Australia Visa, Need Advice

sawannaibaan
post Feb 27 2024, 09:28 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Feb 25 2024, 08:08 AM)
Oh dear. Was there ever a recent precedent where a country lost its visa free status? Or will Malaysia again make the news for being the first of an unwanted achievement?
I recall many many years ago, malaysia was at the risk of losing the visa free status for UK.
But the malaysian government back then managed to salvage it after some back and forth diplomacy.
sawannaibaan
post Apr 23 2024, 02:57 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Apr 22 2024, 08:41 PM)
No luck to hit the 25% chance and experience instant approval sad.gif second time applying for 601 and both times also were also requested to submit documents. Maybe because I have an ongoing/pending subclass 190 hence cannot instant-approve  sweat.gif

The previous 601 expired dy after having fund times there so planning to do another trip end of the year innocent.gif
I think they have an algorithm to pick out any applicants that holds malaysian passport and belong to certain age groups for further checking.

currently working in SG, assumed it was auto approval too, but nope, still received the request to submit further info almost immediately after my 601 submission.

Like you, i have a similar long term visa(albeit its the 491) lodged and sitting in their system. That itself should prove to them there is no incentive to overstay. Not sure why their system do not do any cross checks in the database.

Anyway, received my 601 grant couple days later after dumping the docs to them.

This post has been edited by sawannaibaan: Apr 23 2024, 03:02 PM
sawannaibaan
post Apr 24 2024, 01:07 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 23 2024, 06:58 PM)
Hey… another one! Good luck with the application! May I know which part of Australia will you be? We should keep a little informal dossier of Malaysians retiring or moving to Australia and if we’re near enough, we can come out for meet ups and revive the original spirit of the kopitiam forum before the trolls and the cybertroopers took over….
WA mate, specifically perth.

Definitely, i think there is quite a few users here residing in australia, i recalled the australia thread was quite active back then, then many went dormant.

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Apr 24 2024, 08:31 AM)
thumbup.gif will do!
Yeah I think the age group definitely didn't help, considering how many Malaysians of similar age group overstayed their tourist visa sweat.gif

And nice! Hope you'll be getting the 491 grant soon, the processing time have been going upwards like crazy the last year.  sweat.gif
The expected processing time is around 1 year, if everything checks out. They are still clearing the post covid glut when they briefly opened the floodgates in 2022-2023. The processing speed should pick up going forward since they impose more restrictive conditions in the current FY, thus lesser new applications!

If u dont mind, may i know when did u lodge the application?

sawannaibaan
post Apr 24 2024, 08:16 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(polarzbearz @ Apr 24 2024, 01:28 PM)
It is very true indeed. It's pretty easy to cover the basic necessities here in Malaysia and once those are covered, everything else really is depending on how one would live their lifestyle. The only reason I'm actively pursuing is only not to leave regrets at the later stage in my life - regretting for not pursuing something I've been wanting to try, for better or worse laugh.gif

Not gonna lie, but the potential downstep from T20 to M40 is indeed a scary one, but still doing everything I can in my capacity and play my cards to hopefully land at least a lateral move. Fingers crossed.
Yeah those backlogs are huge indeed, last I checked (in FB groups with agents and all) that they're still processing April 2023 backlogs. Lodgement after May 2023 should stumble as you said, and hopefully it'll be done before a complete year.

I lodged mine Dec 2023, how about you?
Pretty close to yours, oct 2023.
Hopefully can wrap up around end of year, that is the best case scenario.

sawannaibaan
post Apr 25 2024, 05:58 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Apr 24 2024, 08:22 PM)
Are you thinking of making the move straight away once your visa's approved, or will you adopt a "wait and see" approach? I'm just curious, because I took the latter road and I've been waiting and seeing for the past 15 years. This should be the last RRV I'm applying, I intend to finally pull the trigger and opt for early retirement in Sydney by next year...
it's an immediate move for me. I see no reason to delay.
Mainly due to my kiddo's education, and to kick start my aussie life/career asap. I am not a spring chicken anymore, the longer i wait the harder it is for me to adjust the new life and environment.
No doubt the initial transition period would be tough, might as well take the bitter medicine fast and get on with it.

0.1317sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:57 AM