Radeon HD 3870 and HD 3850 On The Horizon, The Dark Side is POWERFUL . come join

Radeon
post Dec 4 2007, 10:22 AM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

QUOTE(ben_panced @ Dec 4 2007, 03:50 AM)
yup i agree coz the performance difference between 29xt and 3870 is not big enough to justify an upgrade..
on the other hand, if ure going from 29xt -> lets say 88gt or new 88gts then it's worth it because those two cards from nv sure kick both 3850 and 3870 in terms of performance, and not to mention higher overclocking headroom than their ati's counterpart...  rclxms.gif
are you sure 29xt -> 88gt is considered an upgrade at all?

Radeon
post Dec 5 2007, 11:45 AM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Dec 4 2007, 12:00 PM)
yeah, that might not be a 'noticable' upgrade lah .. but the power consumption decrease should be noticeable ..
QUOTE(ben_panced @ Dec 4 2007, 05:04 PM)
not to mention if u oc teh 8800gt..
that shud smoke the 2900xt even more  rclxms.gif
so you've got yourself a hd 2900xt and a powerful psu that cost you a bomb that supports it, and then suddenly you think you gotta reduce your power consumption. You fork another 1k for a card with not such a noticable performance increase as an upgrade?

In the end of the day you find yourself sitting in front of a com with not so noticeable upgrades which cost you 1k without mentioning an overkill PSU and an hd2900xt collection dust in the corner.

Don't get me wrong, the 88gt is GOOD certainly for 1st time buyers but i don't consider it as an upgrade option at all for hd2900xt users, just my 2 cents.

QUOTE(zeustronic @ Dec 5 2007, 08:49 AM)
AFAIK not only colors quality itself. ATi got better noise reduction on HD Movie playback, better de-interlacing on DVD playback Image represent all too much to explain zzz... I got both HD2900XT & 8600GTS u can easily noticed their difference.
But you are comparing a 8600 with an 2900XT which is not on the same tier. But i do appreciate if you can tell us more about the differences.

Image quality of Nvidia cards has improve tremendously after the 8 series, imho it's not a wise choice to use conclusion of 6/7series of Nvidia cards vs ATI x18/x19 series card and bring the conclusion forward to apply on the 8 series vs hd29/hd38 series.

Radeon
post Dec 22 2007, 11:00 AM

Semi-Retired Overclocker
2,257 posts

so does it mean that if you crossfire-x 4 of them you actually has got 8 gpus?

0.0440sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 07:45 PM