone 15, but for my case, the seller purposely put sticker so it become Leather Case for iPhone xx) I tried the case but unable to fit my iPhone 15, got problem at camera part as the hole is smaller than the camera Later I remember about the sticker. After removing it, I can see it shows Leather Case for iPhone 14 So I contacted seller. He said iPhone 13, 14, 15 all same case (actually the dimension is not the same). Seller also noob Luckily I haven't clicked 'order received', so still can get refund under "wrong item" Sekian cerita kena scam harini TLDR: Bought case for iPhone 15, seller send case for iPhone 14 instead. Seller bodo Now I am thinking to buy Bellroy case from website, but shipping is expensive (RM40). Anyone want to share order/shipping? |
Jun 11 2024, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 11 2024, 02:09 PM) dun forget that the processor is 1 year old... now apple treats non-pro as really non-pro, all the best things are exclusive to pro models. Perhaps they do a Samsung and enable access to older phones later? Kinda the same like Galaxy AI when launch and only the S24 series gets it.it is unfair but it is real life. Good point though on the processor already being a year older. That could be a factor. |
Jun 11 2024, 10:00 PM
Jun 12 2024, 07:59 AM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 11 2024, 11:56 PM) I still buy my iPhone via telco contract so I'm fairly ok with the price cuts, haha.. I might skip the next iPhone though.. my will to change phones and setup all the apps - especially the banking ones has deteriorated significantly with age QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 12 2024, 01:52 AM) I am on 15 Pro and 15 Pro Max, having come in from a 14 Pro and wife is on 15, as mentioned. Having used the 14 Pro Max before going to the 15 Pro Max, I would say for my use case the battery life is about the same-ish. Both about 1.5 days standby with 8-9 hours SOT on WiFi/cellular mix. Definitely inferior to the 13 Pro Max!This is what I’ve found, despite whatever the heck Apple claims: my 14 Pro (before its battery health went down to 98% of max) would outlast my wife’s 15 but there’s no way my 15 Pro can do that. Hers can last up to 2.5 days between charges, my 15 Pro can max last 2 days. |
| Change to: | 0.0196sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:58 AM |