Radeon HD 3870 and HD 3850 On The Horizon, The Dark Side is POWERFUL . come join

TheTraffic
post Jan 8 2008, 08:03 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(decarusz @ Jan 8 2008, 04:46 PM)
Yeah.. the riva tuner is kinda dump tongue.gif i try to change it to 60% several times.. at last it moved to 60%... now idle 44cc .. biggrin.gif havent tried playing game.. yesterday the system hang after playing lost planet for an hour.. =.=
is this the sign of prob from ATI 3870? heat prob?
Anyway... is anyone out there who has prob with their 3870? be it heat or driver?
I must ascertain the stability n performance b4 i made up my mind...

TheTraffic
post Jan 8 2008, 08:04 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Jan 8 2008, 07:54 PM)
afgree . dont cheat by the stupid Nvidia logo in the games la .

slower fps doesnt mean lag in games .

even all max setting Nvidia still lose to ATI in term of IQ .

wake up la . all my nvidia friends .  whistling.gif   tongue.gif
that means i can play games at MAX setting SMOOTHLY on a 19"monitor?
If it is true then i'll go for 3870 rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on January 8, 2008, 8:06 pm
QUOTE(Doom @ Jan 8 2008, 08:03 PM)
Got my HIS 3870 Iceq3 512 version already ...

Downside is not much of bundle, but the HIS multi purpose pen does provide some uniqueness... brows.gif
Mind to post some review of this GC? I also wanted to get this after all the sifu here help me to clarify my doubts... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by TheTraffic: Jan 8 2008, 08:06 PM
TheTraffic
post Jan 8 2008, 08:33 PM

115 posts

i've got another question.. what proc and PSU should i use...??

i plan to buy AMD X2 dual core 5000+ and Enermax Tomahawk 500W together with 2GB ddr2 800mhz RAM

Any prob with my setting together with ATI 3870? I dont OC by the way....

This post has been edited by TheTraffic: Jan 8 2008, 08:35 PM
TheTraffic
post Jan 8 2008, 09:17 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(frags @ Jan 8 2008, 09:07 PM)
No problem at all..
do i need to upgrade it to 5200+? i heard ppl said that i need 600W. is that so?

how about intel that is equivalent to 5000+/5200+?

This post has been edited by TheTraffic: Jan 8 2008, 09:19 PM
TheTraffic
post Jan 8 2008, 09:49 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(DevilMan @ Jan 8 2008, 09:34 PM)
to be safe get 2.7ghz (5200+) and 560w, gigabyte odin 550 or silverstone st56f. you should be fine.
but im tight on my budget. So pls advice whether to choose 5200+ OR Enermax 535W? I have to sacrifice either one...
TheTraffic
post Jan 9 2008, 08:52 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(Doom @ Jan 9 2008, 03:57 PM)
Yah it includes 17% of Value Added Tax...

So I estimate the retail price if it does hit malaysia shore would be about RM950 ..

It's good one consider the IceQ3 cooler that perform well and rather quiet on 3870...
hahah, better grab the cooler I got ... 11c drop for both and load ..

buy normal 3870 at the price of RM800 (Sapphire) and the Accelero S1 RM140 .. .

this combo could maximize ur money and performance ...

I got not choice to grab IceQ3 version coz lack of stock everywhere at UK ..
Wouldn't that void the warranty? i mean changing the stock cooler into others?...

If the stock one is ok and does not give any heat prob... then why should we change it just to see some decrease in temp?
TheTraffic
post Jan 9 2008, 10:11 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(DevilMan @ Jan 8 2008, 09:34 PM)
to be safe get 2.7ghz (5200+) and 560w, gigabyte odin 550 or silverstone st56f. you should be fine.
i saw 2 versions of the Gigabyte Odin.. 550GT and 550PRO...
which one is the better one?

I know i can google but could here tell me which one is better?

ENERMAX LIBERTY 500W or Gigabyte Odin 550W (just assume BOTH are the SAME watt)
TheTraffic
post Jan 9 2008, 10:57 PM

115 posts

i really need you guys to confirm something with me b4 i spend my RM800 on a GC.

Can ATI plays ALL type of games? i mean its compatibility... i heard that some games are meant for Nvidia and not ATI...
TheTraffic
post Jan 10 2008, 10:36 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(PGV3910 @ Jan 10 2008, 09:34 AM)
for more quality =HD3870
for more speed + performance=8800gt
What's the use quality if the GC cant handle the games at a very smooth and fast rate.....?
but i think as 3870 can reach as high as 10000+ in 3dMark, it wont be any prob handling games at a fast pace and high quality...

TheTraffic
post Jan 10 2008, 11:17 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Jan 10 2008, 10:49 AM)
then whats the point of having a blazing fast speed with a crappy image quality?

well.. the IQ difference on 3870 vs 8800 is not very significant, it is visible but not significant to justify its value. But on choosing a GFX, there are many other factors to be considered as well. Power consumption, heat, and HD movie playback capability where ATi truly shines not just in speed, but IQ as well.

Not to mention the reason i got my 3870 was its multi gpu scaling, 2x HD3870 definately outperforms 8800GT SLi.

oh.. and the 8800GT stock cooler definately is a piece of crap, on full speed it really screams. Plus, the performance difference between these 2 cards is not huge. What i like about ATi is their driver improvement, with each of their new driver release, performance increment is noticed.

My card for this year was HD2600XT (single) > HD2600XT (xfire) > 8800GTS > 8800GT > HD3870. Shove off the benchmark and reviews, personal experience ownz all icon_rolleyes.gif
that's a very good piece of info..... will take into my consideration..... cool.gif

This post has been edited by TheTraffic: Jan 10 2008, 11:18 AM
TheTraffic
post Jan 10 2008, 11:35 AM

115 posts

I would like to know the diff btw these 2 proc.. Been using AMD all the while...never tried Intel b4.. thought it would be the same.....

Duo Core E4500 and AMD64 X2 5200+
Both also about the same price BUT how about the performance and heat produced and power consumption?
Which one will not bottleneck my 3870?

Pls advice b4 i get one...

This post has been edited by TheTraffic: Jan 10 2008, 11:45 AM
TheTraffic
post Jan 10 2008, 12:41 PM

115 posts

i'm not doin any OC or CF...

I used the extremeCalculator to check the watt... surprisingly AMD64 X2 5200+ used MORE watt than Intel Duo Core E4500...

I thought AMD would consume less power.,.
TheTraffic
post Jan 10 2008, 02:27 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(hahaboy @ Jan 10 2008, 02:16 PM)
ok, thanks ur all information.. i think i'll buy the 3870. his 3870 iceq around 1k/+-, dun think worth it. how about sapphire 3870 ?any other recommended
How about HIS? or Gigabyte?

Added on January 10, 2008, 2:28 pm
QUOTE(hahaboy @ Jan 10 2008, 02:25 PM)
i'm using AcBel Intelligent Power Series 450-watt,
can it support ?
I think you gotta let the sifu here to know more of your other specs like ram, proc, hdd, fans , etc...

This post has been edited by TheTraffic: Jan 10 2008, 02:28 PM
TheTraffic
post Jan 10 2008, 04:10 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(TheTraffic @ Jan 10 2008, 12:41 PM)
i'm not doin any OC or CF...

I used the extremeCalculator to check the watt... surprisingly AMD64 X2 5200+ used MORE watt than Intel Duo Core E4500...

I thought AMD would consume less power.,.
So any idea how this could happen?

So Intel or AMD for my 3870? I want the one who produce less heat and use less power (faster at the same time)

Can anyone help me with this question...? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif cry.gif

This post has been edited by TheTraffic: Jan 10 2008, 11:21 PM
TheTraffic
post Jan 13 2008, 12:10 PM

115 posts

Do you guys know when HIS 3870 ICEQ is coming out?
I wanted to get HIS 3870 (without the ICEQ) but ppl are telling me that the one with ICEQ is much more better.

So should i wait or just buy the normal HIS 3870
TheTraffic
post Jan 13 2008, 12:46 PM

115 posts

I got these msges from guru3d.com forum

Added on January 13, 2008, 12:48 pm"The 8800gt is by far a superior card and heck if you like aa/af eyecandy then forget the ati it falls on it's face. Personally I think the new ati cards are garbage because of the piss poor performance when aa/af are used which for me is a must I love nice graphics."

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=248268

Added on January 13, 2008, 12:54 pm
QUOTE(clayclws @ Jan 13 2008, 12:33 PM)
If you are not one to add in a 3rd party heatsink, better wait for the IceQ or IceQ Turbo version. HIS HD3870 is very hot since its heatsink is very small and the fan is extremely loud...like a hairdryer. And believe me, it is indeed a hairdryer.
I not looking into changing it to a 3rd party heatsink and i dont mind the small heatsink/ loud fan.
Just as long as it doesnt has any heat prob/stability then it is okay for me...

This post has been edited by TheTraffic: Jan 13 2008, 12:56 PM
TheTraffic
post Jan 13 2008, 05:31 PM

115 posts

I'm not planning to change the stock cooler. so will i face the heat-prob too?
TheTraffic
post Jan 13 2008, 06:49 PM

115 posts

But how come the reviews state that the stock cooler is sufficient?
If it is gonna cause heat prob wouldnt ATI do something on it b4 release?
That means all the owners of 3870 will have to change to 3rd party cooler? NO right?

So i guess there will be alot of heat just that we have to adjust the fan speed right?
So conclusion? no heat-PROB?
TheTraffic
post Jan 13 2008, 10:09 PM

115 posts

guys.. i need come help regarding which PSU is better for my HIS 3870

Either Enermax Liberty 500W or Gigabyte Odin GT 550W?
I've got some bad comments on the Enermax (I heard Enermax is a very good brand). Need more info on Gigabyte Odin (I need real experience rather than just google)

Pls advice and help me... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry15126109

This post has been edited by TheTraffic: Jan 13 2008, 10:10 PM
TheTraffic
post Jan 13 2008, 11:18 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(DevilMan @ Jan 13 2008, 10:13 PM)
gigabyte odin is damn good. made by delta (world largest psu manufacturer).
my next psu will be gigabyte odin 800gt.
Do you have any real life expr on the Giga Odin PSU?

How about others? Anyone?...

I have to decide by this weekend.. Enermax or Gigabyte

By the way, my spec is as follows:

Core: tongue.gif tongue.gif
AMD64 X2 5200+/Intel DuoCore E4500
2*1GB XMS2 Corsair DDR2 800Mhz
ATI HIS 3870 512MB DDR4 (single GC only)
160 GB HDD
Gigabyte mobo
Audigy 2 ZS sound card

Accessories:
2*120mm LED fan
4*80mm LED fan
2*UV light
2*cold cathode light

Misc : DVD-rom, CD-rom, DVD-writer